Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars What Can I Say It's Doom's world, June 11 2004
MF Doom's best solo album yet, even though Operation Doomsday was a masterpiece.
He has already surpassed Kool Keith as the king of the concept album and alter ego.
His rhymes and his beats are spectacular. The Metal Face villain has struck again.
And the last track with the 3:00 rain storm before the song is really eerie, I just wished that song would have kept the same beats throughout the song.
My favorite tracks on this album are:
"Vaudeville Villain"
"Drop"
and "Saliva"
My favorite verses from the album:
"V Vaughn the traveling Vaudeville villain, who doesn't give a give a flyin' f#*k who ain't not feeling him."
"Viktor the director flip a script like Rob Reiner, the way a lot of dudes rhyme their name should be knob-shiner. For a buck they likely dance the jig or the huckle buck to Vik it's no big deal they're just a bunch of knuckle f#*ks."
"Write a rhyme like a book report. Sell it to a rookie -- you can tell by the hook he bought. You ain't know he sells hooks and choruses. They couldn't bang the slang if they looked in thesauruses."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ill Mcing + Outstanding Production = Future Classic, Nov. 14 2003
By 
moche@mail.com (Brooklyn, NY USA) - See all my reviews
First of all, I would like to say that I am a huge KMD fan. I consider them to be one of the best crews of the 90's, their work is simply amazing and they have contributed to elevate the Hip Hop art form. Rest In Peace Subroc.
Now, as a solo artist, MF Doom is an incredible MC, he is definitely up there with Rakim, Krs 1, Kool Keith, Del and Guru; he is an inspired wordsmith with a flow that manages at the time to be raw and sophisticated and has a unique voice.
However, personally, I have more doubts about his production skills. Everybody is saying that operation doomsday is a masterpiece but aside from a few tracks, I wasn't really feeling the beats. I felt that the beats that he crafted did not really maximize the potential of his rap delivery.
On Vaudeville Villain, the team on the boards (composed of King Honey, Heat Sensor and Max Bill) managed to make some incredibly innovative and consistent music. The production has a very good sound and innovation does not affect the melody and the funk of each track.
The collaboration therefore is flawless. Even more than on Operation Doomsday, MF Doom has proven with Vaudeville Villain that he is still one step ahead.
This album really blew me away, it really deserves a five stars rating (unlike most of Amazon's reviews) and even if time will tell, I believe that it is a true classic, a masterpiece that elevates the Hip Hop art form.
Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wake the F up and cop this NOW, Nov. 10 2003
By A Customer
Only 9 reviews for the best hip hop album this year? What the hell!
Since all of you are obviously asleep out there, or just listening to whatever Spin or the Source or whoever tells you is cool, PAY ATTENTION: MF Doom, aka King Geedorah, aka Viktor Vaughn, is THE figure right now. His production has the raw, relaxed feel of Madlib but is more wildly creative and more solid with the beats. His flow on the mic is truly sick, mixing everyday speech patterns with Wu-Tang imagery and some amazing slapstick metaphors. Above all, this man has the VOICE--slurred, dirty, gravelly, and always, always on point.
This album has MF/Vik Vaughn rhyming over other producers' beats, mostly from the Soundink label, and the sound really matches the rhyme style. As good as Doom is as a producer, this stuff is almost as good, and it's definitely got that abstract, murky, stuttering quality that Def Jux and Prefuse 73 have helped usher into hip-hop lately. I can't express how dope this album is; it totally blows away most of the underground releases this year, and for authority on the mic, the only mainstream MCs that are anywhere near Vik's league are Jay-Z, Nas, and Big Boi.
Basically Vik Vaughn is in a league of his own, and you'd better wake up from your dreams of coolness and realize that without Vik Vaughn and the other records Doom has done this year, hip-hop would be looking pretty damn sad. The new Atmosphere record sucks, the new Aesop Rock is just OK, Def Jux has already put out two shamelessly bad albums this year, the new Outkast record is just OK, Madlib is his usual inconsistent self, and the Soul Position Record has great beats from RJD2 and only decent rhymes from Blueprint. I could go on, but you should know what I'm saying. It's been a disappointing year, and you HAVE to get this one 'cause it will not let you down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 4,5 stars. Excellence..., Oct. 12 2003
I'll spare you the normal anti-commercial hiphop crap, it's been done and said too many times. And if you are checking this you already know about MF Doom, or at least that he exists.
This is easily one of the best albums this year, which has seen many excellent releases. Doom takes on another persona, that of viktor vaughn but it's still the same old Doom. The cartoon vocal samples are still present and give the album a bit of an old-wu-tang feel (which I love). Same goes for many of the productions, done by a host of producers that I have never heard of, except RJD2 on saliva. This gives a varied sound that is kept together by the aforementioned samples in in- and outros and it's gritty sound. Some of the cuts (modern day mugging for instance) remind me of prefuse 73. The beats will definitely appeal to anybody looking for fresh sounds, fans of older wu-tang or stuff like defjux.
MF Doom has a very typical voice that stands out on any track. It sounds a bit like Nas, only more raw and more bugged out. Lyricwise it sometimes reminds of ghostface killah or kool keith. The lyrics are excellent and filled with originality. The flow is tight and fits well over the beats. That brings me to the only weak point of this album. Chorusses are almost non existant here, which makes it less accesible for more mainstream oriented audiences. And since underground hiphop is becoming more and more popular it would've been a nice touch to this almost perfect album. Nevertheless, if you can dig pure lyrics over very tight and original beats you don't miss it, I don't.
Just buy it already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Doom does it again. Buy this now!, Oct. 12 2003
This is definately the year of Doom. After purchasing the excellent King Ghedorah album, and the collaberation with Madlib, I promptly picked this up, to see if Metal Face could keep up the excellence. This album rocks. Personally, it my favorite hip hop album of the year BY FAR. The production (done by a bunch of cats from the SoundInk stable) is completly fresh and off the hook. The beats on this album really outshine those on any other hip hop album I have heard this year. And as for Dumile, if you can believe, he just keeps getting fresher- Definatley one of the top lyrically dogs in the game at the moment. Also, since this came out in close proximity to the King Ghedorah lp ('Take Me To Your Leader'), I have heard lots of critics trying to compare the two- Don't bother, the are both completly different & dope. I actually prefer this album to that one quite abit. For one, Doom rhymes on every track (actually he is the only MC on most tracks). And being a beat-head, I find the production on this CD to be far superior. The beats on are are by turns creepy, sinister, futuristic, and ill- all head nodders. I did like the production on 'Take Me To Your Leader', but the production on this lp was much fresher- it hits the speakers better, and is WAY more futuristic. If you are have not picked up this gem yet, do so now- I promise you won't be disapointed, also pick up the hot collabo with MadLid (it's called 'Madvillian'), and 'Take Me To Your Leader' while you're at. Amazingly, Dumile is gracing us with ANOTHER full length this year- A brand new MF Doom album. You already now that's going to rock. If there was any justice at all, Dumile would multi-platinum, and runaway choice for MC of the year. Peace...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Here to save the game like a memory card, Oct. 7 2003
By A Customer
Listening to Viktor Vaughn: Vaudville Villain, MF Doom's latest classic, it's hard not to wonder how one MC can be so creative, so many light years ahead of the competition and still be unknown by so many supposed hip-hop heads. If you are one of the unlucky ones who've never heard his work, the time is now. Vocally, Doom sounds somewhere between Kool G. Rap and Erick Sermon with his thick tongued lisp and laid-back, conversational flow. Lyrically, it's a different story. Doom spits dizzying, subtle jewels and punchlines that reveal themselves with each repeated listen. Just a word of advice: if you're a fan of radio (c)rap, there's no sped-up R&B vocal samples, or even a chorus anywhere on here - just raw, original, kind-of electronica inspired beats (but still straight up hip-hop) and lyrics that will have you open-mouthed in awe. Underground, intelligent, and hardcore, but still accessable to less open-minded hip-hop fans, this is a CRUCIAL disk for you to own.
Too many quotables here, but just to get you motivated to cop it, here's a tiny sample:
"There's four sides to every story/ If these walls could talk, they'd prob'ly still ignore me/ Contemplate war over a cup of warm coffee/ it's really gettin' gory/ Tell your problems to Maury" (Lickupon)
"Don't let the drama get ya/ in the only form of music where the fans shoot the messenger/ Bi-ch n-----s talk behind your back like a catcher/Either MYOB or BYO stretcher ," (The Drop)
"Had enough of your mularkey/ For one, don't mark me/ and who you callin darkey?" (A Dead Mouse)
"Soup's on/ and I got a coupon/ Chinese restaurant askin' for the Grey Poupon/ He said, "No - duck sause, soy sauce/ and this ain't no Burger King/ so you don't get no toy, boss/...You ain't nicer than the lunatic sheister/ AKA the Vikster/ or the Vikmeister" (Rae Dawn)
"Why you starin'/Run your chain like an errand/and your girls earings/ and what y'all wearin" (Modern Day Mugging)
I can't do this any justice. Get this and enjoy for yourselves. All other MCs, pack it up...it's a wrap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Villainous!!!, Sept. 16 2003
By 
PFS (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
I'm going to asume that if you're even looking at this item you already know who MF Doom is and you're already going to buy this album so this review is irrelevant. I would like to say that the Viktor Vaughn project is a lot better than the King Geedorah album from earlier this summer (though I liked King Geedorah and Doom's production is always on point, listening to those other guest MC's left a lot to be desired).
As for Vaudeville Villain, it's MF Doom in prime form. The beats are all slamming, Doom's rhymes are impeccable and the album on a whole is more solid than "Operation Doomsday". Zevlove X has emerged as the Kool Keith of a new generation, the only difference is that as Keith's projects keep getting worse, Doom's keep getting better. I can't wait for the Doom/Madlib collaboration next year.
So, what are you waiting for? You know you're going to buy this album so get to it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this is the shiznit, Feb. 26 2004
By A Customer
okay, first off i just want to say that this review is coming from someone who doesn't really follow hip hop. i'm a white suburban male who normally listens to indy music. but what i've found here has changed my perception of where hip hop is going. this is not the mtv/radio hip hop that i'm used to. it's on a much higher level. this is hip hop that innovates. it doesn't follow the same routine of most popular rap, but at the same time doesn't drift totally away from the culture. MF Doom (a.k.a Viktor Vaughn) is the man behind this project, and with the help of several other djs, he makes some of the most inventive hip hop to come out in a long time. it travels the fine line between conventionality and artistic expression. and if your turned off by the fact that this is coming from some suburban white guy, at least know that this album still holds true to the streets, yo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MF Doom: Hip hop artist of the year??? Maybe., Sept. 24 2003
By 
Large Pro (Eureka, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Right on the heels of his classic summer release, "Take Me to Your Leader" (King Geedorah), MF Doom comes back under another alias and produces another classic. Lyrically, think of Doom as a slammin' combo of Slick Rick/Kool Keith/Ghostface Killah. Beats/production-wise think Dan the Automator meets RZA's Shaolin temple golden age. This cat is on a roll and there's no signs of slippage. The ViktorV concept is not quite as whimsical and breezy as the Geedorah motif, but still there're few (if any) quibbles here. Indeed, this package is even more coherent than Geedorah's. In either case. for my $$$, MF Doom is a solid dark horse candidate for hip hop artist of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Travelin Vaudeville Villan, March 18 2004
By A Customer
OK. I love music a lot. I mean a lot. But rap never seemed to do it for me. Underground was too preachy to me like I was doing something wrong or being yelled at. And Mainstream was just boring. But out of nowhere I come across this album and it turns my music tastes upside down. I cant stop listening to Viktor Vaughn. He has a flow that is undeniable, line after line of hilarious and clever rhymes, but most importantly he follows no trends. Like all great artists, he lives in his own world and doesnt even really know what goes on around him in the rest of the rap world. The result, a piece of art that doesnt try to be anything, but just is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Is Vikto Vaughn Vaudeville Vil (Vinyl)
Is Vikto Vaughn Vaudeville Vil (Vinyl) by Mf Doom (LP Record - 2007)
Click for more info
Currently unavailable
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews