Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Very Good and Very Addictive
I really love playing simulation games and Sim City 4 Deluxe Edition is the best I've come across so far. I used to have the orginal Sim City for the Commodore 64. Yes I'm showing my age, I have also had other versions of Sim City for the PC and I found the older ones more frustrating.
I been up sometimes to 3 am working with my cities.
I was in local...
Published on Dec 6 2003 by David Housel

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Could Have been better
Mods make this game tolerable. Supposedly supports 1600x1200 screen yet that won't work for me
as it refuses to alter the screen aspect ratio. Clunky interface. Love the fact it came with a manual but
the game still has issues and shows it's age graphically.
Published 9 months ago by Van G. Wilson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Very Good and Very Addictive, Dec 6 2003
By 
David Housel (Hyndman, PA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sim City 4 Deluxe Edition with Rush Hour Expansion (CD-ROM)
I really love playing simulation games and Sim City 4 Deluxe Edition is the best I've come across so far. I used to have the orginal Sim City for the Commodore 64. Yes I'm showing my age, I have also had other versions of Sim City for the PC and I found the older ones more frustrating.
I been up sometimes to 3 am working with my cities.
I was in local government for 15 years and this game is also very realistic with traffic problems, budget problems, other officals who sometimes put their own interests above others and so on.
After reading some of the reviews I have a few tips for who ever is interested.
Computer Tips:
1.) Turn off antivirus software while installing and playing the game (this goes for about every game)
2.) Check for video card driver updates and direct x updates
Game Play Hints:
1.) Try and keep your schools in a central location in your residential areas, that way you can use less bus funding. Also do the same with your public services.
2.) Don't build any fire dept until the public safety dude is yelling at you.
3.) Try not to let the game auto place your streets when zoning. Build your own first and then zone around them and make sure the arrows are pointing to the street.
4.) When doing a lot of street building and zoning pause the game, it cuts down on the distractions
5.) You can sneak funding down a little on public ultities.
6.) You can sneak taxes up a little over time without too many problems.
Sim City 4 Deluxe is worth having.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 Stars---The Best SimCity Yet!, April 11 2004
By 
Robert J. Schneider (Tacoma, WA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sim City 4 Deluxe Edition with Rush Hour Expansion (CD-ROM)
With SIMCITY 4 DELUXE EDITION, which conveniently contains both the regular SIMCITY 4 plus the RUSH HOUR EXPANSION PACK, EA Games is really beginning to live up to their tagline "Challenge Everything." Apparently, the game designers decided to challenge everything that seemed to be holding the game back in the past, and have taken a brave step forward in designing this new edition with those of us in mind who want to be able to create a SimWorld. In other words, you now have an entire continent on which to build cities; instead of having fake adjacent cities that you're forced to do business with, you now can make your own adjacent cities yourself! You can choose from any of a hundred or so "squares" on which you can build one city after another and have them all trade with each other and everything! You can connect them with superhighways, rail, roads, power, water; it's great!
Another major improvement is in the increased flexibility in building up each of your cities. Remember how, in previous SimCity versions, it's such a pain to figure out where to place your streets within your zones? Not anymore; each time you lay out a zone, whether it be Residential, Commercial or Industrial, the game will automatically lay down a grid of streets for you! That saves A LOT of time right there. Also, remember how you had to blow up your streets in order to replace them with bigger streets? Now, it's a lot easier, because first of all, the road system is much better organized. For example, when you start building a town, you start by using the simple, narrow streets (which are now specifically labeled as being "streets"). However, as people move in and your streets begin to get crowded with traffic, you can then upgrade to wider roads. Eventually, as traffic begins to overwhelm your roads, you may upgrade to wide avenues. All you need to do to "upgrade" is to simply drag a road along a street, or an avenue along a road and---boom!---it automatically changes to a road or avenue. No more having to demolish anything in the process!
The Rush Hour Expansion Pack just adds a new dimension to the game: now you can go out on selected "missions" by car, boat---even helicopter---and earn new buildings, more money, etc. for your city. Admittedly, I'm still trying to get the hang of these missions, as they aren't too easy, but it's still a cool feature for the game. Also, the buildings and airports are in much better detail now, and there is far greater variety of them. There are also many new landmarks to choose from; they are in much greater detail and there is no longer any limit how many you may place. (However, you now have to pay to place them.) There are many new rewards for being a good Mayor, too!
My hope is that with SIMCITY 5, they will make everything more 3-D and will finally provide us with the ability for a ground-level Pedestrian View; imagine being able to walk the streets and boulevards of your own cities, drive around, even take your own trains! I think the possibilities are endless. Till then, this will have to do. But, for what it's worth, it's still a pretty darn good game!
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED FOR SIM FANS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank God I found this product., April 16 2013
By 
Pat "PatCyn" (Quebec city, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sim City 4 Deluxe Edition with Rush Hour Expansion (CD-ROM)
After seeing how EA messed up with Sim City 5, I changed my mind about buying it and, went along with the purchase of Sim City 4 instead, I am so glad I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun so much fun i bought rush hour, Jan. 2 2004
By 
"sniccerdoddle" (Sacramento,Ca USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sim City 4 Deluxe Edition with Rush Hour Expansion (CD-ROM)
sim city 4 is so much fun because if i build somehting then don't want it demolish it. i had so much fun with sim city4 i bought sim city 4 rush hoour now that is fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great game for idle time, Nov. 6 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sim City 4 Deluxe Edition with Rush Hour Expansion (CD-ROM)
One game that's great to have when you just want to muck around for a few hours, build a basic sandbox city and watch it run, or micromanage your city up to a glowing metropolis. The freedom's yours and the game adjusts evenly with every level up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Could Have been better, Oct. 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sim City 4 Deluxe Edition with Rush Hour Expansion (CD-ROM)
Mods make this game tolerable. Supposedly supports 1600x1200 screen yet that won't work for me
as it refuses to alter the screen aspect ratio. Clunky interface. Love the fact it came with a manual but
the game still has issues and shows it's age graphically.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable game, April 2 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sim City 4 Deluxe Edition with Rush Hour Expansion (CD-ROM)
A problem with mis-matched disc and game code was promptly addressed by Amazon. Thank you.

This is an enjoyable game. Many new games require a persistent internet connection to play. If you find that annoying, older games like this are the way to go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's one of my favorite game, Jan. 1 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sim City 4 Deluxe Edition with Rush Hour Expansion (CD-ROM)
I didn't bought SimCity 4, I re-buy it because my old one was broken. I love this game, very well done but take time to master.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good game, Dec 9 2003
By 
D. Friedman (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sim City 4 Deluxe Edition with Rush Hour Expansion (CD-ROM)
There are two complaints I have about the game: (1) placing water/land objects (marinas, etc.) is difficult and tiresome because the game requires that they be positioned in a very specific way that is not clear to the user, and (2) it is hard to switch between the game and other applications running on your PC (such as Outlook), even with a powerful processor and sufficient RAM.
I use a 1.7Ghz Pentium with 512 MB RAM and find it slow to switch applications; those who have faster processors and more RAM may find it easier, or this may be a deficiency with the design of the game. Regardless, I find it surprising that a game could use so much RAM and tie up the processor to such a great degree.
Other than these two, minor complaints, the game is impressive. The level of detail is greater than in previous versions.
One note about the 'missions': I find these silly and annoying and thus never use them. But, apparently from the reviews, there are those who swear by the, so as they say, different strokes for different folks.
Make sure your hard drive has at least three GB to spare when installing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite simply the best computer game of all time in one pack, Feb. 29 2004
This review is from: Sim City 4 Deluxe Edition with Rush Hour Expansion (CD-ROM)
Computer games my friends don't get any better than this! THis "Deluxe EditioN" compiles the original Simcity 4 game along with the "Rush Hour" expansion pack into one package!
Simcity 4 suffered from many flaws that I felt really hindered the game's credibility in many areas. One was the freeways where they would just simply end in a dangling cliff where it would look like a daredevil stunt arena. Another one was the street system where you couldn't build anything more than two lane roads other than freeways. The game felt a bit unfinished in many areas.
However the graphics, music and scope are absolutely amazing and are a grand improvement over the Simcity 2000 game from many years back.
The Rush Hour Expansion pack corrects many of these mistakes by adding a freeway terminal interchange and you can also build wide four-lane avenues with medians and civic buildings are also improved on a vast scale (Larger police stations, Larger schools, etc.), and adds so many new things to this game like monorail, elevated rail to subway, new disasters, and a "U-Drive It" feature where you can actually drive around your newly built city.
This item is a must-have for Simcity fanatics. Just be sure you have lots of disk space or else the game might go at a cold molasses pace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sim City 4 Deluxe Edition with Rush Hour Expansion
Sim City 4 Deluxe Edition with Rush Hour Expansion by Electronic Arts (Windows 2000 / 7 / 98 / Me / XP)
CDN$ 19.99 CDN$ 12.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews