Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff, but room for improvement
Forever Knight is about a vampire (Nick Knight) who wants to regain his mortality. After centuries of killing hapless victims, he is trying to repay his debt to humanity by working as a Toronto homicide detective. His circle of friends includes his former vampire lover, the beautiful Janett; his vampire "master", LaCroix (present only in flashbacks for Season...
Published on June 27 2004 by Angela R. Gottfred

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Love Forever Knight, hate DVD quality
Although the series had it's flaws, it was great fun and something different. The great cast made you forget some of the mistakes in the script. I was thrilled when I discovered this on DVD and bought it right away. I am hoping the rest of the episodes will be released on DVD. However, I am hoping that Columbia Tri-Star will show some respect for the fans and add some...
Published on Jan. 7 2004


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff, but room for improvement, June 27 2004
By 
Angela R. Gottfred "agottfre" (Calgary, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Forever Knight the Trilogy Pa [Import] (DVD)
Forever Knight is about a vampire (Nick Knight) who wants to regain his mortality. After centuries of killing hapless victims, he is trying to repay his debt to humanity by working as a Toronto homicide detective. His circle of friends includes his former vampire lover, the beautiful Janett; his vampire "master", LaCroix (present only in flashbacks for Season 1); his garlic-loving, jovial yet perceptive detective partner, Don Schanke; Toronto coroner and confidante, Dr. Natalie Lambert; and his police Captain, Joe Stonetree. Nick must struggle against his vampire urges, much like a former addict, and he must try to keep his identity a secret from all mortals while also working at his job.
Unlike Angel or Buffy, Nick is a vampire working in a mortal world. Unlike the Buffy vampires, Nick is not a demon, but he does have some cool supernatural abilities; not only are FK vampires extremely strong and very fast, but they have very acute senses of hearing and smell, the power to hypnotise people, and to fly.
Aside from vampires and the occasional ghost, there are no supernatural creatures in this show, and most of the murders Nick investigates are committed by people. Nick doesn't do anything as dramatic as saving the world or killing monsters, a la Buffy. For Angel fans, this is a distinctly different look at the vampire-seeking-redemption story, and one that is just as good in its own way. Nick is more mature and thoughtful than Angel, in my opinion. And if you think Angel is angsty and brooding, then you clearly haven't met Nick Knight!
Let me move respond to the criticisms made about this DVD series.
1. The video quality is poor.
--I have a big-screen digital TV, and I don't have any complaints about the video quality. Perhaps some early DVD sets were below standards? It's the only explanation I can see for the huge discrepancy between what I see at home and the picture some people have complained about.
On the other hand, the audio quality is clearly superior to the audio quality off of broadcast TV. And that has brought a freshness to certain episodes. Kudos to Sony for their attention to this aspect of the DVD.
2. The episodes are the U.S. version, not the (much longer) Canadian version.
For the first season, Canadian episodes were substantially longer (by 5-6 minutes) than American episodes. On the DVDs, the first two episodes (Dark Knight parts 1 & 2) are the American episodes, and so DVD viewers are definitely missing out on some Canadian version goodies. However, all the remaining episodes on the DVD set are the longer Canadian ones.
3. There are no goodies on this set.
Too true! In fact, the DVDs don't even have a scene selection menu to find scenes within an episode, although you are allowed to at least select an episode... Let's hope we see more on the Season 2 discs.
In short, I think this is a thoroughly enjoyable show, with good picture quality and enhanced sound. The DVDs have all of the first season (except for about five minutes of Dark Knight), but nothing else. Is it worth it to buy the series at the listed price? Well, it hurt my pocketbook a bit at first, but now that the pain has gone, I still have the pleasure of being able to watch this great show whenever I like. And I can't wait for Season 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Show, June 25 2014
By 
Raven - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Forever Knight the Trilogy Pa [Import] (DVD)
I can't say enough great things about this show. The budget is not big and they are working out the acting and kinks in the first few episodes, but what a great concept. From the 80's so the picture and cuts aren't what you are used to today, but still great for all that. Vampire cop seeking redemption - great tragic hero figure, long before al the tween bleeding heart vamps of today. :). The characters have such depth and long thought out histories that really bring them to life. The show does excellent flash backs to reveal the main characters past, and handle the time periods fabulously and believably. The secondary characters are all fleshed out and great - shout outs to both Jeanette and Natalie - potential love interests who are magnetic. Great show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, March 25 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Forever Knight the Trilogy Pa [Import] (DVD)
I rated this product ( Forever Knight / part 1 ) a " 5 STAR " , because I enjoyed it . Had seen it years ago . And would I recommend it , yes .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's about time, Aug. 14 2003
Ce commentaire est de: Forever Knight the Trilogy Pa [Import] (DVD)
After years of waiting,Forever Knight is finally coming out on DVD.And it's been along wait.The show sites around the character of Nick Knight(Geraint Wyn Davis),a Toronto cop who also is a 800 year old vampire,trying to repint for his sins.Noone knows about him expect Natalie Lambert,a corener whos table he awoke on one night.It's an excellant show and one of the best vampire shows out there.I don't care how much the DVD will cost me,I'll be buying it no matter what.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 95% Canadian eps!, Aug. 9 2004
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Forever Knight the Trilogy Pa [Import] (DVD)
The first point that should be made is that these are the Canadian episodes except for Dark Knight (the two-parter first ep). Each one runs about 46 minutes. I have to agree with a previous reviewer about the bonuses of this show: They've created their own vampire myth which doesn't require a lot of f/x. They live among humans (depending on who we're talking about, of course), their change from their human form to their vampire form is never shown (it's done through cuts), and the hokey flying scenes in the first eps all make this a great show. And the fact that they didn't try to disquise Toronto as another city is a bonus. Great acting by the regulars, and I still get a chuckle when I see Nigel Bennett sucking someone's blood and then think of him and his "But it's not oatmeal!" commercials. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent first season for an awesome show, March 5 2004
By 
Tom Benton (North Springfield, VT USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Forever Knight the Trilogy Pa [Import] (DVD)
"Forever Knight" is a cult classic. Who would've thought that that relatively unsuccessful TV series would end up with as enormous a fan base as it has today? But it did, and now, with FOREVER KNIGHT: THE TRILOGY - PART 1, you can see it all began.
In this set all 22 episodes of the show's first season are compiled. (Note: There were three versions of each episode: the 40 minute American, the 45 minute Canadian, and the European version, which contained nudity. As an added bonus, the Canadian versions of each episode except the first are shown in this set) The show kicked off with the terrific two-part premiere, "Dark Knight" and "Dark Knight: The Second Chapter". Then it moves on to less important episodes, with such interesting episodes as "Dying to Know You", "Cherry Blossoms", "Hunters" and "Dying for Fame". The first season finished with the grabbing finale, "Love You to Death".
This set will no doubt please those who lust simply for the joy of FOREVER KNIGHT on DVD, but those die-hard fans that expected a joy-filled DVD set may be disappointed. The picture quality looks relatively un-tampered with, the menus are weak, and there is zip for special features (except for a few trailers). Overall, a must for true fans - "Forever Knight" has definitely left its mark on the vampire cult.
- Adam Pierson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EEEEEE!!!!!, Aug. 14 2003
By 
Ce commentaire est de: Forever Knight the Trilogy Pa [Import] (DVD)
THEY FINALLY CAME OUT WITH THE DVD!!!! Forever Knight has been my overriding obession for close to 6 years, and for good reason. Fantastic, complex charecters, meaningful storylines, passion, friendship, mystery, relationships, frustration and hate, faith and hope, it's all there.
Forever Knight explores what it truely means to be human from the point of veiw of Nick Knight, an 800 year old vampire who wants to be human again. In an attempt to atone for his past sins, he now works as a homicide detective, trying to bring the real monsters to justice while preserving his secret and protecting his friends. But the road to mortality isn't easy-- old habits die hard and this habit is way up there. Memories of times gone, friends lost and evils seen and commited haunt him every step of the way, and his vampire 'family' fights to keep him as he is. But rooting for his better side are his best friends, Dr. Natalie Lambert (they're 'just friends'. yeah, right), who's trying to help him using medical science, and his partners, first Don Schanke, then Tracy Vetter, who, though they don't know he's a vampire, help him feel like a part of the human race.
The series is by turns dramatic and humorous, maddening and touching. It will rip your heart out in the end, but you'll be glad you were there for the ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Man, that was about time!!!!, Aug. 14 2003
Ce commentaire est de: Forever Knight the Trilogy Pa [Import] (DVD)
Ok, as the box set is not out yet, this is ,of course, not a review of the DVD.
But we have waited sooo long for Sony to release FK that it doesn't really matter.
One star deduction for not adding any bonus material regarding the series itself.
So, for all us fans I don't need to say anything further.
For all of you who haven't seen FK: Do it now!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally! After 7 long years!, Aug. 17 2003
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Forever Knight the Trilogy Pa [Import] (DVD)
This is one of the greatest prime time shows that ever existed! After disappearing more than 7 years ago, those die hard fans can relive the series again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pleased customer. Again!, July 10 2010
By 
G. Billington "Mungocat1" (Hamilton, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Forever Knight the Trilogy Pa [Import] (DVD)
One of the things we look for is a seller's success percentage. This includes reasonable shipping and handling, prompt delivery, communication, condition of product on receipt, etc. Amazon provides this. This DVD trilogy met all our criteria and completed our set. We are very pleased. It was easy through Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Forever Knight  the Trilogy Pa [Import]
Forever Knight the Trilogy Pa [Import] by Geraint Wyn Davies (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 21.45 CDN$ 17.69
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews