Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars THE MOVIE THAT INTRODUCED ME TO NICOLE EGGERT!!!!!!!!!!
I didn't know who she was. I never watched Charles in Charge or even Baywatch! I saw this movie on either HBO or Cinemax while in college, and just fell in love with it (AND her).
Nothing in this world like watching a young couple like Haim and Eggert get down and dirty throughout the movie. It made me kind of sad because at the time I had wished I could meet a...
Published on May 19 2002 by J. Lentz

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars One or two hot sex scenes; that's about it.
First note: This is not the same film as the Jeff Bridges/Tommy Lee Jones thriller about a mad IRA bomber. This movie came much earlier.
I remember when this movie first came out in the theatres. It looked ridiculous then and it certainly does now. Give credit to the two Coreys, Haim and Feldman, for going against their usual goody-two-shoes pairing and delving...
Published on Dec 6 2003 by D. Mok


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars One or two hot sex scenes; that's about it., Dec 6 2003
By 
D. Mok (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blown Away [Import] (DVD)
First note: This is not the same film as the Jeff Bridges/Tommy Lee Jones thriller about a mad IRA bomber. This movie came much earlier.
I remember when this movie first came out in the theatres. It looked ridiculous then and it certainly does now. Give credit to the two Coreys, Haim and Feldman, for going against their usual goody-two-shoes pairing and delving into such decidedly sleazy material as this. And give credit to Nicole Eggert, who has an undeniable allure and does Basic Instinct, Jr. here with remarkable lack of inhibition.
But do these elements make a good movie? Not really, considering Haim's watery presence as a leading man and the ridiculous characterizations and situations. Feldman fares better as a punk so sleazy that you just have to smile at his behaviour. The finale is especially wanting, a lacklustre bedroom confrontation that is strictly made-for-TV in its staging and dialogue. So all that's left is a surprisingly erotic first encounter between Eggert and Haim, some snippets of nudity, and a slightly disturbing feeling for the audience. Like the film Kids and Bully, this movie makes you into a voyeur into an explicit portrayal of teen sex lives, though unlike these two films, Blown Away is so cartoonish in execution and tone that it qualifies mostly as a conduit for the eye candy of Haim and Eggert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE MOVIE THAT INTRODUCED ME TO NICOLE EGGERT!!!!!!!!!!, May 19 2002
By 
J. Lentz "lentzj" (Westland, MI USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blown Away [Import] (VHS Tape)
I didn't know who she was. I never watched Charles in Charge or even Baywatch! I saw this movie on either HBO or Cinemax while in college, and just fell in love with it (AND her).
Nothing in this world like watching a young couple like Haim and Eggert get down and dirty throughout the movie. It made me kind of sad because at the time I had wished I could meet a girl like that, but I have had the kind of sex Haim and "the Egg" had here with other girls in my recent past. :-)
Without giving the movie away though, even I have to admit I felt that Nicole's character, Megan, got what she deserved at the end of the movie.
I personally was "blown away" by the discovery that there actually was an UNRATED version of this movie! I thought "how much MORE could they show?!" The 2 minutes in the unrated version prove to show a LOT more then the R version.
Ladies and gentlemen, all I have to say is; if you like Nicole Eggert, you'll LOVE this movie! No lover of "the Egg" should be without this movie! Now they need to put it out on DVD, and, unlike other low-budget movies recently hitting deev, do it RIGHT (movie trailers, maybe a few deleted scenes, etc.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars MORE COREY-MANIA!!, March 14 2002
By 
Brett Johnson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blown Away [Import] (VHS Tape)
Let's get this straight right from the start. The only reason to see "Blown Away" is if you desperately want to see Nicole Eggert or Corey Haim nude. If that is the case, I would highly recommend that you find a copy of the unrated version. With that out of the way, I can tell you that this "thriller" is utterly ridiculous.
Nicole Eggert plays an unhappy teenager named Megan. She has a nasty habit of blowing up people she doesn't like. That even includes her family. Somehow, Megan has got her hands on several bombs with those nifty little digital readouts on them. Here's the best part though. These aren't your regular run-of-the-mill bombs. Nope. These are special ones which explode so completely that there isn't a trace of them left after they blow up. And all this time I had thought that only guns and drugs were easily attainable in our school system. I guess untraceable explosive devices can be purchased as well.
If you want to see how silly this movie is, you only have to watch the first couple of minutes. "Blown Away" starts off by showing Megan's mom driving her car down the road. A bomb is attached to the bottom of her vehicle and KABOOM! it goes off. Unfortunately, the explosion is a minor one and simply causes flames to shoot out of the back of her car. Fortunately, she loses control of her car and plows into two gas pumps which are conveniently located directly in front of her. No...I am not kidding. The movie continues in this amateurish fashion and the "surprise" ending is only a surprise if you have never seen a thriller before in your entire life.
"Blown Away" was the fourth movie to star Corey Haim and Corey Feldman together. While films such as "The Lost Boys" and "License To Drive" used them well together, this movie uses their pairing simply as a gimmick. Kathleen Robertson ("90210") has a relatively minor role and her presence is completely wasted. Stay away from this one unless your desire to see Nicole, Corey, or Corey (yes...even Feldman is briefly in the buff) sans clothes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nicole Eggert Steals the Show!, July 6 2000
This review is from: Blown Away [Import] (VHS Tape)
In this movie we see what could have been if Nicole Eggert had not left Baywatch because she overestimated her appeal as a movie actress. This is one of her few roles as the lead lady, and she does very well.
Those who remember her from her role in "Charles in Charge" will notice a big difference between the two characters, though both are spoiled rich girls.
This movie also shows how a well meaning guy can get into trouble when he listens to his hormones. Niclole's character, Megan Bowen, tells her "boyfriend" that her father abuses her, and that in order for them to be together, he must kill him.
In short, she bewitches him into a murder conspiracy. This is a fairly well written and acted movie for the price. It has been very underated by critics. The nude scenes of Nicole are nice and seductive, but use your brain and view it w/o your kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best B Movie of All-Time, June 17 2004
By 
S. Wilson "tradersww" (NYC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blown Away [Import] (DVD)
"Blown Away" is one of the funniest (not intentional) and sexiest (very intentional) B-movies ever made. In what other film can you find Cory Feldam pulling wicked 80's dance moves and 90 seconds later see Nicole Eggert (looking her absolute best) fully de-robing. Nicole engages in no less than five 'scenes' in this film. Whoah.
GOOD NEWS RE: 93 v. 91 MINUTE RUNTIME: This DVD ordered from Amazon is the full, uncut 93 minute version of the film. I have seen the VHS version which is missing ~2 minutes of Nicole. That was a huge disappointment. And while the DVD case itself says the running time is 91 minutes, don't let that fool you: this movie is in its original and perfect wholeness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Corey Haim and Nicole Eggert heat up in this erotic thriller, Dec 24 1998
This review is from: Blown Away [Import] (VHS Tape)
Corey haim plays Rich Gardner, a 21 year old kid who is the activities head at a local resort. He and his older brother Wes(Corey Feldman) get bored one night and go to a party at the Bower mansion were he runs into Megan Bower, played by Nicole Eggert. The two really hit it off and there relationship gets really heated, especially in the unrated version. But little does Rich know, Megan has plans of her own to frame him for the murder of her father. A good movie, especially due to Nicole Eggert. If you liked Basic Instinct, you will definitely like Blown Away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Corey Haim's rump is what makes this movie, Jan. 31 2000
By 
Wallace (Trenton, NJ) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blown Away [Import] (VHS Tape)
Despite being a below-average thriller, "Blown Away" was made entirely worthwhile with the well-choreographed nude scenes between the beautiful Nicole Eggert and the always-hot Corey Haim. Corey's nice behind is the biggest plus of this movie, but Nicole's beautiful naked body is also well worth it. The blue lighting during the nude scenes shows a cinematographer who knew what he (or she) was doing. Well Done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars No match for the Unrated Edition, Oct. 21 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Blown Away [Import] (DVD)
I give it two stars for the 2 minutes they cut out of this version. I'm holding off from buying this because once you've seen the unrated version, everything else pales in comparison.
It's tough to watch something knowing that there have been edits right where they shouldn't be. Damn this country's puritanical standards!! Sure, keep sex and nudity away from the kids, but not from adults for chrissake!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I LOVED THIS EXCELLENT THRILLER!, Aug. 31 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Blown Away [Import] (VHS Tape)
I thought that this was a great action movie, and I thought Corey Haim, and Nicole Eggert were perfectly picked for their parts. I loved it. I also think that Corey Feldman was also excellent in it. I recomend everyone to see, not under 10 though. It might be to much for 10 years old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blown Away is Amazing, Jan. 27 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Blown Away [Import] (VHS Tape)
This movie is incredible. Nicole Eggert is so incrediblygorgeous. The story line is great, and the best part of the movie,especially for us guys, is the many times that Nicole is seen completely in the nude. Its a great movie, But not a movie for children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blown Away [Import]
Blown Away [Import] by Brenton Spencer (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 11.14 CDN$ 5.66
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews