Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Happy to finally have RtA on DVD
The second season of Road to Avonlea has to be one of my favourites. Some great characters and guest stars in these 13 episodes, many of them not-to-be-missed! The show itself I would give 5 stars, it's perfection. The only reason I gave the DVD 4 stars is because I was a bit disappointed with the bonus features (couldn't they have included more, like better cast...
Published on Oct. 9 2003 by dsdawn

versus
2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Beware ordering this disk
If you are an international customer and you choose Standard International Shipping for your purchases in order to minimise cost and avoid additional taxes and duties at the country of destination, beware ordering from Amazon Canada. They have been known to disregard shipping instructions and send items by Priority International Courier even if you haven't selected that...
Published on Oct. 2 2005


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Happy to finally have RtA on DVD, Oct. 9 2003
By 
dsdawn "dawne3" (Toronto, Ontario) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Road to Avonlea: Season Two (DVD)
The second season of Road to Avonlea has to be one of my favourites. Some great characters and guest stars in these 13 episodes, many of them not-to-be-missed! The show itself I would give 5 stars, it's perfection. The only reason I gave the DVD 4 stars is because I was a bit disappointed with the bonus features (couldn't they have included more, like better cast interviews, deleted scenes, etc), and some of the quality of the bonus features was not up to par. But overall, a fantastic show I would recommend to anyone.
Looking forward to Season 3 on DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Road to Avonlea, Season Two, Jan. 1 2010
By 
Corrine Kuether (Saskatoon, Saskatchewan) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Road to Avonlea: Season Two (DVD)
The packaging was not good, but the product itself was in perfect condition. It came a couple days later than it was due, but still in time for Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, Oct. 14 2009
By 
elfdart - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Road to Avonlea: Season Two (DVD)
the second season of Road to Avonlea is just as lively and full of character and spunk as the first one. the first season ended with sarah deciding to stay in avonlea with her family instead of returning to Montreal with her father, and the second season takes up where the first left off. this season focuses on allowing the audience to acquaint themselves with the residents of avonlea, instead of using the people of avonlea to develop sarah's character, which is what i felt the first season did more. in many of the episodes sarah doesn't play an inciting role as she did in the first season, she's just more along for the ride here, which unfortunately forshadows future seasons. i personally most enjoy the episodes that focus on the king family, and while i value and enjoy the time given to going into the lives of some of the other town members, i wanted the story to focus more on the king children/ adults. i loved marilla and rachel in anne of green gables, i already know who they are and have watched the anne movies enough times over to have familiarized myself with their personalities and dynamic. seeing them in road to avonlea is nice and provides familiarity, but i find that i don't really enjoy the episodes focused on them as i do when they're just side characters as i already know who they are.

but the focus on other people provides the viewers with an outside perspective of the king family. this is one of the reasons this show is so rich and intricately woven. the story isn't told from just one perspective, but from many perspectives. so one minute we are seeing from the perspective of one person, and the next from another who shows us a different perspective on the first person. so for example, if we were to see from hetty king's perspective, we would see her pride and sense of honour and need to do what's right, but from say, rachel lynd's perspective, or many of the other town's people, even sarah sometimes, hetty is stubborn and heartless and cares only for the king name. so we get two sides of the story.

this is as good, if not better than the first season as the children are a bit older, and therefore a bit better at acting, and the chatacters and story are fleshed out a bit more. great continuation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Road to Avonlea season 1, Sept. 6 2009
By 
This review is from: The Road to Avonlea: Season Two (DVD)
This is a great home town feel of the good ol' days, Canadian style! Absolutely beautiful cinematography of P. E. I. and wonderful vignettes of times past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE ROAD TO AVONLEA Season Two, March 28 2009
By 
J. M. Arnold (bc canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Road to Avonlea: Season Two (DVD)
what can i say ? one of the best family series . and canadian made too . something we should be proud of .j.a.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Series - Poor medium utilisation, Dec 14 2003
This review is from: The Road to Avonlea: Season Two (DVD)
The Road to Avonlea Series is a brilliant family friendly series fit for both the young and the old. It lacks Disney like kitschy sappiness and provides enough human substance to satisfy a stauch Krysztof Kieslowski fan like me.
My four favourite characters - I can't choose which one I enjoy watching the most - Colleen Dewhurst (Marilla Cuthbert), Sarah Polley (Sarah Stanley), Jackie Burroughs (Hetty King) and Patricia Hamilton (Rachel Lynde) - each is a delight to behold. The rest of the cast is excellent too. I own the first two seasons on DVD so far and will preorder the subsequent releases.
The DVDs are however disappointing in that they are double sided and lack many special features. The picture quality has improved from the terrible MPEG compression artefacts of the first season boxset however. This series is highly recommended despite the technical flaws of the DVDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Beware ordering this disk, Oct. 2 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Road to Avonlea: Season Two (DVD)
If you are an international customer and you choose Standard International Shipping for your purchases in order to minimise cost and avoid additional taxes and duties at the country of destination, beware ordering from Amazon Canada. They have been known to disregard shipping instructions and send items by Priority International Courier even if you haven't selected that method, which in some countries leads to the imposition of additional taxes and duties on the arrival of the package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Road to Avonlea: Season Two
The Road to Avonlea: Season Two by Stuart Gillard (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 65.99 CDN$ 40.25
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews