Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Donna Summer Collection
The Journey is a superb greatest hits collections for new Donna fans as well as old. All of the top hits are on it along with some new songs and a second CD of extended play singles.
A must have for any Donna fan and a great CD for new Donna fans.
Her music is timeless as evidenced by her staying power.
Highly recommended!!
Published on July 15 2004

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Summer Bound Again
It is just so unusual to remind people how much in this industry, we often seem to overlook the 70's scene. There were just so many artists that absolutely took the cake. There was Chicago, The Bee Gees, and there was also the Diva of Disco, Donna Summer. Throughout the 70's and early 80's, the legend proved to have the typical stuff, knocking out a whole onslaught of...
Published on Dec 19 2003 by Michael Kerner


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars GIVE IT UP ALREADY!!, Oct. 4 2003
By 
M. DUlisse (las vegas,nevada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Journey Very Best Of Hlts (Audio CD)
I am a long time fan of Donna Summer, but "Enough is Enough". This package is the same as any other Greatest hits package that Donna has put out. She does offer 2 new songs, WOW I'M JUST SO HAPPY! NOT!!! If you are a new fan then get her Anthology which contains over 30 songs from her entire career. I'm just giving up and not even dreaming for new material. I'm sure her next venture will be "The Ultimate Donna Summer" then lets not forget her 2005 release "The Journey Part 2" with 2 new original songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Re-released, Remastered, Rehashed Retread, Oct. 3 2003
By 
Armando M. Mesa (Chandler, AZ) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Journey Very Best Of Hlts (Audio CD)
Enough is enough is enough ! ...The first time I saw just the cd cover of this "latest" collection of hits w/o reading the title first, I thought the Live and More album had been re-released ! I thought it was re-mastered and in it's full length glory (which should have included MacArthur Park Suite). I thought FINALLY the original Live and More from 1978 had come to the light on cd format to compensate for the chopped up early 90's version that was released w/o the famous headshot cover and the famous 17 minute studio suite...
Nope...
Just another collection with a few new tracks thrown in to whet the appetite. Nothing more...I give up hoping for new updated material from one of pop music's best female singers of the 70's and 80's. If you don't own any of Summer's albums, cds, or any other "Best Of" or "Greatest Hits", then knock yourself out with this one. Regardless if it's Donna's decision or input or the record company's (you get the point)...If one was to compile just a cd's worth of new tracks that are always released with each release of a hits collection, it could probably be put on 2 discs as new material !
Because the songs are top dance classics from the 70's and Summer's vocal abilities go beyond what even most of today's pop singers wish they could aspire to, this gets 3 stars...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Long, Long Journey, Oct. 3 2003
This review is from: Journey Very Best Of Hlts (Audio CD)
Well, to begin, I must say that I am a biased Donna Summer fan, and have been for the better part of 25 years. That is why I am hard-pressed to give this CD only 4 stars instead of 5. But, there are two major flaws in this release. The first is that one of the new tracks ("Dream-A-Lots Theme...I Will Live For Love"), is a Mouseketeer anthem, very much in the same vein that "Someday" was for the Mouse House CD back in '96. It is very cookie-cutter, dance fodder in it's original version. In my opinion, this is something that Donna should steer away from at least from a production aspect. The second flaw (though hair-splitting it may seem), is that this summer's best dance floor anthem, "You're So Beautiful" was left off the CD's cover credits. Having gotten that out of the way, these remastered classics are as clear as a bell! And the collection, though I personally find some of her greatest songs missing, is a SUPER BUY for the casual Donna fan.
Now, onto the really great news about this CD. The remix of "I Will Live For Love" is a fantastic dance tune that should have everyone hitting the dance floor over and over at least through the Christmas holidays. But, the show-stopper is the cool and breezy "That's The Way". Her throaty and teasingly optimistic vocals just make me shiver with anticipation to replay the song (and to hear an entire CD with Giorgio Moroder).
So Donna, I can't give you 5 stars this outing, but hopefully 4 will do for you and the rest of the listening world...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars When will a really new record turn up?, Oct. 3 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Journey Very Best Of Hlts (Audio CD)
Donna Summer seems to be suffering from a major lack of career confidence. In the past 15 years, she has relied on numerous "Greatest Hits" compilations. She has not released a full record of news songs since the 1991 bomb, MISTAKEN IDENTITY. Summer likes to tease her fans by slipping in a new song or two so that they'll buy yet another "Greatest Hits" collection just to be able to get that new track. It's a formula that's worked for her ever since the 1980's ON THE RADIO record - another greatest hits with a couple of new tracks. It's a miserly way to treat fans - whether it be Summer herself or her record company. Summer, who used to be an innovator in pop music in the 70's and 80's, is now left to having her old music remixed on an annual basis to a new club audience or leaking out some me-too tracks. THE JOURNEY is another example of Summer's musical tease.
From a price point of view, THE JOURNEY is a nice buy - 20 tracks - 18 of which are her hits of yesteryear - plus 2 new tracks and a bonus CD of extended remixes which includes one more new dance track. So, you get 3 new tracks in total! It's a cruel game she's playing - 18 tracks which were available on practically any of her other greatest hits compilations to get these 3 tracks. 2 new songs are produced by her longtime partner, Giorgio Moroder. "That's the Way", written by Moroder and another longtime Summer collaborator, is a nice reggae-flavored song that compliments Summer's career maturity. She's no longer the 20-something or 30-something or 40-something diva singing about lust. It's a bouncy relaxed number about resignation. "I Will Live For Love", penned by Summer herself, is less successful. It's got that "written for a Disney movie" feel of optimism that complements Summer's born-again Christianity. Another sign of a career's stagnation is that both Moroder-produced tracks have nothing particularly innovative about their sound. There is no trademark "Moroder" synthesizer - the tracks are pretty generically produced and arranged.
On the bonus CD is the much talked-about techno number "You're So Beautiful" (not to be confused with Christina's "Beautiful") which is driving hypnotic number. Unfortunately, it's more a piece of technological craftsmanship than anything that showcases Summer's vocals. Anyone could sing that song and it would be exactly the same.
So is the JOURNEY worthwhile for 3 measly tracks? Overall, I was disappointed. Any fan's journey with Donna Summer has been one of heartbreak with precious little in new music. It seems that Summer's career strategy has been to wait long enough until her music has come back around as nostalgia. Perhaps she's run out of steam or perhaps she's well-off enough that she's no longer interested in creating much music, but THE JOURNEY is a good case for music downloads. How many times do we have to buy "Hot Stuff" just to get a new song every couple of years?
Donna, record 3 new records so that you'll have more material for the next 15 years of "Greatest Hits Vol. 2"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars donna is the best!!!, Oct. 2 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Journey Very Best Of Hlts (Audio CD)
i feel that donna summer is the best singer in the world!!!i love all of her albums, but i wish they would include the following songs in a greatest hits collection:"fascination", "only the fools survive", dinner with gershwin", "carry on", "i'm free", "mystery of love", "love's about to change my heart", "the power of one", "christmas spirit", "the only one", "on my honor", "you to me", "i believe in you", "heaven's just a whisper away", "cry of a waking heart",
"voices crying out"...i love you donna!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Collection From Disco Diva Donna Summer!, Oct. 1 2003
By 
highway_star (Hallandale, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Journey Very Best Of Hlts (Audio CD)
From her first major U.S. hit, the erotic "Love To Love You Baby", Donna Summer was destined to be a star. Her voice was among the best (if not the best)of the disco era that produced such female artists as Gloria Gaynor, Loleatta Holloway, Evelyn "Champagne" King, Vicki Sue Robinson, Cheryl Lynn, Amii Sewart and the list goes on forever. This latest collection entitled "The Journey - The Very Best Of Donna Summer" is one of the best collections you can buy for your money. You get essentially twenty songs that span some 28 years (1975 to 2003) of Donna's music plus a bonus disc with extended club remixes. Starting with the obvious "Love To Love You Baby", there's the Barry Manilow penned tune "Could It Be Magic", the heavily synthesized "I Feel Love", the Paul Jabara penned song from the "Thank God It's Friday" Soundtrack "Last Dance", the gorgeous "MacArthur Park", "Heaven Knows", "Hot Stuff", "Bad Girls", "Dim All The Lights", her duet with Barbara Streisand "Enough Is Enough (No More Tears)", "The Wanderer", "Love Is In Control", "State Of Independence", "She Works Hard For The Money", "This Time I Know It's For Real", "I Will Go On With You", as well as two new recordings "That's The Way" and "Dream-A-Lot's (I Will Live For Love)", both of which are produced by Giorgio Moroder. The bonus disc includes the 12" remixes of "I Feel Love", "Hot Stuff", "This Time I Know It's For Real", "Dream-A-Lot's (I Will Live For Love) and "You're So Beautiful". If I had one complaint about this collection it would have to do with the fact that the songs "Love's About To Change My Heart" and "Love Is The Healer" were left off this collection. Highly Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What A Journey!, Sept. 30 2003
By 
Emile Jumean (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Journey Very Best Of Hlts (Audio CD)
One may hesitate picking up this particular compilation, as there have been many, many Donna Summer compilations released in the past decade. "Why would I pick up this one," you may ask. "What's so special about this one?" Well, here are a couple reasons why you should.
The Journey is, overall, a wonderfully concise overview of Donna's body of work. Not as exhaustive as her 1993 Anthology, and not as skimpy as the 1998 Greatest Hits or 2003 20th Century Masters CDs. In a nutshell, it's basically a revamping of 1994's Endless Summer, now covering her earliest US hit, 1975's Love To Love You Baby, and her last, 1999's I Will Go With You. The songs, the majority of which are in their radio edit versions, are remastered beautifully, and have never sounded better.
One of the catches to this CD, are the two new tracks which reunites Donna with her long-time collaborator, Giorgio Moroder. The two last worked on 1992's Carry On, and before that, 1981's I'm A Rainbow album. Both of the new tracks, in my opinion, are in a word -- stunning.
I Will Live For Love is just so wonderfully over the top, terribly Hi-NRG, but just so much fun to listen to! Follows the classic Donna style -- a slow ballad intro, which then transforms into a pumping dance track, in the vein of Last Dance, Dim All The Lights and Melody Of Love.
That's The Way is one of Donna's best songs in quite some time. It's such an intriguing number, quite an unusual entry in the Donna Summer canon. Everything about the song works: the mid-tempo, plodding beat, the reggae-styled guitar and percussion, and of course, Donna's vocals -- very, very sexy vocals. Not to mention the rather playful spoken passage in the middle... wherein Donna does a little bit of self-promotion. "I wanna love you baby, like you know I'm Donna Summer". Indeed!
This first pressing of The Journey also comes with a bonus CD featuring five 12" mixes, including Hot Stuff, I Feel Love and This Time I Know It's For Real. All of which are basic extended versions. The real treat are the remaining two tracks on the disc.
I Will Live For Love appears a second time, in remixed form, a 9-minute remix done by Giorgio Moroder and Chris Cox. Speaking personally, I prefer this slightly more subdued remix than the perhaps a bit too over-busy original version.
Also making its public debut is the Ultimate Club Mix of You're So Beautiful. A song that made the rounds on bootlegs earlier in the year, it finally gets the public release it deserved. Rather similar to the original bootleg mix, cleaned up, slightly adulterated with more synths and effects, and lengthened by almost 2 minutes. Personally, I have issues with Donna's vocals being so buried in the mix, and I still find it much too hard a mix for my liking. Personally, I would love to hear a more poppier-sounding mix of Beautiful -- something in the vein of the Tommy Musto vocal mix of The Power Of One, for instance.
Overall, Donna's "The Journey" is a tremendous value, combining her classic tunes with some new ones with her old collaborator, Giorgio Moroder, bringing her full-circle. The addition of the bonus remix CD is yet another reason to pick this compilation up without delay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not just another Greatest Hits, Sept. 30 2003
By 
Raul Castanon "rcastanon" (Lynn, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Journey Very Best Of Hlts (Audio CD)
Universal has released an updated Greatest Hits package from the Queen of Dance, Donna Summer. Even though in my opinion other collections such as "The Donna Summer Anthology" and the upcoming "Ultimate Collection" are far more complete, this is a nice collection to have since it includes a retrospective of her work from Love to Love You to her Grammy nominated song from 1999 "I will go with you" (this is the dance version of Bocceli's great song "Com te partiro").
This collection also features a bonus disc with the 12" versions of some of Donna's great dance floor hits PLUS three new songs: "Dream a lot's theme" which is a great dance song showcasing Donna's powerful vocals, "You're so Beautiful" the great dance anthem of the summer, finally available on CD and a great new song "That's the way" in which Donna appears both sexy and playful with a reggae style rhythm which is delightful to listen to.
This album is a must for serious Donna fans since it has new songs and for everyone else, it's a great compilation that will keep the party going. All songs are remastered editions, which is an added treat for the fans. In my opinion, "That's the way" is a great song that is very radio-friendly and should put Donna Summer back on the spotlight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars New Donna Summer ...Great Package!, Sept. 30 2003
This review is from: Journey Very Best Of Hlts (Audio CD)
This latest Greatest Hits package is a great overview of Summer's past and present. Universal has released this package as a great companion piece for Donna's new Autobiography "Ordinary Girl" The digitally remastered singles sounds better than ever.
Global pop music at its best.
Plus it is a 2 disc set, with great bonus tracks. The Amazon track listing is incorrect. this is the correct listing:
Disk 1:
Love To Love You Baby 3.22
Could It Be Magic 3.54
I Feel Love 3.46
I Love You 3.18
Last Dance 3.19
MacArthur Park 3.56
Heaven Knows 3.39
Hot Stuff 3.50
Bad Girls 3.57
Dim All The Lights 3.58
No More Tears (Enough Is Enough) Duet with Barbra Streisand 4.48
On The Radio 4.05
The Wanderer 3.46
Love Is In Control (Finger On The Trigger) 4.19
State Of Independence 4.25
She Works Hard For The Money 4.10
This Time I Know It's For Real 3.36
I Will Go With You (Con Te Partiro) 4.08
That's The Way 3.52 (new recording)
Dream-A-Lot's Theme (I Will Live For Love) 4.52 (new recording)
disk 2
I Feel Love 12" single remix (8:10)
Hot Stuff 12" single remix (6:40)
This Time I Know It's For Real 12" single extended remix (7:22)
Dream-A-Lot's Theme (I Will Live For Love) (D. Summer/N. DiGesare) 12" extended remix (Approximately 10 minutes) Remixed by Giorgio Moroder and Chris Cox, produced by Giorgio Moroder
You're So Beautiful (D. Summer/T. Moran/N. DiGesare) Ultimate Club mix (Approximately 10 minutes) Produced by Tony Moran and co-produced by Nathan DiGesare
The real big news here are the new Giorgio Moroder tracks and the underground club smash "(You Are) So Beautiful". "Beautiful" is already being played on KTU in NYC.
The Moroder tracks "Dream Alots Theme" and "Thats The Way" are even hotter. It makes you look forward to a full new CD from Summer in 2004. The CD is a great value and a great joy. This is for old and new fans. If you never owned a Donna Summer CD, check this one out and you will will want to buy her full CD's which contains the long versions of all of her classic hits.:) I just got my tickets for the Madison Square Garden show. :) I hope she does "Beautiful".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another Summer hits compilation - with a new twist, Sept. 30 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Journey Very Best Of Hlts (Audio CD)
The folks at Universal have seen fit to release yet another compilation that looks back on the career of Disco's only true superstar, yet also manages to look ahead to possible forthcoming projects. All the disco-era hits are represented in remastered glory here, albeit in shortened single edit form. Donna's eighties transition into pop/funk/dance is briefly visited as well. The selling point for die-hard Donna fans is the inclusion of two brand new recordings reuniting her with long time collaborator Giorgio Moroder, who along with Pete Bellote created the disco masterpieces for which she will always be remembered. "Dream-A-Lot's Theme (I Will Live for Love)" is the showier of the two tracks, showcasing a full throated anthemic Donna vocal against an unstoppable Euro/NRG beat. The other new song "That's The Way It Is" is breezy mid-tempo pop embellished with reggae percussion, featuring Donna in a more playful, seductive mode.
Worth noting is that the first pressing contains a bonus disc of remixes including 12-inch mixes of "I Feel Love," "Hot Stuff," "This Time I Know It's for Real," along with a Chris Cox remix of "Dream-A-Lot's Theme" and the elusive Tony Moran collaboration "You're So Beautiful" which circulated on the internet and in various clubs earlier this year.
Hopefully 2004 will see the release of an all new album...until then this set will have to serve as a reminder of glories past and a taster for things to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb3fa4e7c)

This product

Journey Very Best Of Hlts
Journey Very Best Of Hlts by Donna Summer (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews