Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Collection. Excellent Price!!
This CDs are a steal at $12. I paid $18 when it first came out and it was well worth it.
Most people are complaining that there are only 3 new songs. In this day and age, this is Donna's easiest way to get some new music out there. Plus this CD was also meant to go with her autobiography so it makes sense that it would be a Greatest Hits.
The three new songs...
Published on May 13 2004 by G. Duque

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Summer Bound Again
It is just so unusual to remind people how much in this industry, we often seem to overlook the 70's scene. There were just so many artists that absolutely took the cake. There was Chicago, The Bee Gees, and there was also the Diva of Disco, Donna Summer. Throughout the 70's and early 80's, the legend proved to have the typical stuff, knocking out a whole onslaught of...
Published on Dec 19 2003 by Michael Kerner


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Yes it's a repeat, Oct. 7 2003
By 
D. Casto "Tweety" (St. Petersburg, FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Journey Very Best Of Hlts (Audio CD)
Donna Summer is timeless and I adore her. Ever so often the classic artists come out with a greatest hits CD and it's nothing new. (Paul Simon, Elton John, the Beatles, the Carpenters, on and on and on release greatest hits to gather up new fans and to remind old fans who don't have a greatest hits package it's here).
Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Introduction to The Disco Queen, Oct. 24 2003
By 
John L. Hughes, Jr. "hughes_jr" (Nashville, TN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Journey Very Best Of Hlts (Audio CD)
Great sound and excellent track selection. However, I would have replaced "Could It Be Magic" and "I Love You" with two top-10 r&b hits "Unconditional Love" and "Dinner With Gershwin" so that all of Donna's pop and r&b top 10 hits would be on one cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Donna's Back - Better Than Ever, Oct. 25 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Journey Very Best Of Hlts (Audio CD)
Just when you think Donna can't outdo herself, her she is with another amazing compilation of her greatest hits but with 3 new songs that are great. It's worth buying another greatest hits CD just for these new songs.
Hopefully we will be able to get to see her do them live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sounds fresh after all these years, Oct. 17 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Journey Very Best Of Hlts (Audio CD)
I really only expected to get some good driving music out of this CD, so I was pleasantly surprised when I found it to be much more. It was great to revisit the stuff I listened to in high school. Sure brought back some good memories. Great sound, great voice and a lot of fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT SUMMER for the Winter....Now GIVE US MORE !, Oct. 17 2003
This review is from: Journey Very Best Of Hlts (Audio CD)
The collection of songs found on this CD are pop treasures.
The new material is great however it does make listeners want to hear more new songs performed by this legend.
This is a muss have for any lovers of great dance music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Single Disc Collection of Hits (plus a bonus CD of remixes and 2 extra songs), March 23 2014
By 
From the Musician's Pen (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Journey Very Best Of Hlts (Audio CD)
Donna Summer has so many hit collections that it's hard to know which one to get. I did some research and narrowed it down to a few, then let my wife pick because she is a Donna Summer fan and had seen her in concert. She chose this CD because it contains all the big hits on a single disc and it is well rated. It's now my wife's favourite CD and she plays it a LOT! I have to say this CD has made me a fan too.

This CD has all the big hits she's remembered for, plus several more to give a good balance of her later career. The sound quality is very good and very consistent as well.

The previous best single CD collection was probably Endless Summer. Compared to that collection, you lose “Melody Of Love (Wanna Be Loved)” and “Any Way At All” but gain “I Love You”, “I Will Go With You (Con Te Partiro)”, “ That's The Way” and “Dream-A-Lot's Theme (I Will Love For Love)”. So this collection covers more of her career and is even a little cheaper to buy. Most of the longer, double CD collections offer more songs from her disco days, including lesser hits and fan favourite album and dance tracks, or extended dance mixes instead of radio hit versions. The "Gold" series collection is great for that and only costs a little more than this CD.

This CD has 20 songs on the main CD and it's filled up full and nicely. Not a bad song in the bunch:) The songs from the 70's to present all go together every well, the CD flows very well. The songs my wife and I like best are songs we had never heard before which were recorded later in her career. It's sad that she wasn't able to get the radio play she once had - it's clear that the later recordings are hit-worthy.

There is also a bonus CD with extended remixes of some songs, including two songs that are NOT on the main CD. So, technically you get 22 of her hits and not 20 in this collection. The bonus CD's contents are not written on the Amazon site and not on the CD cover or booklet either, so here is the track listing for the bonus CD:

1- I Feel Love - 12" single remix, 8:15
2- Hot Stuff - 12" single remix, 6:40
3- This time I Know It's For Real - 12" extended remix, 7:22
4- Dream-a-Lot's Theme (I Will Live For Love) - 12" extended remix, 9:16
5- You're So Beautiful - ultimate club mix, 10:50

IMO, Donna Summer truly had a great voice. Very few singers sound as good singing so many different types of songs. She doesn't over sing them (a lesson many of the modern "divas" should learn) and the songs are not overproduced - compared to modern recordings there's a lot less background vocals, etc. and more space, which is the main reason why it's not "tiring" to listen to this CD over and over again.

The only negative reviews for this CD that I saw were by people who didn't actually own it and who were complaining that she already has many hits collections and doesn't need another. That's not a valid or useful review. You can ignore those and safely buy this CD. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The BEST, Feb. 6 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Journey Very Best Of Hlts (Audio CD)
just can't get enough of the Disco Queen. Heaven Knows just get's me dancing.
Best music to start a party.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Here We Go Again...But It's Worth It!!!, Oct. 6 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Journey Very Best Of Hlts (Audio CD)
It's not Donna Summer's fault for yet another compilation, but buying this for the remixes was totally worth it!!!
I will be patient for the next masterpiece!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WONDERFUL, Oct. 7 2003
This review is from: Journey Very Best Of Hlts (Audio CD)
BOTH THE HITS SINGLES AND THE NEW SONGS REMIX ARE WONDERFUL IN THIS 2 CD SET. SHE'S MY #1 DIVA.
AWAIT FOR HER FULL NEW ALBUM'S RELEASE SOON.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You're so beautiful, Oct. 9 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Journey Very Best Of Hlts (Audio CD)
juste excellent. le rythme est top, la voix sublime, le mixage impec, bref fabuleux.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Journey Very Best Of Hlts
Journey Very Best Of Hlts by Donna Summer (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews