Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genesis is hotter than YOU!
there were a few times during this movie that i had to walk out with my friends and smoke a cigarette just to chill out a bit. i know alot of people can just watch wave after wave of psyche-defying mutilation and giggle, and i thought i could, but i really can't. honestly, people say the message this movie offers has nothing to give to an american public. i disagree...
Published on July 11 2004 by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars it's ok
The first half of this film really sucks you in. You're on the edge of your seat wondering why are all these kids killing theirselves and what's going on with that roll of human skin? What could have been a thrilling horror flick sinks under the weight of a convoluted, nonsensical plot . . .something that plagues a lot of Japanese horror flicks. Perhaps, because I found...
Published on June 23 2004 by bowery boy


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genesis is hotter than YOU!, July 11 2004
This review is from: Suicide Club [Import] (DVD)
there were a few times during this movie that i had to walk out with my friends and smoke a cigarette just to chill out a bit. i know alot of people can just watch wave after wave of psyche-defying mutilation and giggle, and i thought i could, but i really can't. honestly, people say the message this movie offers has nothing to give to an american public. i disagree. i find the message all too relevant.
i liked the movie. not so much for the particulars of cinematography or linear plotline, but for the awesome GEEK moments. i hope that if i ever jump off a building and land on my wife on the way down, she'd go and get a cup of coffee afterwards. that and if for nothing else, you must see the character called GENESIS. HE IS HOTTER THAN YOU!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly dark and disturbing, cutting-edge horror, Dec 20 2007
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Suicide Club [Import] (DVD)
With an opening scene so shocking and disturbing as to be deemed infamous by many, 2002's Jisatsu saakuru (aka Suicide Club) grabs you by the throat, thrashes you around for an hour or so, temporarily morphs into some kind of weird rock and roll opera, gives you another kick in the solar plexus, and then bids you on your way - a little confused about what the heck you just witnessed. The film will probably be just a little bit too open to interpretation for Western audiences, but by gum I freaking loved this movie. While American horror directors seem to base all of their films on a shared database of five scripts, the Japanese are continuing to revolutionize the horror film day in and day out.

If you've ever heard of this film from director Sion Sono, you probably already know how the movie opens. You've got a group of Japanese school girls (fifty-four in all) talking and giggling one minute, and then joining hands and jumping in front of an oncoming train the next. I wanted to stand up and applaud right here in my room because it's so shocking and so well done. Yes, we gorehounds can critique the manner in which the blood first appears, but no one can question the effectiveness of so much blood literally going everywhere. Shinjuku Station almost instantaneously turns into Splatter City, baby. The cops, led by Detective Kuroda (Ryo Ishibashi) investigate, but there's not much they can do about a mass suicide - not until the pattern of suicides continues to the point that they have to consider the possibility that someone is murdering these kids in some kind of incomprehensible way. The second scene of multiple suicides is almost as unnerving as the first, and as time goes on individuals - including adults - begin taking their own lives, as well, a fact which sort of undermines any cult group theories. A couple of mysterious informers - one calling herself The Bat and the other a child who continually clears his throat after every sentence - as well as a distinctly weird web site provide some insight into the subject, but the clues they provide are pretty cryptic. Believe it or not, events actually take an even darker turn later in the film.

As is so often the case with Japanese horror, some of the deeper aspects of this film may not make perfect sense to those unfamiliar with Japanese culture, but I daresay any horror fan cannot help but be impressed by what goes on here (those who can't stomach a little blood and gore, though, probably won't last very long). It's a really dark story, and some of its central images are of the type that you won't be forgetting any time soon. I'll admit that the story didn't answer all of my questions, especially at the end, but this is horror on the cutting-edge and I loved every minute of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars it's ok, June 23 2004
This review is from: Suicide Club [Import] (DVD)
The first half of this film really sucks you in. You're on the edge of your seat wondering why are all these kids killing theirselves and what's going on with that roll of human skin? What could have been a thrilling horror flick sinks under the weight of a convoluted, nonsensical plot . . .something that plagues a lot of Japanese horror flicks. Perhaps, because I found myself nodding off towards the end, I may have missed something but not much. Interesting to watch if only for the first thirty minutes. After that you're besieged with glam queens, girl pop bands, secret subliminal suicide messages and a weirdly surreal ending at a concert. Maybe something was lost in translation. Recommended if you're a fan of Japanese horror and don't mind not fully understanding the gist of the plot. If you are a fan then check out Uzumaki, Dark Water and of course The Ring which are all creepy and actually have a plot you can follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good movie, Oct. 13 2009
By 
Hugo Marques (Montreal, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Suicide Club [Import] (DVD)
I love watching horror movies, specialy japanese ones. For those who loved tokyo gore police, meatball machine and machine girl
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't take it so seriously, July 7 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Suicide Club [Import] (DVD)
I had a great time with this flick. It didn't change my life or say anything profound. I don't watch films for my social commentary/satire, I watch them to be entertained. If they accomplish that, so what if you have no idea what's going on.
The tone is set within 2 minutes. Around the 30 minute mark the huh? factor takes over.
Look past the lack of character development and holes in the plot. Who says you need those elements anyways? I watched SC with my wife, and we both ran the gauntlet from shock/disgust to laughing histerically. We sang "Mail Me" for 2 days. That song is too funny. And that really bad music isn't accidentally put as a backdrop to the horrible acts you're watching. You could say that it's used to numb the viewer to the seriousness of the suicides, just as the growing MTV culture and "Dessart" always puts on their happy face. Different people will see different things. Thats not the point.
The point is: watch it, don't take it too seriously, and you might have a good time. Then buy the soundtrack.
5 stars -- one of the 10 best films of the year
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Come on...Lets Kill Ourselves Together!!!!, July 3 2004
This review is from: Suicide Club [Import] (DVD)
I found this movie, to be hysterical. It wasn't horror at all..there was only two creepy factors. One the skin that was peeled off..and two how they peeled of the skin. That utterly freaked me out. I read the comic which I was inlove with..the movie was a disapointment. The story was hard to follow and stupid. The only reason to watch it is for the really hot chick with glasses calling herself "The Bat", who was..wooah. The high points of the movie is when the kids jump off a building and there is an insane flood of blood, which is funny because its impossible, second when the girls boyfriend falls on her head, almost takes off her ear and then she orders a coffee, and third when the sparklie drag queen starts singing an idiot song. Other then the babe in the glasses the only enjoyment I got from this movie, was when my friends sister started freaking out and kept harassing her father about how scared she was about commiting suicide. Don't buy it, don't rent it, don't waste your money. Read the manga, it is amazing, this movie doesn't even deserve to have the same title. You may think this spoils the plot, the truth is there was no plot. It was a bunch of over done gore, and bad singing. Spend you're money on something worth it..like Battle Royale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars REALLY weird, June 22 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Suicide Club [Import] (DVD)
I liked this movie a lot, except for one thing: in the end, I had no clue what really went on. The movie left so many things unresolved and unanswered that I couldn't stop thinking about it. Definetly rent this, but don't buy it unless you plan to watch it several times to see if you can get some sense out of it. It had some very creative gore (like the rolls of flesh) which was very cool. All in all, it seemed like it had meaning, but didn't explain itself, so it appeared totally random.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars absolutely shocking, June 3 2004
This review is from: Suicide Club [Import] (DVD)
This was definitely shocking. At the end of it I was completely speechless. The overall message was clear and it was presented "okay". You could just feel the tension reverberating through the film. However, the gore wasn't all that gory and the suspense wasn't all that suspenseful. But I think everyone should see this film despite its bad cinematography because of what you can take from it. My family thought it was a completely pointless movie and had no use, but I could not get enough of it. Watch it. I think if you actually think about what it is saying, it'll affect you as much as it has me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing, June 1 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Suicide Club [Import] (DVD)
Suicide Club is extremely intriguing and itself is a cinematic puzzle. If you are not in the mood for thinking about a movie this movie is certainly not for you. While the film can be EXTREMELY disturbing at times ( especially at the beginning of the film). The effects of the deaths are rather cheesy but the movie is more of a shock/psychological thriller. A puzzle it self I believe the habitants of Tokyo could relate to this film much better than us Americans! I mean the sining group of girls who sing songs about mail and how the world is a giant jigsaw puzzle? I am sure they have bands like that in Japan. The little girls songs seem to show a hidden message of suicide ( you will see). Of course I seem to lose it when the teen is being interrogated by the little death children and they clap every time she responds? Or the part when the detective comes home and you see his daughter then I wonder what the f*** happened to the stupid people. Then the director kills of the main character so how does the movie end. If the director didn't have such a pure vision for his film and bothered make some sense and it THEN I WOULD GIVE IT 5 STARS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I'm Pretty Sure I Liked This Movie, May 14 2004
By 
This review is from: Suicide Club [Import] (DVD)
It was definitely confusing though. Immediately after finishing the movie I couldn't decide if I liked, or really did NOT like, "Suicide Club". I think much of the criticism stems from this being a Japanese social commentary, which is constructed very differently from American movies. There's no attempt to tie the loose ends or reason out the actions of the characters, although it's possible that some of the meaning was lost in the translation. Americans like their movies to make sense within the context of an overall plot. Making sense was not a top priority in this movie - the commentary was.
The central question is the relationship of self with respect to modern pop society. Regardless of WHO was doing the killing or HOW they killed, it is the degradation of core values in the face of pop commercialism that is symbolically killing the youth of Japan. In asking the question "what is your relationship to yourself", the older generation could not comprehend the paradox because they could not relate to the pressures and unknowns plaguing the younger generation. In their quest to understand their relationship to themselves, the younger generation turns not to a stable core society but to pop culture, which in turn kills them (via suicide).
I think the execution of the film would make much more sense to native Japanese, or perhaps they would not be as critical of the plot holes. The movie does meander, and the subplots are never fully explored or resolved. And yes, the whole character of Genesis seemed contrived, especially since I had no idea who he was or what he represented. Didn't like him torturing pets. Really didn't like his singing.
As for the violence, the movie isn't that gory. Certainly "Seven" was far worse, or for that matter "Kill Bill". In fact the blood scenes weren't done that well, but the cheerfulness the kids have before their suicides is chilling.
This is a good movie. The idea of cute Japanese girls slaughtering themselves alone is worth a look, and the social commentary is quite interesting. Just be prepared to end the moving asking "But what about..."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Suicide Club [Import]
Suicide Club [Import] by Shion Sono (DVD - 2007)
CDN$ 16.73
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews