Customer Reviews


134 Reviews
5 star:
 (101)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...I come from a long line of chiefs."
In 2002, Niki Caro directed and co-wrote the screenplay for the endearing New Zealand film "Whale Rider", which was based upon novel of the same name written by Witi Ihimaera and published in New Zealand in 1987. (In Maori, the title is "Te Kaieke Tohora".) The story is about a young Maori girl named Paikea 'Pai' Apirana (Keisha Castle-Hughes), who...
Published on May 6 2004 by M. Hart

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars "It's become even more than that . . . he needs a prophet."
Niki Caro's "Whale Rider" is an uplifting film that contrasts sharply from the generic Hollywood fare being churned out these days. It has an energy to it that is infectious and a story that is as unconventional as it is novel. It also showcases the most heartfelt and authentic performance by a young actress in quite some time.
A young Maori girl named Pai Apirana...
Published on Jan. 31 2004 by Steven Y.


‹ Previous | 112 13 14 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars Whale Rider, March 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Whale Rider [Import anglais] (DVD)
DVD does not work in Canada.Want to see it again.I won't purchase DVD's from the internet again.Bought one for my friend as well. She can't watch it either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Movie, Feb. 10 2014
By 
Lesley-ann Fox (Montreal, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Whale Rider (La Legende des Baleines) (Bilingual) (DVD)
The movie was heartwarming, emotional and triumphant! I recommend this for anyone who enjoys stories of perseverence. Bravo to the cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Whale Rider, Jan. 24 2013
By 
carole "carole" - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Whale Rider (La Legende des Baleines) (Bilingual) (DVD)
A very emotional slow moving story about the "Chief's" rejection of his grand daughter because she wasn't a boy. And how she learns all the rites herself and eventualy saves the beached whales. Set in beautiful New Zealand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Winner Children's BAFTA Best Feature Film 2003, Dec 1 2003
By A Customer
Beautiful and thought provoking. A must see film for all the family.
This film will surprise you with the strength of the emotions that it creates.
DVD extras are also well produced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Emotional, other-wordly, exceptional!, Dec 24 2003
By A Customer
This film is captivating on a soul level. The haunting soundtrack, and the cinematography, along with the incredible acting just took my breath away! This is one of my favorite movies ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Whalerider, Feb. 14 2010
By 
Lynnea C. Mcgee "moon spirit" (Kelowna BC Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Whale Rider (La Legende des Baleines) (Bilingual) (DVD)
This movie give you a bit of cultural background of New Zealand & its people. I found it very interesting & touching. It's a feel good family movie that everyone of all ages should see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, great actress, April 28 2004
By 
MD (Honduras) - See all my reviews
This is a great movie. Liked it a lot. Keisha Castle-Hughes was outstanding. A worthy oscar performance. She will definitely scorch the silver screen in Star Wars III.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, March 20 2004
By 
G. E. Lee "blackgelee" (...In the ocean, with my Whales...) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was expecting the movie to be like the book, but it wasn't. I was very disappointed. But it was a good movie and I recommend it to anybody. Have a great time watching!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant movie., Dec 8 2003
By A Customer
Outstanding movie. Enjoyed greatly by all in my household, ages 6 - 45. Intelligent writing, great storytelling and acting, beautiful message and flawless execution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must see film, Jan. 17 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Whale Rider (La Legende des Baleines) (Bilingual) (DVD)
I don't have the bilingual version of this so am hopeful that it is well-done. This is a film that all people should see and can enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 112 13 14 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Whale Rider (La Legende des Baleines) (Bilingual)
CDN$ 8.99 CDN$ 8.73
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews