Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing
I have already watched this movie about 15 times, (I know, that's a bit much), but I throughly enjoyed it.
Very sad, and to watch her dad beat her was really a hard thing to see, but the story line was very good and I always look for good acting, good story and well written.
Published 19 months ago by keltie

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not the Alpha!
Sigh! Once again there is just review after review of the plot and background of a movie, but not one word on the technical aspects and viewability of any given release! I recently decided to purchase Intolerance, but the exisitng reviews did little in helping me chose which version to get. I will admit I was tempted to get the Kino version since I have had good...
Published on July 9 2009 by James Dickinson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not the Alpha!, July 9 2009
By 
James Dickinson "Front" (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Intolerance [Import] (DVD)
Sigh! Once again there is just review after review of the plot and background of a movie, but not one word on the technical aspects and viewability of any given release! I recently decided to purchase Intolerance, but the exisitng reviews did little in helping me chose which version to get. I will admit I was tempted to get the Kino version since I have had good experiences with other releases from that studio, but the extremely reasonable price of the Alpha Video release won me over. It was a big mistake!!! The film is grainy and fuzzy. It's obvious that not a bit of effort was put into getting a good print, let alone restoring it. Out of curiousity, I took the DVD over to a friend's and compared it to a release from Image Entertainment: It was clearer, the contrast was better and was not nearly as grainy.

Please, we need more reviews like this so that studios which put out good quality versions will be applauded and those which don't properly chastized!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Intolerance review, April 14 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Intolerance [Import] (DVD)
Amazing movie landmark!! No remastering though. I will have to look for a remastered copy as this one is very difficult to look at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars mixed in quality, Feb. 11 2014
By 
Rick M. Pilotte "Author, artist, and solver o... (Victoria BC Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Broken Blossoms [Import] (DVD)
First as a movie, this is actually a bash against a lot of pillars in society. It's a bash against marriage, a bash against Missionaries both Christian and Buddhist and a bash against corporal punishment beyond belief. This makes the world seem a terrible place to be from many perspectives.
So one needs to consider that in it evaluation as a movie. Lillian Gish said in a interview about the movie, The original producer didn't think the movie would be any good because of the final outcome of the main characters, and thus was going to abandon the project, So Griffith bought it to finish it. ...so it becomes a bit of a look into what makes Griffith Tick.

Then there is the fact that this example of the movie is lacking the tints: It's all in sepia. I have a copy that is from the Rohar (if I spelt that right) collection that shows three tints, Blue for outside shots, yellow sepia for indoor shots and some purple tints for other oddball shots. So it was a disappointment to find the tints missing, as I bought this second copy to overcome my diminishing quality of my recorded example. But in having two versions I discovered that this one has about 8 minutes of footage at the beginning that's missing from my tinted version. But my tinted version is actually longer! meaning this version is missing bits here and there from later on in the movie. So I ask the question: Why can't packagers get more then one version and complete these movies rather than relying on a single copy of the movie to make these productions from? I've seen this on other movies too where one has stuff another example is missing and visa-verse. Obviously there are some movies where only one example has survived and that isn't an option, but clearly for the sake of the silent media preservation, using all existing examples to complete the movie should be standard practice. "Greed" originally 8 hours is about 2, A New Leaf (Matheau) was cut to shreds, Even Frankenstein should have it as originally screened. For some Chaplin movies many examples exist and show a complete movie if you have two or three of the same movie from different packagers.

Back to This movie...A lot of the acting is not particularly convincing. Donald Crisp is far too exaggerated in his attitudes portrayed and it becomes tiresome to watch. Though Griffith loved the bit with Lillian pushing a smile onto her face with her hands, it really is only a visual trick to show the effort it takes for her to smile and another way should have been strove for to show this effort: this I thought was lazy. Gish though, generally speaking does make the film worth watching. Barthelmess is the other extreme; He is too limited in his emotions used and when it comes to the crux, his acting borders on silly, but realistically I might be accused of being over critical of Barthelmess. It's a tough call.

One odd part: there is a picture on the box that is not from this movie, and the cover is artistic license at that. And once again the movie description on the box give three quarters of the movie away. The people that box these movies need some imagination so they don't give the plots away...so as a rule I never read the boxes before seeing the films and I never give too much of a story plot away in these reviews. I'm slowly reviewing all my silents (278 at this point and found more to buy when I can afford them. )
But all said it is still a well done and memorable movie, if a bit depressing and again I state it is a bit of a bash against many pillars of society. I love the oft used scene of the china town with it's arches. Nice visuals here as well as other scenes so the photographers cannot be faulted in this film that's for sure. if only the tints were there to complete the atmosphere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, Nov. 20 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Broken Blossoms [Import] (DVD)
I have already watched this movie about 15 times, (I know, that's a bit much), but I throughly enjoyed it.
Very sad, and to watch her dad beat her was really a hard thing to see, but the story line was very good and I always look for good acting, good story and well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intolerance explained..., May 30 2002
By 
Christopher R. DeFay (Los Angeles, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Intolerance [Import] (VHS Tape)
Many of the reviewers here rightly praise Griffith's well-deserved credit for his technical achievements. Others criticize him for a poorly constructed film. The fact of the matter is that, for 1916, this film is an incredible feat. The first American big-budget extravaganza, it followed closely in the steps of other big multi-reel films in vogue at the time(Griffith's own Birth of a Nation, and others coming out of Italy). The spectacle alone makes this film worth a look, but viewers should try to contextualize it. There was a great expectation across the nation to what would come from Griffith after the amazing--and incendiary racist-film, Birth of a Nation.
What is Intolerance really a metaphor for anyway? Griffith was fighting off attempts by legislators to regulate or censor the motion picture industry. An anti-censorship booklet released by Griffith in 1916 suggests he continued to respond to "moral reformers" even as he assembled Intolerance. In fact, his film is an attempt to address these reformers while simultaneously opining on nothing less than the historic importance of the film media itself.
Intolerance is really about a nation's cultural memory and Griffith's attempt to offer a totalizing, yet entertaining version of it. His belief that if we were educated on the subject of past "sins of hate, hypocrisy and intolerance" through the magic of film that we could inoculate ourselves against war, capital punishment and other evils. He argued that film was a better education than traditional education. To quote the master: "Six moving pictures would give students more knowledge of the world than they have obtained from their entire study." Such an understanding is, of course, naïve and dangerous.
Griffith was caught in a double-bind. In order to fight the censors he needed to simultaneously argue that his epics (like Birth and Intolerance) were a kind of filmed truth, yet the construction of this "truth" should only be the purview of the director. Griffith's logic is dangerously flawed. Birth of a Nation is hardly true history. In fact its racist vision of blacks fanned the flames of racial hatred in whites and surely accounted for many more lynchings than if the film had not been made. What's missing from his vision is how truth is arrived at: certainly not from a lone man's dictates. We have another word for that...
Intolerance is worth viewing because it is a wonderful illustration of the limitations of film. It's a simple morality tale blown up to epic-and phantasmagoric-proportions. It's greatest weakness is the cross-cutting between the four time-periods, and the attempt to narrate all history, yet this is precisely what makes the film interesting. The failure to arrive at an overarching metaphor that somehow spans history and unites us with our past points to Griffith's own flawed vision. It reminds us-contrary to Griffith's own advice-that understanding history in all its irresolvable complexity is absolutely essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A must-see silent film, Oct. 24 2011
By 
Lava1964 (Cambridge, ON) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Intolerance [Import] (DVD)
Intolerance is historically significant in the grand scheme of film-making. D.W. Griffith tells four separate stories--all linked with the abstract concept of intolerance. Though dated (hey, it was made in 1916) it still has a gripping series of climaxes that make it worthwhile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Intolerance for another age, May 23 2007
This review is from: Intolerance [Import] (DVD)
Watching older cinema really does demand a little suspension of disbelief. Griffith's Intolerance was an incredibly influential film for its time. Just the cross-cutting would have influence on film techniques like montage, and perhaps even other media like novels, poetry and painting. It is a very long film, but that's what's great about having a DVD version, you can watch it all at once, or in parts. A great piece of filmmaking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An historical landmark, April 1 2004
This review is from: Intolerance [Import] (DVD)
D. W. Griffith's films are badly dated now. Birth of a Nation is historically important, but violently racist. Intolerance isn't overtly racist, but just as simple-minded. On the other hand, no one, in the history of film, has ever been as ambitious. No one else has taken four different stories, from four different historical periods, and combined them in one grand epic - like four tributaries flowing into one great river. For students of film only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must-Have!!!, March 19 2004
By 
This review is from: History of Cinema (DVD)
This is one of the best compilations of early cinema to date, and on DVD at that! I don't know how much you would care about the free posters, as they are repros, I'm not that big of a fan, but it is a nice bonus.
These are the films that defined cinema as it stands today. These are the films that began a long and wonderful history of entertainment. Everything from Eisenstein's montage theory ("Battleship Potempkin") to the shocking stark realities from D.W. Griffith ("Birth of a Nation") even to Weimar Cinema and culture (Fritz Lang's "Metropolis") and film noir ("Nosferatu"). These are the classics, the forefathers, the basis from which current techniques, themes, styles, and shots are drawn. What you have in this 12 DVD set is a slice of history, of the birth of cinema.
If you consider yourself a film fan, or if you enjoy a wide variety of classic movies, this truly is a must-own set. You simply cannot understand modern cinema without first viewing these classics. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Superb Film That Never Fails To Amaze, March 12 2004
By 
Christopher D. Shaner "cdsshaner" (Rocky Hill, Connecticut USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Intolerance (DVD)
I have long been a great admirer of this wonderful film, and am always interested in the latest VHS or DVD editions that are made available. The print quality on this Delta release is surprisingly good, making it an excellent value for the curious collector desiring an introduction to D. W. Griffith's 1916 cinema masterpiece. There are several different edited versions of Intolerance that have been produced over the last few years for video, each slightly unique in terms of editing and emissions/additions of key scenes. This Delta DVD version is no exception, with some interesting fadeouts to a couple of scenes that, in some prints, cut abruptly to the next shot. The music that accompanies the film sounds as if it was pieced together from pre-recorded sources, but it works well enough and it's apparent some real effort was used to match the music to the mood of the images. As to the film itself, Intolerance is a brilliant and powerful milestone in the history of cinema. D. W. Griffith wove four separate stories together, each from a different period of history, to illustrate the theme of man's inhumanity to man. The results were certainly startling to 1916 audiences, and no less impressive today. Superb performances abound in all four stories, most notably Mae Marsh and Robert Harron in the Modern Story, Constance Talmadge and Elmer Clifton in the Babylonian Story, Howard Gaye in the Nazarene Story, and Margery Wilson, Eugene Pallette and Josephine Crowell in the French Story. The beautiful repeated shot of Lillian Gish as the Woman Who Rocks The Cradle, a device linking the individual stories, has become an enduring icon of the Silent Cinema. And of course, the magnificent sets of Ancient Babylon are among the most wonderful ever created for a moving picture. My recommendation to first-time viewers of Intolerance would be to try this version out, and then pursue the newly restored Kino version for a more definitive print. The cover art for Delta's release is also interesting, using vintage advertising art for the film that focuses on a crucial scene for Mae Marsh in the Modern Story. All in all, a very decent job in bringing a landmark film to the home screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Intolerance [Import]
Intolerance [Import] by D.W. Griffith (DVD - 2014)
CDN$ 7.60
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews