Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Forget the other reviews!
Those guys don't know what they're talking about.
While you certainly need to see The Re-Animator as a set-up, Beyond the Re-Animator is better than the original movie could hope to be. It starts out slow, and some acting is indeed flat, but what better setting for total chaos and over-the-top mayhem than a prison?
While as a standalone movie, it probably...
Published on July 18 2004 by Douglas Millhoff

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but where's the gore?
In the making-of, Director Brian Yuzna tells us that there's less gore in that movie than the previous two and it shows. In fact, that (and the bad acting from most of the actors) keeps the movie from becoming truly great. Otherwise, it's a fun movie that never gets dull but never acheives greatness either.
The DVD itself is of good quality for such a movie. Good...
Published on Oct. 12 2004 by Denis-Steve Giguere


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but where's the gore?, Oct. 12 2004
By 
Denis-Steve Giguere (Quebec, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beyond Re-Animator [Import] (DVD)
In the making-of, Director Brian Yuzna tells us that there's less gore in that movie than the previous two and it shows. In fact, that (and the bad acting from most of the actors) keeps the movie from becoming truly great. Otherwise, it's a fun movie that never gets dull but never acheives greatness either.
The DVD itself is of good quality for such a movie. Good picture quality, sound is ok, there are a short making-of, a director commentary and trailers, and the music video is so bad it's a laugh.
Because of its low price, it's worth a try if you're a fan of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Forget the other reviews!, July 18 2004
By 
Douglas Millhoff (Los Angeles, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beyond Re-Animator [Import] (DVD)
Those guys don't know what they're talking about.
While you certainly need to see The Re-Animator as a set-up, Beyond the Re-Animator is better than the original movie could hope to be. It starts out slow, and some acting is indeed flat, but what better setting for total chaos and over-the-top mayhem than a prison?
While as a standalone movie, it probably merits only a couple of stars, "Beyond" isn't targeted towards a generic audience, and such a rating would be inappropriate. This campy horror flick is about as close to perfect as you can get for its intended audience, who can take the stylized violence and gore with a dark sense of humor.
Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Movie some major holes...., June 17 2004
By 
S. Koropeckyj "Romi Panchir" (The Bright Side of the Moon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beyond Re-Animator [Import] (DVD)
This movie had a very captivating plot and was overall a pleasure to view, however in the plot there were some pretty major holes and some of the acting was downright dreadful.
The plot is simple. A new doctor comes to work at the hospital where Dr. West is incarcerated. Howard the new doctor, and probably a new actor because his acting was downright dreadful and at times painful to watch (His reaction after the girl that he likes dies is just so fake); Dr. West and Howard then set up the lab again and chaos and misfortune ensues.
The gore is good. The reasons for the gore are not always good however. For example when Laura visits the one ressurected patient she walks up close and what not, knowing that he is dangerous. It just didn't make any sense. Another funny thing was that the nurse wore the old fashioned skirt, the kind you could rip off with a strong pull. Right...
However the violence was good and entertaining. The movie got straight to the point and never got off. From the very beginning there was murder, mayhem and chaos.
Recommended to all those that are not too worried about plot holes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Re-Animated, April 4 2004
By 
Tom Benton (North Springfield, VT USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beyond Re-Animator [Import] (DVD)
Ever since I began watching the original Re-Animator, I loved it. Soon it became one of my favorite films, and I watched Bride of Re-Animator, which was a horrible sequel. With average expectations I rented Beyond Re-Animator, and let me say I was blown away. It's been thirteen years since Herbert West's former assistant turned state's evidence against him, and sent the doctor to state prison. Now, an eager young doctor wants West as his assistant in the prison after seeing West's work during the final Miskatonic misexperiment. Soon, the doctor is the assistant and West is the doctor as he continues experimentation into re-animation of the dead: only this time, it's one step higher ... Jeffrey Combs is better than ever as the mad West, giving us a terrific performance. The rest of the cast is very good as well; Brian Yuzna's direction has improved, and the script is great; there's also a cool score by Xavier Cappellas. Beyond Re-Animator is one of my favorite films, and one of the best horror films of 2003. It features some quite funny comedy, mixed with great, gory horror in the tradition of the first film. It is completely entertaining and features some very nice story ideas. Think of it as Shawshank Redemption with re-animation and Dr. West - oh, forget it. I found that the film was almost as good as the first Re-Animator, and way above the Bride. It's great to
have West back again. And the ending is terrific - fans of the first film can sit back and smile with satisfaction ...I would highly recommend Beyond Re-Animator to any horror fan, and it is essential for fans of the firstfilm. Easily one of my favorite horror films. Be sure to stick around to see the hilarious end fight between a rat and the warden's severed limb.
"Religion has nothing to do with this!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Same ingredients for the same recipe ! A good sequel !, March 27 2004
This review is from: Beyond Re-Animator [Import] (DVD)
It's back ! And if you liked the 2 first movies, go for this 3rd one, I don't think you will be disappointed. You know the ingedients..Funny and gore. The SFX are signed by Screaming Mad George as usual and Yuzna is the director for the Fantastic Factory(DAGON rules). I was not disappointed at all. Jeffrey Combs is still the same MAD DOCTOR and ready as ever to raise the dead. The spannish actors are quite bad and you don't know why Dr West is in a jail in Spain but who cares ! Or maybe they try to let us believe we are in USA but well, there is a Police car in a scene not very US style ;) Anyway It's a cool sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dr. West creates zombies in prison., March 24 2004
This review is from: Beyond Re-Animator [Import] (DVD)
Finally for all you Re-Animator (1985) fans, a third film has been made. Filmed in Spain. The second film was BRIDE OF RE-ANIMATOR (1990). Jeffery Combs is back as "Herbert West". Two boys are camping out in the yard. Suddenly Howard (Tommy Dean Musset) tells the other boy a story about someone keeping body parts. He shows him an eye in a cup. Lighning and thunder materialize. The mother (Barbara Elorrietta) in the house is killed by a jawless zombie (Angel Plana) as Howard watches in horror. The zombie was another one of Dr. West's experiments, so Dr. West is arrested and put into the police car. But before he leaves, the vital green luminous shot is left for the boy. Thirteen years later, Howard (Jason Berry) is now a doctor and visit Dr. West in prison. Dr. West still conducts his electrical shock experiments, but this time on rats. When Howard shows Dr. West, the luminous shot he left behind thirteen years ago, he can't wait to see if the luminous serum still works. Of course it does and so the campy zombie fun begins again. Lolo Herrero plays "Sergeant Moncho". Enrique Arce plays "Cabrera". Simon Andreu plays "Warden". DVD includes an "Easter Egg". Click your down button on the remote. When "Lions Gate Films" logo appears, click on this. You will see trailers for Beyond Re-Animator (2003), Cabin Fever, and Faust--Love of the Damned. Extra include "Move Your Dead Bones" music video. Making of Re-Animator documentary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Welcome to Arkham Prison...the doctor will see you now..., March 6 2004
This review is from: Beyond Re-Animator [Import] (DVD)
Director Brian Yunza once again breathes life back into the Re-Animator series with this third installment, Beyond Re-Animator (2003). Shot on location in Spain, the only character to make it from the original movies was Doctor Herbert West (Jeffery Combs). While neither of the sequels was nearly as good as the first, this one, I thought, was a bit better than the last.
The film picks up where the last left off, with one of West's experiments attacking a young woman, which is witnessed by her younger brother. The movie then fast-forwards 14 years, and we see West as an inmate in Arkham prison, performing strange experiments on rats, ones not involving bringing them back from the dead, but having something to do with removing strange energies from their bodies. Seems West is trying to develop a means to not only re-animate the dead, but to also return the subjects back to their normal, mental states. You see, the re-animation formula does work, but the subjects are usually mindless murder machines once brought back from the dead. With his new research, West hopes to counteract this effect, and truly return his once dead subjects back to their normal, pre-par tem selves.
The young boy who so long ago saw his sister attacked by one of West's experiments is now a doctor, and has taken up residency at the prison where West is incarcerated, requesting that West be assigned to assist him. This seemed like a set up so that the doctor could avenge his sister's death, but that wasn't how it was played out, which seemed weird to me. Anyway, West, with the help of his new benefactor, begins his re-animation experiments anew, with a slight twist in his development of returning sentient consciousness to his subjects.
The movie does follow the format of previous films, with West blindly pushing forward with his experimentation, while his reluctant partner follows meekly along, and also a woman getting into the mix. There were some new elements thrown in, but most of the movie stayed similar to the first two. The script was a bit on the weak side, but director Yunza manages to keep things interesting with a copious amount of gore and splatter, but I am sure fans of the visceral would have wanted more. West is always fun to watch, a man driven by his unrelenting desire for knowledge despite the consequences.
As the movie progresses, the inevitable prison riot breaks out, and various 're-animated' test subjects do many nasty things. No big surprises in the end, but a suitable ending leaving the door open for another sequel. There is some nice eye candy (women) to look at in this nearly all Spanish cast, but the acting skills in some of the cast members, men and women, are pretty poor. The special effects, provided by Screaming Mad George, are nice and thoroughly grotesque, and the story does move along, so I would call this movie a successful sequel to the last one, especially since I really didn't have high hopes after seeing Bride of Re-Animator (1990) and hearing another sequel was on the way.
Special features include a director's commentary, a 'making of' featurette, a somewhat goofy music video featuring a techno song and some interesting visuals. There are also a few trailers included, one for this movie and a couple more for other Lion's Gate releases. All in all, not a bad follow up to the sequel, but still nowhere as good as the original film. I do wish someone would release some of Brian Yunza's other films to DVD, like From Beyond (1986) or Crying Freeman (1995).
Cookieman108
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Yuzna and Combs return with a vengeance, March 3 2004
By 
Matthew King (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beyond Re-Animator [Import] (DVD)
For fans of the Re-Animator series (and there are many) the wait is finally over. 13 years after directing Bride of Re-Animator Brian Yuzna returns with another satisfying sequel. Beyond Re-Animator opens with an interesting 10-minute prologue that shows one of Herbert West's re-animated corpses getting loose and killing a teenage girl in the suburbs. This sequel is set 13 years after those events where West is now in jail serving a sentence for conspiracy to commit murder. A young doctor by the name of Howard becomes infatuated with West's work and wants to assist him to further his research which attempts to explain rational behaviour.
I was pleasantly surprised by the high quality of this sequel especially considering the many negative reviews I read of this film. Yes this was filmed in Spain on a limited budget and none of the same actors (except for Jeffrey Combs) return but what should we expect? 13 years had gone by since the last entry. As long as Combs returns this series will do just fine. He's great here as usual, in his trademark subdued style. I marvel at his ability to play a role of someone who is stone-faced and dead serious but at the same time funny as hell. Combs is surrounded by many other interesting characters including the young doctor, a pretty reporter and the requisite sadistic prison warden although none of them do nearly as good an acting job as he does.
Despite the lower budget he had to work with, Yuzna managed to make this film look very stylish (similarly to Stuart Gordon's Dagon). Almost the entire movie takes place inside of a prison, lending the film a claustrophobic feel. The last half hour is very fast paced and chaotic for as usual West's experiments go horribly wrong. Re-Animated corpses are everywhere, inmates break loose of their cells as prison guards try to fight them off, the whole jail becomes a riot act. Brian Yuzna certainly went all out with this finale. This was a great film that is injected with all the right doses of gore, mayhem and humour that have been trademarks of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good.. but.. where's the gore ?, Feb. 13 2004
This review is from: Beyond Re-Animator [Import] (DVD)
This is a good movie in the good old 80's horror style with some hilarious episodes. It fits well to the two earlier Re-animator movies. But there's a big disadvantage that got it to loose two stars in my opinion. Either it is cut (god damn, are they really still cutting humour horror movies ? Greater horror !) or the great Brian Yuzna just put in less gore this time. Either case, this type of movies demands both much humour and much gore ! Brain Dead / Dead Alive is released uncut without problems. What's the f----n problem in doing the same with this movie ? Anyway, if you like re-animator 1 & 2 you must buy Beyond Re-animator and I thank Brian Y for doing it, but I sincerely hope that it will be released uncut very soon. Brian, we're waiting for part 4 already !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Hilarious Twist on an Age Old Tale, Feb. 8 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Beyond Re-Animator [Import] (DVD)
This movie was a spectacular treat! I found it to be a delectably scrumptious dish. I did not see the first two in the series, but if they're any less wacky than this one, they cannot compete! The dubbing on the lead female was ab-fab! This is the funniest movie I've seen all year. Comeplete with Spanish junkies ("the good stuff") and severed genetalia, this is a must see! If you're thinking of buying this movie my advice would be to "Go fer it!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beyond Re-Animator [Import]
Beyond Re-Animator [Import] by Brian Yuzna (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 16.44
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews