Customer Reviews


147 Reviews
5 star:
 (126)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lost In Space, a Timeless Classic
The Lost In Space DVD collection would be great for science fiction buffs out there. I love science fiction, and I was not even close to being born when this show was out, but thought I would give this a whirl. In each and every episode, the Robinson family, and the coniving, cold, selfish, yet, some how lovable Dr. Smith get in to adventure after adventure with various...
Published on June 26 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Like the set, but poor productions of the DVD media and copy
Well, first, I will say that I like having the 1st season on DVD media.
However, the two things that bother me and WILL affect the next season's purchase are:
1) the DVDs appear to be of the home-burned type as they do have "stick-on" labels. The pictures and text are not printed directly to the DVD itself.
2) being a person who does lots of...
Published on Jan. 23 2004


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lost In Space, a Timeless Classic, June 26 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Lost in Space: Complete 1st season (DVD)
The Lost In Space DVD collection would be great for science fiction buffs out there. I love science fiction, and I was not even close to being born when this show was out, but thought I would give this a whirl. In each and every episode, the Robinson family, and the coniving, cold, selfish, yet, some how lovable Dr. Smith get in to adventure after adventure with various different life forms. The show bases its plot around the dear Robinson's being launched into space as the first family to live in space and loose their course and get stranded. Before launch, however, ornrey Dr. Smith gets caught on the ship and travels with them. Through each and every episode, they keep you engrossed in what will happen and really make you want to keep watching the next episode after also. There are also various other characters in the show, of course the fabulous robot, who in each episode, keeps getting more and more personality. I would definitley say, this is very entertaining, and very funny! I would recommend this to any one and can't wait until they come out with the second season. Only one question, why don't they ever show this on re-runs? Before this came out, I never heard of it and that is rather sad. I believe this is one of the best shows of all time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars LIS on DVD-4 1/2 stars., June 16 2014
By 
Robert Badgley (St Thomas,Ontario,Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lost in Space: Complete 1st season (DVD)
Lost in Space,the first Season,is now out on DVD which contains all of the original 29 eps of that season,plus the pilot and a promo for the show.Approximately the first five eps of this season incorporate the pilot ep into its plot.The main difference between the pilot and the first five eps is Doctor Smith.He is not seen in the pilot (nor is the Robot),but in the season eps themselves.I suppose Fox wanted someone the Robinson family could"play" off of.They found the perfect villain in Doctor Smith,played beautifully by Jonathan Harris.His character is a sneaky,low down,egotistic,conniving coward who is always looking out for himself first and foremost.Harris just chews up the scenery each and every time he is on.An absolute delight to watch.
If you have never seen the show it is about a family that takes off from earth on their way to Alpha Centauri.They never make it there as their ship gets into trouble and they're forced to crash land on an unknown planet.The show highlights their trials and tribulations,as they eke out a living and have to deal with creatures the planet harbours or from visitors from afar.The first season really emphasizes the family bond, but as the season progresses Harris' character blossoms and an ep without him simply isn't the same.
The show was a precursor to Star Trek and in fact we see many of the things Star Trek would later bring to the table here first,such as a discipline collar/ring on the neck,a Horta like creature and the Robot even brings up the Prime Directive! In fact the first ep of the second season talks about the essence of the life force that is everywhere in the universe and that binds us all together,beating Star Wars by quite a few years!
There are many stars that appear in the first season that you will recognize such as Mercedes McCambridge,a young Kurt Russell and Warren Oates.The name of the family was of course the Robinsons,an obvious reference to the Swiss Family Robinson who also became a stranded family.One will notice that the show,even in the first season,starts to reuse footage from one ep to another.One in particular is a scene in an early ep that shows the Chariot being bombarded during a meteorite storm.Later in the season the same scene is played out once more but now it is a volcanic eruption that has the chariot in its grasp.And savvy viewers will notice in a later ep that part of the Seaview set from Voyage from the Bottom of the Sea was used to flesh out the story(also filmed on the same lot).
The show remains in the minds of the original viewers not only due to Dr.Smith and his outbursts towards the Robot like"You bumble headed booby",or "Never fear,Smith is here" or"The pain,the pain",but also the Robot's own outbursts like"Danger,danger".As the season wore on the Robot also got more cheeky with the doctor,even to the extent of laughing and making fun of him.
The wonderful catchy theme song was written by none other than John(Johnny in the titles)Williams.And speaking of music,those in the know will recognize the background music used quite frequently in these eps, from the movie The Day the Earth Stood Still.This was after all 20th Century Fox and this production had full access to its vast musical library.
No,it was quite the show then,and it still has that certain something to this day.There hasn't been an ep I cannot recall seeing when originally aired in /65-/66.The show has been remastered quite well but does have some slight defects/graininess due to its age,but nothing major.The first season is in b&w until the last cliffhanger of the last ep,when it turns to colour and on into the second and third season.Oh yes those cliffhangers.Each ep ends with a heart stopping moment which freezes and invites the viewer to be there same time,same station next week to see how it turns out.You may wonder why even the last ep of this season carries that same type of ending(same time,next week,etc), as one wouldn't theoretically see how it turns out until a few months later in the fall.Well back in those days the networks would rerun their most popular shows throughout the summer.They would time the very last ep to coincide with the start of the NEW season in the fall! That way if you happened to miss the last ep during the regular season showing,you'd be able to catch it then.The old season leading naturally into the new one! Smart.
I highly recommend Lost in Space to everyone.It is a show the whole family can watch together.That's something terribly lacking in today's TV wasteland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars worth all your 130 bucks for it, Feb. 11 2005
By 
This review is from: Lost in Space: Complete 1st season (DVD)
I bought this even thought it was alot. But come on its worth it to see angela cartwright and Debbie the bloop bloop.
and dr. smith getting in trouble all the time.
And June Lockhart and Bill Mumy and the robot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic entertainment, Feb. 11 2005
By 
This review is from: Lost in Space: Complete 1st season (DVD)
whenever I watched this show I get hooked and want to watch another episode. It was about time it came to dvd. I cant wait until season 3's out!! Then I can hav all the episodes on dvd!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Warning! Warning! Hokey fun approaching, Feb. 5 2005
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lost in Space: Complete 1st season (DVD)
This series [TV-Series 1965-1968] is formulated on the old serial cliff-hangers. The stages are cardboard and Styrofoam. The props look like anything lying around in the ware house. From the dialog you would not realize that the actors can and are acting. As the programs progress the stories get weirder to holds your attention. There are also several notable guests including Robbie the Robot that always outsmarts "The Robot" (Bob May) The Robot's voice is Dick Tufeld.

We all know the basic story of a saboteur Dr. Zachary Smith (Jonathan Harris) is too smart for his own good and his sabotage backfires from the start throwing the spaceship into who knows where with him trapped inside. What is worse is he never learns from episode to episode. Prof. John Robinson (Guy Williams) is the good guy father that is always giving one hope of being found or getting back. Maureen Robinson (June Lockhart) is the stereotypical motherly type and is caught occasionally stopping John from beating Zackary's brains out. We have mischievous kids always wandering off to discover the new trouble. And a watered down love interest between daughter Judy (Marta Kristen) and Major Don West (Mark Goddard).

How will they survive?

What strange creature or disaster will befall them this week?

Some one may have modified the media somewhat. "Oh, the pain, the pain." However we buy what we can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, July 13 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Lost in Space: Complete 1st season (DVD)
I bought this the day it came out. The next couple of weeks, I watched one or two episodes every night when I got home from work. I thoroughly enjoyed every episode. It gave me something to look forward to after a long days work. Dr. Smith rules!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 2nd Season worth the wait but..., June 26 2004
By 
R. Stellato "Beatles Fan" (East Meadow, New York United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lost in Space: Complete 1st season (DVD)
The 1st season was great to have. 20th century should NOT be so overly concerned about sales for this series. We've waited long enough as fans growing up. I say release it already, get it over with and satisfy the fans. There's no legal battles going on; they own it outright!,,(a la batman tv series,yeah..can anyone say comic book series legal web??)That's an identical fan frustration for some but that's an eternity at best.
20th never released Lost in Space in VHS in 'total' either through that continuity offer with Columbia house TV deal.
I'm not happy....spare me 20th Century...Not every box set makes money...it's not about that...Remember to give something back once in a while...that's entertainment......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still great after all these years, June 16 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Lost in Space: Complete 1st season (DVD)
We spent the last couple of months watch a couple of episodes per week with our eight year olds. It was so great to have the whole season lined up. The kids loved it as much as us adults did. The stories continue to be entertaining, the characters great. The special effects routinely imaginative, cheesy and hilarious in this day and age. Tempo is perfect, monsters just the right scary for younger audiences. The DVD transfer is wonderful. The BW episodes have never looked so crisp and clean. Would have liked some more "behind the scenes" and retrospectives like you get with many movie DVDs. Either way, it is a great buy and will keep a family or a old fan entertained for the entire season. It would have been fun if they had included the original commercials (as an option).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the money!, June 7 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Lost in Space: Complete 1st season (DVD)
Doesnt have the impact as when you were a kid,but still a very good
show!Fox did a great job with the quality and package of this set.
Splitting the second season in two packages is a bit disappointing,
i'll buy it no matter what.Two releases will add up to the same
price anyway,i just hope they are released close together,not
several months in between!Spend your money on this set,you will be
glad you did!Lots of fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars First Season Great, Second Season Delayed, June 6 2004
By 
This review is from: Lost in Space: Complete 1st season (DVD)
Just want to add my voice to all the other excellent reviews that have been posted here. The black & white episodes of LOST IN SPACE are fantastic!
The latest word from 20th Century Fox is that sales of the first season boxed set have been good but not great. Consequently they are considering releasing the second season in two parts (15 episodes each), hoping that the lower price of each package will be more appealing to DVD buyers. The tentative release date for part 1 is this September.
Whatever the date, it will be well worth waiting for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lost in Space: Complete 1st season
Lost in Space: Complete 1st season by Leo Penn (DVD - 2004)
CDN$ 113.21
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews