Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Poor Dice, given a bad rap...
I remember the early days of Don Rickles, the master of insult humor. His career was saved when his Las Vegas crowd rallied to let the public know that he was really a nice guy. Unfortunately, the Dice-Man didn't have that support, and his 80's update of Rickles-type humor was blown out of proportion by a misguided, politically-correct public that wouldn't know a funny...
Published on Jan. 10 2004 by R. Gawlitta

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece it is NOT
The Adventures of Ford Fairlane, starring Andrew Dice Clay. Raw, raucous, and totally unconventional. Unbelievable. Un-f@*!ing-believable. I don´¿t need to recap the film as most of the other reviewers have summed up the story succinctly. Ya gotta love the cameos, Sheila E, Morris Day (remember The Time?), David Bowie, and the cast has Lauren Holly (the sexy...
Published on March 9 2004 by M. Elizabeth Pietrzak


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece it is NOT, March 9 2004
By 
M. Elizabeth Pietrzak "driftingcloud" (Claremont, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Adv of Ford Fairlaine (VHS Tape)
The Adventures of Ford Fairlane, starring Andrew Dice Clay. Raw, raucous, and totally unconventional. Unbelievable. Un-f@*!ing-believable. I don´¿t need to recap the film as most of the other reviewers have summed up the story succinctly. Ya gotta love the cameos, Sheila E, Morris Day (remember The Time?), David Bowie, and the cast has Lauren Holly (the sexy redhead cop in Picket Fences...mmmm..wanted her so badly....mhmmm...but she had to kiss Dice...yuuuuuuk!), Ed O´¿Neill, Gilbert Gottfried (in a role that puts Howard Stern to shame!)
I originally bought this movie on VHS because I am a long-time Yello fan and I discovered that Yello scored the movie. I bought it on VHS years ago, watched it once and was disgusted that Yello had put their name on such trash. I could see why Yello never scored another film. Well, I just watched it again, with fresh eyes, and despite the fact that there is not much Yello, other than some clips from their 1990 album Baby (I now understand why Baby was such an uneven album, many of the songs were written for this film and they just don´¿t flow properly in an album format. That or they are too closely tied to the same storyline as the film.) Yes, despite the fact that there was less fresh Yello in the film than I wanted, the film is actually well crafted. I planned on watching just a bit of the beginning to check out again how much Yello is in the film, and I simply couldn´¿t stop watching. Two hours later and I discover there is a DVD version. While it is not my standard fare in humor and style, I am going to have to get the DVD to see what it looks like in widescreen format.
My first watching years ago was on a small television, so perhaps that had something to do with my first impression of "::shrug::" Watching the VHS version on my projector the other night was a completely different story. You really need to consider how easy it is to get bored by a film when it is on a tiny TV screen. Watching it in a larger format or in the theatres gives a whole new twist and perspective to the viewing. Definitely worth the trouble here.
While I am not fond of the humor, I give the movie a solid three stars, maybe 3-1/2 or 3-3/4. Sorry Dice, I just can´¿t bring myself to give you four stars...no dice.... Definitely worth the time and effort to buy in DVD and view on a large screen, and enjoy the soundtrack on something better than crappy old worn-out VHS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Poor Dice, given a bad rap..., Jan. 10 2004
By 
R. Gawlitta "Coolmoan" (Milwaukee, Wisconsin USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ford Fairlane Adv of (DVD)
I remember the early days of Don Rickles, the master of insult humor. His career was saved when his Las Vegas crowd rallied to let the public know that he was really a nice guy. Unfortunately, the Dice-Man didn't have that support, and his 80's update of Rickles-type humor was blown out of proportion by a misguided, politically-correct public that wouldn't know a funny joke if it was strapped to their privates. Dice IS funny, and he IS a nice guy. His humor is probably a "GUY" thing, but he talks no differently than anyone I've known who lived in a college dorm. Okay. Enough about the misunderstood Dice. "The Adventures of Ford Fairlane", an early effort from Renny Harlin, is always funny and always entertaining. The screenplay is clever, a direct parody of dumb detective films, with many original ideas, tailor-made to the many talents of Andrew Dice Clay. Dice is quite charming, always self-effacing and having a great time. The assembled cast is great, with Gilbert Gottfried in a natural role, a fine nasty performance from Wayne Newton, as well as Robert Englund (in a non-Freddy role, but still nasty). Lauren Holly is a stabilizing factor, and Priscilla Presley (remember the "Naked Gun" films?) is as straight as ever. Really enjoyable is Maddie Corman (the little sister from "Some Kind of Wonderful") as Zuzu Petals (I've not been able to watch "It's a Wonderful Life" without thinking of Maddie...) Ed O'Neill's rendition of "Booty Time" may stick with you.Andrew Dice Clay's humor may not appeal to all, but this is a fun film and the Dice-Man is quite endearing. Don't judge...ENJOY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly entertaining, Dec 16 2003
By 
J. Hall (Tulsa, Oklahoma United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ford Fairlane Adv of (DVD)
I never cared for the comedy of Andrew "Dice" Clay. I wasn't offended or disgusted by his stand-up routine; I just didn't find any of his jokes funny. Back in the summer of 1990, when the theater I worked at got a poster for The Adventures of Ford Fairlane, I wasn't the least bit interested, and figured it would bomb. I was right, and it never even showed at that particular movie house.
So, why did I rent it on VHS the day it was released? Two reasons: I'm a big Robert Englund fan, and I'd seen just about everything else in the video store. Imagine my surprise when it turned out to be GOOD. Clay has a commanding onscreen persona, the rest of the cast is great (especially 27 year-old Lauren Holly), and it was funny. Granted, the humor isn't for all tastes. (This is the Diceman, after all.) But those in the mood for a well-done comedy/mystery should find much to like. Clay never really took off as a movie star, which is too bad. Check out his bravura performance as a villain in the otherwise lame No Contest. Too bad it wasn't in a better film.
It's nice to finally see this in its original widescreen format (DEATH TO PAN AND SCAN!!!). The audio is decent, and there are a few extras, including commentary by director Renny Harlin and the infamous "Cradle of Love" music video. Many a young boy were touched by this opus from Billy Idol...
I found this DVD at Wal-Mart for 5.88, two weeks before it was supposed to be released. Un-*******-believable!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb DVD release that's been long overdue!, Nov. 24 2003
By 
K. Cannon "katatonia2" (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ford Fairlane Adv of (DVD)
I had the opportunity to buy the Adventures Of Ford Fairlane DVD about a month in advance, so I'll comment about the transfer and special features for buyers wanting details concerning the DVD. It is surely a definite must buy for fans of the movie.
It is a Double-Sided DVD with a crystal clear Anamorphic 2.35:1 Widescreen version on one side and a Full-Screen "formatted to fit your TV" version on the other side of the disc. It would have been nicer to just have a Dual-Layer DVD instead of Double-Sided DVD (easier to scratch!), but that's only a small complaint. It's great to finally be able to see the movie in it's original Widescreen format, a lot of small details are not visible in the Pan & Scan VHS version that's been available for years. I haven't viewed the Full-Screen version on the disc, but the Widescreen transfer on the disc looks as good as any newer movie would on the DVD format.
The audio options are English Dolby Digital 2.0 Surround, which is also very sharp and clear. You can also choose French or Spanish language tracks if you choose, both of those are in "mono" sound. Subtitles/Captions are available in English, French and Spanish as well.
The DVD special features... There is a full-length audio commentary by director Renny Harlin that is quite informative. You can choose to listen to his commentary track on either the Widescreen or Full-Screen side of the disc. Also included is the original "Making Of" featurette from 1990 that runs about 6 minutes in length. Plus, the original music video for Billy Idol's "Cradle Of Love". And last but not least, the original theatrical trailer in 2.35:1 Widescreen format!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Guilty Pleasure! Ya Hear!, Jan. 3 2003
By 
john fierro (Long Island , NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Adv of Ford Fairlaine (VHS Tape)
Ford Fairlane is one of those movies that is a guilty pleasure- The off color humor is the kind that you laugh and shake your head saying " I can't believe they said that"- but you are belly laughing while you say it. ... He lights up the screen and you can't take your eyes off of him. He is very funny in this movie. He has some classic one-liners and shows a lot of the "Dice" character in the Ford Fairlane character. - he also shows a side to Ford that has a heart of gold. The movie is very well made with a great soundtrack and it is full of all things "1990"- cameos by Popular music artists at the time, and some very funny jokes about the stars of that time. It is a fast paced film and it feels like you are watching a comic book- which is what this is all about. The story is basically Ford searching for a missing groupie and then discovers some shady things going on at a Record Company. Can't tell you anymore than that.
REMEMBER ONE THING- This film was released at the height of the controversy with DIce. ... Now I think a lot of critics and people in general see what a funny comedy this is- top notch entertainmaent. Rent it, buy it- enjoy it.
** Side Note- .........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An entertaining trashy comedy., Dec 9 2001
This review is from: Adv of Ford Fairlaine (VHS Tape)
An crime fighting Rock & Roll Detective (Andrew Dice Clay in a vulgar comic performance) has been hired by his best friend (Gilbert Gottfried) & an mystery woman (Priscilla Presley) to find an missing young groupie (Maddie Corman), who could be linked to the mystery death of Bobby Black (Vince Neil of Moltey Crue) is murdered on Stage. Soon the hippest detective is having problems with his secertary/girlfriend (Lauren Holly) and an Cop (Ed O`Neill) but the worse he gets involved with an sleazy ruthless record executive (Wayne Newton) and a merciless hit man (Robert Englund).
The film is a gulity pleasure, directed by Renny Harlin (A Nightmare on Elm Street 4:The Dream Master, Driven). Andrew Dice Play`s Performance keeps the film entertaining. This was a Box Office disapointment for Harlin. Harlin did get Fans from this film, years later after this film`s release. DVD has an sharp anamorphic Widescreen (2.35:1) transfer (also in Pan & Scan) and an good-Dolby Stereo 2.0 Surround Sound. DVD has a Interesting Commentary Track by the Director, Music Video, a Featurette and the Theatrical Trailer. This is an very underrated comic film, which is not for all comic tastes. Panavision. Grade:A-.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars UNBELIEVABLE!!!, Jan. 24 2001
By 
Peter Whitney (Seattle, WA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Adv of Ford Fairlaine (VHS Tape)
Man, the majority of people hate this movie because it stars Andrew Dice Clay, and they haven't even watched it. That's not very fair if you ask me. I also must say that this movie is ahead it's time if you ask me. I mean look at Ameerican Pie, and There's Something About Mary, they have more offensive things than the language in this movie. Anyway let's talk plot shall we?
So the Diceman is Ford Fairlane, rock and roll detective. Priscilla Presley hires him to find this girl (who would later be the peek-a-boo girl at the end of Swingers) but she doesn't give Ford the full story. Then Gilbert Gottfried (as a shockjock) hires Ford to find the same girl, but with a different story. Anyway, hilarity and wackiness ensues. There is a funeral for Vince Neil (too bad it's not real) Robert Patrick Kelly as a stalker, Robert Enguland as a psychotic killer (without claws, that's a different movie), The Columbia Records tower, zippy one-liners, Wayne Newton and lots more craziness.
I must also point out that this movie really got me into the band Yello (they did Oh Yeah from Ferris Bueller's Day Off) because they did some of the soundtrack. My main problem though is the fact that I live in a very PC city (Seattle, so it's hard to find on VHS. I've seen it on TBS a few times but it's edited and that defeats the purpose, and you lose some great lines. I really would not mind it being on DVD either. I mean look at all the other Renny Harlin movies out, Cutthroat Island and Die Hard 2 are out but not this? Come on people, and when you do release it make it a keepcase, not those flimsy cases that Warner Brothers uses. I'm getting sidetracked. This movie is a great enjoyment, action, laughs, Lauren Holly to look at, and great cameos. Get it... now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Rock and Roll, Baby!, May 3 2000
By 
Anthony Hinde (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Adv of Ford Fairlaine (VHS Tape)
Andrew Dice Clay fans are not the only people who can enjoy "The adventures of Ford Fairlane". It should hold an appeal for anyone who admire the conviction of people who travel a path very different from the mainstream of humanity. Ford Fairlane is definitely one of these types of characters.

Wearing a leather jacket with the collar up, tight black jeans, slicked up hair and shiny, black, pointy, leather boots, Ford tears up the screen with his sharp sexist wit. He is so conscious of being cool that he often runs the risk of losing his life.

This film has more quotes than you can shake a stick at and rightly so. The script would have to be one of the best around. Lines like the following:
"Johnny was the only person that could ever out-gross me"
"We used to have gross-out contests"
"I would cough up a wad of phlegm on the table and Johnny would say 'Nice try' and pull out a straw"

Ford Fairlane is a rock and roll detective. By that I mean he specialises in investigative cases in the music industry. Specifically, in Los Angeles. The story takes Ford through an investigation given to him by his good friend Johnny Crunch, a radio shock jock, who is killed shortly thereafter.

The case eventually manages to suck in two other investigations. One of which concerns the recent death of a heavy metal band's lead singer. The other is a hundred dollar case to find the Father of a kid that idolizes Ford and emulates him in all things.

Despite a number of premature attempts by Fairlane, the case is eventually closed but only at the cost of his home, his girl and his best friend. All of which would be sad if the film were not the frighteningly funny comedy that it is.

So, if you are getting tired of being politically correct, want to objectify women, drive a tasteless car and produce knock-em-dead one liners at the drop of a prat, then settle yourself with a six-pack and some snacks while enjoying "The Adventures of Ford Fairlane".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I'm Ashamed To Say It But I Actually Like This Movie, Sept. 19 2001
This review is from: Adv of Ford Fairlaine (VHS Tape)
I'm not a fan of the savage, vulgar comedy that Andrew "Dice" Clay got more into later in his stand-up career. However, I do like this movie more than when I first saw it. The movie is, dare I say it?, kind of funny. The Diceman plays a rock and roll detective hired to find a missing girl and solve the murder of his DJ friend(Gilbert Gottfried). There are many gags in this silly movie and they definitley make me laugh. If only Clay had stayed as appealing in this film in real life. It has a really fun cast: Robert"Freddy Krueger"Englund, Priscilla Presley, Lauren Holly, Wayne Newton, and Ed 'O' Neill from "Married With Children". There are many little sayings that Clay does in the movie and they are quite funny. The script completely falls apart and the mystery of the case doesn't hold anybody's interest for long. Who really cares?. It's a real stupid with enough appeal to be fun and enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's Unbelievable - Ford Fairlane Rock and Roll Detective, Dec 19 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Ford Fairlane Adv of (DVD)
The Adventures of Ford Fairlane
Mr. Rock and Roll detective Ford Fairlane has to crack a case involving the death of rock star Bobby Black (Vince Neil of Motley Crue). The main lead he get's is to find a girl name Zu Zu Pedals, interestingly he's hired by 3 different people to do it.
The movie has a great flow to it. There's not a scene where you say "let me go to the bathroom". Renny Harlin (Die Hard 2, A Long Kiss Goodnight) did a great job with this comedy.
The cast is stellar. Andrew (Dice Clay) Silverstein's best performance on screen. Precilla Presley (The wife of Elvis), Robert Englund (Freddy Kruger), Gilbert Gottfried, Lauren Holly (wow), Ed O'Neill (Married with Children) Tone Loc (rapper), Kurt Loder (mtv) and so many more.
If you like Easy Money, My Cousin Vinny and Deuce Bigelow this movie will fit right in.
This movie should have a sequel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ford Fairlane Adv of
Ford Fairlane Adv of by Renny Harlin (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 86.11
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews