Customer Reviews


119 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (30)
2 star:
 (21)
1 star:
 (23)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Get REAL People
What do you want in a horror film? Some reviews have the tone of, "Well, I rented this with Bergman's Seventh Seal, and I was disappointed by the juxtaposition of the Sitz em Leiben from an overall gestalt blah . . . blah . . . blah. . . ."
It is a fun horror movie. Enjoy it!
It continues the original story with the next day. It involves a group of...
Published on March 9 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars He can taste your fear, among other things...
The Creeper is back, and I am not talking about that feeling I get when my underpants ride up too high...ugh...Victor Salva, who wrote and directed the very popular Jeepers Creepers (2001), takes us back to the horror buffet for a second helping in Jeepers Creepers II, which picks up the very next day to the events in the first movie. A little background...the Creeper is...
Published on June 7 2004 by cookieman108


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars A weak, disappointing, needless sequel, July 4 2006
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jeepers Creepers 2 (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
I'm afraid I'm going to be rather harsh in my assessment of this extremely needless sequel. Writer/director Victor Salva obviously does not agree with one of my central tenets of effective horror: once you show us the monster, the monster can no longer frighten us. The original Jeepers Creepers started out extremely creepy then went downhill midway through - once we saw the true face of the Creeper. This sequel's opening scene is a good one, featuring the Creeper in his black trench coat and hat posing as a scarecrow, but there is not one remotely unsettling scene that takes place after that. Salva concentrated on making the monster uglier and slimier, obviously counting on that to scare us - but it doesn't. We've already seen all this before.

Supposedly, there was not going to be a sequel to Jeepers Creepers; admittedly, it's hard to make a follow-up to a film featuring a creature that only appears every 23 years. Here, though, we are told that events follow immediately those of the first movie - it's the end of the same 23-day period. Of course, the premise here is very different (and I am still very disappointed that the ultra-gorgeous Gina Philips did not have a part in this film). You've got a school bus full of very annoying teenagers returning home from their state basketball championship win (and why there are only three cheerleaders, I have no idea); they break down in the middle of nowhere and soon find themselves harassed and attacked by this terrifying creature with huge wings, sharp claws, and a pretty nasty appetite. Of course, there's no way they can figure out just what the monster is - unless, of course, some girl falls into a temporary fugue state and learns all about him in a dream. We see this dream, and it doesn't include half of the information the girl imparts to her classmates. There's no explanation as to how this girl learns all of this, and that really annoys me.

The film quickly becomes an exercise in tedium as the Creeper attacks, pauses, and attacks again while the teenagers try to stay alive, argue whether or not to try and leave the bus, and fight among themselves. These trivial teenaged arguments are supposed to make these characters seem "real" and thereby make us feel connected to them. Personally, it just made me hate the whole lot of them and yearn desperately for their deaths. Unfortunately, I really couldn't even pull for the Creeper, as he really just doesn't appeal to me as a monster. All of the close-up shots of him tend to make me feel as if Salva is trying to force me into really being horrified by him, but the fact is I really have little feeling for the Creeper one way or the other. To me, the storyline of Jeepers Creepers 2 was really just an excuse for creating tons of special effects - much, much more than we saw in the original film. The visual effects are pretty good for the most part (except for the one decapitation scene, which Salva managed to turn into something just plain silly), but special effects should serve to augment the story, not take its place.

It's true that there are a bunch of special features included on the DVD - some fifteen minutes of deleted or edited scenes, two commentaries, and a whole host of making-of and behind-the-scenes featurettes, but no amount of special features can make up for a weak and disappointing film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as first, but a lot of points people miss..., Feb. 4 2005
By 
Chrissy (Burlington, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jeepers Creepers 2 (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
Through out the first film the creature is less slimy than the second, and less human making him scarier than the second. He is more humorous in the second movie (winking at kids, pretending to shoot them, etc.), and alot of aspects of the first film didn't transfer into the second movie. Jeepers Creepers never plays in the second movie, which is the whole point of calling the movie jeepers creepers. they do make references to the other movie however, Darry appears and tells Minxie the low down on the creature, and they even discuss the church with the bodies. But a couple of overlooked factors are that in the first movie the church is burned down and the bodies with it, how could it be found now. Also Tom Tarantini plays Coach Dwayne Barnes in JC2, but in the original he plays a jail bird named roach. No offence, but hire two different actors for two parts, or at least attempt to make him look like a different person.
Surprisingly enough, a movie that for about 85% takes place on a bus, and that's it, it wasn't painful to sit through, and although it wasn't extremely scary, there were times when you had to jump. Having Minxie as the "Psychic" also was an odd, but usefull decision. In the first it was a woman named Isabelle, and neither of the kids knew her, but in the second it is Minxie one of the close friends of all those on the bus, playing into they turn against her because they think she didn't tell them her dreams earlier.
Although there is some sympathy for a couple of characters (Izzy, Minxie, Betty the bus driver), for the most part you don't seem to sad when one of the kids dies. Scotty for instance, i hated him so much that i was actually happy when the creature killed him. Personally, i think that a side story could have been Izzy's story, it is briefly touched on when they talk about his scar, but never again, it could have been used to an advantage creating more sympathy for Izzy when he was killed, which was also one of the sadest parts of the movie.
Overall an okay movie, there are some good looking kids in it though, that always helps. the movie could have been more, but it was alright for a sequel that was not meant to be. I suggest seeing it just for the sake of seeing it... and Dante... and Izzy. Izzy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Use it as a prequel, July 2 2004
By 
S. van Galen (Haarlem, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jeepers Creepers 2 (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
This movie is pretty difficult to rate, because the value depends on how you watch it. So lets divide into two possibilities:
1. AS A SEQUEL As a sequel, i don't like this movie one bit. Afters the first jeepers creepers, i was expecting another suspencefull movie where a few characters would be chased all across the country until the creepers has it his way. Instead, we get an entire bus full of incredibly uninteresting and unsympathetic characters, standing still along the road, trying to fight off the creeper whoms looks had totally changed and suddenly looks like a giant bird of prey. And what's with the psychics? It has nothing in common with the first movie except for the annoying stuff.
2. AS AN INDEPENDENT MOVIE if you watch this without knowing the first one, it's a pretty entertaing monster movie. It's just another slaher-movie really, but this time the pretty standard victims are fightinh off a giant bat in stead of your average demon or zombie. The setting with the bus is pretty original, and you will be entertained if Friday the 13th is the only standard it has to live up to.
If you still can, i recommend watching this movie before the prequel! This one is just an entertaining horror story, you'll be amused. Then watch the first one, just to see that this monster could also actually be scary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars He can taste your fear, among other things..., June 7 2004
This review is from: Jeepers Creepers 2 (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
The Creeper is back, and I am not talking about that feeling I get when my underpants ride up too high...ugh...Victor Salva, who wrote and directed the very popular Jeepers Creepers (2001), takes us back to the horror buffet for a second helping in Jeepers Creepers II, which picks up the very next day to the events in the first movie. A little background...the Creeper is a creature that hibernates in the Earth, and every 23 years it awakens for 23 days to feed on victims, gaining strength to go back into the ground until the next cycle. What exactly is the Creeper? I would speculate it's some kind of demon, given its' supernatural abilities and leathery wings, but it's never really determined within the films, at least to my knowledge.
The film starts off on a farm, with a boy working to secure scarecrows within a cornfield. Upon noticing one of the scarecrows is different than the others, namely that it's moving (yes, Dorothy, he's looking for a heart, among other body parts), the boy soon learns that the scarecrow is none other than the Creeper, and both the Creeper and the boy quickly vanish, much to the father and the boy's older brother's dismay. Cut to a bus full of high school football players, a few cheerleaders, some football staff, and a couple of coaches traveling on a fairly desolate stretch of road (is there any other kind in movies like this?) After the bus suffers a flat tire from rather peculiar means, the occupants soon find themselves under attack from the devious fiend. They try to fend off their attacker, but as we know because we've already seen the first movie, it will not be deterred. It's your flesh it wants, and once it picks you, that's it, buddy boy. Can nothing stop this vile beast, or are all chosen (it chooses its' victims by smell i.e. if you have the right scent for the particular body part its' looking for, you're in trouble) destined to be blue-plate specials?
The film plays up nicely to the first, and the setting of the bus added a real sense of claustrophobia. This follow up to the first does offer a bit more information about the creature, but less than most probably would have preferred, leaving a sense of wanting. The scares, for the most part, were pretty genuine, but I did find the 'jump out and scare you' technique a little overused. We do get to see a lot more of the Creeper in this film than the last, but that doesn't necessarily mean it was for the better. The effects for the Creeper are really sharp, but I felt as far as his abilities went, there seemed discrepancies. Given what it seemed to be able to do, like ripping the roof off an automobile, he seemed to have a decent amount of difficulty getting into the bus. The factor that it used fear to sniff out potential victims was bandied about, so I figure maybe it was just trying to work the kids up. But still, at some points the creeper seemed vulnerable compared to other points when it seemed unstoppable. And something else that kind of bothered me...there seemed to be a number of scenes with bare-chested young men and given the director's past (I am not going to go into it here, look it up), I felt a little creeped out. It seemed like a side of the director was coming out that I really wasn't interested in seeing. And all the silly tension created within the group based on first racial and sexual stereotypes, and then the mirroring of these stereotypes to those 'chosen' and 'not chosen' by the Creeper seemed so very obvious. Where's the subtlety? And I'm no prude, but the excessive use of profanity seemed to get a little out of hand. Sometimes less is more, and in this case, that would have held true. The main thing missing from this film compared to the first was a real likeability of the characters. In the first, we were able to learn about the characters in fairly good detail, spending time with them. Here, most of the characters are presented in an unfavorable light, with little focus on if and why we should like them, giving us little reason to see them make it to the end of the movie. Given the copious number of characters in this film, that kind of intimacy would have been difficult, but not impossible.
As far as stars, I really only recognized character actor Ray Wise, who played a farmer and the father of the first boy abducted in the film. His scenes were great, especially as he tries to avenge his son by use of a pneumatic fence post driver mounted on the back of a pick-up truck. Ahhh, revenge is a plate best served cold, or a six-foot wooden post skewering your enemy's sternum...also, returning from the first film is Justin Long, reprising his role as Darry. Gina Philips, who starred as his sister Trish, declined to come back.
The picture looks really good, in wide screen anamorphic format, and there's quite a bit of special features including commentaries by the director, another by the actor who plays the Creeper along with a makeup effects person and a production illustrator, featurettes on the making of the film, special effects, music, photo galleries, theatrical trailers, deleted scenes and more (whew, dat's a lot of schtuff)...despite the films shortcomings (I noticed a definite lack of atmosphere), fans of the first shouldn't be disappointed, as this film doesn't suffer too much from the dreaded 'sequelitis' (no budget, no story, and a persistent feeling that the only reason the film was made was to cash in on the first) that many do...yeah, I'm talking to you, Starship Troopers 2...
(...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining If You Like the "Creeper" and His Sly "Humor", June 5 2004
By 
Tsuyoshi (Kyoto, Japan) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jeepers Creepers 2 (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
So, they made it again, the sequel to the surprise horror hit. Don't ask me if this is better than the first one, because frankly I don't know, But several things are certain about this horror about man-eating creature "Creeper" played competently by Jonathan Breck, and they are; A) the story is more coherent, or conventional: B) more humor is thrown in: and C) the monster is the best thing in the film.
The story is aptly simple; the high school basketball players are going home in a school bus (with obligatory cheerleaders in T-shirt), but they all get stranded in the middle of the two-lane road. The cell phones are dead; there is no help around them; so this means they are in trouble, this time, a real one. And some flying creature is looking down from up above, waiting for the moment to snatch them one by one.
In the meantime, Ray Wise ("Twin Peaks," remember?) is the father with a hand-made harpoon on a pick-up truck, who is willing to hunt down the nasty creature because of the reason you see in the pretty scary opening scene. He and his son are heading to the spot where the bus is, and now, you know the rest of the story.
Victor Salva has quirky sense of humor, I think. The non-descriptive kids trapped inside the bus become exactly "the canned food" for Creeper, who can pick up (yes, he does, with a bit of humor) the tasty ones. Don't try to think about the logics. The film knows what it is doing when Creeper pretends to be a scarecrow (see the poster), as if playing hide-and-seek.
The film may not be scary for this reason -- very sly humors -- but to some audiences like me, it delivers tremendously. If you are horror film fans, you might detect the exact moment some 'surprising' thing would happen. Actually, the biggest surprise is that the monster got another trick or two, sometimes acting like ninja. Well, if you like that kind of surprise....
"Jeepers Creepers 2" does not follow the 'anything goes' formula, in which the creature's identity is quite confusing (truck? winged monster?). Still, I find this sequel is as entertaining, if not scary, as the original one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Creeper Will Get You!, June 2 2004
By 
David Girod (Westminster, Maryland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jeepers Creepers 2 (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
Okay, if you are reading reviews based on Jeepers Creepers 2, then my guess is your not looking for heavy drama (i.e. Dances with Wolves), your not in the mood for romantic comedy (i.e. Pretty Woman), and your definately not looking for an arthouse flick (i.e. Magnolia). I would guess you are looking for some cheap scares, a cool monster, a touch of gore, with a dose of suspense thrown in for good measure. Check, Check and Double Check as Jeepers Creepers has all of those! I enjoyed part one, and I thought part 2 added quite a nice touch to the original storyline of the Creeper. I did miss the use of the song Jeepers Creepers that was in the original, but that is a minor complaint. The Creeper is a good modern day monster, and I hope it does become a franchise! The teens are annoying to a degree, but represent more than fodder as in most fright flicks. And I think the lonely country road setting is phenominal, the long shots of the broken down school bus on a dark country road, really give you a sense of isolation. If you are a horror fan, or enjoy creature features of the 50's, 60's & 70's you will enjoy Jeepers Creepers 2. (...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A worthy return for the Creeper, May 17 2004
This review is from: Jeepers Creepers 2 (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
Set on the last two days of the Creepers 23 day feeding frenzy, only a few days after the original Jeepers Creepers, a re-vitalised the Creeper is out to make the most of the time he has. Enter a school buss full of teenagers and a ticked off farmer...
Jeepers Creepers 2 is a very different movie to the original, in more good ways than bad. I know it's hard to believe there is such a thing as a teen horror sequel that isn't just a re-tread of the original! Jeepers Creepers 2 focusses more on group hysteria (kind of Lord of the Flies Lite), instead of just one or two people on the run, and goes for more action oriented killing scenes. The Creeper is a bit different too - he/she/it spends most of it's time flying (something reserved only for small doses in the original).
The hero of the movie really is the Creeper, sure there's people running from him and trying to kill him, but they really just come across as fodder. I love a good horror movie where the whole audience is rooting for the bad guy (and not just me)!
The one thing that really bugged me was the lack of the Jeepers Creepers song when the Creeper is about. In fact, the only song in the credits was a dodgy chant the basketball team were yelling in the bus!
Overall, a fun movie to watch, but it could have used more killing! Man, that creeper is a fussy eater! You'd probably get more out of this if you'd seen the original first, but it's still a good popcorn movie for anyone that feels like some light-weight scares.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Spend your money on something else...., April 23 2004
This review is from: Jeepers Creepers 2 (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
You know how people say "well that's an hour and a half of my life I can't ever get back" after watching a really bad movie? Well they'll say it this time over this. Like some other people have reviewed, the monster is NOT scary.....he actually gets quite annoying, he has no real story behind him, other that "he awakens every 23 years to feed for 23 days". You'd think that with him appearing that often (figure 2 to 3 times in a normal person's lifetime) there'd be local legends....especially when they say he's been around for 1000's of years....and people would at least be somewhat wary. They aren't. So basically we have a bat winged monster that throws bone throwing stars (that's right...ninja monster meets country scarecrow) to flatten school bus tires, and a school bus FULL of annoying teenagers who are more concerned about teen love and who's captain of the football team than staying alive....practical right? The thing that really annoyed me about the movie though is that once they "kill" the monster, a farmer hangs it up for display because "you can't kill it" (says a cheerleader who suddenly develops post-cognitive abilities)....how about burning it? acid anyone? something other than charging $5 a head to display it. The movie is badly directed, the stars have no talent.....rent it if you have to see it, you'd be doing yourself a favor. The only thing scary about this movie is that I had decided to watch it in the first place...........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Better than I expexted, March 18 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Jeepers Creepers 2 (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
I really liked the first Jeepers Creepers. It was made for about 50 cents but it was an effective cross between Duel and a monster movie. The sequel is is a worthy effort and has it's share of scares.
The movie starts with a famers kid getting abducted by the Creeper in a cornfield while the kid is hanging up scarecrows. The farmer and his other son watch as the kid is snatched up and flown away. The Creeper appears to have ditched his truck from the first film, and decided to swoop down on his victims and snatch them away. It looks like the higher budget on this film allowed for more flying special effects.
The next victims are a bus load of teens coming home from a football game whose bus gets disabled. The body count begins immedietly with the teachers and bus drivers then the kids begin to argue as to what to do next. Thank god one of the girls suddenly develops a psychic bond with the creature(via dreams) and becomes a Creeper Expert. Apparently if he looks at you, you have become one of his chosen victims(good to know). The movie gets better as the teens start getting picked off, then the farmer from the beginning of the film shows up for revenge. He has hade a harpoon gun and has mounted it to the back of his truck. Let's just say the Creeper takes a well deserved beating, but does he die? We all know the answer to that. It doesnt take a genius to know that the Hollywood greed machine wouldn't allow that. So enjoy JC2(as it will be commonly known as) and stay tuned for the next 16 sequels. Some of which will probably go straight to video(see Wishmaster)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Get REAL People, March 9 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Jeepers Creepers 2 (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
What do you want in a horror film? Some reviews have the tone of, "Well, I rented this with Bergman's Seventh Seal, and I was disappointed by the juxtaposition of the Sitz em Leiben from an overall gestalt blah . . . blah . . . blah. . . ."
It is a fun horror movie. Enjoy it!
It continues the original story with the next day. It involves a group of high school students on a bus which "the Creeper" disables. What I enjoyed about it is that is plays with obvious conventions. You expect the standard "teen film." It is not. It plays with the conventions of, "let's split up," "is it dead? Yeah I think so, let me just stare at it and see if it wakes up!"
Others have given enough plot summary. What the DVD has that is really enjoyable is the Commentaries. The first is with the Director and the "teenagers." It is hysterical. In a few places the "kids" MST-3000 a scene.
Another thing I like is the film does not answer a lot of questions. Why the hell do crows hang about? There is none of the "sequelitis" over explanation: "Well, Bob, there was this kid whose scout troop was in an insane asylum . . . he caught his sister with his dog. . . ."
This is well worth a fun rental if you do not "love" horror film. If you enjoy them, you should be pleased.
--J.D.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jeepers Creepers 2 (Widescreen) [Import]
Jeepers Creepers 2 (Widescreen) [Import] by Victor Salva (DVD - 2004)
CDN$ 15.98 CDN$ 2.37
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews