Customer Reviews


104 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars got on time
great movie! got it on time. it works great. I would say other people would like to see this movie.
Published 12 months ago by sarah

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rent it Before You Buy It
We rented this DVD to test it, and we didn't like it enough to buy it. It recycles a LOT of footage from the original film, and the new material is pretty thin. The animation is pretty good for a direct-to-DVD film, and the original voice actors are back, but it doesn't have much of a story, and it doesn't really tell that much about the time that Simba spends growing up...
Published on April 23 2004 by J. Garlen


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars got on time, April 16 2013
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lion King: 1 1/2 (2 Discs) (DVD)
great movie! got it on time. it works great. I would say other people would like to see this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rent it Before You Buy It, April 23 2004
By 
J. Garlen "Virtual Virago" (HUNTSVILLE, AL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lion King: 1 1/2 (2 Discs) (DVD)
We rented this DVD to test it, and we didn't like it enough to buy it. It recycles a LOT of footage from the original film, and the new material is pretty thin. The animation is pretty good for a direct-to-DVD film, and the original voice actors are back, but it doesn't have much of a story, and it doesn't really tell that much about the time that Simba spends growing up with Timon and Pumbaa. The first direct-to-video sequel, The Lion King II, is actually better, since it has a real story to tell.
Your kids might be able to watch this one more than once, but you probably won't want to watch it with them. Rent it first and see what the family thinks of it before you bother to buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Even my three-year-old wouldn't watch this lame movie, Feb. 29 2004
By 
S. Gordon "suzie" (Oakland, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lion King: 1 1/2 (2 Discs) (DVD)
After about a half hour of this terrible DVD, my son asked to turn it off and watch the original Lion King instead. I was relieved -- if you like potty humor, that may be the only slightly amusing thing in it. The timelines and plot (such as it is) make no sense, and the little humor there is is at the expense of the original movie. I wouldn't even recommend this as a rental. Michael Eisner is taking Disney down the toilet a bit too literally with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars uber cute, March 13 2005
This review is from: Lion King: 1 1/2 (2 Discs) (DVD)
It was hilarious and really cute. Didnt ruin the original at all..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Sharp, Clever Follow-up Worthy of the Original, July 16 2004
This review is from: Lion King: 1 1/2 (2 Discs) (DVD)
Having had a bad experience with made-for-video Disney sequels before (102 Dalmatians, anyone? Yikes!) I was expecting the worst from this, but my son's such a big Lion King fan that I got it for him anyway. I was VERY pleasantly surprised!
The backstory of Timon and Pumba, while a little convoluted, provides the perfect backdrop and explanation of how their paths ended up intersecting with Simba's in the original. As a result, all the "important" events in the original film are cleverly winked at as mere background noise to the oblivious Timon and Pumba. I was reminded of Tom Stoppard's brilliant comedy, <i>Rosencrantz and Guildenstein Are Dead</i>, where the 2 least important people in Shakespeare's "Hamlet" take center stage and the tale of the Danish Prince is shoved to the background. In the Lion King 1 1/2, the presenting of the baby Simba is literally stumbled upon by Timon and Pumba, and they have no idea what's going on and shrug off the big crowds and commotion as a total annoyance. It was very funny.
I agree that the ad-libbing was a bit distracting and the songs weren't entirely necessary, especially the meerkat song which is catchy anyway. But the story itself is very smart, and the animation has the nuanced look of the original film, not the technicolor overkill of "Simba's Pride" and the terrible "Timon and Pumba" Saturday morning series. In addition, the DVD itself is chock full of excellent extras, including a few music videos and a "Virtual Safari" that entertained my son for nearly an hour. And the Mickey Hunt is tons of fun as well.
In conclusion, though it's not a masterful effort like the original was, it's probably one of the best, if not the best, straight-to-video sequel Disney's ever put out. You won't regret this one, and it's guaranteed to not collect any dust in your video collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Answering the questions you didn't ask., July 15 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Lion King: 1 1/2 (2 Discs) (DVD)
First of all let me say I love the first Lion King. Its probably my second favorite animated movie after Finding Nemo. That being said I hated this movie. The first Lion King is mostly appropiate for children but has a mature storyline adults can enjoy. The Lion King 1 1/2 is just for kids. Anyone over the age of puberty will find something seriously wrong with this movie. I was also dissipointed with The Lion King 2 Simbas Pride. But at least the movie was decent. At least they tried to make it good. Its like the makers of The Lion King 1 1/2 were trying to make a bad movie. It is the first movie told from the point of view of Timon and Pumba. It tells there story. Is there anyone who cared about there story? Anyone who wondered what they were doing? Not me. I never was at any loss not knowing where they were. Whats next a remake of Tarzan from Terks point of view. It could have been decent if it was done right. It is done horribly. Its really just taking classic moments and loading them with unfunny jokes. It shows that Timon and Pumba were there in all scene of the first Lion King offscreen. Most of these scenes they really don't belong. For example in Simbas birth sequence Pumba farts causing the animals to bow down. Thats right they weren't bowing out of respect for there king is was just farts. Then they walk one day later to the "Can't wait to be king song" that makes no sense. Several dramatic sequences like the "Be Prepared", wildbeast stampeed, "can you feel the love tonight", Simbas fight, all are completly ruined by Timon and Pumba. They don't belong there. It also has annoying silowets of them constant stoping the movie. Movies this bad in a way help you appreciate the greatness of the original masterpeice. My advice to Disney is to stop those darn direct to video sequels. Just leave the classics alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Kids will love it, Adults will Laugh too!!, June 24 2004
By 
Mom of 3 Angels "Zenomia" (Clinton, IA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lion King: 1 1/2 (2 Discs) (DVD)
As a sequal to Disneys Masterpiece Lion King, Lion King 1 1/2 is one of the best annimated sequals ever! The story is told from Timon and Pumbaa's perspective of the events of the original movie. In every way they incorporate the original movie into this sequal to show an entirely new story from a different perspective. It is NOT a repeat of Lion King, per say. It is a humorous telling of how Timon and Pumbaa came be at the paradise where they met Simba and how things went from there. My children ages 6, 3, and 1, consistantly request to watch this Movie. Even the songs are cute, and my husband can often be heard humming the "Dig a Tunnel" song. Lion King 1 1/2 is a definate buy if you have the original or just want another video the kids (and adults) will enjoy over and over again!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "Can you dig it? I can dig it.", June 23 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Lion King: 1 1/2 (2 Discs) (DVD)
Ever cash-hungry Disney spits another direct to video sequel in our faces. Fortunately, The Lion King 1 1/2 is a refreshing exception of the rule of bad cartoon sequels.
The film opens with Timon and Pumbaa in a darkened theater watching the original Lion King film, Mystery Science Theater 3000 style. A conversation leads to the duo telling us their story, which should really be called Timon's story....Pumbaa's past is barely mentioned. Over the course of the film, we follow Timon and Pumbaa in their Forrest Gump-y adventures taking place simultaneously with Simba's, leading up to a rather dull climax.
While not much of a movie, The Lion King 1 1/2 is a histerical tribute to pop culture and a fun diversion for all. The 2-DVD set features include a "mock-umentary" on Timon, a behind the scenes featurette, deleted scenes, a few games, and an entertaining "Virtual Safari," in which Timon, his mom, his Uncle Max and Pumbaa go on a virtual theme park ride. Wrapping up the set is a Raven music video, a remix of the old-school classic "Grazing in the Grass."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lion King Prequal: True Disney through and through!, June 14 2004
This review is from: Lion King: 1 1/2 (2 Discs) (DVD)
I have to say that after buying the "Lion King 3" (i'm english), i wasn't expecting much. Having seen the lion king 2, a major dissapointment, i was expecting another wasted attempt by disney to make money. However this it was not.
It tells the story of timon and pumba, focusing on timon, and is very funny for all of the family. The song is a cheesy disney song, and is memorable and fun. My lil sis sings it all day long! A thoughroughly good disney film, entertaining perspective on the lion king original. A mockery by disney of disney, entertaining for all the family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Wonderfully Comedic Side-Story To The Original!, June 9 2004
By 
Robert J. Schneider (Tacoma, WA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lion King: 1 1/2 (2 Discs) (DVD)
Disney does it again! This time, they've created a first in modern cinema: neither a sequel or prequel to the THE LION KING, this film tells the side-story to the events of the original film; namely, it is the same story, but told entirely from the perspective of Timon and Pumbaa (the wonderful Nathan Lane and Ernie Sabella, respectively). This ingenious idea works great, and is told in an ingenious manner, with Timon & Pumbaa narrating from a darkened movie theater, literally showing us their side to the story. It is smart, and also hilarious. We got the DVD from Netflix, and will eventually buy it later this year when we can!
THE LION KING 1 1/2 (2004) gives us a whole new picture of the most popular Disney story of all time. Even though this is Timon & Pumbaa's story, Rafiki (Robert Guillaume, unaffected vocally by the stroke he suffered after doing THE LION KING II: SIMBA'S PRIDE in 1998) also returns, as does Simba (Matthew Broderick) and Nala (Moira Kelly). Even Whoopie Goldberg and Cheech Marin return as the vicious hyena leaders! But it's basically Timon and Pumbaa's show, showing once again how popular these characters are (they did have their own animated TV show for a few years back in the 90's), reminding us how much they make us laugh and how good they make us feel. I gotta hand it to Disney: THE LION KING 1 1/2 is an excellent concept, and is done extremely well. It may start a new trend in cinema, for however bad or good that may be. Just get it & enjoy!
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED, FOR AGES 8 & UP
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xbfb5100c)

This product

Lion King: 1 1/2 (2 Discs)
Lion King: 1 1/2 (2 Discs) by Bradley Raymond (DVD - 2004)
CDN$ 36.99 CDN$ 34.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews