Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars This cd is pure hotness
If you love swollen members, this cd is definetly for you. Full of hot, fast beats, wicked lyrics, and catchy choruses, this disc has got it ALL incuding an extra DVD with videos etc.
Hot tracks - #2 through #11 are all tight. Get this cd, you can't afford not to miss it, even if you arn't into swollen, you'll dig this.
Published on Dec 7 2003 by Adam P. Boyd

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars WEAK�VERY WEAK!
Damn...this album is weak and this is coming from a Swollen Members Fan. First off, Mad Child and Prevail are the only two real SM. Moka Only has his own style and it doesn't work out with MC or Prevail. He comes off to soft. As for Rob the Viking, his beats aren't dark enough and I rather have a collaboration of DJs, instead of their own.
There are only a couple...
Published on Nov. 27 2003 by vinny


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars This cd is pure hotness, Dec 7 2003
By 
Adam P. Boyd (Boise, ID USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Heavy (Audio CD)
If you love swollen members, this cd is definetly for you. Full of hot, fast beats, wicked lyrics, and catchy choruses, this disc has got it ALL incuding an extra DVD with videos etc.
Hot tracks - #2 through #11 are all tight. Get this cd, you can't afford not to miss it, even if you arn't into swollen, you'll dig this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars WEAK�VERY WEAK!, Nov. 27 2003
This review is from: Heavy (Audio CD)
Damn...this album is weak and this is coming from a Swollen Members Fan. First off, Mad Child and Prevail are the only two real SM. Moka Only has his own style and it doesn't work out with MC or Prevail. He comes off to soft. As for Rob the Viking, his beats aren't dark enough and I rather have a collaboration of DJs, instead of their own.
There are only a couple of tracks with hard-hitting beats on "Heavy": Watch This, Bottom Line, Therapy, and Don't Know Why. As for all the other beats, they sound weak and too much like HIP-POP. As for the lyric content on this album, it was also weak. I bet that, not a lot of time was spent on it as compare to their older album. Prevail still have his lyric content (words are still there, but his voice is coming off to soft). Mad Child been slacking at it, you need better word play.
If you want to listen to a mainstream album, go get 50 Cent's album instead, since it has better production. Let's get back to the dark D&D rhymes. Save your money unless you're a SM fan, other than that go buy their older album "Balance" or "Bad Dreams".
As of right now, I won't be listening to Heavy anymore, but instead Balance.
Lady Venom - Mad Child
"Few and far between from Beauty and the Beast
To a perfect combination, once this passion is unleashed
Golden Angel, precious Princess and since
This is more than just lust, trust if not now, then soon
One love, we'll have our chance to dance on the moon"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great disc - Swollen at their best!, Nov. 24 2003
By 
"spazmann" (Vancouver, BC CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Heavy (Audio CD)
Get this CD! it's awsome. From the orginal and humerous skits between songs unlike the vulgar ones which seem to plague many hip hop discs such as 50 Cent Get Rich.., Eminem The Em Show or Chingy Jackpot, good discs but the language gets a little much. This cd goes a little more out ther as far a languagefrom previous cd's. Even the bonus track is cool, just keep playin 14, you get another prank phone call to some pizza place and then Sensational Breed (Ft Son Doobie). My favourites are Street Party, Watch This, Bottom Line, Adrenaline, Therapy, Amabush, Don't Know Why and Paranoia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Swollen Members CD Yet, Nov. 14 2003
This review is from: Heavy (With Bonus DVD) (Audio CD)
This CD is great! I have been a Swollen fan ever since Balance. I have all 4 of their CD's (Balance, Bad Dreams, Mosters In The Closet, and Heavy) and this new one is some of their best work yet. This album has 14 of the illest beats I've ever heard, sweet lyrics, and fat bass. The beats are somewhat different than their previous ones, but they are still great. Their lyrics are as good as ever and the addition of Moka Only has helped them out a lot in terms of his writing/singing abilities. Compared to Balance and Bad Dreams there are very few other rappers featured on this CD, but now that they have made more of a name for themselves, Swollen doesn't need to feature as many other rappers. However, the album does have Evidence, Abstract Rude, and Son Doobie. The Bonus DVD has some sweet backstage and live footage, interviews, and 6 kick-ass music videos. This is a must buy for any Swollen Members fan, or anyone else who wants to get into the stuff that Battle Axe Records has put out. Check out [...] for more info.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars HOLY SMOKES, Nov. 1 2003
By 
Sean Cochrane (Calgary Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Heavy (With Bonus DVD) (Audio CD)
This album has got to be the #1 album in my collection of cd's. I have all four albums from Swollen Members, Balance; Bad Dreams; Monsters in the Closet; Heavy. And all of them are extremely good, but this certain album is mind blowing, everysong i can't keep my body still i just have to go with it. Buy this album, Swollen Members are incredible!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, Wicked DVD!, Dec 4 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Heavy (With Bonus DVD) (Audio CD)
The album is worth it in itself, but the DVD is the icing on the cake. If you are a Swollen Members fan, you will want this set! Great album, as they stick to their roots and pump out killer song after killer song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Swollen Members just keep getting better..., July 17 2010
This review is from: Heavy (With Bonus DVD) (Audio CD)
Been a fan of SM for a while now (after coming to Canada and discovering their music).
Love the driving beats and rhythms and Mad Child and Prev along with Moka's smooth flow, makes all their previous albums including this one, perpectually great to listen to.
Being a free verse poet myself, I hv great appreciation for Prev's style and his ability to wax poetic and fantastic.
And having gotten the chance to see them in concert several times (including with N. Furtado) was a bonus, getting to meet Prev. was even more of a bonus!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Teenybopper? I think not., Oct. 18 2004
By 
Donella (British Columbia, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Heavy (With Bonus DVD) (Audio CD)
I read a review that said that "Heavy" was "teenybopper." EXCUSE ME? When I think teenybopper, I think Britney Spears, Spice Girls, and whoever the latest pop princess is. Heavy has some fun, upbeat tracks (Block Party), moody tracks (Don't Know Why), and some with lyrics that are by no means for teenyboppers ("You can f**k a farm animal!") Once again, each song has it's own vibe that'll suit whatever mood you may be in, whether you're getting hyped before a wild night, moody after a bad day or just want to say "F**K YOU" to the world because you can, Heavy will have a track for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars The Real hip hop is over here, Aug. 21 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Heavy (Audio CD)
I don't know how many more times i can hear "mad" child say Adrenaline! seriously, wat the hell is he mad at? This group was good back with their first cd, but after that, they've just kept digging a hole they will never get out of! this group was good b/c they kept it authentic. they were making music for the sake of music, but as you can tell, greed and fame took over. This group BLOWS! i thank a group like the Rascalz for complaining at the Juno's as to why groups that go mainstream are only getting the credit! THIS GROUP SUCKS! it's a disgrace that they represent Vancouver. The only real hip hop gruop that truly deserves the title is the Rascalz, b/c at least they have talent, they can rap, they can dance, they can produce GOOD music. You want a great artist from Canada? look at what a guy by teh name of K-Os has put out. He's truly the best out of this country, and unlike these chumps, he's still keeping it real and hasn't sold out to the industry like Swollen Crapheads. If you wanna waste money of dribble, buy this cd, if you want an investement, look at K-Os. Just do one thing, stop supporting stupid musicians like this! they're not worth it!
-a music fan who supports real music-
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars so many haters...., June 29 2004
By 
This review is from: Heavy (Audio CD)
This album is tight, and i've been listening to Swollen Members since Balance....i agree with some of the people on here that hearing them rap about rims is more than a lil cheesy, and some of the beats have changed to harder club stuff, so you might think it makes them sellouts, but they've worked the whole time to make enough to afford said rims, and i doubt that any of the reviewers dissing on them are as financially secure as they are. nor have the reviewers worked as hard and put out 3 other hip hop cd's that they DO think are dope. so basically, this album is ill, I'd recommend you check out the earlier stuff too though, and all the people that wrote lame reviews are just a bunch of haters that need to grow up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Heavy (With Bonus DVD)
Heavy (With Bonus DVD) by Swollen Members (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews