Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Not for everyone
I give it 5 stars because it is a great introduction to the series, and has some of the best episodes of the whole series. I really watch this disc often.
Fist of the Northstar is a violent japanese animated series, which takes place in a postnuclear western setting where only the strongest, and usually most brutal survive.
FOTNS starts with Kenshiro (the true...
Published on Dec 27 2003

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Well it's not great, but still.....
Let's get the hard part over with. If you want breathtakingly beautiful animation,if you want a puzzling and stimulating story, if you want a life-changing experience, watch something else.
That being said, if you liked the movie, and you have been into anime long enough to remember when it was all rudimentary, then you'll be fine with this. The TV series lacks the...
Published on May 8 2003 by Dana C. Gustafson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars The End?, March 6 2004
By 
wrath231 (Ottawa,Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fist of the North Star, Vol. 5 [Import] (DVD)
Here we go again. Kenshiro continues on his quest to rid the earth of worthless scum and uphold the honor of Hokuto Shinken. Heads explode and fists do indeed fly. Some of these episodes delve into Ken's past (a nice change) and we get introduced to his three adoptive brothers who all veying to be the true successor of their father's martial art "Hokuto Shinken".
As a nice bonus, you get a few extra episodes on this disc (compared to the previous 4). Still, one thing left me scratching my head..this isn't the end,not by a long shot! Yes I did check...Kenshiro still has a few more fights in him, but its up to Manga Ent to acquire the rights and put out the rest (quickly, let's hope).
Back to the DVD..audio and video are satisfactory. Obviously I recommend the Japanese language track with subs (hey, its the way it was meant to be!) Just sit back, relax and watch the Ken dispatch foe after foe with skill and the line "You are already dead". You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff yet bad animation, Jan. 3 2004
I enjoyed this. It was on one of those starz movie channels and I got to see the first 4 episodes. It is alright. Ken, a.k.a. Kenshiro, is pretty cool. The boy Bart is a little out of place. He just shows up and trusts this strange martial artists who can kill guys with insanely weird moves. The girl also seems out of her element.
The fights are alright, but the juice of the episodes are the kills. Every episode has these weird deaths like "exploding fingers" or "your dead in 7 seconds from my fingers in your neck". Stuff like that happens.
The problem with these episodes is animation. There is only, mabye 2 scenes you can consider fights. Almost every other death is by some weird killing move that lasts a few seconds but requires 2 clips of animation. Then, instead of showing the actual guys fall apart, they make the screen all bright and you see the shadow of the guys go all squishy and fall apart. Not cool.
On top of that. There is so little animation that it is a little infuriating. It almost feels like the creators tried to use one frame at least twice. I remember seeing 6 cars speeding through a city. 2 cars sped across followed by 4 others. The 4 other cars were just clones of the first 2. You could clearly see the exact same people go across the screen 3 times. As I said earlier, the fights all involve one or 2 moves. A frame is one little shot of the characters. I'd say it takes about 5 frames for a character in Dragonball Z to punch someone slowly. There may be 10 different frames tops to one fight in this anime. It is almost pathetic.
Normally I don't have high expectations. I'm satisfied by even the lowest animation if there is a story or something interesting. I remember seeing tons of old animes that had bad animation but still kept my interest. This seriously though has to be some of the worst use of animating I have ever seen. If Ken wasn't so awesomely cool I would of given this DVD 1 star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not for everyone, Dec 27 2003
By A Customer
I give it 5 stars because it is a great introduction to the series, and has some of the best episodes of the whole series. I really watch this disc often.
Fist of the Northstar is a violent japanese animated series, which takes place in a postnuclear western setting where only the strongest, and usually most brutal survive.
FOTNS starts with Kenshiro (the true fist of the northstar and main charactor) searching for his love Yulia, and old-friend (and kidnapper of Yulia) Shin. Kenshiro has seven scars making up the constelation of the big dipper on his chest which were given to him when Shin took Yulia away from him. On Kens journey he encounters and befriends two children who accompany him on his travels. They play a major role in the first 4 discs, and really help level out the story and violence with the humanity they bring.
During their travels they run across people (usually struggling farmers)who get bullied, robbed and killed by ruthless bands of super-strong villains who have no mercy (lots of really innocent people get murdered with brutality by motorcycle thugs). Ken usually gets their a moment to late to save some mom, old man, or child, but he always makes the villain die an explosive death. Ken is a Good man and he knows that the only way to stop the violence is to destroy the villains. There are always ranks of bad guys who Kenshiro must punch his way through, so your always waiting for him to get to the next stronger badguy.
On his way to get to Yulia and Shin (like 20 episodes), Ken uses his Hokoto shinken (misspelled) a special martial art passed on from father to son where by knowing how to press punch or kick certain power points on a body, you can manipulate the body to do what you want it to do. Kenshiro can heal but to his enemies he will probally explode their chest or face out, or cooler. Only one man on Earth can practice Hokto shinken at a time.
If you like horror/scifi/fantasy/comedy/animation, dont mind the gritty feel, and low quality compared to anime gems like Samurai x, Neon Genesis Evangelion, or Rahxephon. You should buy FOTNS (for $18 a disc at Bestbuy, or circuitcity). If you like movies like Army of Darkness, Road Warrior, Conan the barbarian, The Streetfighter, From dusk til Dawn, etc. buy this. If your a fan of great hip hop artists like Mf Doom (listen to most of his albums after watching series especially the 2003 releases ) El-p cannabal ox aesop rock, old Wu tang, Necro, buy this series. Musical taste really has nothing to do with you liking FOTNS though, I'm just saying you can see the influence throughout popular culture.
The only bad part about the whole FOTNS series is that around episode 22 or 23 on disc 4 another journey begins with a different new mission and mostly new charactors , it's still good after but the series could have ended there. Also at the end of the series on episode 35 on disc 5 the last episode of the series there is no conclusion, though disc 5 still follows the recipe found in disc 1 minus the humanity. If you don't mind recurring themes, some recycled content, and probally like 20-25 deaths a 20 minute episode average, and some of the funniest lines you've ever heard on a cartoon, coming from awful post-nuclear mohawked bad guys, buy disc one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars conclusion?, Dec 24 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Fist of the North Star, Vol. 5 [Import] (DVD)
I just bought and watched this disc. Since about 5/03 I've been buying 1,2,3,and 4 and have watched 1,2,3,at least 3 or 4 times, and 4 twice. I first learned of F.o.t.n.s. the movie like ten years ago looking for a video to watch. I haven't seen it in a few years but from what i remember it ended with Kenshiro fighting hi evil brother Raoh, coming to a conclusion.
Disc 5 starts with Kenshiro finishing off The Fang Clan and ends with him setting off to find the oldest of his three brothers Raoh. On the back of the dvd it says 5 deadly Dvd volumes. The fifth volume ended with no conclusion, ken just sets off to face his mightiest opponent.
it's sort of disapointing buying dvd after dvd (of great entertainment) waiting for Kenshiro to defeat a last opponent, and he doesn't.
If you own no fist of the northstar dvds definitly start with the first volume, definitly, or maybe just the movie. Each dvd ends with no real conclusion so be prepared you will always want the next volume. Volumes 1-3 are my favorites, especially the episodes with "gods army". Disc 4 and 5 of the series , to me, lose steam. The introduction of ray in disc 4 doesnt really go any wehere in the 5th disc
Whats good about volume 5
more heads and bodies exploding (though it seems like they use the same animation disc to disc sometime)
bone crushing lines and dialog
unnecesary violence heavy death count
interesting villains
bare boned simple animation
All 5 volumes are great to have on as background dvds, There good to put on when hanging with friends, or drawing, really there good to listen to as an alternative to music sometimes. A good dvd is one you can watch countless times and discs 1-5 you can as long as you know what to expect fists flying heads exploding. Fist of the northstars quality is not in clean animation or even quality dvds, one of the episodes sound is really messed up on disc 5 for like 5 minutes. its quality is in repetition, violence, style, characters, and dialog.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fist of the North Star, Oct. 29 2003
By 
Jonathan Guy (North Star, Michigan) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fist of the North Star, Vol. 5 [Import] (DVD)
It was a beautifully intricate blend of flavors that make this a classic. I laughed and cried at its beauty.......... The ecstacy is similar to the ecstacy felt that you would recive if you arrived in heaven, looked into god's face, and he said, "You, you are my most wonderous creation. Come, be with me." The most touching, heart felt, truly powerful piece that ever graced my vision. I would rather die than have not have seen it in its glory. The highest elation recived comes when watching this.........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, Oct. 26 2003
By 
Mo Mo (Ann Arbor, Michigan) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fist of the North Star, Vol. 5 [Import] (DVD)
It was such an epic, that it made me shed a tear or two. The drama rivals that of 'Gone With the Wind'. A must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Post-apocalyptic gore-fest, Sept. 28 2003
By 
wrath231 (Ottawa,Canada) - See all my reviews
"You are already dead" A phrase uttered by the main star Kenshiro, many a time, after performing one of his numerous killing techniques. The dialogue is a little cheesy , the bad-guys cookie-cutter,the animation primitive, but so what? This DVD is chock-full of violence and cool martial arts. Definetely watch this series in order, to understand the back-story and why the hell Ken is tromping around wasting baddies.
You get 7 episodes, very adequate compared to other companies. *cough*Funimation*cough. Audio in English and Japanese, with Subtitles. Let's be honest...you don't want to listen to this in english. The voice acting is really bad (read:Atrocious dialogue), and will make you run home crying. Stick to the Japanese track with subs, and you'll be fine.
Extras are the same old Manga previews from the previous disc,kinda dissapointing. All in all, a great buy...dont miss it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Manga Fans : Buy It, May 9 2003
The Animation in this Fist of The North Star TV series is not the best. In fact they look pretty silly. But if you look past this (it was after all made in the mid-1980s) the Disc contains 210 minutes of escapism (especially for Manga fans). But the DVD does have its moments particularly when the animation freezes to announce Kenshiro's fighting moves. Excellent Stuff. This DVD contains the Episodes 8-14 of the Series and can be viewed in both English Dub and the Original Japanese language. I would advise most people to watch it in English simply because the characters look "Western" and hence it sounds rather strange in Japanese.
Finally one has to Buy this DVD for the Episode Titles Alone. For Example:
1:STRIKE THE HIDDEN POWER POINT! No Requiem For The Wicked
2:VILLIANS! Say Your Prayers Before You Die!
3:RAGING FLAME REVERSE FLOW PUNCH! There Are Too Many Who Must Die!
4:VILLIANS! Listen To The Blues Of Hell!
5:I AM DEATH! I Will Chase You To The Ends Of Hell!
6:THE ARHAT DEVA FIST! Once Unleashed, There's No Holding It Back!
7:A MISERABLE AGE! Good People Die So Young!
FANTASTIC!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Well it's not great, but still....., May 8 2003
Let's get the hard part over with. If you want breathtakingly beautiful animation,if you want a puzzling and stimulating story, if you want a life-changing experience, watch something else.
That being said, if you liked the movie, and you have been into anime long enough to remember when it was all rudimentary, then you'll be fine with this. The TV series lacks the drive for revenge that the movie thrived on. Kenshiro, the Fist of the North Star, doesn't seem like he's on a mission of vengence anymore. He's wondering around and getting into fights, and heads explode. That's it. This series stretches out and fills in events from the movie. If you liked the movie, old Wu-Tang Clan (like the first GZA record), then get this series and have some light hearted fun. Otherwise, don't bother, because you'll be very disappointed. Fist of the North Star is definately an acquired taste!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Must Have For Manga Fans of The Movie, April 11 2003
The Animation in this Fist of The North Star TV series is not the best. In fact they are pretty ridiculous. But if you look past this, it was after all made in the mid-1980s, the Disc contains 210 minutes of escapism (especially for Manga fans). It does have its moments especially when the animation freezes to announce Kenshiro's fighting moves. Excellent Stuff. The DVD contains the 1st 7 Episodes of the Series and can be viewed in both English dub and the original Japanese language. I would advise most people to watch it in English simply because the characters are Western and it looks strange/sounds strange in Japanese (with English subtitles).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fist of the North Star, Vol. 5 [Import]
Fist of the North Star, Vol. 5 [Import] by Toyoo Ashida (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 59.47
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews