Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Movie With Intense Character Studies Throughout...
"The Accidental Tourist" Hmmm... even the title of the film has many meanings. Unhappily married couple, Macon Leary,(William Hurt)a travel guide author and Sarah Leary (Kathleen Turner) have just lost their young son Ethan to an accident. Each of them goes through the grief process alone and thus, the marriage is quite dead. They separate, with Sarah leaving Macon in...
Published on May 24 2004 by Sheila Chilcote-Collins

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars GREAT DIALOGUE & ACTING, BUT A SAPPY WANNABE FILM OVERALL
Somewhat like "Ordinary People", and made around the same time, this film is about dealing with a great loss, starting over, finding happiness...yada yada. Starts off well enough, but you soon realize that the story is not really going places. Instead of having music in the background all the time as in most films, Lawrence Kasdan thought it wise to let the...
Published on Feb. 20 2004 by Shashank Tripathi


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Movie With Intense Character Studies Throughout..., May 24 2004
By 
Sheila Chilcote-Collins "Sheila Renee Chilcot... (Collinswood, Van Wert, OH USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Accidental Tourist (DVD)
"The Accidental Tourist" Hmmm... even the title of the film has many meanings. Unhappily married couple, Macon Leary,(William Hurt)a travel guide author and Sarah Leary (Kathleen Turner) have just lost their young son Ethan to an accident. Each of them goes through the grief process alone and thus, the marriage is quite dead. They separate, with Sarah leaving Macon in the big, old empty Victorian house alone, save for Ethan's badly behaved dog, a Welsh corgie named Edward. When Edward misbehaves, Macon just can't get rid of the dog because it reminds him of the good times that Ethan had with Edward. So, Macon takes the dog to obedience school and meets a very ecentric young woman named Muriel Pritchett. Muriel is a young divorcee with a very sickly little boy, named Alexander (Robert Hy Gorman in a very nice portrayal for a little guy). Muriel pursues Macon, a sexual relationship ensues and Macon opens up for the first time about his sorrow for Ethan. There comes a time when macon has to decide what he wants as Sarah returns to the homeplace and wants to try again.
Amy Wright, David Ogden Stiers, and Ed Begley Jr. all turn in WONDERFUL performances as Macon's odd siblings who live together in the family home that they grew up in. Bill Pullman also turns in a great performance as Julian, Macon's publisher.
This is a wonderful character study of families, their hurt, disappointment and finally, reconciliation. The film is strongly written and well acted. If you are looking for a funny romance like, "When Harry Met Sally", a spooky romance like "Ghost" or a treacly, sappy sweet romance like "Sabrina", then you are looking in the wrong place. If you like to see characters that pluck at your heart strings and seem "oh so real" then this is a movie for YOU! Highly recommended!
Happy Watching!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HURT IS HURTING, July 25 2009
By 
Guy Charlebois (NB, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Accidental Tourist (DVD)
William Hurt is such a consummate actor that the viewer
can't help but feel his pain. Geena Davis is a great talent.
The clucking that she does with Edward works. Trust me, I tried
it. Kathleen Turner is her usual competent self. I was drawn
into every moment of the movie, thanks to the undeniable professionalism
of the actors. A great movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Rarity: Real Character Development, May 19 2004
By 
This review is from: The Accidental Tourist (DVD)
This is one of my favorite all time films. If you're looking for action, this is not the film for you (there isn't any). If you're looking for suspense, look elsewhere (there's not much). But if you're looking for engaging characters in a plot that makes you think and is both touching and humorous, this is the movie for you.
It's rare that Hollywood produces a movie that respects its audience enough to let them think. This is a movie with so many interesting characters that they could have made several movies. After you watch it, you'll find yourself wondering about the characters' lives before the movie -- and what will happen to them later.
When you're in the mood for something serious, funny and intellectual, this is a good movie to choose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars GREAT DIALOGUE & ACTING, BUT A SAPPY WANNABE FILM OVERALL, Feb. 20 2004
By 
Shashank Tripathi (Gadabout) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Accidental Tourist (DVD)
Somewhat like "Ordinary People", and made around the same time, this film is about dealing with a great loss, starting over, finding happiness...yada yada. Starts off well enough, but you soon realize that the story is not really going places. Instead of having music in the background all the time as in most films, Lawrence Kasdan thought it wise to let the silence speak and describe the life of the characters.
The performances and the dialog however are what make it worth a watch. Bill Hurt is his normal bumbling self (which makes one wonder why the jovial character of Geena Davis pursues him so aggressively) and Kate Turner is the same drug she always has been. Despite an occasional stunning line or two, the theme seemed too drawn out and contrived to me.
I especially did not like the denouement, where the man has to make a choice between two possibly equally unattractive options (unattractive for different reasons -- one a pestulent wife and the other a nagging girlfriend) but I guess it does bring out the ordinary in us. At the end of the day, we pick whatever makes us happy.
A word about the name of the film. The thinly disguised metaphor that Bill Hurt's character is a tourist in his own journey through life, becomes instead a bad practical joke. The joke is that the real accidental tourist in the film is in fact the viewer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Use your time more wisely--watch grass grow!, Feb. 8 2012
This review is from: The Accidental Tourist (DVD)
The story sounds promising, but the whole package is unbelievably, mind-numbingly boring! I am amazed at the number of positive reviews here--is it the emperor's new clothes? There is a reviewer quote printed on the front of the case: "Astonishing! Irresistably funny!" The only thing astonishing is that I was able to sit through the entire thing without falling asleep. The only funny thing about the movie was the bizarre way it spends two hours paralyzing the viewer's emotions and then, in the last ten seconds has two main characters smile at one another (the only real smiles in the film) to suddenly uplifting music! Hahaha! Do you really expect us to be caught up in THAT moment? This story could be deeply touching, but only if the viewer uses his or her imagination to supply the humanity and emotion to the skeleton.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars B-O-R-I-N-G, April 2 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Accidental Tourist (VHS Tape)
Normally I like Kasdan's films, I like William Hurt and I like Geena Davis. Not here. Not ever.
I saw this film twice when it came out...once by myself, and once with friends from out of town who really wanted to see it. I felt validated after the second viewing when my friends were as confounded as I was.
An amazingly slow and thoroughly uninteresting film.
SteveS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A DVD that does justice to a great film, April 22 2004
By 
Richard J. Williams (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Accidental Tourist (DVD)
In When Harry Met Sally, or Groundhog Day we follow the characters on a journey of exploration as their relationship develops. Macon Leary, in The Accidental Tourist, sets out on just such a journey, but one in which, as the title suggests, he is at the mercy of unforeseen events - the loss of his son, leading to the departure of his wife, and the misbehaviour of his son's dog, which forces him to turn to Muriel, a dog trainer.
They differ in almost every way. He is in his forties, married his first real girlfriend and now writes travel books for businessmen who would rather stay at home; she is much younger, left high school to marry, and since her divorce has to juggle jobs to support a sickly son.
In the reverse of the usual situation, it is she who pursues him, eventually winning him over when, thanks to her sympathetic response, he is able to confess for the first time his anguish at the loss of his son. From then on he is torn between the two women until, on a trip to Paris, he decides the direction of his life for the first time.
Although the spotlight is on these two, we also meet Macon's eccentric siblings who still live in the house where they grew up and follow the equally unlikely romance between his sister and publisher.
The film is faithfully adapted from Anne Tyler's excellent Baltimore set novel. Geena Davis won a well-deserved Oscar as Muriel (and contributes a commentary on selected scenes that reveals how eager she was to play the part). William Hurt had an even more difficult task in playing Macon, a man so repressed that he appears emotionless. Although technically a co-star, Kathleen Turner has to make the best of the lesser role of Macon's wife Sarah.
Amy Wright as Macon's sister Rose catches the quirkiness of her character while avoiding caricature, as do Ed Begley Jr and David Ogden Stiers as her brothers. Bill Pullman's publisher is equally believable. And John Williams proves his versatility by contributing a wistful theme that runs throughout the film.
As well as the film itself, in the original Cinemascope format, the DVD includes a generous helping of deleted scenes, an introduction by director, co-writer and co-producer Lawrence Kasdan, and a featurette with contributions from him and others involved in the making of the film.
This is one of my favourite films, and one that, even after many viewings, I enjoy more than ever. Definitely worthy of five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars He Can Help You Find the Best Burger King in Paris, Jan. 28 2004
By 
This review is from: The Accidental Tourist (DVD)
I was in a local Baltimore theatre when I first heard a minor character from the movie, "The Accidental Tourist", proudly announce "Baltimore...greatest city on Earth!" The audience loudly cheered and so began my fondness for this gentle, comedy/drama based on the Anne Tyler novel of the same name.I'm delighted, that this funny, yet emotionally moving film has at long last made it to the DVD format.In the story we meet Macon Leary (William Hurt), a travel writer (for business men who hate to travel), who has basically given up on life, because his young son has been killed in a senseless robbery. Macon has become almost like a 'ghost' going through just the motions of life, emotionally untouched by anything or anyone. His wife Sarah (Kathleen Turner) leaves him because he is not there for her and she needs to get beyond mourning. Alone, Macon seems to be spiraling into a depression without end.That is until, through a series of humorous events (and a very angry dog), Macon meets a quirky, unusually dressed, dog trainer named, Muriel (Geena Davis). Muriel romantically pursues the depressed writer and eventually puts him on the road to joining life again. Screen Writer/Director, Lawrence Kasden has created a emotional film, that has a wonderful sense of oddball humor.The movie has great characters, that are brought to life by a wonderful cast. This includes actress, Geena Davis, who deservedly won an Oscar for her role of the pluckish and romantically determined, Muriel. Davis has created an amusing character, who definitely marches to her own drummer.I can personally attest to the fact, that there are many folks living in Baltimore, who closly resemble her (for more info on Baltimore's more unusual citizens, check out the book "Shock Value" by John Waters). Kudos should also go to actors, Amy Wright, David Odgen Stiers and Ed Begly Jr., who provide big laughs as Macon's rather eccentric siblings.Finally, Bill Pullman gives a good performance as Macon's love lorn publisher, who yearns for an old fashion marriage.The DVD for this film is well done with a fine picture transfer and a good amount of extras. They include an inciteful featurette "It's Like Life", which shows both new and old interviews from the Director and the cast.The DVD also includes the trailer and more then a half hour's worth of deleted scenes, that shed new light on the story and it's characters. This is wonderful film about how you just can't prepare yourself for life. You just got to let it happen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's no accident that this is a great film!, Jan. 28 2004
By 
R. L. Pulliam "no lemming, I" (Oakland, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Accidental Tourist (DVD)
At last, "The Accidental Tourist" has been transferred to DVD by Warner Brothers and it's a beauty.
The disc is enhanced for anamorphic widescreen TVs. There are no audio choices to make...what you hear is all you get.
However, they've done a superlative job on the picture AND the audio. The audio seems to be coming from the front/middle speakers (is that a mono mix?)while Macon Leary's narratives as "The Accidental Tourist" predominantly comes out of my right speaker (I have a 5-speaker surround setup). The music comes out of the left and right speakers and is spacious. All audio seems to be in perfect balance requiring no adjustments from this viewer.
This is a rich, rewarding movie and its music score by John Williams is a superb example of monothematic scoring (a basic theme that is cast in variations throughout the film).
There are many deleted scenes which really seem to come from a different movie. They would have added at least 30-plus minutes to the film. Characters are introduced, one of whom is referred to in the film (Dominick) and one of whom is mentioned in passing (Alicia, mother of the Learys). Kathleen Turner lost some really good scenes, I think. The deleted scenes give her a softer tone than what we see in the film.
On a scale of one to five, I give this DVD a five. I'm delighted with it and by it. There is a documentary feature called "It's Like Life" that has various of the film's major participants discussing it and their roles. William Hurt, alas, is not among them but he is spoken of glowingly by Davis and Turner. The DVD also has a Geena Davis scene-specific commentary. (This is not an option while watching the film).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Finally on DVD!, Jan. 25 2004
By 
Angela Norbeck (San Jose, Ca. USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Accidental Tourist (DVD)
It's been a long wait but worth it for this wonderful movie. Be sure to watch the extras the commentary by Geena Davis on specific scenes is not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Accidental Tourist
The Accidental Tourist by Lawrence Kasdan (DVD - 2004)
CDN$ 70.32
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews