Customer Reviews


167 Reviews
5 star:
 (123)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let the battle begin!
Although I swore I wasn't going to start re-buying movies on blu-ray, when I found this one on sale it was too good to pass up. Housed in a really nice sturdy box, these five discs are loaded to the gills with special features, most of which weren't available on the original DVD box set. That helps make the double dip a lot less painful.

I won't go too much...
Published on Aug. 30 2010 by LeBrain

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good
meh i liked it even though it was a little slow. It makes you think and ask a lot of questions because it is actually a pretty deep movie. There were lots of problems with it though like chaleton hestons character taking so long to communicate with the apes when the viewer is sitting there thinking of a million ways to catch their attention. Also the apes in charge were...
Published on March 29 2011 by Sorpse


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let the battle begin!, Aug. 30 2010
By 
LeBrain - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Although I swore I wasn't going to start re-buying movies on blu-ray, when I found this one on sale it was too good to pass up. Housed in a really nice sturdy box, these five discs are loaded to the gills with special features, most of which weren't available on the original DVD box set. That helps make the double dip a lot less painful.

I won't go too much into the story, except to say that very loose interpretations of physics are used to catapult 3 astronauts forward in time. These astronauts, commanded by Charlton Heston's Taylor, find themselves on a planet dominated by apes, where humans are the animals. This flip allowed the first film to use allegory in much the same way that Star Trek was doing at the same time. Take a social commentary and place it in a science-fiction environment and suddenly it doesn't seem so much like social commentary. The first film taken on its own is still one of the most intelligent science fiction films of all time.

Taylor, of course, finds that the Planet of the Apes was not at all what he thought it was. A search party, headed by Brent (James Fransiscus) somehow manages the exact same time travel as Taylor and arrives shortly after him. Brent discovers the planet has another race of intelligent inhabitants -- mutants.

Meanwhile, offscreen, the apes Cornelius (Roddy McDowell), Zira (Kim Hunter) and Milo (Sam Mineo) have repaired Taylor's ship and left the planet. Using the same loose interpretation of physics again, the apes are transported back in time to 1970's Earth where they shock the entire population with their ability to speak and reason. While they find that they have become celebrities in human circles, some are plotting to ensure that their race never becomes dominant. Soon they are fugitives seeking help from circus owner Armando (Ricardo Montalban).

20 years later, a mysterious plague has wiped out all dogs and cats on Earth. Taking apes as pets and then as slaves, humans now live in a strange totalitarian state. However, the son of Zira and Cornelius, Caesar (Roddy McDowell again) vows revenge and refuses to see the apes live as slaves. Rebellion is inevitable.

Later still, humanity have destroyed most of the Earth in a nuclear war. A small group of humans and apes led by Caesar live in an imperfect but tranquil village. War is brewing, however, because the gorilla general Aldo doesn't like nor trust humans. And there is a group of surviving irradiated humans living in a destroyed city, caretakers of a nuclear bomb capable of finishing the job that the war started.

Will humans and apes ever live in peace? This is one of the major running themes through all five films.

Although this set is only five discs, it does include Behind the Planet of the Apes which was previously included as sixth bonus disc on the DVD editions. Here it is included on disc one, along with multiple commentaries, makeup tests, a public service announcement from ANSA, and much more. The third film and fourth films are both available in original and extended editions, previously unavailable on DVD. On each film's disc, you will also get featurettes and introductions from the ape Lawmaker.

The box itself is really nice, with a huge full colour book inside. This book, if sold on its own, would be over $20 itself. There is also a nice timeline included to help you keep all the different threads straight. The discs are held in place by rubber tabs, which can be a bit of a pain to work with, but you shouldn't find your discs sliding out.

This set is simply excellent value for the money. It looked crisp and clear, sounded great, and makes all DVD editions obselete.

5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the Apes, Feb. 22 2012
By 
Argus - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
"The Planet of the Apes" (1968) is a gem of a movie! Everything, from Jerry Goldsmith's atmospheric music to the excellent ape make-up by John Chambers, comes together here.

An intelligent screenplay skillfully directed by Frank Schaffner, imaginative sets and a plot which builds to an astonishing climax, contribute to make this a landmark of science-fiction film-making. Taylor (Charlton Heston) is the cynical space explorer searching for "something better than man" who finds himself in a world populated by advanced apes. From that point on he struggles to defend mankind against brutality and prejudice in one of the film's several neat ironies.

Heston is admirably supported by Roddy McDowall and Kim Hunter, who play the sympathetic chimpanzee scientists Cornelius and Zira, along with Maurice Evans as the formidable Doctor Zaius. The final iconic scene on the coast is among the great moments of cinema. This film generally holds up extremely well despite its age. The bluray version is top quality and packed with special features.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic blu-ray package, June 25 2010
By 
Cheryl - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
For any fan of the Planet of the Apes saga, this blu-ray box set is ideal. The visual quality of these classic 70's films is gorgeous but unfortunately the clarity will further enhance the lessening budget from sequel to sequel. (The 5 films / discs are: Planet of the Apes, Beneath the Planet of the Apes, Escape from Planet of the Apes, Conquest for Planet of the Apes & Battle for Planet of the Apes.) There are many extra features which may account for the occasional audio compression issue (loud effects / score vs. softer dialogue). The Planet of the Apes disc has a plethora of extras including audio and text commentaries, "science of" featurettes, archival footage, and the full-length documentary Behind the Planet of the Apes which also includes interactive texts and clips. The other discs include trailers, galleries, d-box, and isolated scores, as well as making-of featurettes or retrospective documentaries. Additionally "Conquest" includes both theatrical and unrated versions, and "Battle" includes both theatrical and extended versions. The package design is unique with saga timeline and a wonderful pull-out hardcover book, The 40 Year Evolution - Planet of the Apes (200 pages of photos, trivia, text etc.). Overall this epic tale of oppression is fascinating and thematically reflective of the still relevant civil-rights movements - and the Planet of the Apes 40th Anniversary blu-ray package is fantastic. Highly recommended.

(minor issue - getting the discs in and out may be annoying as the center holders are made of an odd rubber texture mold, and not always easy to work)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well Done, June 1 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
So, given this classics age, some 44 years now, I was pleasantly surprised how it still holds up. I bought this BlueRay version hoping the picture quality would be much better than the one I have. It is definitely better in the overall detail and the colour, than my DVD special edition from 2000. But by no means huge!!!. So, not what I was really hoping for, but... acceptable.
Bottom line, If you don't already own this classic film, this BlueRay release is the one get. If you are looking to upgrade from a DVD copy you my want to think about it. Or check it out first. After all the price is not bad. No regrets here!
Four big stars,
well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, Jan. 5 2011
Very impressed with this edition. Didn't realise how nice the cover was going to be. Liked the format, with a practical timeline that helps the viewer in understanding the sequence and the flow of the movies. The book that comes with this edition is also really enjoyable, with some great behind-the-scene info and pictures. The quality of the movies is great as well. It was also my first time watching the Unrated version of Conquest, which I find is better than the theatrical release. If you like these movies, you must pick up the 40th Anniversary Edition! It is literally a steal at the sale price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a brilliant classic, June 12 2004
This review is from: Planet of the Apes (VHS Tape)
With its excellent performances and tight, smart script written by Rod Serling and Michael Wilson (based on the book by Pierre Boulle), this is a film that stays fresh and interesting even with repeated viewings. Released the same year as "2001: A Space Odyssey", both films are at the top of my "super sci-fi" list, and stack up against the best of what has been released in recent years, which relies more than ever on special effects to tell the story; the effects in "Planet of the Apes" are minimal, and it's the latex make-up that is the marvel, and garnered John Chambers a Special Award at the Oscars for his work, which allows the ape characters full freedom of facial expressions. Oscar nominations went for costume design, and the marvelous score by Jerry Goldsmith.
The cinematography by Leon Shamroy is also fantastic, and I love the aerial descent that starts the film.
Charlton Heston as the astronaut who lands in an "upside down world", and Kim Hunter and Roddy McDowall as free thinking scientists are superb, and in smaller roles, Maurice Evans, James Whitmore and James Daly terrific as authority figures in the ape colony.
This film had four sequels, a TV series and a cartoon series, as well as a multitude of merchandise from plastic figurines to bubble gum cards, but the original stays pristine and untarnished by its often silly spin-offs, and is a one-of-a-kind classic.
What this film has, that one can appreciate even when one knows what it is, is that rare thing...a great ending. Very few films leave one with a satisfied feeling at their close, but this one is unique, brilliantly filmed, and like a perfect dessert after a good meal.
Total running time is 112 minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great blu-ray collection, fast delivery, Sept. 21 2011
I wanted this edition for a long time now. I am very happy. It is a nice collection. I rarely use the internet to buy stuff, but I must say that Amazon is the way to go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent value for the price, Sept. 17 2011
I loved the saga and with this set we can see the evolution of the technology one movie after the other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, March 29 2011
meh i liked it even though it was a little slow. It makes you think and ask a lot of questions because it is actually a pretty deep movie. There were lots of problems with it though like chaleton hestons character taking so long to communicate with the apes when the viewer is sitting there thinking of a million ways to catch their attention. Also the apes in charge were quite ignorant and frustrating and this just lead me to be annoyed. After everything is said and done though i must say that lots of thought went into this movie and if you let it seep into your brain you'll find yourself questioning lots of things about this life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ape, July 15 2004
This review is from: Planet of the Apes (VHS Tape)
in this one some astronauts are in suspended animation.they come out and go down to some strange planet.charelston heston is in it.whos he?guess that was before my time.the kids will think the apes are funny.i cant tell if its low budget because all those old movies look low budget.it is the best of the set which has many many sequels.it is also better than the tim burton version.the very last scene is very well acted and one of my favorite scenes ever.thee are some chicks about but its hard to tell that they are as sexy as they are through all the grime and dirt from the forest world they live in.its an excellent film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Planet of the Apes: 35th Anniversary Collector's Edition (Widescreen)
CDN$ 37.98 CDN$ 13.25
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews