Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Two great "American Graffiti" films for the price of one!
The AMERICAN GRAFFITI DRIVE-IN DOUBLE FEATURE DVD is absolutely entertaining to watch as only George Lucas and Francis Ford Coppola could offer!! This DVD (part of Universal's Franchise Collection of film series made by the studio for affordable prices on DVD) contains the two full-length films AMERICAN GRAFFITI (George Lucas,1973) and its sequel MORE AMERICAN GRAFFITI...
Published on May 10 2004 by Jake Marsico

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars LESS WOULD OF BEEN MORE
IF YOU ARE NOT A FAN OF THE FIRST MOVIE YOU WILL HATE THIS! UNLIKE THE FIRST MOVIE THAT TOOK PLACE IN ONE NIGHT IN THE SUMMER OF 1962, THIS TAKES PLACE OVER 4 DIFFERENT NEW YEARS EVE! THE STORY THAT WORKS THE BEST IS STEVE AND LORI'S STORY! SHE WANTS TO WORK AND HE WANTS HER TO BE A STAY AT HOME MOM! THE OTHER'S ARE STILL WATCHABLE! IT HAS BEEN OVER 20 YEARS SINCE...
Published on Sept. 20 2003 by S. HECK


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Two great "American Graffiti" films for the price of one!, May 10 2004
By 
This review is from: American Graffiti Drive-In Double Feature (DVD)
The AMERICAN GRAFFITI DRIVE-IN DOUBLE FEATURE DVD is absolutely entertaining to watch as only George Lucas and Francis Ford Coppola could offer!! This DVD (part of Universal's Franchise Collection of film series made by the studio for affordable prices on DVD) contains the two full-length films AMERICAN GRAFFITI (George Lucas,1973) and its sequel MORE AMERICAN GRAFFITI (B.W.L. Norton,1979) and is actually a double-sided disc,one movie on both sides instead of two discs which is mislabeled.First,AMERICAN GRAFFITI is beautifully presented in its original glorious anamorphic widescreen format (2.35.1) along with Dolby Digital Surround Sound and contains the original theatrical trailer and documentary THE MAKING OF AMERICAN GRAFFITI which runs close to 80 mins.Then,MORE AMERICAN GRAFFITI is presented in a crisp,clear new anamorphic widescreen transfer (1.85.1 to 2.35.1).The second film was shot using different camera processes which explains the differences in aspect ratios.The 1.85.1 ratio was used for some of the Vietnam and non-objectionable scenes while the 2.35.1 Panavision format is used for mostly the innovative split-screen techniques and race sequences which is interesting to watch,but it's not the best sequel.The two films and a eye-catching cover art makes this set a must for any fan of the films and that the first film alone would serve as the inspiration for the classic TV sitcom HAPPY DAYS!!! Thanks to Universal and lets hope that they will make some more Franchise Collection releases like the John Hughes films,and The Mummy as well!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What can I say..., June 4 2012
By 
Jean Coutu "JAC" (Quebec, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: American Graffiti Drive-In Double Feature (DVD)
It's such a classic, nice cars, good music... for the 50's - 60's lover in you... still worth watching and enjoying, the second movie is a bit different but the original is well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More real than reality it's self, Nov. 28 2013
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
There are several overlaying plans and plots with many independent scenes from the era (1962). Is it wiser to go off to school or stay local? What are the consequences of your intent and then final action on friends and loved ones.

Yep everyone sees themselves in this movie. I have to admit I do also. That is see all the others as of courses I am above that sort of thing. This is one of the closest depictions of life with out me having to pull out the 8mm and filming. I spent some time in L.A. around the era and moved to Texas to find that distance changes something's but not that way of life. While in Vietnam I was even able to exchange the same urban legends with people from different part of the US.
I am more surprised that George Locus could capture this so well. I am also amazed at the crew they were able to assemble for this film. Most of them went off to do bigger and better parts and it is fun to watch this film in hind sight. Everyone look so young. I really never noticed Harrison Ford until Star Wars.

Getting away from memory lane, the film is so smooth that you forgot that you are watching a movie and the actors do not overwhelm the characters that they play.

Starting out you notice a song or two and think where was I. Then a few more songs and you soon are more rapped up in the music than the story. Having Wolfman Jack there added a touch of reality. I can not put my finger on it but there was something more than formula in this particular movie.

I am not that sensitive but the ending hits you hard as you realize it will never be the same. This is true of any group in any era. I can almost forget that.

By the way the original T-bird styling is back. All in all this is one film that will not collect dust.

41 Original Hits From The Soundtrack Of American Graffiti
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More American Graffiti, March 11 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: More American Graffiti (DVD)
Not as great as the first movie (American Graffiti) but nice to see what happened to the gang (except for Paul LeMat). Great to add to collection if you have American Graffiti.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 50's car movies, Feb. 12 2011
This review is from: American Graffiti Drive-In Double Feature (DVD)
My husband has all the 50's car movies on DVD except this one. I got it for his birthday & I know he'll be thrilled when he gets it. He's been looking & can't find it, but I did. Great movie for anyone around in the 50's & love old cars & to see some some of the young actors that have grown into great adult stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's not all sunshine and flowers..., March 2 2004
By 
J. M Quiggins "Sole_Fish" (Owensboro, Ky. USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: More American Graffiti (DVD)
What a great film. I have grown so fond of these characters over the years. So fond,in fact, that i was afraid to watch this movie. I had already mapped out the futures of all of the cast members. However, Mr. Lucas came through with flying colors. What a realistic and truthful telling of love and loss, happiness and sadness, Peace and war, and making up. Some of my favorite moments:
Our favorite geek, Terry the Toad, has a subtle,yet bittersweet, finale. He gains his freedom, and loses something just as important to him. And, 'car-man', John Milner, has a riveting performance as a drag strip racer. Every moment you wonder if he'll live or die. I was so floored, i didn't even notice the absence of Richard Dreyfus. His absence took nothing away from this movie. I will cherish this movie as much as i do the original. But, i think to fully enjoy this sequel, you must have an affection for the characters. I am way too biased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars LAST AMERICAN GRAFFITI, Jan. 22 2004
By 
RICK AND OLLY "RICK AND OLLY" (ROWVILLE VICTORIA AUSTRALIA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: More American Graffiti (DVD)
I first saw this movie at the local twin cinema in January of 1980. The only reason I saw it was because they wouldn't accept my ID so I couldn't get into to see " Apocalyse Now " which was playing in the other cinema.{ I was only 17 at the time }. And it's worth pointing out, because in 1980 home video was almost non existant in Australia , I hadn't seen the first " American Graffiti " yet. So I got to see the sequel before the original. AND I LOVED IT !.I've always been very interested in that period of time {60's} so it captured my imagination straight away. The story was cleverly done, it was sad to see John Milner's fate but he is spared the indignity of us witnessing the accident that killed him. Same with Terry the Toad, he was last seen singing "Auld Lang Syme" as he deserted his unit in Vietnam. I hope he's still out there somewhere.
It was 9 years before I saw it sgain, and this time I picked up on some of the other characters, like Officer Bob Falfa, and Terry's buddy in 'Nam, the ex Pharoh. But of course now I could compare the sequel to the original, and how can you top a movie like " American Graffiti "? The answer is simple, you can't. So I have to take off one star. But it's still worth a look, and if it's OK with the rest of you, I'm going to order my copy from AMAZON very soon.
One last thing, why doen't George Lucas make another, he could call it "LAST AMERICAN GRAFFITI". In it he could show maybe Milner's ghost ( I'm being serious ) Terry's return from endless R&R, and Kurt visiting from Canada, and Steve and Laurie with the grandchildren. It could be set in about 1995 so the characters age naturally. You can have these ideas for free if your reading this, George. I just want to see the movie made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Fun and Entertaining Sequel!, Sept. 15 2003
By 
This review is from: More American Graffiti (DVD)
"More American Graffiti" is the underrated and delightfully entertaining comedy sequel to George Lucas'1974 classic film, "American Graffiti".In Lucas'original film he followed various cliques of teenagers (over a 12 hour period), who were on the cusp of adulthood,asking that age old adolescent question, "what will I do with the rest of my life?" In this humorous sequel, we follow most of the original film's main characters into young adulthood and find out what they have been up to as their lives play out against the turbulent backdrop of the 1960's. Essentially the movie is broken down into four main stories, each taking place on a different News Years'Eve during the 60's decade.We meet up again with tough guy, John Milner (Paul Le Mat)who has left his street rod days behind and is now trying to break into the dangerous world of 1960's professional drag racing. He's doing this while he tries to romance a beautiful foreign exchange student, who speaks not a word of english. The second story takes place in Vietnam, where Terry "the Toad" Fields (Charles Martin Smith) is a soldier serving in a U.S.Army Medivac helicopter unit. All around him he see's the absurdity and hopelessness of the war and will try anything to keep from becoming a casualty. The third story takes place in the Haight-Ashbury's 'Summer of Love', where Debbie Dunham (Candy Clark)has become a hippie, who gets mixed up with a crazy rock n' roll band, while trying to procure a gig for her musician, boyfriend. The final story involves Steve and Laurie Bolander (Ron Howard & Cindy Williams)who are raising a family in suburbia. The couple experiences marital discord, which inadvertantly leads them into the world of the college campus anti-war demonstrations and riots.Director and writer, Bill L. Norton has very innovatively told us a number of stories against a vast tapestry of recent history. These baby boomer characters all experience both joy and heartache in their lives.But hey isn't that what life is all about? The entire cast recreates their characters with great finess and energy. Le Mat and Smith are especially good in their roles.Also, look for cameos from Harrison Ford, Mackenzie Phillips and Bo Hopkins, who play their original characters from the first film.The movie makes interesting use of both editing and cinematography, that changes from story to story.I really like the creative use of split-screen during the 'Haight- Asbury' sequences, which highlights those colorful and frenetic times.The DVD picture and sound transfer are exceptually well done.The DVD also makes the most out of it's wide screen formatting (especially in the drag racing sequences). My only complaint is that this DVD has absolutely nothing in extras (not even a film trailer). This movie is both a fun and entertaining sequel. While it might not have the classic status of the original film, it is still highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Under-rated, March 20 2002
By A Customer
Although widely panned for lacking the same mood and style as the original American Graffiti, its hit predecessor, More American Graffiti is an entertaining movie that gives a sense of the transition from the security of the early 1960s to the unrest and uncertainty of the Flower Power era. Most significantly, the movie manages to create tension around the fates of John Milner and Terry the Toad, whose early demises were reported at the end of the first movie -- however, you expect it to happen, it won't.
Although the original movie took place in a mythologized Modesto, California (despite being filmed in Petaluma and San Rafael), the city is not a character in More American Graffiti after the first appearance of Steve and Laurie's subdivision house. Action moves largely to the Bay Area, though the Bolander's conventional, middle-American relationship stands the test of 1960s strife fairly well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, Dec 26 2011
This review is from: American Graffiti Drive-In Double Feature (DVD)
My wife and I just watched this movie on Christmas Eve for the first time since it was released. Brought back a lot of great memories of our youth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

American Graffiti Drive-In Double Feature
American Graffiti Drive-In Double Feature by George Lucas (DVD - 2004)
CDN$ 62.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews