Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rain Man's a Classic!
First - Amazon ROCKS! Ordered and received within a couple of days! Although I've watched this movie before, I wanted it in my blu-ray library and had decided to only purchase movies I LOVED and would watch repeatedly. Rain Man is one of those movies! What starts out as a scam as the one brother learns he has a Savant brother in an institution that has been awarded all...
Published on March 19 2011 by ck

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The movie is great but the special features are lacking
Basically this is a great movie to buy I am so glad to see this film at least back on DVD again I was sad to see a few months ago when I tried to purchase it the film was out of print but now MGM has released the DVD Special Edition of this film. First you have the film picture looks great nice widescreen version. That deleted scene features Dustin Hoffman escaping Tom...
Published on Feb. 19 2004


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rain Man's a Classic!, March 19 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
First - Amazon ROCKS! Ordered and received within a couple of days! Although I've watched this movie before, I wanted it in my blu-ray library and had decided to only purchase movies I LOVED and would watch repeatedly. Rain Man is one of those movies! What starts out as a scam as the one brother learns he has a Savant brother in an institution that has been awarded all their dad's money from his will, ends up with love and compassion but with a long road in between. Such a touching, funny and educational movie...a must buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The movie is great but the special features are lacking, Feb. 19 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Rain Man (Special Edition) [Import] (DVD)
Basically this is a great movie to buy I am so glad to see this film at least back on DVD again I was sad to see a few months ago when I tried to purchase it the film was out of print but now MGM has released the DVD Special Edition of this film. First you have the film picture looks great nice widescreen version. That deleted scene features Dustin Hoffman escaping Tom Cruise trying to buy those infamous Cheese Balls he eats through out the film and Hoffman goes into the store and pulls that typical run of the mill "Rain Man" skit and the shopkeeper does not understand and Tom Cruise finds him and rescues him. That kind of part is shown in different places in the movie overall the scene lacks substance and once again like many of these DVD's with deleted scenes we can all clearly see why this little scene was taken out of the film. Now you have that commentary remember now it is 3 separate commentary tracks not a bunch of guys talking together. It would have been really nice for Tom Cruise and Dustin Hoffman to do a Commentary track but I guess Cruise was to busy with "The Last Sumarai" and Hoffman had to make his 100th movie by now. You get this Barry Levinson track which is probably the most useful good but not great. The other two commentary tracks feature I believe the guy who wrote the screenplay Ronald Bass if you have the time all 3 tracks probably are somewhat useful but also a little dull. Then you have a featurette from 1988! but boohoo it mostly contains bits from the movie a few moments with Tom Cruise saying that typical statement about a movie that he believes that this is going to be a great film he was right and director Barry Levinson did a fantastic job with this movie it just captures everything nice about a film the mood is nice and actors are great and the story is well told. Rain Man is a classic and will live on as a key career success for Tom Cruise and Dustin Hoffman. Oh Yeah there is also a photo album of some photos if you have that kind of time. Rain Man Special Edition justs gets by with the film itself and I just ignore the extras and watch the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rain Man, Feb. 28 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rain Man (VHS Tape)
This is an excellent movie to watch (funny, dramatic, romanctic)very entertaining. A must see movie for anyone who collect movies, this is a classic at its best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rain man, Jan. 12 2012
This review is from: Rain Man (Special Edition) (DVD)
The product arrived in perfect condition and although I have not had the time to watch it yet it will be great. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, March 11 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rain Man [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This should be a classic. Outstanding picture quality in the blue ray. If you forgot about what an amazing actor Dustin Hoffman is this will quickly remind you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hoffman is Brilliant and Cruise is also very good (4.5/5), Feb. 2 2008
This review is from: Rain Man (Special Edition) [Import] (DVD)
i first saw this movie in high school,and recall feeling indifferent
towards it.flash forward several years,and what a difference.this time
around,i really liked it.for one,i paid more attention to it.i also
liked it because Dustin Hoffman's portrayal of an autistic person was
bang on.the reason i say this is because i work with an autistic
individual.Hoffman must have done a lot of research for the role.either
that,or he's a complete and utter genius.Tom Cruise is also good as the
man who finds out he has an autistic brother.Cruise's character(Charlie
Babbit)goes from being an ego-centric materialistic and shallow human
being,to someone who actually has compassion and doesn't just think of
himself.Cruise makes the transformation very credible.i bought every
minute of it.the story is fairly original,as far as i know,even
today.there are also bits of lite humour sprinkled throughout,which
don't detract from the quality of the film at all.for me,rain man is a
4.5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cruise can act!, Oct. 27 2004
This review is from: Rain Man (VHS Tape)
i don't know what happened in the 80's, but hollywood seemed to fall into a black hole, producing one bad film after another. rain man is one of the exceptions. it has a good story told w/o too much of the schmaltz hollywood usually likes to pile onto feel-good films. unlike many people, i wasn't entirely convinced by hoffman's character. to me, he just looked like he was acting. i wouldn't have given him the oscar for that performance. cruise, otoh, was very convincing, first as the hot-shot, emotionally-distant, embittered young man, then later as the younger brother with a heart. i was impressed by the transformation. the scenes at the end - the meeting with the doctors and the goodbye at the station - were especially touching. cruise really showed here that he could act. and i'm not a tom cruise fan. but i was genuinely impressed.
so, the film that started the stampede to films about emotionally disabled people still holds up well. highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very strong acting from Dustin Hoffman, May 24 2004
By 
This review is from: Rain Man (Special Edition) [Import] (DVD)
This movie was very insightful into the life of a greedy yet lovable brother and a mental patient at the physc ward with an IQ of 176. The movie mainly focuses on the relationship between Hoffman and Cruise, who make a strong bond after Cruise heard of his father's death and wasn't left a penny, instead leaving over $3 million with Hoffman. The story takes place in various places of the West Coast, Los Angeles and Las Vegas. The story is very unique, great that made this movie win an oscar, but the main thing is the acting Hoffman produces which is so real, so touching, that it made this movie so believeable, not just a shelf throw back. 10/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Rain Man: Special Edition" -- Good DVD, Even Better Film!, May 24 2004
By 
David Von Pein (Mooresville, Indiana; USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rain Man (Special Edition) [Import] (DVD)
"Rain Man" reigned in the 1988 "Best Picture" Academy Award, and deservedly so. This film is everything a "Best Picture" Oscar winner should be, in my view. It has tenderness, romance, drama, compassion, likeable characters, and a biting humor as well. It's a "road" picture, while at the same time encompassing so many other things too.
Tom Cruise and Dustin Hoffman give highly-memorable and powerful performances in "Rain Man". Some of the moments in the movie that I find particularly memorable (and deserving of multiple replays whenever loading this up into the DVD Player) include these ............
> The first meeting between "Charlie" and "Raymond", when Charlie finds Ray behind the wheel of his rare 1948 automobile (excellent "first meeting" of these characters).
> The "shorts on the highway" scene.
> "Qantas never crashed".
> The Blackjack scene in Vegas.
> "I like having you for my big brother".
This "SE" release of "Rain Man" includes an enhanced (anamorphic) 1.85:1 Widescreen version of the movie -- and it gets an A+ on my "PQ Report Card". The digital video is beautiful throughout, with radiant colors.
The audio comes through loud and clear via the disc's bold English 5.1 Dolby Digital Surround track. Two foreign-language DD tracks are also part of this DVD -- a 2.0 Surround in French, and a Spanish 2.0 Mono track.
The DVD Special Features are a wee bit on the light side for a so-called "Special Edition". Although, if you like Audio Commentaries, you've come to the right place with this "Rain Man" DVD. Three separate filmmaker Commentary Tracks are featured on this one-disc "SE", including one by Director Barry Levinson.
Other bonus material includes ..........
>> Original Featurette. -- This short bonus is fairly thin on content, but does provide a few comments from stars Dustin Hoffman and Tom Cruise (circa 1988). Not much to sink your "Making Of" teeth into here though. The video for this featurette is Full Frame (1.33:1). Length = 6:55. .... It would have been nice to have had a feature-length "Making-Of" documentary included on this "SE" DVD. But, maybe next time.
>> One Deleted Scene. -- I kind of liked this. This excised scene shows Raymond entering a convenience store, where he begins helping himself to the store's stock of food and beverages (to the dismay of the shop's proprietor). Charlie enters at the end of this short scene to "rescue" Raymond. It's a pretty good scene, but certainly not essential to the storyline; and I can see why it was cut. Especially considering the film's already-lengthy 134-minute final running time. This deleted clip lasts 2:01, and is presented in 1.33:1 Full-Frame ratio.
>> Original Theatrical Trailer. -- A fun and funny trailer. Shown in 1.33:1. Run time -- 2:14.
>> Photo Gallery. -- This Gallery (which *is* anamorphic) is broken up into five different segments.
>> Bonus DVD Trailers.
No "Chapter List" paper insert is included with this DVD. The case looks kind of bare without any insert, I must admit. But, starting in late 2003 (approx.), many studios began to go the "el-cheapo" route on us, and no longer provide physical paper enclosures inside the DVD cases anymore. Gee, you'd think a "Special Edition" release would at least warrant a slim, one-page insert. Oh, well...what are ya gonna do? No biggie really. But I'd still prefer to have an insert for all DVD releases (even if it's only an ad for other DVD products).
Even with the rather skimpy selection of supplements here, this DVD still comes highly recommended by this "Rain Man" fan. The picture and sound quality are dazzling; and the film itself is ... well ... I'm sure you know ..... Oscar worthy! Get this today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, May 24 2004
This review is from: Rain Man (Special Edition) [Import] (DVD)
Best movie portrayal of autism yet. I hope there are more movies like this!!
Tom Cruise's best ever performance. Dustin Hoffman's best ever performance.
Jeffrey McAndrew
author of "Our Brown-Eyed Boy"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rain Man (Special Edition) [Import]
CDN$ 14.95 CDN$ 9.52
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews