Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best in the series. Blade 1 close behind. Avoid Blade Trinity.
The cast (the blood-pack) is awesome. They're a group of vampires teamed up with Blade to take out a new breed of monster which feeds on humans and vampires. They are very VERY hard to kill as you will see. The action, music, everything is great in this movie. You can't go wrong. Wesley Snipes does an amazing job as Blade once again! Ron Pearlman is in this movie too by...
Published on Aug. 19 2006 by CyborgDude

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't fear the reapers
Listen to the director commentary, and you'll hear Guillermo del Toro saying that he wanted the Blade sequel to be a fun, gory, comic-booky experience.

Well, he succeeded. Grotesquely gory and full of rapid-fire violence, "Blade II" is unashamed of its animeish action sequences and tongue-in-cheek humor ("Catch you later!"). Wesley Snipes and del Toro give it a...
Published on June 5 2009 by E. A Solinas


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best in the series. Blade 1 close behind. Avoid Blade Trinity., Aug. 19 2006
This review is from: Blade 2 (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
The cast (the blood-pack) is awesome. They're a group of vampires teamed up with Blade to take out a new breed of monster which feeds on humans and vampires. They are very VERY hard to kill as you will see. The action, music, everything is great in this movie. You can't go wrong. Wesley Snipes does an amazing job as Blade once again! Ron Pearlman is in this movie too by the way. Funny quotes in this movie too. Watch it now! Again and again! You seriously won't get enough of it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Don't fear the reapers, June 5 2009
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Blade 2 (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
Listen to the director commentary, and you'll hear Guillermo del Toro saying that he wanted the Blade sequel to be a fun, gory, comic-booky experience.

Well, he succeeded. Grotesquely gory and full of rapid-fire violence, "Blade II" is unashamed of its animeish action sequences and tongue-in-cheek humor ("Catch you later!"). Wesley Snipes and del Toro give it a suitably monstrous charm, although David Goyer's leaden dialogue bogs down many promising scenes.

While a monstrous hooded vampire preys on other vampires, Blade (Snipes) manages to track down his vampirized mentor Whistler (Kris Kristofferson) and cures him of his vampirism.

Then a pair of vampire ninjas arrive, bearing a message for Blade: ancient vampire lord Damaskinos (Thomas Kretschmann) wants to meet with him. Turns out there's a monstrous vampiric mutation called the Reapers loose -- highly contagious, really disgusting, and preys on humans and vampires alike. Blade reluctantly agrees to work with the elite vampire assassin squad called the Bloodpack.

Of course, tensions run high between the vampires and the little gang sworn to kill them -- especially when they arrive at the rave club House of Pain and lose some of their number. Blade takes on the Reapers' leader, Jared Nomak (Luke Goss), only to discover that there are some nasty secrets behind the Reapers' origins. And Damaskinos' plans are far nastier and further-reaching than anyone could have guessed.

Those expecting a copy of the first "Blade" movie should leave the building now. Guillermo del Toro's direction gives "Blade II" a very unique flavour all its own -- it's faster, more grotesque, more fantastical, and more infused with quirky humor. The one sour note is the magical return of Whistler at the beginning, where it turns out that whoops, he wasn't QUITE dead and he's getting better. Contrived much?

And del Toro has fun with the action -- lots of grotesque gore (those flip-out Reaper mouths), anime-style action (Blade garrotes a vampire on a motorcycle) and highly destructive gun battles. The first four-fifths of the story are just mindless shoot-'em-up-and-burn-up-to-ashes Reaper-hunts, but it mutates in the last act. Suddenly we're faced with a vampiric tale of betrayal, revenge and Grecian-style tragedy.

The big problem with this movie? Goyer's dialogue is hit or miss. Sometimes it's hilarious ("You're human." "Barely. I'm a lawyer"), and sometimes it sounds like he put it in because it looked cool on paper ("There's an old saying: Keep your friends close, keep your enemies closer"). Much of the time, it's the latter.

Wesley Snipes seems to be having a good time here, with lots of wild action and some wry humour ("Now you got an explosive device stuck to the back of your head"), and Leonor Varela provides a hint of possible romance as an autopsy-performing vampire princess. And the whispery-voiced Luke Goss manages to take a truly repulsive character ("so... so sweet!") and give him an air of tragedy.

In fact, most of the acting is pretty good in this movie, although most of the actors don't get a lot to do (Donnie Yen is particularly underused), though Ron Perlman is wonderfully loathsome as a neo-Nazi vampire who gets on Blade's bad side. Norman Reedus is intensely annoying as Scud, though -- you'll spend a lot of time hoping that someone shoots him by accident.

"Blade II" is a very different beast than its predecessor, and del Toro does a great job with some truly mediocre scripting. Worth seeing if you have a strong stomach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars worthy follow up to the original, Oct. 20 2007
By 
falcon "disdressed12" (canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Blade 2 (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
"Blade 2" is obviously the sequel to the original.David S Goyer once
again wrote the script,based on characters created for Marvel Comics by
Marv Wolfman and Gene Colan.Guillermo del Torro takes over the
directing reigns from Stephen Norrington.the storyline this time around
is more complex than the original.the original had a pretty basic
storyline,which is fine for Blade's introduction.now that Blade's
character has been somewhat fleshed out,a stronger storyline has to be
established.so there is an interesting twist in this film.the stronger
story makes the movie more dramatic,so there are less action
sequences.the story is slower of course,but it is worth it.a more
human, sensitive side of blade is revealed.there are still plenty of
action scenes,many of which are more spectacular this time
around.Wesley Snipes reprises his role of "Blade",of course,and Snipes
really gets to show off his fighting prowess and athleticism in this
installment.the direction is as good as the original,though it has its
own style.the special effects are improved here,and the tone of the
film is darker in general but there are little touches of mild humour
added.the music is again well suited to the movie.overall, a good
follow up film. a solid 4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Blade 2: The World is Full of Vampires, Nov. 23 2002
By 
Martin Asiner (jersey city, nj United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blade 2 [Import] (VHS Tape)
Do you remember the vampire movies pre 1990? These vampires preferred to go solo. Usually, someone was foolish enough to open a long-sealed crypt and let loose the undead, usually Bela Lugosi or Christopher Lee. The released vampire would generally spread havoc until he was staked through the heart. He did not have to worry about competition from other vampires. Doctor Van Helsing would keep him busy until the climax. But times have changed and so has Hollywood's vision of the undead. No longer is the vampire the well-dressed stalker who strikes at night. Now, Hollywood has given the MTV generation a cooler and hipper set of vampires. Director Guillermo Del Toro in BLADE 2 continues his own tradition as presenting not one but hundreds of vampires dancing in discos and acting like the spike-headed punkheads that Hollywood seems sure represent the bulk of the paying audience. Wesley Snipes is Blade, a half-human martial-arts vampire who is immune to the sun and to garlic. In the first BLADE, he rips apart legions of vampires, who promptly dub him Daywalker, since he fears not the sun. In BLADE 2, Snipes reprises his role that permits him to engage in non-stop action from the opening to the closing credits. When he reaches a moment that in another film another lead might pause for reflection, Snipes wastes not one moment in idle thought. He uses his considerable physical presence to dominate each scene with breathtaking special effects that the audience has since come to expect. And therein lies the problem with this movie and others of its ilk. Believability and cause and effect were deliberately excluded from the script. The world of BLADE 2 seems peopled exclusively by vampires of various sorts. The garden variety vampires look, act, and speak like the middle class wannabe punkheads that they truly are. If the script did not inform us they were vampires, I might never have guessed. The only surprising variation was the introduction of a new breed of uber-vampires, who look more like the classical vampires of the past. These uber-vampires feed exclusively on the 'normal' vampires and are immune to the garlic and silver weaponry that used to work in the American International pictures. These new vampires generally lope after their undead victims as if they were more chimpanzees than vampires. Snipes battles both types of vampire before he agrees to focus his efforts only on this new breed. There is absolutely no logic to his actions. Both breeds of vampires are set up as straw men, only to be knocked down, while all the while the audience is oohing and ahhing over each more spectacular battle. Kris Kristofferson is wasted as Whistler, Snipes' buddy, as only one of two humans in the movie. The other human is a sleazy lawyer who allies himself to the undead in a way that critiques the often heartless profession of attorneying. The plot bounces from one pyrotechnic display of blood and martial arts to the next with nary a thoughtful moment in between. By the movie's end, I had long since ceased to care which breed of vampire would reign supreme over a world that seemed to lack non-vampire residents. That both Blade movies have proved to be rousing financial successes has filled me with regret that the day of the solo vampire has passed away to be replaced by non-thinking types whom surely Bela Lugosi would not have called kin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Takes the vampire genre to new levels, Oct. 18 2002
This review is from: Blade 2 [Import] (VHS Tape)
I was going to say refreshingly new levels, as in the creative sense, but the word "refreshing" might not exactly work in this movie. For this is a bloody, gory, sadistic piece of art that gets down and dirty from the starting gate, and never lets go. It's really a terrific movie.
Why? Two reasons. First, the special effects. I've written in other reviews how I can give or take them. Sometimes they help, sometimes I find them annoying. A good movie still depends on plot, and if it's all special effects, no matter how good, there will be always something missing from the movie. In this movie, they are not only good, as in the fight scenes, which convey the speed and agility of super beings fighting each other. But they are also essential to the plot, which is reason two.
We are used to vampires being the bad guys, and this also remains for this flick. But the story takes a plot twist when Blade and his mortal vampire enemies find themselves uneasy allies. Why? Because an even more terrifying and powerful breed of monster has evolved. This new breed is kind of like a vampire, but, and this is where it becomes art, has powers and physical abilities that make the "regular" vampires look wimpy. Part of these physical abilities are very realistically shown via the special effects, and therefore essential to the plot.
I will not reveal what these new abilities are, but if you like you vampires gory, sadistic, and bloody, this one's for you. And yes, there is even some good plot thrown in, as the previously mortal enemies are forced to work together. There is also the return of Kris Kristofferson, who has been rescued from the vampires, but must be watched to see which side of the fence he's going to be playing on.
Overall, one of the best action sequels ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A rollercoaster of suspense and thrills, Oct. 6 2002
By 
Erica Anderson (Minneapolis, MN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blade 2 [Import] (VHS Tape)
I absolutely loved "Blade". I am not familiar with the comic book character other than Blade is half human and half vampire. The special effects in that movie blew me away. I was a bit wary of the sequal but after seeing "Blade II", that movie was just as good as the first. I'm a huge vampire fanatic and the last vampire film ("Queen of the Damned") turned out to be a real turkey. "Blade II" definitely didn't disappoint me. I found the idea of Blade working with his enemies to eradicate this new breed of super vampires compelling. I must admit I was rather grossed out by these super vampires and watching them feed. When Blade rescued his mentor Whistler (Kris Kristopherson), I wondered if Whistler was going to turn out like Blade; half-man, half-vampire since he was infected with the same vampire virus. Some of the humorous moments in the movie came from Ron Pearlman's vampire character . My favorite character in the movie I have to say is the vampire named Lisa, played by Leonor Varela. I liked how strong-willed her character was. What I really enjoyed was the twists that the storyline of the movie took. I really didn't expect for how the movie ended and for one of the major characters in the film. Obviously Wesley Snipes watched "The Matrix" very carefully because a lot of the fighting scenes in the movie were heavily influenced by "The Matrix". Now while "Blade II" is by no means Shakespeare, it definitely is one of the few modern vampire films that I thoroughly enjoyed without nitpicking the storyline apart. Truly an action classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I hoped for better, Sept. 17 2002
By 
Geoff Prescott (Aldergrove, BC Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blade 2 [Import] (VHS Tape)
It's nice to see all these movie fans gushing about how great they think Blade II is, but as a mature male I must admit to a certain disappoinment at the complete lack of sexual tension between vampire hunter Blade and the leather-clad vampire babe played by Leonor Varela. One of the things that made the original Blade so entertaining was the interaction between Snipes and N'Bushe Wright. Compared to Wright, Varela's character is cold and dead. And it's not that Varela doesn't know how to be sexy. Critics raved about her steamy performance in Cleopatra. Director Guillermo Del Toro basically dropped the ball. I mean, if you are going to dress a dark-haired beauty in full-length black leather, the least you can do is to make the outfit snug. Even teenage movie fans know that sex has been an essential element of vampire culture since the very beginning. It's absence leaves a gaping hole that Del Toro tries to fill with buckets of vampire guts, but it doesn't work. When Varela's character dies at the end, I didn't feel pity or regret, because she never really came alive as a character. To sum up, let's just say that while Blade II may be a good action flick, it's not a good vampire flick.
Geoff Prescott
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superbly Done, Aug. 15 2002
By 
Cecil N. Narez (Riyadh, Saudi Arabia) - See all my reviews
I love watching american movies not because I like the US of A but because american film makers spent so much time, effort, money and dedication in bringing to audiences around the world great movies such as BLADE II...one of the great action movie I have seen so far!!!This film is superbly done!Great action choregraphy better than Crouching Tiger and Hidden Dragon!!!And this is the first really,of all the vampire films I've seen, that how a vampire should die its like being eaten by fire coming from the inside the CGI really compliments the action.The story is ok although it could have been done with the character of kris kristofferson (no bad personal intention) differently say becoming a truly bad vampire...anyhow just a suggestion...
I could have given this 10 star but you can only give a max of 5 star!!!Last thing this review is based on the VCD format so I can't wait to order the DVD version just to fully experience the DD 5.1 and DTS sound format I'm sure this gonna blow me away!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Sequel Action Wise, Aug. 9 2002
By A Customer
I really liked this movie. Anybody who says that this movie stinks are A) lying or B) dont like action. This movie is really packed with good action sequences. The opening one didn't really impress me (compared to the opening from Blade I), but Blade II maintained the action pretty well (bigger, badder ones than the first ones). Although some of the CG action sequences are questionable, it didn't really mattter to me that much.
The addition of "reapers", ultra-super-uber vampires, are cool but aren't all that interesting once you get over how they "suck" the blood from victims. Snipes delivers a good performace, maintaining the cool yet brutal title character he played in the first one. The rest of the cast did well too, although the fling with Nyssa and the blood pack could have used more development.
Yeah sure the plot is thin but why the heck would you worry about good plots when watching an action movie? I mean sure it matters but I don't think it's vital to a movie that's in this case more comic-ishly action oriented. If you want that, then go rent/buy the first one, which seems logical since all the people who complained about plot prefered Blade I. Anyway good buy if you're a fan of good action movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars terrible sequel, Aug. 7 2002
By 
"maelgun" (Houston, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
Since I really enjoyed the first Blade, I was excited about the sequel. This film was a terrible disappointment. Instead of utilizing traditional filmmaking tools, such as actors, plot, and character development, director Guillermo del Toro throws in one lame action sequence after another. Don't think that this endless action is a good thing. Half the fighting is uninspired and full of pitiful CGI. Where the final showdown in part 1 was a classic kenjutsu duel, in part 2 it is a stupid brawl, replete with ridiculous wrestling moves. I'm using the word stupid a lot because that is the word that this entire movie reeks of. It is as if the movie was designed to deliver cheap thrills that would only satisfy the stupid. I was insulted by this movie, as if the director was suggesting I was stupid and trying to take my money by tricking me into seeing this trash. It is obvious that Guillermo del Toro was not affiliated with the first Blade, as there is an absence of complete stinkiness in that movie. The first movie was by no means perfect, and so I thought that this one would expand on the first and continue an entertaining and noble franchise. Sadly, this movie did not do so. This is the kind of sequel that makes you ashamed that you saw the first one at all. Pure filth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blade 2 (Widescreen) [Import]
Blade 2 (Widescreen) [Import] by Guillermo del Toro (DVD - 2004)
CDN$ 6.74
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews