Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Vampire
J'ai choisis de donner 5 étoiles parce que ce DVD je le cherchais depuis longtemps pour complété la série. J'adore cet acteur et j,ai regardé ce film au cinéma autrefois et j'ai de bon souvenir de cet évènement. MERCI.
Published 10 months ago by FORTIN, Ginette

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars blade ii
when it first came out was nice to watch but i would only recommend to rent but not to buy.
Published 19 months ago by mariachi


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars This Sequel Delivers with a Unique Concept!, Jan. 10 2014
This review is from: Blade II (DVD)
A major virus is sweeping the through the vampire community and transforming its hosts into creatures called Reapers, who have a thirst for blood worse than vampires, are near invulnerable, and who can also pass the virus on to victims of their own. Worse, they feed on both human and vampire alike. Desperate to stop these creatures, the vampire community strikes a truce with Blade and gets him to help them fight these awful creatures. As Blade carves his way through the Reapers, he finds out their sinister origin and must put a stop to the Reaper vampires once and for all.

The thing with sequels is you gotta go bigger and better than the first one. It’s not always easy and usually fails, however there are exceptions and Blade II is such an exception. Instead of just simply pitting Blade against more vampires, he now has to fight alongside them and stop a common enemy. How does that go? “The enemy of my enemy is my friend”? That’s what’s happening here and is a unique take on the vampire mythos and takes Blade to the next level.

Wesley Snipes is back as the Daywalker, and does everything right in this flick like he did in the first movie: tough, sweet action, martial arts, swordplay, solid acting and more. It’s always great when you can see the actor enjoys what they’re doing—or convinces you they are—instead of merely phoning it in as is sometimes the case when an actor keeps reprising a role.

Kris Kristofferson is back, too, which is awesome because Whistler is a big part of the first movie and this one might’ve felt hollow without him. How they bring him back after what happened in the last movie was also clever.

The Reapers—total killers with sweet SFX, brutal savagery and they make the regular vampires look like a bunch of modern day angsty vamps by comparison. Always a good thing when you up the ante on the bad guy.

I really liked this sequel, especially because, like I said, it had a fresh take on the slayer-vs-vampire mythos and I’m all about fresh takes. The story moved along at a good clip, kept me engaged, and makes me have a good time every time I have a Blade movie marathon.

Awesome stuff, Blade II.

Recommended like the first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vampire, Sept. 12 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
J'ai choisis de donner 5 étoiles parce que ce DVD je le cherchais depuis longtemps pour complété la série. J'adore cet acteur et j,ai regardé ce film au cinéma autrefois et j'ai de bon souvenir de cet évènement. MERCI.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars blade ii, Dec 29 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
when it first came out was nice to watch but i would only recommend to rent but not to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DVD on Sale, April 3 2010
By 
Peter Browne (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This DVD is being Sold at a lot of places for $4.99. (ie. Target, Future Shop, etc)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best in the series. Blade 1 close behind. Avoid Blade Trinity., Aug. 19 2006
This review is from: Blade 2 (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
The cast (the blood-pack) is awesome. They're a group of vampires teamed up with Blade to take out a new breed of monster which feeds on humans and vampires. They are very VERY hard to kill as you will see. The action, music, everything is great in this movie. You can't go wrong. Wesley Snipes does an amazing job as Blade once again! Ron Pearlman is in this movie too by the way. Funny quotes in this movie too. Watch it now! Again and again! You seriously won't get enough of it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars blade 2, July 17 2010
This review is from: Blade II (DVD)
i found this movie not as good as the first, with better theatrics and special effects, though then in the first one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Blade 2, March 29 2010
By 
S. Salyers "guyla66" (Los Angeles, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Good to have this title for my collection just a shame that it was just movie with not to many extras but its great quality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Don't fear the reapers, June 5 2009
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Blade 2 (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
Listen to the director commentary, and you'll hear Guillermo del Toro saying that he wanted the Blade sequel to be a fun, gory, comic-booky experience.

Well, he succeeded. Grotesquely gory and full of rapid-fire violence, "Blade II" is unashamed of its animeish action sequences and tongue-in-cheek humor ("Catch you later!"). Wesley Snipes and del Toro give it a suitably monstrous charm, although David Goyer's leaden dialogue bogs down many promising scenes.

While a monstrous hooded vampire preys on other vampires, Blade (Snipes) manages to track down his vampirized mentor Whistler (Kris Kristofferson) and cures him of his vampirism.

Then a pair of vampire ninjas arrive, bearing a message for Blade: ancient vampire lord Damaskinos (Thomas Kretschmann) wants to meet with him. Turns out there's a monstrous vampiric mutation called the Reapers loose -- highly contagious, really disgusting, and preys on humans and vampires alike. Blade reluctantly agrees to work with the elite vampire assassin squad called the Bloodpack.

Of course, tensions run high between the vampires and the little gang sworn to kill them -- especially when they arrive at the rave club House of Pain and lose some of their number. Blade takes on the Reapers' leader, Jared Nomak (Luke Goss), only to discover that there are some nasty secrets behind the Reapers' origins. And Damaskinos' plans are far nastier and further-reaching than anyone could have guessed.

Those expecting a copy of the first "Blade" movie should leave the building now. Guillermo del Toro's direction gives "Blade II" a very unique flavour all its own -- it's faster, more grotesque, more fantastical, and more infused with quirky humor. The one sour note is the magical return of Whistler at the beginning, where it turns out that whoops, he wasn't QUITE dead and he's getting better. Contrived much?

And del Toro has fun with the action -- lots of grotesque gore (those flip-out Reaper mouths), anime-style action (Blade garrotes a vampire on a motorcycle) and highly destructive gun battles. The first four-fifths of the story are just mindless shoot-'em-up-and-burn-up-to-ashes Reaper-hunts, but it mutates in the last act. Suddenly we're faced with a vampiric tale of betrayal, revenge and Grecian-style tragedy.

The big problem with this movie? Goyer's dialogue is hit or miss. Sometimes it's hilarious ("You're human." "Barely. I'm a lawyer"), and sometimes it sounds like he put it in because it looked cool on paper ("There's an old saying: Keep your friends close, keep your enemies closer"). Much of the time, it's the latter.

Wesley Snipes seems to be having a good time here, with lots of wild action and some wry humour ("Now you got an explosive device stuck to the back of your head"), and Leonor Varela provides a hint of possible romance as an autopsy-performing vampire princess. And the whispery-voiced Luke Goss manages to take a truly repulsive character ("so... so sweet!") and give him an air of tragedy.

In fact, most of the acting is pretty good in this movie, although most of the actors don't get a lot to do (Donnie Yen is particularly underused), though Ron Perlman is wonderfully loathsome as a neo-Nazi vampire who gets on Blade's bad side. Norman Reedus is intensely annoying as Scud, though -- you'll spend a lot of time hoping that someone shoots him by accident.

"Blade II" is a very different beast than its predecessor, and del Toro does a great job with some truly mediocre scripting. Worth seeing if you have a strong stomach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars worthy follow up to the original, Oct. 20 2007
This review is from: Blade 2 (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
"Blade 2" is obviously the sequel to the original.David S Goyer once
again wrote the script,based on characters created for Marvel Comics by
Marv Wolfman and Gene Colan.Guillermo del Torro takes over the
directing reigns from Stephen Norrington.the storyline this time around
is more complex than the original.the original had a pretty basic
storyline,which is fine for Blade's introduction.now that Blade's
character has been somewhat fleshed out,a stronger storyline has to be
established.so there is an interesting twist in this film.the stronger
story makes the movie more dramatic,so there are less action
sequences.the story is slower of course,but it is worth it.a more
human, sensitive side of blade is revealed.there are still plenty of
action scenes,many of which are more spectacular this time
around.Wesley Snipes reprises his role of "Blade",of course,and Snipes
really gets to show off his fighting prowess and athleticism in this
installment.the direction is as good as the original,though it has its
own style.the special effects are improved here,and the tone of the
film is darker in general but there are little touches of mild humour
added.the music is again well suited to the movie.overall, a good
follow up film. a solid 4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pulse-Pounding!!!!, April 18 2004
This review is from: Blade 2 [Import] (VHS Tape)
When the world is threatned by a new and deadlier breed of super vampire the legendary Blade and his mentor Whistler must join forces with the Bloodpack, an elite team of vampire warriors made up of his sworn enemies. In order to stop the carnage these ravenous fiends must be destroyed at all costs. In this high-voltage adventure, exploding with spectular effects and martial arts action. The electrifying Snipes reprises his role from the original cult classic Blade. I thought this was a hell of alot better than the original. I thought the sequel had a better plot, great acting, excellent fight scenes, and nonstop action. If you liked the original, you'll love the sequel. I loved the sequel, alot more than I liked the original. ENJOY!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blade 2 (Widescreen) [Import]
Blade 2 (Widescreen) [Import] by Guillermo del Toro (DVD - 2004)
CDN$ 6.65
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews