Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars love this movie!
I really love this movie, it's better than the other one with Marlon Brando. The acting by far is excellent! For it's time, this movie was very realistically portrayed and I didn't mind that it was in black and white, although colour would add to the tropical background scenes. This I would recommend highly, the delivery was on time.
Published 11 days ago by dogooder44

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Early Best Picture Winner Disappoints Somewhat
The 1935 Academy Award for Best Picture. The AFI list of best 100 films of the century (the 20th, that is). With this pedigree, I expected great things from "Mutiny on the Bounty." But this film for me, while never less than entertaining, fell far short of greatness. It's a solid action film with a script more literate than your average action movie to be...
Published on March 15 2004 by brewster22


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars love this movie!, April 9 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mutiny on the Bounty (DVD)
I really love this movie, it's better than the other one with Marlon Brando. The acting by far is excellent! For it's time, this movie was very realistically portrayed and I didn't mind that it was in black and white, although colour would add to the tropical background scenes. This I would recommend highly, the delivery was on time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellnt film, Jan. 9 2013
By 
Joel Pasquier (Québec,Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mutiny on the Bounty (DVD)
Cette première version de l'histoire du Bounty est remarquable mais n'empêche pas d'apprécier les deux autres versions réalisées depuis.Celle-ci ajoute à l'histoire le charme d'un film tourné il y a longtemps,avec des moyens moins perfectionnés que maintenant,mais avec une authenticité peut-être plus intéressante,en particulier au niveau du navire,de la navigation et de la vie sur place à Tahiti.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This Movie had to be seen and now it has more meaning yet since the tragic accident that happened this year with the HMS Bounty., Nov. 21 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mutiny on the Bounty (DVD)
I was interested in the 1935 Version of this film,just to compare the events with the 1962 Version,
its a very good movie and I recomment people to get it,its worth to experience all...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Early Best Picture Winner Disappoints Somewhat, March 15 2004
By 
brewster22 "brewster22" (Evanston, IL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mutiny on the Bounty (DVD)
The 1935 Academy Award for Best Picture. The AFI list of best 100 films of the century (the 20th, that is). With this pedigree, I expected great things from "Mutiny on the Bounty." But this film for me, while never less than entertaining, fell far short of greatness. It's a solid action film with a script more literate than your average action movie to be sure, but I was still left somewhat cold by it.
Much of the adoration of this film seems to spring from a love of the central performances, namely those of Charles Laughton and Clark Gable. Both of course are good, but Laughton's character suffers from a silent movie villain's one-noteness. He does sadistic well, but that's about all he's required to do. Clark Gable impressed me more, and made me think that maybe he's a better actor than I ever gave him credit for. But for me, the standout performer (and the one I hear the least about) is Franchot Tone, playing a young idealist, enamored with the romance of life at sea and not prepared for the petty brutalities and politics. Tone is forced to give the most nuanced performance, as he straddles the line between loyalty to upper command and humanity for his fellow shipmates. In contrast to Laughton and Gable's showy roles, Tone's is quiet and thoughtful, except for a last-minute soliloquy that he handles well.
The production is never less than impressive, especially for 1935. The special effects are solid, as is the attention paid to period detail. But for some reason, despite the good things I have to say about the film, I just never got that into it. It's like any number of solidly crafted films released today: competent, fairly intelligent and well done, but not especially artistic or unique. One gets the feeling that it achieves what it sets out to do; one just wished it had set out to do a little more than it does.
Grade: B
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, but not historically accurate, March 21 2004
By 
Daniel Waitkoss (St. Charles, Missouri USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mutiny on the Bounty (DVD)
OK, while miles ahead of the 1960s remake, ruined by an over-the-top performance by a very miscast Marlon Brando, this version still does not tell the true story of the HMS Bounty and its ill-fated voyage. (See James A. Michener's "Rascals in Paradise" for a historically accurate, but brief, picture of Bligh and the mutiny.) The movie stays close to the novel by Hall & Nordhoff and uses a fictious midshipman, Roger Byam, as the main character and we see both Christian and Bligh mostly through his eyes.
The acting by Gable and Laughton are, of course, excellent and the film shows the money spent by M-G-M wasn't wasted. The Bounty, itself, was a beautiful replica and the filming at sea--especially during storms--is hair-raising. In short, if you are after historically accurate drama--then this isn't your film, but if you want an entertaining, thrilling sea adventure from Hollywood's golden age--then by all means take a chance with this great picture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THRILLING SEA EPIC IN VERY NICE LOOKING TRANSFER, Feb. 3 2004
By 
Nix Pix (Windsor, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mutiny on the Bounty (DVD)
"Mutiny On The Bounty" is a classic sea epic about the crew of a British tall ship who revolt after their captain (Charles Laughton) becomes tyrannical on the high seas. Clark Gable cuts a handsome swashbuckling figure as Fletcher Christian - king of the mutineers. His ability to insight revolt leads to a disastrous outcome for all concerned. Franchot Tone give a poignant performance as one of the wronged sea men, put on trial but eventually exonerated from the charge of mutiny. For adventure on the high seas there's none to touch this harrowing classic!
Warner Brothers' transfer is a mixed blessing. Though much of the footage shot on indoor stages seems to have held up well over time the exterior and location photography is riddled with age related artifacts, slightly out of focus image quality and glaring film grain, dirt and grit. The gray scale sometimes has a well balanced look to it. At other times it appears to be suffering from low contrast levels. Blacks are never solid or deep. There are no digital anomalies. Fine details are never realized. The audio is mono but very nicely cleaned up. Extras include a couple of featurettes and a trailer. Ho-hum...the pirates life for me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive version, July 12 2004
By 
Henning Sebastian Jahre "Judy-Viv" (Oslo, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mutiny on the Bounty (DVD)
Skip the 1962-version with Brando or the 1984-effort with Mel Gibson...
THIS is the 1. The production values are very high(of course - it`s from Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer) and the star performances still survives... With MGM`s "San Francisco", the best b&w melodrama of the 30s... No wonder they called Clark Gable "The King of Hollywood" - here the monarch is at his youthful and masculine BEST:-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST PICTURE 1935 awesomely restored classic on DVD!, Feb. 8 2004
By 
forrie (Nashua, NH United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mutiny on the Bounty (DVD)
Warner Brothers Entertainment Inc and Turner Entertainment Co. have cooperatively restored and remastered Hollywood's Golden Age Movie Classics and released them under Warner Home Video Inc DVD label. These classics are meticulously restored both picture and sound. The results are an amazing Home Theatre experience. The quality is even better than the original 1935 theatrical presentation.
"Mutiny On The Bounty" was 1935 BEST PICTURE Oscar Winner. (Also voted into AFI's (American Film Institutes) Top 100 Movies in 100 Years (circa 1998)) Starring Charles Laughton as the infamous Captain Bligh and Clark Gable as 1st Officer Fletcher Christian. This Standard Format Black/White feature was quite a lengthy picture for the 1930's ( 132 minutes ). But the story moved by very quickly covering several years ar sea. From Portsmouth England to Tahiti / Pitcairn Island & back twice for Bligh.
The year was 1787 when English seaman were shanghied and made to serve on his magesty's ships for years. Average common men drafted and taken from their families unwillingly. This story "Mutiny on the Bounty" is based on true incident which changed the Rules of Seamanship forever. Due to Captain Bligh's blatant disregard of human rights and cruel inhuman punishment for any questioning of his unreasonable orders. He was a common man who through pain & suffering climbed to the rank of Lieutantant. Hating Christian for his being a refined gentleman and well educated officer. This story vividly shows us the world of the seaman via 1787 and how an unspeakable "MUTINY" results. An outstanding movie and the players are well casted for their roles!!
Extra features include; Vintage documentary - "Pitcairn Island Today" (circa 1935), Academy Award Newsreel and Theartical Trailers (1935 & remake with Marlon Brando 1962).
This is a must have DVD for your Home Theatre library. Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars We Came To See The Sea, Nov. 30 2003
By 
Alex Udvary (chicago, il United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mutiny on the Bounty (VHS Tape)
You'll noticed most of the early Oscar winners were films that were heavy-handed. They appeared as if they wanted to be seen as important. Watch "Wings", "All Quite On The Western Front", "Cimarron", "The Life of Emile Zola", and director Frank Lloyd's other Oscar winner "Cavalcade". All of these films seem as if they are shoving an important message down our throats, mind you, not that they are bad films, well, maybe except for "Cimarron". But, "Mutiny on the Bounty" is actually one of the few films to have won the Oscar that didn't appear as "important" as the others. It appears as if it merely wants to entertain. Other films that belong on that list are "The Broadway Melody of 1929", and two Frank Capra films "It Happened One Night" & "You Can't Take It With You". And that's it.

"Mutiny on the Bounty" when released was one of the most expensive films ever made, I believe somewhere between 2-4 million. But watch the wonderful detail given to the film. There are lavish production and costume designs. So, if you like that sort of thing, keep your eyes open.
Now, I've noticed that some people bash the movie because they feel it doesn't create an accurate description of what really happened. My answer to this is, who cares? Lets judge the movie on cinematic terms not historical. As a movie does it entertain? Yes. Is there good acting? Yes. You have three Oscar nominated performances here, Charles Laughton, to me comes out looking the best. Clark Gable gives one of his best, though, I admit I never really thought of him as a "great" actor. He was fine for certain roles but I never felt he had a wide range. Though to be fair I must admit he did have a lot of charisma, which is undoubtedly why he made in it the movies. And finally you have Franchot Tone who gives a warm performance as Roger Byam. Another important question to ask is how is the directing? Lloyd who had just won the Oscar for "Cavalcade" I think does a better job here. So, please don't judge the movie based on historical facts. We should all know the movies embellish the truth. Judge the film on the own merits. So is it a good movie? Yes. It proves to entertain it's audiences, it has some wonderful acting, handsome sets and costumes, moments of action and human drama, and is mildly amusing at times. It is worth seeing if your a Laughton or Gable fan. Or if you interested in seeing the early Oscar winners.
Here's an interesting fact. Did you know Wallace Berry was the original choice for Capt. Bligh? He turned the role down because he didn't like Gable, and didn't want to be on set with him for a long period of time. What makes this so interesting is if anyone out there is 500 years old like myself you'll recall the two made some films togther. In 1935, the same year as this picture they made "China Seas" (Jean Harlow co-starred), and "Hell Divers" (A movie about two rival pilots) which I think was made in 1931 maybe 1930, I'm not sure. *** 1\2 out of *****
Bottom-line: One of the more entertaing early Oscar winners. Not as heavy-handed. Very good acting, strong directing, and lots of action and more human scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Overly simplified, Oct. 19 2003
This incarnation of The Mutiny on the Bounty is good, but having read both Bligh's account of the mutiny and the Nordhoff and Hall version of the mutiny, I am absolutely convinced that the actual mutiny was nothing like this one. This interpretation basically lionizes the crew and simulataneously demonizes Bligh to an extent that it is hard to imagine a man as needlessly evil as Bligh or as virtuous as Fletcher Christian. I do believe that both men were partially responsible for the mutiny, and great artistic license is taken in telling the tale.
That being said, this movie is a thrilling yarn about the famous mutiny. Charles Laughton is Captain Bligh, convincingly evil and a lover of absolute power. Clark Gable plays another variation on the flawless good guy characters he played until Gone With The Wind. But it is Franchot Tone who gives a moving performance as a midshipman caught in the middle of these two forces of nature. The special effects are good for the time period, the writing is good, especially the speech that Tone gives at the end at of his court-martial. All in all, it is a convincing parable about good and evil as well as a suspenseful adventure.
In spite of its many virtues, the movie was hard for me to get into because of its flaws. One of the most powerful scenes in the movie was when a sailor asks for a glass of water and Bligh responds by ordering the man keelhauled. Very well, except keelhauling was illegal by British Naval Laws at that time, as was noted in Nordhoff and Hall's book. The most true thing that can be said of Bligh is that he was obsessed with following the rules and insisted that his be followed in the same fashion. That he would disobey them only shows that he is a stupid man, which wasn't true. Another scene that bothered me for the same reasons was the short scene where Bligh was talking to the Tahitian King and he says that Captain Cook was dead. Being as the Tahitians nearly deified the man, this would have the effect of making the Tahitians less cooperative. Bligh should have known this, he was Cook's first lieutenant. Aside from making Bligh an idiotic devil, Christian is nearly a canonized saint. Although most of the blame probably belongs to Bligh, as he was the captain, but Christian had to have been somewhat responsible. Gable delivers his usual limited range performance. I suppose that one has never needed acting talent to be a movie superstar. The only even remotely nuanced performance is Tone's, and thankfully he's the protagonist.
In short, this movie is deeply flawed but technically impressive. The dialogue and acting are good, but the conversion to the screen lost much of the nuance that other accounts of the mutiny. If you want a truly sophisticated account of the mutiny, the Hopkins/Gibson version "The Bounty".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xab159dd4)

This product

Mutiny on the Bounty
Mutiny on the Bounty by Frank Lloyd (DVD - 2004)
CDN$ 18.70
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews