Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Add to this one of the great Hollywood films of all times
The Bu-ray quality of this issue is extraordinary. Add to this one of the great Hollywood films of all times, and this becomes an essential addition to anyone's Blu-ray collection.
This is far superior on many levels to the Gable/Laughton version, though a good film in it's own right as well.
Published 12 hours ago by Joseph A Verbalis

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Early Best Picture Winner Disappoints Somewhat
The 1935 Academy Award for Best Picture. The AFI list of best 100 films of the century (the 20th, that is). With this pedigree, I expected great things from "Mutiny on the Bounty." But this film for me, while never less than entertaining, fell far short of greatness. It's a solid action film with a script more literate than your average action movie to be...
Published on March 15 2004 by brewster22


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Add to this one of the great Hollywood films of all times, July 28 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Bu-ray quality of this issue is extraordinary. Add to this one of the great Hollywood films of all times, and this becomes an essential addition to anyone's Blu-ray collection.
This is far superior on many levels to the Gable/Laughton version, though a good film in it's own right as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Bounty, June 17 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mutiny on the Bounty (DVD)
Enjoyed this very much but much preferred the Mel Gibson movie which I think was closer to the true story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love this movie!, April 9 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mutiny on the Bounty (DVD)
I really love this movie, it's better than the other one with Marlon Brando. The acting by far is excellent! For it's time, this movie was very realistically portrayed and I didn't mind that it was in black and white, although colour would add to the tropical background scenes. This I would recommend highly, the delivery was on time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellnt film, Jan. 9 2013
By 
Joel Pasquier (Québec,Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mutiny on the Bounty (DVD)
Cette première version de l'histoire du Bounty est remarquable mais n'empêche pas d'apprécier les deux autres versions réalisées depuis.Celle-ci ajoute à l'histoire le charme d'un film tourné il y a longtemps,avec des moyens moins perfectionnés que maintenant,mais avec une authenticité peut-être plus intéressante,en particulier au niveau du navire,de la navigation et de la vie sur place à Tahiti.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This Movie had to be seen and now it has more meaning yet since the tragic accident that happened this year with the HMS Bounty., Nov. 21 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mutiny on the Bounty (DVD)
I was interested in the 1935 Version of this film,just to compare the events with the 1962 Version,
its a very good movie and I recomment people to get it,its worth to experience all...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Early Best Picture Winner Disappoints Somewhat, March 15 2004
By 
brewster22 "brewster22" (Evanston, IL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mutiny on the Bounty (DVD)
The 1935 Academy Award for Best Picture. The AFI list of best 100 films of the century (the 20th, that is). With this pedigree, I expected great things from "Mutiny on the Bounty." But this film for me, while never less than entertaining, fell far short of greatness. It's a solid action film with a script more literate than your average action movie to be sure, but I was still left somewhat cold by it.
Much of the adoration of this film seems to spring from a love of the central performances, namely those of Charles Laughton and Clark Gable. Both of course are good, but Laughton's character suffers from a silent movie villain's one-noteness. He does sadistic well, but that's about all he's required to do. Clark Gable impressed me more, and made me think that maybe he's a better actor than I ever gave him credit for. But for me, the standout performer (and the one I hear the least about) is Franchot Tone, playing a young idealist, enamored with the romance of life at sea and not prepared for the petty brutalities and politics. Tone is forced to give the most nuanced performance, as he straddles the line between loyalty to upper command and humanity for his fellow shipmates. In contrast to Laughton and Gable's showy roles, Tone's is quiet and thoughtful, except for a last-minute soliloquy that he handles well.
The production is never less than impressive, especially for 1935. The special effects are solid, as is the attention paid to period detail. But for some reason, despite the good things I have to say about the film, I just never got that into it. It's like any number of solidly crafted films released today: competent, fairly intelligent and well done, but not especially artistic or unique. One gets the feeling that it achieves what it sets out to do; one just wished it had set out to do a little more than it does.
Grade: B
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, but not historically accurate, March 21 2004
By 
Daniel Waitkoss (St. Charles, Missouri USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mutiny on the Bounty (DVD)
OK, while miles ahead of the 1960s remake, ruined by an over-the-top performance by a very miscast Marlon Brando, this version still does not tell the true story of the HMS Bounty and its ill-fated voyage. (See James A. Michener's "Rascals in Paradise" for a historically accurate, but brief, picture of Bligh and the mutiny.) The movie stays close to the novel by Hall & Nordhoff and uses a fictious midshipman, Roger Byam, as the main character and we see both Christian and Bligh mostly through his eyes.
The acting by Gable and Laughton are, of course, excellent and the film shows the money spent by M-G-M wasn't wasted. The Bounty, itself, was a beautiful replica and the filming at sea--especially during storms--is hair-raising. In short, if you are after historically accurate drama--then this isn't your film, but if you want an entertaining, thrilling sea adventure from Hollywood's golden age--then by all means take a chance with this great picture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THRILLING SEA EPIC IN VERY NICE LOOKING TRANSFER, Feb. 3 2004
By 
Nix Pix (Windsor, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mutiny on the Bounty (DVD)
"Mutiny On The Bounty" is a classic sea epic about the crew of a British tall ship who revolt after their captain (Charles Laughton) becomes tyrannical on the high seas. Clark Gable cuts a handsome swashbuckling figure as Fletcher Christian - king of the mutineers. His ability to insight revolt leads to a disastrous outcome for all concerned. Franchot Tone give a poignant performance as one of the wronged sea men, put on trial but eventually exonerated from the charge of mutiny. For adventure on the high seas there's none to touch this harrowing classic!
Warner Brothers' transfer is a mixed blessing. Though much of the footage shot on indoor stages seems to have held up well over time the exterior and location photography is riddled with age related artifacts, slightly out of focus image quality and glaring film grain, dirt and grit. The gray scale sometimes has a well balanced look to it. At other times it appears to be suffering from low contrast levels. Blacks are never solid or deep. There are no digital anomalies. Fine details are never realized. The audio is mono but very nicely cleaned up. Extras include a couple of featurettes and a trailer. Ho-hum...the pirates life for me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive version, July 12 2004
By 
Henning Sebastian Jahre "Judy-Viv" (Oslo, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mutiny on the Bounty (DVD)
Skip the 1962-version with Brando or the 1984-effort with Mel Gibson...
THIS is the 1. The production values are very high(of course - it`s from Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer) and the star performances still survives... With MGM`s "San Francisco", the best b&w melodrama of the 30s... No wonder they called Clark Gable "The King of Hollywood" - here the monarch is at his youthful and masculine BEST:-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST PICTURE 1935 awesomely restored classic on DVD!, Feb. 8 2004
By 
forrie (Nashua, NH United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mutiny on the Bounty (DVD)
Warner Brothers Entertainment Inc and Turner Entertainment Co. have cooperatively restored and remastered Hollywood's Golden Age Movie Classics and released them under Warner Home Video Inc DVD label. These classics are meticulously restored both picture and sound. The results are an amazing Home Theatre experience. The quality is even better than the original 1935 theatrical presentation.
"Mutiny On The Bounty" was 1935 BEST PICTURE Oscar Winner. (Also voted into AFI's (American Film Institutes) Top 100 Movies in 100 Years (circa 1998)) Starring Charles Laughton as the infamous Captain Bligh and Clark Gable as 1st Officer Fletcher Christian. This Standard Format Black/White feature was quite a lengthy picture for the 1930's ( 132 minutes ). But the story moved by very quickly covering several years ar sea. From Portsmouth England to Tahiti / Pitcairn Island & back twice for Bligh.
The year was 1787 when English seaman were shanghied and made to serve on his magesty's ships for years. Average common men drafted and taken from their families unwillingly. This story "Mutiny on the Bounty" is based on true incident which changed the Rules of Seamanship forever. Due to Captain Bligh's blatant disregard of human rights and cruel inhuman punishment for any questioning of his unreasonable orders. He was a common man who through pain & suffering climbed to the rank of Lieutantant. Hating Christian for his being a refined gentleman and well educated officer. This story vividly shows us the world of the seaman via 1787 and how an unspeakable "MUTINY" results. An outstanding movie and the players are well casted for their roles!!
Extra features include; Vintage documentary - "Pitcairn Island Today" (circa 1935), Academy Award Newsreel and Theartical Trailers (1935 & remake with Marlon Brando 1962).
This is a must have DVD for your Home Theatre library. Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mutiny on the Bounty
Mutiny on the Bounty by Frank Lloyd (DVD - 2004)
CDN$ 18.70 CDN$ 17.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews