Customer Reviews


268 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (54)
3 star:
 (49)
2 star:
 (41)
1 star:
 (72)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beyond Alien
Oddly, this is my favourite movie of a franchise which was started off by photographs of HR Giger's macabre paintings in Omni Magazine.

The first three movies are each pretty much the same. It all began with a company prospecter-ship being alerted to a distress signal on some extra-terrestrial asteroid, I think it was. The story was penned by Dan O'brien,...
Published 21 months ago by Sid Matheson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I Have A Question
Okay, one of these face-grabber things attaches itself to you, knocks you out, shoves a tube down your throat and drops an embryo. Soon, the face-grabber falls off and you revive. You walk around just fine for a few days, then the embryo (somewhat larger) bursts out of your stomach, which kills you, and the embryo scoots and squeals away to kill everyone else on your...
Published on Sept. 24 2002 by J. Reynolds


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beyond Alien, Oct. 13 2012
By 
Sid Matheson (Vancouver Lower Mainland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alien Resurrection (DVD)
Oddly, this is my favourite movie of a franchise which was started off by photographs of HR Giger's macabre paintings in Omni Magazine.

The first three movies are each pretty much the same. It all began with a company prospecter-ship being alerted to a distress signal on some extra-terrestrial asteroid, I think it was. The story was penned by Dan O'brien, whose greatest gift to us was the tongue-in-cheek Return Of The Living Dead after his split with George Romero. The Alien was the 'space jockey' but the focus was on a creature whose reproductive system depended on foreign hosts. John Hurt was this larger-than-life virus' first victim then, in Alien 2, it was a colony of miners, then, in Alien 3 (read cubed), it was an entire penal colony on some prison planet.. and we thought we'd finally seen the end of it along with Sigourney Weaver!

.. And, film-maker Ridley Scott complained they had taken the story in the wrong direction (he liked the first two)...

Then.. something creative happened and Joss Whedon (Buffy the Vampire Slayer) penned the story. Entering a new idea and bringing back Ms. Weaver from the dead -- something I'd think Dan O'brien would have been proud of. Then, along with a slightly international cast, bringing in young hottie, Winona Ryder! With some intriguing plot twists.

1997, and cloning, evil scientists along with the evil corporate empire.. one has to wonder how a United World States would exist. Why would a one-world government need black ops?

Still they manage to create a new 'super-woman' Ripley (Sigourney's character) who is actually part virus (or Alien, if you disagree with me -- the 'space jockey' having seemingly long been forgotten).

And, then (as if you haven't had enough 'Thens') it gets weirder, as the black ops research vessel automatically begins its journey back to earth with fresh, human-hungry virus!

This wasn't an 'Oh! I get it!' on first viewing movie for me. In fact, it took many viewings to really appreciate it. Perfect reason for buying the video in my book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I was a bit nervous but not disapointed I bought this., March 30 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
After alien 3 i was a bit nervous this one wasn't that good but the price was right and the movie was great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars alien conclusion, Jan. 7 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alien Resurrection (DVD)
a fairly interesting and logical conclusion to the series. loose ends are tied up, without forbidding further development of ripley's character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good movie, Jan. 2 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Alien Resurrection (DVD)
Good movie is you like alien movies where the alien is a disgusting and violent being that humans think they can tame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars waste of my time, Jan. 12 2012
This review is from: Alien Resurrection (DVD)
First two Alien movies were great. The third was pushing it. And a Fourth?? Almost as if they knew that it wasn't gonna work, so they delibrately brought in Wynona Ryder to add more selling power next to an aging Sigourney Weaver. Still, ain't gonna cut it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This final installment is on shaky ground., July 8 2004
This review is from: Alien Resurrection (2-Disc Collector's Edition) [Import] (DVD)
1997's fourth installment in the "Aliens" movie franchise is my least favorite of the bunch for many reasons even though it also has it's own merits. In all honesty, while there's plenty of things to enjoy, this movie is missing something that made the first two movies so incredible and even the third one which has it's own flaws of it's own.
This movie takes place 200 years after the events of "Alien 3". Ellen Ripley's DNA has been successfully recovered and a mix of Ripley and the alien's DNA have been successfully cloned and now Ripley's 'descendant', actually a clone of her has been brought to life to wage her final battle against the predatory aliens that are now approaching the planet Earth. The 'new' Ripley has Alien DNA within her that makes her capable of 'caring' for the alien creatures. A band of vicious smugglers however comes on board to steal the Alien DNA only to discover that the new breed of aliens is more dangerous than any other ever before and now the aliens are hunting both 'Ripley' and the smugglers and now they must destroy the alien and prevent them from getting to Earth and also try to make it home alive.
This movie cuts both ways for me. While certainly not a bad movie overall, "Alien Resurrection" suffers the most from serious flaws more than any of the previous "Alien" movies. While the movie is enjoyable for its special effects and awesome action sequences, I for one agree with many that this was almost not even necessary to be made like this especially since the 1992 third entry was where it should've ended. A lot scenes are pretty gross to look at especially the ones where 'Ripley' tries to 'calm' down the alien creatures or even tries to act like some 'mother' figure to them. I for one feel that this movie is more of like some 'alternate timeline' movie spin-off of some sort that almost feels completely detached from the previous three and that it's almost like thrown together leftovers from them as well.
The cast is hit and miss for me. Sigourney Weaver as the 'new' Ellen Ripley is fantastic as usual and is the only one in my opinion who really carries this movie all the way through. Her character is still very good although a step or two down from the previous movies. The rest of the cast however really don't fare anywhere near as good. Winona Ryder really drops the ball on this one and the character she plays is boring and without character or personality even though she isn't as she is thought to be. The male cast comes off being excessively dry and unconvincing and one in particular is almost enough to tick you off at his attitude towards Ryder's character in this movie. The directing by Jean-Pierre Jeunet is really good and this combined with Siguorney Weaver's acting as usual really do a lot to make this flawed movie a good movie worth watching.
The movie has its merits though. The special effects are top-rate and the movie has a really suspenseful tone but it starts getting to the point that the formula has been a bit tried since it has already been done three times already. The newest species of alien is really scary and but the face and head look almost like a human skull or even a deformed Freddy Krueger. The movie is saved by a really awesome but gruesome ending which I'm not going to mention out of fear of spoiling it. The ending alone saves this movie along with the special effects. While many movie series seam to suffer from a pattern called the "Fourth Installment Syndrome/Curse" or whatever you call it with examples like "Batman and Robin" or "Jaws: The Revenge", "Alien Resurrection" avoids a lot of this with great special effects and awesome sequences. For a 'Part 4' movie, this really fares so well for a fourth installment and maintains some freshness even if the cracks in the franchise start showing through.
The "Director's Cut" edition of "Alien Resurrection" does little to improve this movie and is only like ten minutes longer than the original and of the revamped versions of all of the "Alien" movies, "Alien Resurrection" benefits the least out of them all and the result is disappointing. The movie also has a new intro to it. The second disc like the other films on their newest re-issues has lots of great extras with 'making of', commentaries, and lots of cool Easter eggs. There are plenty of extras in this movie that are worth looking at though and the DVD is really excellent. The picture quality was good to begin with but this "Collector's Edition" really improves the picture quality and the sound quality is amazing to the point that if you have surround audio speakers or can connect your TV to the stereo speakers, then it will feel almost like you're back at the big screen again! The final result for me is that this gets a rating that rounds off to 3 solid stars but at the same time, this movie while good on its own, just never can find it's own place against the shadows of it's predecessors and is ultimately a movie that is more for the die-hard Alien audiences.
Looking back on it now, I have to say that despite the weaknesses especially on the last two parts in the series, "Aliens" stands as one of the best sci-fi/horror/action movie franchises of all time and that Sigourney Weaver may be the most remembered by her roles in all of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I Have A Question, Sept. 24 2002
By 
J. Reynolds (Houston, TX United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Alien Resurrection (DVD)
Okay, one of these face-grabber things attaches itself to you, knocks you out, shoves a tube down your throat and drops an embryo. Soon, the face-grabber falls off and you revive. You walk around just fine for a few days, then the embryo (somewhat larger) bursts out of your stomach, which kills you, and the embryo scoots and squeals away to kill everyone else on your spaceship or planet or whatever.
My question, Officer Ripley, is: If you only serve as a temporary host for an embryo, which originates, grows and bursts out as a completely separate organism, then what makes anyone think that cloning YOU will ALSO produce one of the parasite organisms?
I once asked Congresswoman Sheila Jackson Lee if she ever felt guilty about receiving automatic salary increases (unless congress acts to avoid them), and she just looked at me with a blank stare. I would expect that same sort of reaction from the screenwriter who came up with THIS premise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars better than Alien3, Oct. 6 2007
This review is from: Alien Resurrection (DVD)
Alien Resurrection,while not as good as Alien and Aliens,is better than
Alien 3.true,it is fairly light in tone,and not a lot of
suspense.however it has a very eclectic group of characters.Ripley is
back.there is some humour in this series,much more than the other Alien
films.there is lots of action,but less gore than Alien 3.there are also
some surprising revelations in this one.it is not as predictable as
Alien 3.the aliens have undergone a transformation in this movie,as
they have in each film in the series.they have a capability which was
not explored in the original 3.there was talk at one time of a fourth
sequel,but let's hope they leave the series as is--on a high note. 4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Go for the odd-numbered ones, but don't throw out the evens, July 20 2004
By 
M. Kieswetter - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Alien Resurrection (2-Disc Collector's Edition) [Import] (DVD)
I'm inspired to write a review because the debate about the quality of the third and fourth Alien installments is quite rabid. My recommendation, first of all, is to watch Alien3 again. Better yet, get the new DVD and watch both versions. It seems that some people can't understand how an Alien movie could be so gloomy and pessimistic... which is really a bizarre opinion. IT IS AN ALIEN MOVIE, NOT 'EVERYBODY LOVES RAYMOND.'
With that said, unlike many other folks who hold Fincher's film in high esteem, I don't hate Jean-Pierre Jeunet's Alien Resurrection. The visuals are spectacular. The environments are very well done, very spooky. In my opinion, this is where Aliens, under action guru Jim Cameron, lacked. Though HR Giger was not involved with this project, Jeunet has an appreciation of his art, as demonstrated in the "viper pit" scene.
The performances are well executed, even Winona Ryder, whom I love to hate. Resurrection, though last on my list as far as the Alien movies, is not a bad film. It's certainly a step up from most of the movies out there today.
Now to the bad: I suspect that Gillis and Woodruff try too hard to make the Alien their own. Giger did not approve of the new look. The excess slime and the brown colour looks like "s#$*" (his words). It's basically on of Spielberg's Raptors, but with a phallic head.
Jeunet's odd sense of humour is out of place in an Alien movie, in my opinion. Then again, I say this as someone who loved the doom and gloom of Alien3.
While the idea of greedy corporates cloning Ripley for their own purposes does make for an interesting story, I suspect that it reflects how the greedy suits at Fox want to cash in on this series as much as possible! Though, thankfully, with somewhat artistically respectable results.
Best to worst in my view: Alien, Alien3, Aliens, Alien Resurrection. But the bottom of the barrel here is still better than most of what's playing right now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A Joke!, July 11 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Alien Resurrection (2-Disc Collector's Edition) [Import] (DVD)
This almost doesn't even qualify as an Alien movie and feels more like some spin-off of the franchise and really ruins the power of the 1992 third Alien movie. Why would anyone want to clone Ripley and an alien anyway? The acting, even by Weaver is weak and this movie's plot is laughable! What a sad ending to a great movie series. It should've ended with Alien 3!!!!! End of story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Alien Resurrection (2-Disc Collector's Edition) [Import]
CDN$ 73.65
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews