Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars futurama vol. 3
futurama is one of the greatest shows ever and this is a really good season. they have some of the best episodes but also some of the worst. this review is over the eps not the dvd.
amazon women in the mood - 5/5
parasites lost - 5/5
tale of two santas - 5/5
luck of the fryish - 5/5
bird bot - 4/5
bendless love - 3/5
day the earth...
Published on Nov. 29 2003

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but one problem
First let me say something straight off. I consider Futurama to be one of the funniest and finest cartoons ever made, and a travesty that it was canceled. However the problem with this that made me give it three stars is that there are problems with the animations. Sometimes people's arms while skip around without pausing, so its not the DVDs. This seems to have never...
Published on June 9 2004


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars futurama vol. 3, Nov. 29 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Futurama: Volume 3 (DVD)
futurama is one of the greatest shows ever and this is a really good season. they have some of the best episodes but also some of the worst. this review is over the eps not the dvd.
amazon women in the mood - 5/5
parasites lost - 5/5
tale of two santas - 5/5
luck of the fryish - 5/5
bird bot - 4/5
bendless love - 3/5
day the earth stood stupid - 5/5
thats lobstertainment - 1/5
cyberhouse rules - 3/5
where the buggalo roam - 4/5
insane in the mainframe - 5/5
route of all evil - 5/5
bendin in the wind - 3/5
time keeps on slippin - 4/5
i dated a robot - 3/5
leela of her own - 2/5
pharoah to remember - 2/5
anthology of interest 2 - 5/5
roswell that ends well - 5/5
godfellas - 5/5
futurestock - 5/5
30% iron chef - 5/5
all - 5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Long-Awaited volume 3 is out... and boy is it worth it, March 18 2004
By 
Christopher P. Cecena "ssjanifan" (Pine Valley, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Futurama: Volume 3 (DVD)
The 3rd season of the underated series is out, and it's yet another classic. Although there is a few weak episodes, (That's Lobstertainment, I Dated a Robot, Bendin' in the Wind), most of them are classic. Excellent episodes include A Tale of Two Santas, which was cut from the series at first, the emmy-award winning Roswell that Ends Well, a second "Anthology of Interest," episode that's possibly funnier than the first(especially for a video game freak, like myself), the secret of Nibbler revealed in The Day the Earth Stood Stupid, the touching Luck of the Fryish, and my favorite of the collection, Time Keeps on Slipping. The ending to that one is so sad! Poor Fry just wanted Leela to notice his message.... believe me, when you watch that one, make sure you have some extra tissues(or save them for the next set's episode, Jurassic Bark). I couldn't help but feel horrible for the poor guy. Anyway, this is the best set yet. Hopefully the quality will continue when vol. 4 comes out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "The Best Season of the Show", Feb. 2 2008
By 
Tommy Skylar (The Great White North) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Futurama: Volume 3 (DVD)
Futurama's third season is often considered to be the best season of the show and i agree as it is my favourite season as well.It is also the most uneven season as it sometimes is a great episode following a good episode and then an ok episode,sometimes it has a streak of great episode and its just never even,that kind of thing(Season 2 was an even season with all the episodes being great).But overral this one has proven to have the best episodes of the series and some the strangiest and most hillarious ones as well.In this season the Planet Express crew encouter amazon womens,Santa's return,they go back in time and many more exciting adventures.This season probably has the most Bender episodes as Bender becomes a penguin,a god,a chef,a pharaoh,a bank robber,a folk singer and more.The third season also has the record of most episodes during a season with 22.What i'm saying is that you can't possibly go wrong with this one.

The epsiodes in this season much like in each season are great and this season managed to score many fan-favourite episodes."Amazon Women In The Mood" is one of the funniest as the Planet Express crew find themsleves on a planet full of amazons,amazons are giant womens and they torture mens with what they call snoo-snoo(imagine the "we want snoo-snoo!" and all that with their big voices),wich is sex,death by snoo-snoo is funny.One of my favourites is "Luck Of The Fryish" when we discover what happened in the past after Fry went to the future.It turns out his brother stole his identity and something else that bringed luck to Fry(won'tell you what it is!).Another favourite is "Bendin' In The Wind" in wich Bender broke his body and is now useless,until Beck recruits him to play in his band and they go on tour,that was a memorable episode."Anothology Of Interrest II" is the follow to an episode in season 2.Proffesor Farnsworth's invention the "what if..." machine predicts what Bender would be like as a human,Fry discovers what would happen if life was more like a game and Leela is involved in the story of "The Wizard Of Oz"."Roswell That Ends Well" has the crew going to the past in 1947 in order to prevent something terrible from happening and it turns out to be hilarious."30% Iron Chef" sees Bender trying to be a chef and after falling flat he takes lessons with a master chef and challenges Elzar on his show.In "GodFellas" Bender is lost somewhere in the universe and life grows on Bender,the habitants proclaim Bender is their God!This season features plenty of Bender episodes so his fans will be quite satisfied with this season!Now i won't go trought each episode but i just talked about a couple episodes that i felt were either great or important.

Here is the list of episodes of Futurama's third season:

1-Amazon Women In The Mood
2-Parasites Lost
3-A Tale Of Two Santas
4-The Luck Of The Fryish
5-Bird Bot Of Ice-Catraz
6-Bendless Love
7-The Day the Earth Stood Stupid
8-Thats Lobstertainment
9-The Cyberhouse Rules
10-Where The Buggalo Roam
11-Insane In The Mainframe
12-The Route Of All Evil
13-Bendin'In The Wind
14-Time Keeps On Slipping
15-I Dated A Robot
16-A Leela Of Her Own
17-A Pharaoh To Remember
18-Anthology Of Interest II
19-Roswell That Ends Well
20-Godfellas
21-Future Stock
22-30% Iron Chef

As for the extras on the set there isn't a lot but you have commentaries on each episodes,animatics,storyboards,how to draw characters tips and deleted scenes from many episodes and you also get commentaries from Fry and Bender on the episode "A Pharaoh To Remember" wich is nice to have.There isn't much more than there is on the other sets.The episodes themselves are enough i beleve but is always nice to have some extras.I would have liked something more but i've seen worse before.If you are a fan of these kinds of television shows like The Simpsons and animated comedyin general,then you should grab this as it is some of the best animated comedy shows made.It would be a smart move to add this to your collection.If you liked any other seasons of the show you should like this one as much and i predict you will like this one even more!Highly recommende as these are some of the greatest moments of this remarkable series.To me this is a must have and five stars well-erned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Tough Review, June 29 2004
By 
Beamer (Duke University) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Futurama: Volume 3 (DVD)
I loved Futurama. It's cancellation was likely one of the few I actually cared about.
This review is a tough one, though. On one hand Futurama hit some peaks in this season. Some of the episodes match anything The Simpsons could through at them, notably the award winning Roswell That Ends Well. Other stellar episodes include Fry becoming intelligent via parasites, a sentimental Fry learning how his brother dealt with his diesappearance, and the superior intellect of the Harlem Globetrotters.
There are some downers, though. Another Zoidberg episode showcases why he's hysterical for one liners yet not outstanding to wrap an episode around. The same with Bender - though I tend to find him the funniest character, and some of the Bender episodes are classics, here we have some that show why Bender is often funniest as an addition to a scene rather than the scene as a whole.
Overall you'll laugh very hard at this series, as long as you're a fan of the brand of humor found in shows such as The Simpsons, Malcom in the Middle and News Radio. Contrary to many opinions you needn't be a Sci-Fi fan (I loathe the stuff myself), you simply need a working knowledge of pop culture. This season falls flat at times, and lacks the overall consistency of the prior seasons (yet is more consistent than Season 4), but has peaks higher than all the prior seasons.
Worth owning and watching repeatedly. Remember to watch those commentaries, too, they tend to be a bit crazy and very rewarding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Extreme Ups and Downs-Yet a Definite Must-Buy, June 10 2004
This review is from: Futurama: Volume 3 (DVD)
Any kind of Futurama is going to be funny and creative, but every season has its own strengths and weaknesses. For example, the first two seasons (especially the second) are the most consistent in quality, while the last two fluctuate between simply average and all-time greats. The last two seasons also introduce some emotional subplots that the were missing in the earlier episodes, which developes the characters very well. As I said earlier, Volume Three has some extreme ups and downs. There are the absolute stinkers, such as Lobstertainment, Route of all Evil, and Future Stock, and also some very average ones. Canceling this out, however, and making the season awesome, are some of the best episodes the series have ever seen. "Parasites Lost" (near perfect) and "Rosewell that Ends Well" (an emmy winner) are easily in the Top 5 Futurama episodes ever. Other greats include the emotional fan-favorite "Luck of the Fryrish," Emmy-nominated "Amazon Women in the Mood," and the very funny "Birdbot of Icecatraz," "Tale of Two Santas," "Anthology of Interest Two," "Time Keeps on Slipping," and "30% Iron Chef." Although the bad episodes are annoying, the great ones are truly great, and make Volume Three a fantastic buy. Discs One and Four in the collection contain most of these episodes, so you can organize it that way. This collection is definitely recommended, but get ready for the ups and downs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Collection, April 12 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Futurama: Volume 3 (DVD)
I bought this collection the first day it was out on the shelves. Futurama has been one of those rare gems to come along. It is funny, intelligent, and most of the characters are quite endearing and unique. Some of the best examples of this happen in the third season in episodes like 'Amazon Women in the Mood', 'Parasites Lost', 'The Day the Earth Stood Stupid', 'Insane in the Mainframe', 'Time Keeps on Slipping', 'Godfellas', and 'Roswell That Ends Well'. These were my favorite episodes because there were bust out funny jokes throughout as well as truly thought provoking moments. In fact, there isn't a bad episode in the bunch.
This wasn't just another run of the mill, animated, sitcom comedy. I use to love the Simpsons and I still am a big fan of Family Guy (and I certainly do hope they bring it back), but neither of those two seem capable of having the same depth as Futurama has shown.
While some may have some initial hangups about using voice talent like Katey Sagal, if you are willing to give this show a chance, you easily get past such trivialities and no longer even think of what characters they once or presently do portray. In fact I couldn't see anyone else doing a better job than the cast they selected to do the voices.
Next season, while arguably not quite as good as this one, is also one to keep an eye out for. Episodes like the season finale, 'The Why of Fry', 'The Farnsworth Paradox', 'Leela's Homeworld, and, my personal favorite, 'The Sting' will make it well worth the price. I also look forward to seeing what extra material is included in this next set. This was truly Matt Groening's best work and while it may be an extreme long shot at best, I hope to see this series return.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is better than snoo-snoo!!!, March 16 2004
This review is from: Futurama: Volume 3 (DVD)
There are many reviews that concentrate on the show, so I'll concentrate on DVD quality. :-) (Incidentially, look for my Futurama volume 1 review in regards to my title line and how it got past FOX broadcast censors, hehe... of course, to know the actual origin of "snoo-snoo", you'll have to watch a certain episode in this volume!)
While Volume 3 contains mostly season 3 episodes, it's been said that season 3 is the lowest rated. While season 3 does have a few turkeys in the midst, the remaining episodes easily make up for the loss. As a result, no demerits.
Volume 4 will be released this fall. These volumes were actually produced seasons. FOX aired these episodes in a different order and, indeed, the "fifth" season is nothing more than 16 episodes originally slated for seasons 3 and 4 (now add up how many episodes were aired officially for seasons 3 and 4... wow, they did cut back quite a few! I wonder if NFL has anything to do with that...) And if Volume 4 can be judged based on the quality of the previous volumes, I'd pre-order it right now!
FOX knows the value of its customers, or at least the value of DVD. The video/image quality of these episodes is as perfect as they can get. It's virtually identical, if not better, than that of broadcast quality. Colors are vibrant, pictures are crisp... yum!
The only minor down side is the lack of Dolby 5.1 treatment for the sound. However, in Dolby 2.0, it still rocks. No demerits.
The menu system I keep harping about is rectified in Volume 3. There's a better layout, a more consistent layout, and most deliciously there's finally a "PLAY ALL" feature.
If you're a fan of Futurama, this set is a MUST BUY. Heck, it's so good, I recommend you get it for full MSRP! But I have yet to argue with amazon.com's prices...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I am the GREETEST, Now I must Leave for no RAISIN, March 14 2004
By 
{HB}SharkMan (the ocean of Oblivion) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Futurama: Volume 3 (DVD)
I bought this the day it came out cause i'm a futurama nut, I also watche it that night, all the eppisodes. I thought this is one of the more in-depth futurama sets, I didn't like how different it was at first but it grew on me after i watched it every night since i got it. The part in the brain episode where the brain says my title makes me laugh for freaking ever :D I litterally laugh for about 15 minutes. It must be the way the brain says it cause i laugh everytime he says it. The commentaries on Futurama are the best commentaries i have ever heard in my entire life, they make me laugh more than i do in the episode sometimes. "Roswell that Ends Well" the Emmy Award winning eppisode is amazoning, and i love how it has 2 commentaries just for that eppisode. The secret video for the x-mas episode is also great; it gives a good message out to all the kiddies out there "D. The episode "Godfellas" brought a tear to my eye at the end of the episode, it was a very well done episode and very beautiful. The 3d effect in this show are bar none to any other animated show out there, i was really surprised that they took the time to make 3d things in each episode; it was a great move that made the episodes more realistic looking. Now i must leave and watch it some more before I go on vacation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great DVD for a great series, March 11 2004
This review is from: Futurama: Volume 3 (DVD)
INTRODUCTION:
Well, it took them long enough, but FOX has finally released the third volume of Futurama on DVD. I could go on wasting this review complaining about how long it takes FOX to release DVDs, but I'm going to stick to the product. Read on for my review of this set.
EPISODE INFORMATION:
This DVD set consists of the following episodes:
-Amazon Women in the Mood *
-Bendless Love *
-The Day the Earth Stood Stupid
-That's Lobstertainment!
-Birdbot of Ice-Catraz
-Luck of the Fryrish *
-The Cyber House Rules
-Insane in the Mainframe
-Bendin' in the Wind
-Time Keeps on Slipping
-I Dated a Robot
-Roswell That Ends Well *
-A Tale of Two Santas
-Anthology of Interest 2
-Love and Rocket
-Leela's Homeworld
-Where the Buggalo Roam
-A Pharaoh to Remember
-Godfellas
-Futurestock
-A Leela of Her Own
-30% Iron Chef
The episodes with asterisks next to them are the ones I feel are the best in the set. ALL of these episodes are excellent, but these ones really stand out.
DVD:
Once again, the DVD is done pretty well. I was hoping they would do away with the outer slipcases like they did on the first two volumes, but they did. Oh well, no complaints. Once again, we get deleted scenes, commentary, and a variety of other extras, which only add to the package's appeal.
OVERALL:
This set is strongly recommended if you're a fan of this series. And if you're NOT a fan of the series, seeing a few of the episodes on this DVD just might change your mind. This was a severely underrated series, and it's a shame it got cancelled (and I can't believe the junk that FOX is still airing!) Buy this set, you WON'T be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ...and Now for Eons of Futurama, March 10 2004
By 
This review is from: Futurama: Volume 3 (DVD)
Regardless of whether the Fox network knows it or not - and they probably don't given their scheduling practices - Futurama is one of the most well written, constructed, and designed shows ever to appear on television, rivaled only by its progenitor the Simpsons. As for Futurama's third season, whenever Fox decided to actually air the show in a stable and non-preempted time slot, the show's creators delivered a tremendous set of episodes during the season, as shown in yet another fantastically constructed box set. As usual, there are a few items of interest, at least for obsessive collectors, in the DVD extras. But the actual Futurama episodes carry the day and speak for themselves.
There is not a single sub-par episode in the third season. The main characters were becoming deeper and more defined, as character development remained one of the writing team's most important strategies. (This has always been true for the Simpsons as well, except for the past few seasons.) The character with the most growth this season is Fry, as can be seen in surprisingly emotional episodes like "Parasites Lost," "The Luck of the Fryrish," and the ending scene of the otherwise uproarious "Time Keeps on Slipping." Meanwhile, this season gives us more on Leela's mysterious background, and Bender just gets more and more hysterical with each episode. We also learn that he's really a Mexican by the name of Bender B. Rodriguez.
Futurama continues to present, by far, modern TV's best use of the standard fiction method of lampooning real-life issues through an imaginative society. And the writing continues to be flawless, with complex and detailed hilarity throughout all the episodes, especially all-time winners like "Amazon Women in the Mood," "Insane in the Mainframe," and the aforementioned "Time Keeps on Slipping" (in which Bubblegum Tate of the Globetrotters delivers the most hysterical one-liner in all of human history: "that sucker's shakin' around like some fine imported booty!"). And don't miss the deservedly Emmy-winning masterpiece "Roswell That Ends Well," an absolutely brilliant example of complex comedy craftsmanship. Futurama is a show that is eye-catching and thought-provoking enough to truly make DVD's a beautiful technology. [~doomsdayer520~]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Futurama: Volume 3
Futurama: Volume 3 by Billy West (DVD - 2004)
CDN$ 67.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews