Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Extreme Ups and Downs-Yet a Definite Must-Buy
Any kind of Futurama is going to be funny and creative, but every season has its own strengths and weaknesses. For example, the first two seasons (especially the second) are the most consistent in quality, while the last two fluctuate between simply average and all-time greats. The last two seasons also introduce some emotional subplots that the were missing in the...
Published on June 10 2004 by Big Erik

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but one problem
First let me say something straight off. I consider Futurama to be one of the funniest and finest cartoons ever made, and a travesty that it was canceled. However the problem with this that made me give it three stars is that there are problems with the animations. Sometimes people's arms while skip around without pausing, so its not the DVDs. This seems to have never...
Published on June 9 2004


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars A Tough Review, June 29 2004
By 
Beamer (Duke University) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Futurama: Volume 3 (DVD)
I loved Futurama. It's cancellation was likely one of the few I actually cared about.
This review is a tough one, though. On one hand Futurama hit some peaks in this season. Some of the episodes match anything The Simpsons could through at them, notably the award winning Roswell That Ends Well. Other stellar episodes include Fry becoming intelligent via parasites, a sentimental Fry learning how his brother dealt with his diesappearance, and the superior intellect of the Harlem Globetrotters.
There are some downers, though. Another Zoidberg episode showcases why he's hysterical for one liners yet not outstanding to wrap an episode around. The same with Bender - though I tend to find him the funniest character, and some of the Bender episodes are classics, here we have some that show why Bender is often funniest as an addition to a scene rather than the scene as a whole.
Overall you'll laugh very hard at this series, as long as you're a fan of the brand of humor found in shows such as The Simpsons, Malcom in the Middle and News Radio. Contrary to many opinions you needn't be a Sci-Fi fan (I loathe the stuff myself), you simply need a working knowledge of pop culture. This season falls flat at times, and lacks the overall consistency of the prior seasons (yet is more consistent than Season 4), but has peaks higher than all the prior seasons.
Worth owning and watching repeatedly. Remember to watch those commentaries, too, they tend to be a bit crazy and very rewarding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Extreme Ups and Downs-Yet a Definite Must-Buy, June 10 2004
Ce commentaire est de: Futurama: Volume 3 (DVD)
Any kind of Futurama is going to be funny and creative, but every season has its own strengths and weaknesses. For example, the first two seasons (especially the second) are the most consistent in quality, while the last two fluctuate between simply average and all-time greats. The last two seasons also introduce some emotional subplots that the were missing in the earlier episodes, which developes the characters very well. As I said earlier, Volume Three has some extreme ups and downs. There are the absolute stinkers, such as Lobstertainment, Route of all Evil, and Future Stock, and also some very average ones. Canceling this out, however, and making the season awesome, are some of the best episodes the series have ever seen. "Parasites Lost" (near perfect) and "Rosewell that Ends Well" (an emmy winner) are easily in the Top 5 Futurama episodes ever. Other greats include the emotional fan-favorite "Luck of the Fryrish," Emmy-nominated "Amazon Women in the Mood," and the very funny "Birdbot of Icecatraz," "Tale of Two Santas," "Anthology of Interest Two," "Time Keeps on Slipping," and "30% Iron Chef." Although the bad episodes are annoying, the great ones are truly great, and make Volume Three a fantastic buy. Discs One and Four in the collection contain most of these episodes, so you can organize it that way. This collection is definitely recommended, but get ready for the ups and downs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Undeserving Of Cancellation, May 13 2004
By 
Keith Doyle (Panama City, FL United States) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Futurama: Volume 3 (DVD)
Futurama is one of the best animated comedies in history, in my opinion. Both smart and stupid people can laugh at it's content. The potent humor mercilessly pounds anyone into hysterical submission until they're overcome with comical joy. At least, that's what it did for me.
A few folks might not be able to appreciate the science fiction-gone-crazy theme, but it doesn't matter to the rest of us because we're too busy enjoying the show.
Volume three continues the series' impeccable quality. Same attention to detail, same incomparable sci-fi comedy. There are new audio quips given by select Futurama characters at the beginning of each chapter menu. They are a nice, amusing touch.
My favorite episode: Anthology of Interest II. I wonder how many viewers understood the "all your base are belong to us" gag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars futurama vol. 3, Nov. 29 2003
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Futurama: Volume 3 (DVD)
futurama is one of the greatest shows ever and this is a really good season. they have some of the best episodes but also some of the worst. this review is over the eps not the dvd.
amazon women in the mood - 5/5
parasites lost - 5/5
tale of two santas - 5/5
luck of the fryish - 5/5
bird bot - 4/5
bendless love - 3/5
day the earth stood stupid - 5/5
thats lobstertainment - 1/5
cyberhouse rules - 3/5
where the buggalo roam - 4/5
insane in the mainframe - 5/5
route of all evil - 5/5
bendin in the wind - 3/5
time keeps on slippin - 4/5
i dated a robot - 3/5
leela of her own - 2/5
pharoah to remember - 2/5
anthology of interest 2 - 5/5
roswell that ends well - 5/5
godfellas - 5/5
futurestock - 5/5
30% iron chef - 5/5
all - 5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Long-Awaited volume 3 is out... and boy is it worth it, March 18 2004
By 
Christopher P. Cecena "ssjanifan" (Pine Valley, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Futurama: Volume 3 (DVD)
The 3rd season of the underated series is out, and it's yet another classic. Although there is a few weak episodes, (That's Lobstertainment, I Dated a Robot, Bendin' in the Wind), most of them are classic. Excellent episodes include A Tale of Two Santas, which was cut from the series at first, the emmy-award winning Roswell that Ends Well, a second "Anthology of Interest," episode that's possibly funnier than the first(especially for a video game freak, like myself), the secret of Nibbler revealed in The Day the Earth Stood Stupid, the touching Luck of the Fryish, and my favorite of the collection, Time Keeps on Slipping. The ending to that one is so sad! Poor Fry just wanted Leela to notice his message.... believe me, when you watch that one, make sure you have some extra tissues(or save them for the next set's episode, Jurassic Bark). I couldn't help but feel horrible for the poor guy. Anyway, this is the best set yet. Hopefully the quality will continue when vol. 4 comes out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "The Best Season of the Show", Feb. 2 2008
By 
Tommy Sixx Morais (The Great White North) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Ce commentaire est de: Futurama: Volume 3 (DVD)
Futurama's third season is often considered to be the best season of the show and i agree as it is my favourite season as well.It is also the most uneven season as it sometimes is a great episode following a good episode and then an ok episode,sometimes it has a streak of great episode and its just never even,that kind of thing(Season 2 was an even season with all the episodes being great).But overral this one has proven to have the best episodes of the series and some the strangiest and most hillarious ones as well.In this season the Planet Express crew encouter amazon womens,Santa's return,they go back in time and many more exciting adventures.This season probably has the most Bender episodes as Bender becomes a penguin,a god,a chef,a pharaoh,a bank robber,a folk singer and more.The third season also has the record of most episodes during a season with 22.What i'm saying is that you can't possibly go wrong with this one.

The epsiodes in this season much like in each season are great and this season managed to score many fan-favourite episodes."Amazon Women In The Mood" is one of the funniest as the Planet Express crew find themsleves on a planet full of amazons,amazons are giant womens and they torture mens with what they call snoo-snoo(imagine the "we want snoo-snoo!" and all that with their big voices),wich is sex,death by snoo-snoo is funny.One of my favourites is "Luck Of The Fryish" when we discover what happened in the past after Fry went to the future.It turns out his brother stole his identity and something else that bringed luck to Fry(won'tell you what it is!).Another favourite is "Bendin' In The Wind" in wich Bender broke his body and is now useless,until Beck recruits him to play in his band and they go on tour,that was a memorable episode."Anothology Of Interrest II" is the follow to an episode in season 2.Proffesor Farnsworth's invention the "what if..." machine predicts what Bender would be like as a human,Fry discovers what would happen if life was more like a game and Leela is involved in the story of "The Wizard Of Oz"."Roswell That Ends Well" has the crew going to the past in 1947 in order to prevent something terrible from happening and it turns out to be hilarious."30% Iron Chef" sees Bender trying to be a chef and after falling flat he takes lessons with a master chef and challenges Elzar on his show.In "GodFellas" Bender is lost somewhere in the universe and life grows on Bender,the habitants proclaim Bender is their God!This season features plenty of Bender episodes so his fans will be quite satisfied with this season!Now i won't go trought each episode but i just talked about a couple episodes that i felt were either great or important.

Here is the list of episodes of Futurama's third season:

1-Amazon Women In The Mood
2-Parasites Lost
3-A Tale Of Two Santas
4-The Luck Of The Fryish
5-Bird Bot Of Ice-Catraz
6-Bendless Love
7-The Day the Earth Stood Stupid
8-Thats Lobstertainment
9-The Cyberhouse Rules
10-Where The Buggalo Roam
11-Insane In The Mainframe
12-The Route Of All Evil
13-Bendin'In The Wind
14-Time Keeps On Slipping
15-I Dated A Robot
16-A Leela Of Her Own
17-A Pharaoh To Remember
18-Anthology Of Interest II
19-Roswell That Ends Well
20-Godfellas
21-Future Stock
22-30% Iron Chef

As for the extras on the set there isn't a lot but you have commentaries on each episodes,animatics,storyboards,how to draw characters tips and deleted scenes from many episodes and you also get commentaries from Fry and Bender on the episode "A Pharaoh To Remember" wich is nice to have.There isn't much more than there is on the other sets.The episodes themselves are enough i beleve but is always nice to have some extras.I would have liked something more but i've seen worse before.If you are a fan of these kinds of television shows like The Simpsons and animated comedyin general,then you should grab this as it is some of the best animated comedy shows made.It would be a smart move to add this to your collection.If you liked any other seasons of the show you should like this one as much and i predict you will like this one even more!Highly recommende as these are some of the greatest moments of this remarkable series.To me this is a must have and five stars well-erned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the best season, June 16 2004
By 
Jojo (Athens, GA) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Futurama: Volume 3 (DVD)
with "time keeps on slipping", "luck of the fryrish" and the episode where fry gets worms in this one, its the best one so far. has my three all time favorite episodes. a must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good but one problem, June 9 2004
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Futurama: Volume 3 (DVD)
First let me say something straight off. I consider Futurama to be one of the funniest and finest cartoons ever made, and a travesty that it was canceled. However the problem with this that made me give it three stars is that there are problems with the animations. Sometimes people's arms while skip around without pausing, so its not the DVDs. This seems to have never happened in the other seasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BRING BACK FUTURAMA, May 24 2004
By 
J. Hardwick "hungryhungryhobo" (seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Futurama: Volume 3 (DVD)
I guess fox executives thought that this show was too cutting-edge, or slightly too futuristic, so they canceled it! I say buy the DVD, show the world that this was a great series by helping matt groening buy another 200 foot yacht. Buy all the seasons and then write Fox a letter about how the Simpsons needed 4 seasons to really get off the ground, so give futurama another chance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Final Season, May 19 2004
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Futurama: Volume 3 (DVD)
No one makes a DVD more loaded with extras than the creators of Futurama. Each episode contained a commentary. And if you are waiting for the final season, go to amazon.uk.co to buy the European release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaac74360)

This product

Futurama: Volume 3
Futurama: Volume 3 by Billy West (DVD - 2004)
CDN$ 69.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews