Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Grammy's
Beyonce Featuring Jay-Z:Crazy in love. I don't like Beyonce, but this was a pretty good. 5/10
The Black Eyed Peas & Justin Timberlake:Where is the love?
Second best song. That's it. 9/10
Coldplay:Clocks. This is an ok, but it might get boring after a while. 7/10
Eminem:Lose Yourself. This is the best mother
f[family website]en song on the CD...
Published on April 10 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Value-packed
The Grammy nominations an wins have alsways been hit-and-miss affairs. Some years, the deserving unknown finally get the recognition from their peers. In others, nods and awards could not be fathomed.

In recent years, the Grammys were made to look hip and in major categories like Record of The Year and Album of The Year, you'll find a mish-mash of nominees...
Published on Jan. 22 2004 by Dogville


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Good Overview of 2003's Biggest Songs, May 16 2004
By 
This review is from: Grammy Nominees 2004 (Audio CD)
1. Crazy In Love - Who could forget Beyonce's first hit by herself. Actually Beyonce's first #1 by herself. Yay Beyonce!
2. Where Is The Love? - Well, not only is it Black Eyed Peas's first #1, but Justin's first #1 by himself. Yay them! THE #1 SONG OF 2003!!!
3. Clocks - Coldplay was nominated for best record. This is a good song, but I don't think this should be here. It's too old.
4. Lose Yourself - From Eminem's #1 movie 8 Mile comes Lose Yourself. This song is good, but again, it's too old. I think the Grammy's are more focused on a good songs and not hits of 2003. I don't care, but please don't make the whole CD like this.
5. Work It - From Missy's #1 album Under Construction, comes Work It. I think it's too old, but this is nominated for album, not the song.
6. Going Under - From Evanescence's Fallen, comes Going Under. I think they should of used Bring Me to Life. It was a bigger hit.
7. The Way You Move - OutKast's first #1 hit from Speakerboxxx/The Love Below. I think this was an excellent choice.
8. Cry Me A River - Ok, this is kind of a problem. Cry Me A River is a horrible song. Not a good choice, but a good album.
9. Beautiful - Another great song, but it's too old. They should have used Can't Hold Us Down. That was the 2nd biggest hit.
10. I'm With You - Avril's 2nd #1 hit. It's an awesome song!
11. Dance With My Father - Not a big hit, but who can forget Luther's incredible lyrics.
12. Keep Me In Your Heart - I've never heard this before Grammy Nominees 2004. It's ok. A little to slow and boring. I don't think this was a hit anyway.
13. In Da Club - 50 Cent's first appearance on pop radio stations. IN DA CLUB WAS THE #2 SONG OF 2003! IN DA CLUB IS AWESOME!
14. Stacy's Mom - Fountains of Wayne's first top 10 hit. This song is excellent. It's a little gross though. " Stacy's mom has got it going on. She's all I want, and I've waited so long. Stacy can't you see? You're just not the girl for me. I know it might be wrong but, I'm in love with Stacy's Mom. "
15. I Wish I Wasn't - Wasn't a big hit. It's a good RnB song though.
16. Gimme the Light - Good dance song. Sean Paul's first appearance in the top 100.
17. Any Road - Never heard this before this CD. This is the other problem. Why was this nominatted for best POP performance?
18. Ain't No Mountain High Enough - (see Any Road)
19. Send Your Love - A good dance song. Wasn't a big hit.
20. Hole in the World - A big hit on Adult Contemparary radio stations.
21. Unwell - A big hit. #1 played on Adult Contemparary radio stations in 2003. A good choice.
Overall, a good mix of 2003's biggest songs. (Amazon, I wasn't using a word count so it could be over 1,000 words. Sorry!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Grammy's, April 10 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Grammy Nominees 2004 (Audio CD)
Beyonce Featuring Jay-Z:Crazy in love. I don't like Beyonce, but this was a pretty good. 5/10
The Black Eyed Peas & Justin Timberlake:Where is the love?
Second best song. That's it. 9/10
Coldplay:Clocks. This is an ok, but it might get boring after a while. 7/10
Eminem:Lose Yourself. This is the best mother
f[family website]en song on the CD. 10/10
Missy Eliot:Work it. This song is gross. I hate it. 1/10
Evanescence:Going Under. I realy think that this song is good. 8/10
Outkast:The way You move. Bottom line, good song. 7/10
Justin Timberlake:Cry me a River. Justin was better when he was with *Nsync.
Christina Aguilera:Beautiful. I don't like it. 1/10
Avril Lavinge:I'm with you. Its a d[family website]n good song.
8/10
Luther Vandross:Dance with my father. This song is weird. 2/10
Warren Zevon:Keep me in your heart. No comment. 3/10
50 cent:in da club. Go, Go, Go Charolette its ya birthday. 8/10
Fountains of Wayne:Stacy's Mom. Funny song, good song. 8/10
Heather Hadley:I wish i wasn't. I don't like it. 1/10
Sean Paul:Gimme the light. I know i keep saying this but, it's a good song. 7/10
George Harrison:Any Road. I didn't listen to this one, but there are plenty of other good songs. ?/10
Michael Mcdonald:Ain't no mountain high enough. I'll let you decide. ?/10
Sing:Send your love. Its ok. 5/10
Eagles:Hole in the world. Its ok. 4/10
Matchbox 20:Unwell. Its an original song. 7/10
anything from 7/10 or higher is a good song.
5/10 or higher is ok.
4/10 or below is bad.
Remember, that this is my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Grammy's, April 10 2004
By 
Thomas Edelman (Wyomissing, PA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Grammy Nominees 2004 (Audio CD)
Beyonce Featuring Jay-Z:Crazy in love. I don't like Beyonce, but this was a pretty good. 5/10
The Black Eyed Peas & Justin Timberlake:Where is the love?
Second best song. That's it. 9/10
Coldplay:Clocks. This is an ok, but it might get boring after a while. 7/10
Eminem:Lose Yourself. This is the best mother
f[family website]en song on the CD. 10/10
Missy Eliot:Work it. This song is gross. I hate it. 1/10
Evanescence:Going Under. I realy think that this song is good. 8/10
Outkast:The way You move. Bottom line, good song. 7/10
Justin Timberlake:Cry me a River. Justin was better when he was with *Nsync.
Christina Aguilera:Beautiful. I don't like it. 1/10
Avril Lavinge:I'm with you. Its a d[family website]n good song.
8/10
Luther Vandross:Dance with my father. This song is weird. 2/10
Warren Zevon:Keep me in your heart. No comment. 3/10
50 cent:in da club. Go, Go, Go Charolette its ya birthday. 8/10
Fountains of Wayne:Stacy's Mom. Funny song, good song. 8/10
Heather Hadley:I wish i wasn't. I don't like it. 1/10
Sean Paul:Gimme the light. I know i keep saying this but, it's a good song. 7/10
George Harrison:Any Road. I didn't listen to this one, but there are plenty of other good songs. ?/10
Michael Mcdonald:Ain't no mountain high enough. I'll let you decide. ?/10
Sing:Send your love. Its ok. 5/10
Eagles:Hole in the world. Its ok. 4/10
Matchbox 20:Unwell. Its an original song. 7/10
anything from 7/10 or higher is a good song.
5/10 or higher is ok.
4/10 or below is bad.
Remember, that this is my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GRAMMYS 2004, March 24 2004
By 
This review is from: Grammy Nominees 2004 (Audio CD)
BEYONCE’ FEATURING JAY-Z "Crazy In Love" Record Of The Year
THE BLACK EYED PEAS & JUSTIN TIMBERLAKE "Where Is The Love?" Record Of The Year
COLDPLAY "Clocks" Record Of The Year
EMINEM "Lose Yourself" Record Of The Year Song Of The Year
MISSY "MISDEMEANOR" ELLIOTT "Work It" Album Of The Year
EVANESCENCE "Going Under" Album Of The Year Best New Artist
OUTKAST "The Way You Move" Featuring Sleepy Brown Album Of The Year
JUSTIN TIMBERLAKE "Cry Me A River" Album Of The Year Best Male Pop Vocal Performance
CHRISTINA AGUILERA "Beautiful" Song Of The Year
AVRIL LAVIGNE "I'm With You" Song Of The Year
LUTHER VANDROSS "Dance With My Father" Song Of The Year
WARREN ZEVON "Keep Me In Your Heart" Song Of The Year Best Male Pop Vocal Performance
50 CENT "In Da Club" Best New Artist
FOUNTAINS OF WAYNE "Stacy's Mom" Best New Artist Best Pop Performance By A Duo Or Group With Vocal
HEATHER HEADLEY "I Wish I Wasn't" Best New Artist
SEAN PAUL "Gimme The Light" Best New Artist
GEORGE HARRISON "Any Road" Best Male Pop Vocal Performance
MICHAEL MCDONALD "Ain’t No Mountain High Enough" Best Male Pop Vocal Performance
STING "Send Your Love" Best Male Pop Vocal Performance
EAGLES "Hole In The World" Best Pop Performance By A Duo Or Group With Vocal
MATCHBOX TWENTY "Unwell" Best Pop Performance By A Duo or Group With Vocal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Grammy nominees 2004, Feb. 29 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Grammy Nominees 2004 (Audio CD)
1.Crazy in Love (Jay-Z /Beyonce)
A good song by beyonce and Jay-Z. A song that i will not get sick of. 5/5
2.Where Is the Love? - 4:05 (Black Eyed Peas / Timberlake, Justin)
This is an ok song gets annoying after a while. 3/5
3.Clocks - (Coldplay)
Excellent song by coldplay one of the best on the albumn. Has a great beat and great lyrics. 5/5
4.Lose Yourself - (Eminem)
Eminiem proves on this song why hes the best rapper around. 5/5
5.Work It - (Elliott, Missy 'Misdemeanor')
One of Missy Elliots best songs to date. 5/5
6.Going Under - (Evanescence)
One of the best new artists of 2003. Their debut albumn is also one of the best selling albumns of the year. 5/5
7.The Way You Move - (OutKast / Brown, Sleepy)
This song has a catchy tune and good rapping in it. 4/5
8.Cry Me a River - (Timberlake, Justin)
One of the worst songs on this albumn. Cry me a river for having to actually listen to it. 1/5
9.Beautiful - (Aguilera, Christina)
This song lives up to its name it is absolutely beautiful and has a good message in it. 5/5
10.I'm With You - (Lavigne, Avril)
This song is good but not great. 4/5
11.Dance With My Father - (Vandross, Luther)
Excellent and heart touching song. if this song doesn't touch your heart, there is something wrong with you. 5/5
12.Keep Me in Your Heart - (Zevon, Warren)
I didn't particularly care for this song. 3/5
13.In da Club - (50 Cent)
One of the best rap songs of 2003. 5/5
14.Stacy's Mom-(Fountains of Wayne)
At first i didn't like this song, but after a while this song quickly became one of my favorites of 2003. 5/5
15.I Wish I Wasn't - (Headley, Heather)
This song is ok, not the greatest though. 3/5
16.Gimme the Light -(Paul, Sean)
One of Sean Paul's most annoying songs ever. 2/5
17.Any Road - (Harrison, George [1])
Abouslete Excellent song from former Beatle George Harrison. 5/5
18.Ain't No Mountain High Enough - (McDonald, Michael [Vocals/Keys])
I absouletely can't stand this song for some reason. 1/5
19.Send Your Love - (Sting [1])
Great song from Sting. 5/5
20.Hole in the World -(Eagles [1])
The Eagles prove that they still got it with this song. 5/5
21.Unwell -(Matchbox Twenty)
Excellent song from my favorite band. Glad to see that they were nominated at the Grammys. 5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Definetly worth the money!!, Feb. 11 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Grammy Nominees 2004 (Audio CD)
All in all i saw this was an ok Cd!!I will grade the songs and give a bit on wut i thought about them
1.Crazy in Love(Beyonce):A- A catchy upbeat tune that gets u on ur feet:)
2.Where is the Luv?(Black Eyed Peas):A+ A song with a great message and a great vibe.
3.Clocks(Coldplay):B- A boring song with really no meaning and a bad tune.
4.Lose urself(eminem):A+ A deep song that makes u wake up and listen good rapping and eminems best work
5.Work It(Missy Eliot) A- A fun song u can dance to missy deserves a grammy for her catchy tunes
6.Going Under(Evanesence):A A great rock song with a good tune the lead singer shines through with her vocal cabability
7.Way u move(Outkast) A+ A fun song that has u moving from beginning till end and shows why Outkast is so popular
8.Cry Me A River(Justin Timberlake):C+ Justin has shone he can shine solo but this is not one of the songs that show it,boring and more of a bite back a britney then a grammy nominee
9.Beautiful(Christina Aguilara):A++ An amazing song!!Christina powerful voice shines on this song and its powerful lyrics.
10.Im wit u(Avril Lavigne):C First Avril was nominated last year and shouldnt be this year for the same CD.This also wasnt a great sing boring and bad vocal effort from Avril Very Dissapointing.
11.Dance with my Father(Luther Vandross):B An ok song not worth of song of the year but ok.Nice lyrics with an ok tune but Luther has done better.
12.Keep me in ur heart(Warren Zevon):D- A very boring song with an awful voice singing to it nice try Warren but NO
13.In Da Club(50 Cent)A++ A great fun song with a great upbeat tempo 50 really shines through on his rapping skills and deserves the grammy for best new artist.
14.Stacys Mom(Fountains of Wayne):A A really fun song that u luv to sing along to but gets old fast tho its still great.
15.I wish i wasnt(Heather Headley):C+ Ok voice not a lot of talent.Heather tries to hard to be our next Ashanti and she shows shes not ready for it.
16.Gimme da light(Sean Paul):A Not as good as 50 but still a great rapper the song has agreat fun beat and is fun to dance 2 with great lyrics even if u cant understand them
17.Any Road(George Harrison):C+ The beatles were great this song wasnt.Not very interesting to listen to and just not worth it.
18.Aint no mountain high enough(Michael McDonald):B- Good vocal talent and all but we really dont need a repeat it was great the first time but leave this song alone.
19.Send Ur Luv(Sting):D+ Grammies why must u always nominate sting??He doesnt have that great of voice and it shows on this song.Bad lyrics bad tune Bad song.
20.Hole in da world(Eagles):They really shouldnt be nominated again this isnt exacvtly a new song either really shouldnt have been on this cd.
21.Unwell(Matchbox 20):B An ok song with ok vocals and an ok tune not really grammy worthy tho.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Grammy strikes gold!, Feb. 7 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Grammy Nominees 2004 (Audio CD)
With the 46th Grammy awards just around the corner,the compilation CD for the show has hit stores. Covering categories for Record Of The Year,Album Of The Year,Song Of The Year,Best New Artist,Best Male Pop Vocal Performance and Best Pop Performance By A Duo Or Group With Vocal,we get an album that is pretty varied and entertaining. Break it down:
1.Beyonce feat. Jay-Z"Crazy In Love"A+.This song is catchy, addictive,stormin' and one of,if not the,best song of 2003.
2.Black Eyed Peas feat. Justin Timberlake"Where Is The Love?"A.Rap has a very negative image,here is a song that addresses world issues and opposes violence.
3.Coldplay"Clocks"C+.There is a meaningful message here,but the boring song puts me to sleep before I find it.
4.Eminem"Lose Yourself"A.This is a rather deep and powerful song compared to most of Shady's work,shows his emotional side.
5.Missy Elliot"Work It"A.I think she has just one another Grammy, great rap song, alot of meaning and killer beat.
6.Evanescence"Going Under"A-.An awsome "nu-metal" track that proves why they are the hottest new act in rock.
7.Outkast feat. Sleepy Brown"The Way You Move"A-.This recent hit is cool,funky and endlessly listenable.Catchy rap with a hook.
8.Justin Timberlake"Cry Me A River"B-.JT had some great songs this year, this is not one of them. The song never really flows or picks up.
9.Christina Aguilera"Beautiful"B.A very meaningful song but it just doesn't "get at me" the way other songs do.
10.Avril Lavigne"I'm With You"A.As usual,Avril hit with another powerful and deep pop song,very well done.
11.Luther Vandros"Dance With My Father"A-.Alot of substance that is plain beautiful to hear,very personal and meaningful.
12.Warren Zevon"Keep Me In Your Heart"C-.This guy may be a music legend,but I find this song to be very poorly constructed.
13.50 Cent"In Da Club"A-.A very catchy song from the year's biggest new artist.I'm surprised that this isn't a Record Of The Year nominee,it was Billboard's #1 song for 2003.
14.Fountains Of Wayne"Stacy's Mom"A.Original,clever,hip and intelligent,this is one of the best songs of 1983(I mean 2003).
15.Heather Headley"I Wish I Wasn't"B.This song is pretty decent,just not great.I didn't even know who she was until the nominations were announced.
16.Sean Paul"Gimme The Light"A-.Even if you can't understand the words,you can flow with the beaton this great dance/rap track.
17.George Harrison"Any Road"B.The Beatles were great,this song is not great but it is graceful in delivery.
18.Michael McDonald"Ain't No Mountain High Enough"B+.You can not equal a classic,though this song comes very close to it.
19.Sting"Send Your Love"A-.Almost philosophical,he hasn't been this good since "Desert Rose".Very catchy and original.
20.Eagles"Hole In The World"B-.This song has a good point but seems like and outdated style,listen to track #2 instead.
21.Matchbox Twenty"Unwell"A.Very deep and personal,the group's best and one of the year's best pop songs
Bottom Line:***1/2.The album is just as good as last year's compilation,I only hope that the winners are great as well.
NOTE:The songs,"Hey Ya!" by Outkast,"Elephant" by The White Stripes,"Misunderstood" by Bon Jovi and "Underneath It All" by No Doubt are "Track not available".These songs may have helped or hurt the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Value-packed, Jan. 22 2004
By 
Dogville (Sunny Island) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Grammy Nominees 2004 (Audio CD)
The Grammy nominations an wins have alsways been hit-and-miss affairs. Some years, the deserving unknown finally get the recognition from their peers. In others, nods and awards could not be fathomed.

In recent years, the Grammys were made to look hip and in major categories like Record of The Year and Album of The Year, you'll find a mish-mash of nominees representing different genres. Usually, winners are mostly a good mix of commercial success rather than critical acclaim. It's no wonder why cos in past years, winners have benefitted from post-Grammy surge in sales.

Put those aside, this CD is still a value-for-money to those compilation lovers. The selection here is diverse - from Beyonce's R&B to Matchbox Twenty's rock and Justin Timberlake's funk.

Nominations span across categories such as Record of The Year, Song of The Year, Album of the Year and Best Vocal Performances. You'll find several gems including BEYONCE' FEATURING JAY-Z's "Crazy In Love", COLDPLAY's "Clocks", MISSY "MISDEMEANOR" ELLIOTT's "Work It", JUSTIN TIMBERLAKE's "Cry Me A River", CHRISTINA AGUILERA "Beautiful" and
LUTHER VANDROSS's epic "Dance With My Father". There's even a posthumous nod to WARREN ZEVON for "Keep Me In Your Heart". The rest of the album is made up of popular but typical radio fodder, mostly hip hop artists that are hard to distinuguish by name or by sound. If Top 40's what you like, shell out the money for this compilation. Otherwise, spend 99 cents a song at iTunes Music Store for the tracks that you really like and want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Grammy: Vs Now!, Jan. 20 2004
By 
Mack Smith (West Mifflin, PA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Grammy Nominees 2004 (Audio CD)
Grammy CD's and Now! series CD's are compared to each other because, they are about even in the music selections, both compliations, select songs from the year in which they are from, but that's where the comparisons differ, with Now! you get alot of music in the popular form and with Grammy you get what was in within the year. Take this years' Grammy CD 2004, it has a lot of songs on it that I like, but also has songs that I would never have in my collection, like songs from Michael McDonald, Sting and Heather Headley or Sean Paul, and there are also songs I already have, like "Cry Me A River" via Now 12 "Crazy In Love" and "Where Is The Love" both via Now 14, see the connection, but there are a few that I do not but like to see on this CD, like "Going Under", "Work It" and "Unwell" plus I like "Any Road" from George Harrison, this Cd lacks punch but is a viable listening experince. I give this CD a C+ it's good, but the selections could be better, I wanted to give it 5 stars, but couldn't. If you are looking for a grammy cd I recommend either Grammy CD's 1998 or 1999. I would choose Now over Grammy, because Now offers a better variety, but the Grammy CD's a just fun to have in your collection, I have 5 Grammy CD's 1998, 1999, 2000, 2002, and now 2004, 1995, 1996, 1997 are next on my list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Grammy knows whats good for you, Jan. 20 2004
By 
Pat Kelly (Here, There & Everywhere) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Grammy Nominees 2004 (Audio CD)
You have to hand it to the Grammy Nomination compilation crew. They really know how to put together a package.
"What's hot right now, OutKast? Ok, we'll include "The Way You Move". The year's biggest hip-hop track? 50 Cent's "In Da Club" -- no problem, we'll put it on! The top pop tracks of the year: Beyonce and Black Eyed Peas. You want 'em, you got 'em. Alternative track of the year. How about Coldplay's "Clocks"?"
This process continues with tracks by other hot acts like Avril, Justin, Xtina, Missy, even Eminem. Enough to completely outclass the whole year's output of NOW albums.
Then just when you have to have the best compilation of the year, they sneak in what they REALLY want to sell you!
"What's this, you ask. Oh, just a little Eagles. Pay it no mind. And, by the way here's some Warren Zevon, and just a touch of George Harrison. And don't mind that track, it's just a smidgen of Sting."
Yes, before you know it, you'll be listening to real music! And probably liking it.
Of course it works the other way, too. With Sting/Zevon/Eagles/Harrison, it's unfortunately only 50% accurate to call them survivors of the the 70's. And for most of those in my generation, this album will be their first introduction to the wonderful tracks by BEP & Big Boi.
Grammy Nomination albums are designed for people with open minds and open ears. Everyone can take away something new and exciting, even if they buy it only for the familiar.
I'm going to be introduced to Heather Headley. I look forward to the meeting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Grammy Nominees 2004
Grammy Nominees 2004 by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews