Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Grammy's
Beyonce Featuring Jay-Z:Crazy in love. I don't like Beyonce, but this was a pretty good. 5/10
The Black Eyed Peas & Justin Timberlake:Where is the love?
Second best song. That's it. 9/10
Coldplay:Clocks. This is an ok, but it might get boring after a while. 7/10
Eminem:Lose Yourself. This is the best mother
f[family website]en song on the CD...
Published on April 10 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The Good, The Bad and The Absent
This is a slightly above-average compilation, made up of quite a few excellent songs, a couple of questionable inclusions, and one glaring omission.
Of course the album can only mirror the Grammys, which seemed a little short of star power this year, but how can you leave out "Hey Ya!", while putting in Warren Zevon, Heather Headley, George Harrison, Sting...
Published on Feb. 12 2004 by Amanda Richards


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Good Overview of 2003's Biggest Songs, May 16 2004
By 
This review is from: Grammy Nominees 2004 (Audio CD)
1. Crazy In Love - Who could forget Beyonce's first hit by herself. Actually Beyonce's first #1 by herself. Yay Beyonce!
2. Where Is The Love? - Well, not only is it Black Eyed Peas's first #1, but Justin's first #1 by himself. Yay them! THE #1 SONG OF 2003!!!
3. Clocks - Coldplay was nominated for best record. This is a good song, but I don't think this should be here. It's too old.
4. Lose Yourself - From Eminem's #1 movie 8 Mile comes Lose Yourself. This song is good, but again, it's too old. I think the Grammy's are more focused on a good songs and not hits of 2003. I don't care, but please don't make the whole CD like this.
5. Work It - From Missy's #1 album Under Construction, comes Work It. I think it's too old, but this is nominated for album, not the song.
6. Going Under - From Evanescence's Fallen, comes Going Under. I think they should of used Bring Me to Life. It was a bigger hit.
7. The Way You Move - OutKast's first #1 hit from Speakerboxxx/The Love Below. I think this was an excellent choice.
8. Cry Me A River - Ok, this is kind of a problem. Cry Me A River is a horrible song. Not a good choice, but a good album.
9. Beautiful - Another great song, but it's too old. They should have used Can't Hold Us Down. That was the 2nd biggest hit.
10. I'm With You - Avril's 2nd #1 hit. It's an awesome song!
11. Dance With My Father - Not a big hit, but who can forget Luther's incredible lyrics.
12. Keep Me In Your Heart - I've never heard this before Grammy Nominees 2004. It's ok. A little to slow and boring. I don't think this was a hit anyway.
13. In Da Club - 50 Cent's first appearance on pop radio stations. IN DA CLUB WAS THE #2 SONG OF 2003! IN DA CLUB IS AWESOME!
14. Stacy's Mom - Fountains of Wayne's first top 10 hit. This song is excellent. It's a little gross though. " Stacy's mom has got it going on. She's all I want, and I've waited so long. Stacy can't you see? You're just not the girl for me. I know it might be wrong but, I'm in love with Stacy's Mom. "
15. I Wish I Wasn't - Wasn't a big hit. It's a good RnB song though.
16. Gimme the Light - Good dance song. Sean Paul's first appearance in the top 100.
17. Any Road - Never heard this before this CD. This is the other problem. Why was this nominatted for best POP performance?
18. Ain't No Mountain High Enough - (see Any Road)
19. Send Your Love - A good dance song. Wasn't a big hit.
20. Hole in the World - A big hit on Adult Contemparary radio stations.
21. Unwell - A big hit. #1 played on Adult Contemparary radio stations in 2003. A good choice.
Overall, a good mix of 2003's biggest songs. (Amazon, I wasn't using a word count so it could be over 1,000 words. Sorry!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Grammy's, April 10 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Grammy Nominees 2004 (Audio CD)
Beyonce Featuring Jay-Z:Crazy in love. I don't like Beyonce, but this was a pretty good. 5/10
The Black Eyed Peas & Justin Timberlake:Where is the love?
Second best song. That's it. 9/10
Coldplay:Clocks. This is an ok, but it might get boring after a while. 7/10
Eminem:Lose Yourself. This is the best mother
f[family website]en song on the CD. 10/10
Missy Eliot:Work it. This song is gross. I hate it. 1/10
Evanescence:Going Under. I realy think that this song is good. 8/10
Outkast:The way You move. Bottom line, good song. 7/10
Justin Timberlake:Cry me a River. Justin was better when he was with *Nsync.
Christina Aguilera:Beautiful. I don't like it. 1/10
Avril Lavinge:I'm with you. Its a d[family website]n good song.
8/10
Luther Vandross:Dance with my father. This song is weird. 2/10
Warren Zevon:Keep me in your heart. No comment. 3/10
50 cent:in da club. Go, Go, Go Charolette its ya birthday. 8/10
Fountains of Wayne:Stacy's Mom. Funny song, good song. 8/10
Heather Hadley:I wish i wasn't. I don't like it. 1/10
Sean Paul:Gimme the light. I know i keep saying this but, it's a good song. 7/10
George Harrison:Any Road. I didn't listen to this one, but there are plenty of other good songs. ?/10
Michael Mcdonald:Ain't no mountain high enough. I'll let you decide. ?/10
Sing:Send your love. Its ok. 5/10
Eagles:Hole in the world. Its ok. 4/10
Matchbox 20:Unwell. Its an original song. 7/10
anything from 7/10 or higher is a good song.
5/10 or higher is ok.
4/10 or below is bad.
Remember, that this is my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Grammy's, April 10 2004
By 
Thomas Edelman (Wyomissing, PA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Grammy Nominees 2004 (Audio CD)
Beyonce Featuring Jay-Z:Crazy in love. I don't like Beyonce, but this was a pretty good. 5/10
The Black Eyed Peas & Justin Timberlake:Where is the love?
Second best song. That's it. 9/10
Coldplay:Clocks. This is an ok, but it might get boring after a while. 7/10
Eminem:Lose Yourself. This is the best mother
f[family website]en song on the CD. 10/10
Missy Eliot:Work it. This song is gross. I hate it. 1/10
Evanescence:Going Under. I realy think that this song is good. 8/10
Outkast:The way You move. Bottom line, good song. 7/10
Justin Timberlake:Cry me a River. Justin was better when he was with *Nsync.
Christina Aguilera:Beautiful. I don't like it. 1/10
Avril Lavinge:I'm with you. Its a d[family website]n good song.
8/10
Luther Vandross:Dance with my father. This song is weird. 2/10
Warren Zevon:Keep me in your heart. No comment. 3/10
50 cent:in da club. Go, Go, Go Charolette its ya birthday. 8/10
Fountains of Wayne:Stacy's Mom. Funny song, good song. 8/10
Heather Hadley:I wish i wasn't. I don't like it. 1/10
Sean Paul:Gimme the light. I know i keep saying this but, it's a good song. 7/10
George Harrison:Any Road. I didn't listen to this one, but there are plenty of other good songs. ?/10
Michael Mcdonald:Ain't no mountain high enough. I'll let you decide. ?/10
Sing:Send your love. Its ok. 5/10
Eagles:Hole in the world. Its ok. 4/10
Matchbox 20:Unwell. Its an original song. 7/10
anything from 7/10 or higher is a good song.
5/10 or higher is ok.
4/10 or below is bad.
Remember, that this is my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GRAMMYS 2004, March 24 2004
By 
This review is from: Grammy Nominees 2004 (Audio CD)
BEYONCE’ FEATURING JAY-Z "Crazy In Love" Record Of The Year
THE BLACK EYED PEAS & JUSTIN TIMBERLAKE "Where Is The Love?" Record Of The Year
COLDPLAY "Clocks" Record Of The Year
EMINEM "Lose Yourself" Record Of The Year Song Of The Year
MISSY "MISDEMEANOR" ELLIOTT "Work It" Album Of The Year
EVANESCENCE "Going Under" Album Of The Year Best New Artist
OUTKAST "The Way You Move" Featuring Sleepy Brown Album Of The Year
JUSTIN TIMBERLAKE "Cry Me A River" Album Of The Year Best Male Pop Vocal Performance
CHRISTINA AGUILERA "Beautiful" Song Of The Year
AVRIL LAVIGNE "I'm With You" Song Of The Year
LUTHER VANDROSS "Dance With My Father" Song Of The Year
WARREN ZEVON "Keep Me In Your Heart" Song Of The Year Best Male Pop Vocal Performance
50 CENT "In Da Club" Best New Artist
FOUNTAINS OF WAYNE "Stacy's Mom" Best New Artist Best Pop Performance By A Duo Or Group With Vocal
HEATHER HEADLEY "I Wish I Wasn't" Best New Artist
SEAN PAUL "Gimme The Light" Best New Artist
GEORGE HARRISON "Any Road" Best Male Pop Vocal Performance
MICHAEL MCDONALD "Ain’t No Mountain High Enough" Best Male Pop Vocal Performance
STING "Send Your Love" Best Male Pop Vocal Performance
EAGLES "Hole In The World" Best Pop Performance By A Duo Or Group With Vocal
MATCHBOX TWENTY "Unwell" Best Pop Performance By A Duo or Group With Vocal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great tracks all in one cd, March 11 2004
This review is from: Grammy Nominees 2004 (Audio CD)
This is a great grouping. If you love the most popular tracks last year that attracted the most attention and you are not up for buying every nominated cd get this. I love the mix of artists and love almost every song on this compilation. Not much to do but pick the best and put them all in one cd but this one is awesome because there were so many interesting musically aesthetic releases last year.
My favorites:
Crazy in Love - Beyoncé
Clocks - Coldplay
Going Under - Evanescence
Cry Me a River - Justin Timberlake
Beautiful - Christina Aguilera
I'm With You - Avril Lavigne
Dance With My Father - Luther Vandross
Keep Me in Your Heart - Warren Zevon
Stacy's Mom - Fountains of Wayne
Any Road - George Harrison
Ain't No Mountain High Enough - Michael McDonald
Send Your Love - Sting
Hole in the World - The Eagles
Unwell - matchbox twenty
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Grammy nominees 2004, Feb. 29 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Grammy Nominees 2004 (Audio CD)
1.Crazy in Love (Jay-Z /Beyonce)
A good song by beyonce and Jay-Z. A song that i will not get sick of. 5/5
2.Where Is the Love? - 4:05 (Black Eyed Peas / Timberlake, Justin)
This is an ok song gets annoying after a while. 3/5
3.Clocks - (Coldplay)
Excellent song by coldplay one of the best on the albumn. Has a great beat and great lyrics. 5/5
4.Lose Yourself - (Eminem)
Eminiem proves on this song why hes the best rapper around. 5/5
5.Work It - (Elliott, Missy 'Misdemeanor')
One of Missy Elliots best songs to date. 5/5
6.Going Under - (Evanescence)
One of the best new artists of 2003. Their debut albumn is also one of the best selling albumns of the year. 5/5
7.The Way You Move - (OutKast / Brown, Sleepy)
This song has a catchy tune and good rapping in it. 4/5
8.Cry Me a River - (Timberlake, Justin)
One of the worst songs on this albumn. Cry me a river for having to actually listen to it. 1/5
9.Beautiful - (Aguilera, Christina)
This song lives up to its name it is absolutely beautiful and has a good message in it. 5/5
10.I'm With You - (Lavigne, Avril)
This song is good but not great. 4/5
11.Dance With My Father - (Vandross, Luther)
Excellent and heart touching song. if this song doesn't touch your heart, there is something wrong with you. 5/5
12.Keep Me in Your Heart - (Zevon, Warren)
I didn't particularly care for this song. 3/5
13.In da Club - (50 Cent)
One of the best rap songs of 2003. 5/5
14.Stacy's Mom-(Fountains of Wayne)
At first i didn't like this song, but after a while this song quickly became one of my favorites of 2003. 5/5
15.I Wish I Wasn't - (Headley, Heather)
This song is ok, not the greatest though. 3/5
16.Gimme the Light -(Paul, Sean)
One of Sean Paul's most annoying songs ever. 2/5
17.Any Road - (Harrison, George [1])
Abouslete Excellent song from former Beatle George Harrison. 5/5
18.Ain't No Mountain High Enough - (McDonald, Michael [Vocals/Keys])
I absouletely can't stand this song for some reason. 1/5
19.Send Your Love - (Sting [1])
Great song from Sting. 5/5
20.Hole in the World -(Eagles [1])
The Eagles prove that they still got it with this song. 5/5
21.Unwell -(Matchbox Twenty)
Excellent song from my favorite band. Glad to see that they were nominated at the Grammys. 5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good CD, Feb. 21 2004
By 
Richard Allman "nextbarrybonds27" (Danville, California United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Grammy Nominees 2004 (Audio CD)
Don't listen to the people who say this isn't good because Hey Ya isn't on it. Who cares? One song doesn't make or break the CD. It's a great CD with songs from the Black Eyed Peas, Outkast, Eminem, Coldplay, 50 Cent, and more. I'd buy it.
*NOTE* All the songs are in the clean version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars wherez hey ya?, Feb. 21 2004
This review is from: Grammy Nominees 2004 (Audio CD)
without hey ya, this is not a good cd. i love the way u move is agood song to. i like hey ya alot. it should be on here. dont buy it without hey ya. the new outkast cd is good but its has cuss words. this doesent have hey ya.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT!, Feb. 14 2004
By 
Topher (SLC, UT, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Grammy Nominees 2004 (Audio CD)
AWESOME ALBUM! THE VARIETY IS REALLY GREAT HERE! THERE IS POP, HIP-HOP, R&B, COUNTRY, AND RAP!
THIS ALBUM ROX!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Good, The Bad and The Absent, Feb. 12 2004
By 
Amanda Richards (Georgetown, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Grammy Nominees 2004 (Audio CD)
This is a slightly above-average compilation, made up of quite a few excellent songs, a couple of questionable inclusions, and one glaring omission.
Of course the album can only mirror the Grammys, which seemed a little short of star power this year, but how can you leave out "Hey Ya!", while putting in Warren Zevon, Heather Headley, George Harrison, Sting and Michael McDonald?
No offense to these great performers, whose individual albums are probably a lot better than this compilation, but I don't recall their songs getting big time air play anywhere. I had never even heard some of these songs prior to the Grammys.
I bought this because I always buy the Grammy Nominees cds, but I already have all the good songs on other albums.
Not an essential album unless you're a collector.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xbfa9a888)

This product

Grammy Nominees 2004
Grammy Nominees 2004 by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews