Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome.
Senn this movie a few times before purchasing it. One of my favorites. The courage and bravery of this woman is truly inspiring.Great service with purchase.
Published 10 months ago by Cheryl Breen

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Shumacher's done worse
Guerin has good acting, but it is a little too slow. The story is interesting, but drags on. I had to put on subtitles because I didnt understand the Irish accent.
Published on July 14 2004 by chicoer2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome., June 10 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Veronica Guerin (DVD)
Senn this movie a few times before purchasing it. One of my favorites. The courage and bravery of this woman is truly inspiring.Great service with purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Modern Day Heroine, June 5 2004
By 
Martin A Hogan "Marty From SF" (San Francisco Bay Area) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Veronica Guerin (DVD)
There are few actresses in the world that can take on just about any role they choose. Cate Blanchett is one of them. "Veronica Guerin" is a true tale of a no-nonsense Irish reporter that will go to any length to bring the truth out. In this case, it is exposing drug dealers in mid-nineties Ireland. Veronica is abrupt and sometimes abrasive, but always the professional. Only the criminals around her can emphasize how courageous her commitment is to tell the truth by their vicious threats. Blanchett always brings a vitality and truth to every role she plays, and to be honest, this film would have failed without her work. It is an ordinary story, all too well known in the world, but Veronica Guerin is unafraid and nearly unstoppable. That is what makes her an unusual person in a world full of murderers and drug traffickers.
Joan Allen played the role of Veronica Guerin in 2000's "When The Sky Falls". It's also a great film with fine acting, but not as well crafted as Schumacher's Hollywood version. The director and writers commentaries are typical, but the rare footage of the real Veronica Guerin addressing the 'Committee to Protect Journalists' is priceless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Shumacher's done worse, July 14 2004
By 
chicoer2003 "chicoer2003" (Fresno, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Veronica Guerin (DVD)
Guerin has good acting, but it is a little too slow. The story is interesting, but drags on. I had to put on subtitles because I didnt understand the Irish accent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your time, July 10 2004
By 
J Mac (Athens, GA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Veronica Guerin (DVD)
When I saw that Cate Blanchett and Colin Ferrel were co-starring in a movie chronicling the life of the Irish journalist/martyr Veronica Guerin, I was immediately excited. Excitement however quickly turned to disappointment.
The story is flat. Even Blanchett couldn't save this script, which is saying a lot considering her talent. Ferrel is in the movie for a total of 45 seconds. There are many holes in the plot, making me think that the movie was originally an hour longer, and they took out random scenes in production. That's how jumpy and uncomfortable it felt to sit through this film.
Blanchett is her usual good self, but this is a waste of her talent and your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars interesting, July 4 2004
By 
Heather M (Staunton, VA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Veronica Guerin (DVD)
This was a movie about an Irish reporter who decides she wants to investigate the drug world after she sees young children in a local apartment building playing with dirty heroin needles. She sets out to get to the source of the problem, but as she gets closer and closer, her life and the lives of those around her become filled with danger. This film was based on a true story, so it was a great one to tell, however I did not feel sympathy for her. When the drug lords began to make death threats to her husband and children, instead of backing off, she pushed harder. I think that was selfish of her. Great movie, I just did not agree with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Happy Tears, June 23 2004
By 
Robin Johnson (Dallas, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Veronica Guerin (DVD)
It's Rated-R for strong violence and language, but I strongly recommend that high school and college journalism teachers show this film to their students. As a high school journalism teacher, I saw the opportunity to show students a true story about a journalist. That truth-seeking journalists can make a difference. However, I had no idea that after five times watching the movie, I would cry during the whole 15 minute ending each and every time. Through her journalistic techniques and "finding the truth," she did ultimately pay the price for those antics. But the reason why I was so moved with this movie, was the fact that "she" and her "actions" moved the Irish government to change things. So many people rallied to her and for "her" after her death because she fought the people no one else would fight. She sought the truth exposing those who needed to be in the spotlight for their wrongdoings. Two of the most powerful images in this movie, 1) the children playing with the used drug syringes left on the streets and 2) the funeral procession - you would have thought a diplomat had been laid to rest that day, but instead an honest-seeking journalist who was trying to do her job. My newspaper students sat hypnotized by the television for three days while watching this film. They were moved just as I at the end. It brought a lot of discussion afterwards, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars okay if you're able to tolerate the irish accents, June 22 2004
By 
This review is from: Veronica Guerin (DVD)
The goddamned constant fake Irish accents in this movie makes it sometimes seem unwatchable. Cate Blanchett did a better job with The Missing. I never heard of the actual person Veronica Guerin. At first, I wondered if she was related to Bill Guerin. Apparantly not. The climax to this movie really brought a smile to my face. The main mobster was named Gilligan. It's sometimes predictable, like the cheesy, overdone scene that is supposed to be suspenseful where someone is on the phone chatting and there is someone at the door and it's trouble. Fallen had that too. I originally thought Joel Schumacher was a good director, but I won't say that now. The Client and A Time to Kill were good, but that was only because the books did all the work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars breakthrough, June 20 2004
By 
W R Visser (Leusden Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Veronica Guerin (DVD)
Above all, this is a movie about Ireland. It deals with the breakthrough in the ways of fighting drugs crime in this country. Unfortunately first a well-known lady-journalist has to be murdered to set off public indignation, and to get authorities moving.
Having been in Ireland myself many times, I clearly recognize the way things are done in this country. By the way, the shots of Dublin & surroundings are fine, too.
However, I think Cate Blanchett's acting less convincing. In her fight against drugs crime she does not fully transmit the drive and idealism the real Veronica Guerin must have had. This movie-VG acts like some 21st-century Clint Eastwood in an Irish setting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, June 18 2004
By 
This review is from: Veronica Guerin (DVD)
Veronica Guerin's movie is the best of the very best movies I have seen so far and for about 15 years I have watched at least two movies a day.
Don't forget that heroes such as her do not exist not even in the imagination of the greatest writers. In other words this is a true story of an enthusiastic Irish journalist who wages war on drug dealers and she wins but unfortunately only after she gets murdered. Her murder inspires the Irish government to change the laws that favoured the criminals and put all those responsible for her death behind the bars - where they belonged.
But the saddest part of Veronica's life (movie) is that she couldn't see that happening while she was alive. If she did, perhaps her son would have not been an orphan.
A MUST SEE MOVIE...highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking...., June 17 2004
This review is from: Veronica Guerin (DVD)
This movie describes the life of Irish reporter Veronica Guerin who believed in exposing people for what they were and nothing less...
She had passion, spunk, and absolute bravery...
Against the wishes of those she loved, she pursued her ambitions to uncover the drug dealers in Ireland and she paid the ultimate price for it, her life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaf590e7c)

This product

Veronica Guerin
Veronica Guerin by Joel Schumacher (DVD - 2005)
CDN$ 68.93
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews