Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage Personal Care Furniture All-New Kindle Paperwhite Music Deals Store NFL Tools

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
'There are those who believe
that life here began out there...'
Thus begins the tale of Battlestar Galactica, full of meaning and hope and mystical importance, spoken with the majestic voice of Patrick Macnee (best known from The Avengers).
Okay, enough theology for the moment.
Or, maybe not. The first episode, a movie-length introduction to the series, along with the first several episodes, definitely has theological undercurrents. It is the fight between good and evil. It is a wandering in the desert (of space) looking for the promised land. It is about hope and humanity, sensitivity and courage.
And, as a 12 year old (when I first saw it) I of course understood none of this. I merely loved the special effects in my own home (as opposed to the Star Wars which required payment at the movie theatre), the characters and the technology. I was amazed that every computer on the bridge set of the Galactica actually worked.
Today I'm amazed that the computer on which I'm typing this review has more power than all those computers combined!
The story is basic. Ambush in space because of a monumental betrayal by a sinister bad guy who is in turn double-crossed (Baltar), a quickly-organised escape from the evil mechanical Cylons (who both symbolise the terrors of technology as well as of autocratic rule--remember the Cold War?), a daring journey, and finally a hope. Unfortunately the series became a wandering in the desert with little hope for reaching the promised land, and in television-series timelines and lifelines, this just wasn't acceptable.
In video form, the entire series was not available. It was frustrating that not all of them are available, as watching them in sequence left some gaps. However, there are enough dedicated fans who would purchase these (as is evidenced by the amount of BG 'junk' being auctioned at ebay and other such places) that the DVD generation has made all of the episodes available. This includes the complete set of Battlestar Galactica (please note that Galactica: 1980 is a different, if related, series).
The series was fated only to last one year, due to high costs (a million an episode may be a standard 'ER' actor's salary, but back then it was big bucks even in Hollywood), a slumping viewership (which in retrospect was never as small as reported), and an overall lack of direction (not just that of the fleet). The journey was just taking too long for the era of instant gratification.
The first episode is a three-hour extravanganza. The whole premise is set up here, and the rest of the episodes look back to this set-up. The acting is fairly basic, occasionally rising above a level playing field (particularly Lorne Greene, the leading figure as Commander Adama), but the audience was supposed to be so 'wowed' by the special effects and sets that they wouldn't notice the slightly-above-average acting. For the time, the effects were great; some scenes still hold up well.
The plot of this film goes from the destruction of the colonies, through the assembly of the 'rag-tag, fugitive fleet' to a final battle with some Cylon Death Stars, leaving an open-ended but hopeful conclusion between Apollo (Richard Hatch) and Starbuck (Dirk Benedict in pre- A-Team days).
Outstanding episodes of the series include Living Legends (guest starring Lloyd Bridges), the Man with Nine Lives (with Fred Astair), the War of the Gods (with Patrick Macnee out of the shadows of Imperious Leader) and the three-episode arc when the Galactica encounters a planet named Terra, which is very earth-like in appearance.
There are documentary/interview segments worthwhile, including Dirk Benedict, Glen Larson (the creator/producer) and long-term fan and advocate/star, Richard Hatch. There is also a trailer for the new Sci-Fi soon-to-be released series.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on October 16, 2007
This IS the complete series of Battlestar Galactica. I started watching the show when I was a teenager. All of the episodes are in this set. When they find Earth that's in the Galactica 1980 series NOT in the 1978 BSG series.
The quality of the DVD's are excellent and the commentaries are wonderful to listen to. I also enjoyed watching the deleted scenes and the bloopers.
I also really liked the packaging and the booklet that was included in the boxed set. I highly recommend it.
The new BSG series is not 100x times better than the 1978 series. It's basically just a remake without the charm and fun of the original.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on October 25, 2003
Well it's here, Battlestar Galactica, the complete series on DVD for the first time!
Once you open the silver box with the shelf space consuming Cylon head on the front, you get a DVD set which once again brings the epic adventures of the crew of the Galactica back to life.
In this series there is something for all the family, gorgeous gals and handsome hunks, wise and steadfast men and cute furry creatures that are man's (or a boy's) best friend!
The special effects still give the CGI blockbusters of today a run for their money, and the chrome-plated baddies, the Cylons, still endure as an icon of evil.
Battlestar Galactica's message - a tale of hope in desperate times, and its themes of family and friendship, selflessness and sacrifice are as relevant today as they were in 1978.
The set's picture quality and sound is top notch, the menus are easy to navigate and there is a wealth of deleted\alternate scenes to watch after each episode.
There are a number of short documentaries and one 45 minute one in which the original cast, guest stars and directors etc, remember the making of the series, and their enthusiasm for the show is infectious. There are also a number of outtakes, the "wedgie" one being particularly funny!
Universal have excelled themselves with this DVD set and are to be congratulated for its contents, presentation and packaging.
Buy it now!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on June 14, 2004
In 1978, my father had surprised me with my very own color television for my bedroom. Battlestar Galactica was the first show I saw that night. Eventually I became fond of the tv series. I had not realized it had been cancelled. I was still waiting for episodes the next Septmeber.
Very nice television DVD set. Battlestar Galactica (1978-79) only lasted for one season. Originally meant to be only a seven-hour mini-series. Why the ABC network cancelled this science-fiction series is anyone's guess. It really was a hit with people. It debuted nearly 10 years after STAR TREK (1966-69, the original cast) had been cancelled and the very first STAR WARS (1977) film was released one year earlier. The STAR TREK reunion movie, STAR TREK: THE MOTION PICTURE was released in 1979. Battlestar Galactica was about to start a whole new science-fiction revolution.
BG included a cast that we soon came to know: Lorne Green (Bonanza [1959-73], Earthquake [1974]), Richard Hatch (Best Friends [1975], Heated Vengeance [1985]), Dirk Benedict, Herbert Jefferson Jr, Maren Jensen, Tony Swartz, Noah Hathaway (The neverEnding Story [1984], Terry Carter, John Colicos, Laurette Spang, Paul Coufos (Days Of Our Lives in 1981-82), Sarah Rush and special Guest Star, Jane Seymour (Live and Let Die [1973]). Leann Hunley (Days of Our Lives in 1982-86, The Beverly Hillbillies [1993]) and Larry Manetti (Magnum PI) make appearances and The Daggit, "Muffit" too.
The spaceships were so acceptable. The sound effects were smooth and easy on the ear. Very pleasent to hear. The cyclones with the moving red eye were like nothing we had seen before, almost hypnotizing. Battlestar Galactica was originally a tv series, but the pilot episodes were edited down into a theatrically released motion picture too. This DVD version includes scenes that were cut from the theatrical version and some scenes have been restored back into the episodes.
The bubble-wrap as partition sends me. Lorne Greene still wearing his cowboy boots. Those light helments, and watching this tv series again makes me wish I still had my long hair back.
Battlestar Galactica soon came back in a new tv series, Galactica 1980 starring Kent McCord (Adam-12) and Barry Van Dyke. Lorne Greene and Herb Jefferson Jr. returned. Richard Hatch and Glen A. Larson both tried for years to bring back BG in recent years. Richard Hatch made a test film Battlestar Galactica: The Second Coming (1999), originally intending to bring back original cast members. Ultimatly, the SCI-FI Channel broadcast a new mini-series, Battlestar Galactica (2003) starring Edward James Olmos and Mary McDonnell. Instead of Apollo and Starbuck being two men, it was changed to man and woman. The Canadian white and grey sets looked nothing like we were used to seeing 25 years ago. And none of the original cast members had anything to do with this project. No cameo appearances. Dispite the disappointment of loyal fans, the new "Battlestar Galactica" will become a series in 2004.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on February 4, 2004
BATTLESTAR GALACTICA, after all these many years, has finally been presented to us in a beautifully packaged 6 disc DVD boxed set containing all 24 hours of the short-lived 1978-79 series, including the rarely seen three hour version of the pilot episode. This set does not, however, include any entries from the horrendous follow-up series GALACTICA 1980, so you will have to look elsewhere for the highly sought after episode "The Return Of Starbuck". I have included a list of each episode included in this set, as well as having rated each installment:
Saga Of A Star World (4 ½ Stars)
Lost Planet Of The Gods, Parts 1 and 2 (4 Stars)
The Lost Warrior (2 Stars)
The Long Patrol (2 ½ Stars)
The Gun On Ice Planet Zero, Parts 1 and 2 (4 Stars)
The Magnificent Warriors (½ Star)
The Young Lords (1 ½ Stars)
The Living Legend, Parts 1 and 2 (5 Stars)
Fire In Space (1 Star)
War Of The Gods, Parts 1 and 2 (5 Stars)
The Man With Nine Lives (3 ½ Stars)
Murder On The Rising Star (2 ½ Stars)
Greetings From Earth, special two hour presentation (2 ½ Stars)
Baltar's Escape (4 Stars)
Experiment In Terra (½ Star)
Take The Celestra (2 ½ Stars)
The Hand Of God (4 ½ Stars)
Though starting off very strongly, the series quickly settled into an annoying habit of focusing all of its real effort on the two part episodes. While this tactic provided the absolute highlights of the series (including such memorable episodes as "The Living Legend" and "War of The Gods"), it left many of the hour long installments lacking in a major way. Nearly all of the regular hour length episodes suffer from poorly written, uninteresting scripts that are only kept alive by the character moments sprinkled throughout. Hampering the efforts further was a noticeable drop in the production quality on these episodes. The only two regular length episodes that really rise to the occasion are "Baltar's Escape" and the series finale "The Hand Of God". These two episodes are prime examples of what could have been done in future seasons had the show continued.
In addition to series regulars Lorne Greene and John Colicos, the series guest starred many other well known actors and film legends. Within, you will find the likes of Jane Seymour, Dan O'Herlihy, Roy Thinnes, Lloyd Bridges, Patrick MacNee, Fred Astaire, and Brock Peters.
I am very impressed with this boxed set as presented by Universal Studios. They have been kind enough to provide each episode with deleted, alternate, and behind the scenes footage. The only two episodes that do not sport any extras what-so-ever are "The Magnificent Warriors" and "Take The Celestra", more than likely because none now exists. There are several short documentaries to be found here as well, including an interview with series creator Glen A. Larson which I found to be very interesting and informative. He discusses his inspirations for the show, as well as the many problems encountered while making it. There is also an interview with the series' composer Stu Phillips. Other goodies are spinkled throughout the set, including a retrospective look at the work that went into developing the Cylons for the film and subsequent series, as well as how they created the 'mechanical Daggit' Muffit! There is also a very nifty photo gallery showcasing Ralph McQuarrie's beautiful pre-visualization art work for the first film that is not to be missed. Lots of rare footage abounds in this DVD set, be sure to keep your eyes open for several differing shots of the never-shown-up-close face of the Cylon Imperious Leader!
The pilot movie contains a three person commentary track provided by stars Richard Hatch (Apollo), Dirk Benedict (Starbuck), and Herbert Jefferson Jr. (Boomer). It is a very engaging discussion between the three as they joke and recall stories from the set. They are still good friends in real life and that comes through on the commentary track very nicely. This was one of the more entertaining commentaries that I have heard on DVD in some time, as well as providing lots of insight into what went on behind the scenes of the movie and series. Also not to be missed at the conclusion of the set on Disc 6 is a 45 minute long featurette called "Remembering Battlestar Galactica". It is a very interesting look back at the show in the form of brand new interviews from surviving cast members.
The episodes are very nice looking on disc now that they have been digitally remastered, looking much better than they have ever appeared before. Unfortunately, the time was not taken to try and clean up the picture of all the small scrapes and scratches. Also, the super clarity of the DVD format has managed to upstage many of the special effects created by John Dykstra. The poles that hold the models up are now rather visible in many of the spaceship shots. Oh well, that is a small price to pay to finally own this series on DVD. The sound has finally been remixed in 5.1 Dolby Digital Surround Sound, being available now for the first time ever in something other than mono. It is wonderful to finally hear this series as it was meant to be heard!
Also included in this set is a 18 page booklet featuring episode synopsis and cast information, as well as lots of cool pictures and graphics. It is a rather nice addition, but doesn't really contain too much relevant information all the same. The Cylon helmet shaped box that this set comes in is kind of neat, but takes up way too much room. This set is now being released in a normal version like other DVD box sets, so it will fit right on the counter with the rest of your collections.
Overall, this series as a whole gets 4 stars and the DVD box set put together by Universal Studios gets 5 stars.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on February 27, 2012
I still prefer this old classic to the new one.
If your into the classics and don't mind the old special effects then this is one for you.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on October 30, 2003
Like Mary Poppins-it is almost perfect in every way. Unfortunately, scenes that the Sci-fi Channel edited out to make rooom for additional episodes are still edited out. You can see them under deleted scenes. The Problem is that it is a pain when you want to watch the entire episode in Chronological order and you have to do it in your head instead of seeing it on the screen. In some cases it is impossible to tell where a scene goes, and in the case of "Magnificent Warriors" no such deleted scenes are provided. I knew Glenn Larson put a lot of Mormon Theology into his creation, but the story lines made it easy to overlook. I'm dissappointed that they have been manhandled. I was hoping they would show scenes deleted from the original cuts-like the one where Apollo sees the cloven hoof and finds out who count Iblis really was. When they say deleted scenes-they evidently mean scenes deledted by Sci-fi Channel to make room for comercials. I paid 83.00 for a substandard collection of episodes..
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on April 2, 2004
I Love, Love, LOVE this show. These DVD's are essiantial. True you see a lot of the same special effects over and over, but in some ways (definitly not all) this show surpasses even Star Wars. For instance, let me state my reasons ... 1) Beautiful women!!!! Anne Lockheart enough said!!! Carrie Fisher and Natlie Portman never really did anything for me. 2) The charcters in Battlestar Galactica seem more fleshed out and "Human" than the charcters in Star Wars. 3) The Cylons are more meancing in appearance than Storm Troopers and what cool robotic voices they have!!!
Here is My Episode Report Card "A" being the best and "F" being the worst.
Saga Of A Star World "A"
Lost Planet Of The Gods, Parts 1 and 2 "B"
The Lost Warrior "C"
The Long Patrol "C"
The Gun On Ice Planet Zero, Parts 1 and 2 "A"
The Magnificent Warriors "D"
The Young Lords "A"
The Living Legend, Parts 1 and 2 "A"
Fire In Space "D"
War Of The Gods, Parts 1 and 2 "A" (My Favorite Episode)
The Man With Nine Lives "B"
Murder On The Rising Star "A"
Greetings From Earth "B"
Baltar's Escape "A"
Experiment In Terra "F"
Take The Celestra "C"
The Hand Of God "A" (Great last episode too bad there wasn't a second season.)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on April 2, 2004
I Love, Love, LOVE this show. These DVD's are essiantial. True you see a lot of the same special effects over and over, but in some ways (definitly not all) this show surpasses even Star Wars. For instance, let me state my reasons ... 1) Beautiful women!!!! Anne Lockheart enough said!!! Carrie Fisher and Natlie Portman never really did anything for me. 2) The charcters in Battlestar Galectica seem more fleshed out and "Human" than the charcters in Star Wars. 3) The Cylons are more meancing in appearance than Storm Troopers and what cool robotic voices they have!!!
Here is My Episode Report Card "A" being the best and "F" being the worst.
Saga Of A Star World "A"
Lost Planet Of The Gods, Parts 1 and 2 "B"
The Lost Warrior "C"
The Long Patrol "C"
The Gun On Ice Planet Zero, Parts 1 and 2 "A"
The Magnificent Warriors "D"
The Young Lords "A"
The Living Legend, Parts 1 and 2 "A"
Fire In Space "D"
War Of The Gods, Parts 1 and 2 "A" (My Favorite Episode)
The Man With Nine Lives "B"
Murder On The Rising Star "A"
Greetings From Earth "B"
Baltar's Escape "A"
Experiment In Terra "F"
Take The Celestra "C"
The Hand Of God "A" (Great last episode too bad there wasn't a second season.)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on February 18, 2004
This is the ultimate collection for any Battlestar Galactica fan. It even has the final episode "Hand of God" where Apollo and Starbuck unknowingly receive a transmission from Earth. It is in the form of visual and garbled audio communications between the Apollo 11 landing on the Moon and Houston on Earth. They think it is a planted transmission by the Cylons to lure the Galactica into an ambush. The L.E.M. does look like a Cylon head when you think about it.
That was the first episode that I watched when I received this collection. I have not seen "Hand of God" in 25 years.
The box that the set came in was very easy to open: Just lift the top with the embossed Cylon head up and off and voila there are your DVDs. Anyone with any intelligence can easily figure it out.
Overall, it is very well done and presented. The DVDs fold out from the center, 3 on each folded side, 6 in all. The picture quality has been Digitally restored and the sound is in 5.1 Dolby Surround. The picture and sound quality is better than anything I saw 25 years ago when Battlestar Galactica was originally broadcast.
For how difficult it has been to get the entire series, the investment in buying this collection is a bargain.
So, when you receive your set, sit back and be truly amazed with this definitive Battlestar Galactica collection. Enjoy!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Battlestar Galactica: The Complete Series
Battlestar Galactica: The Complete Series by Edward James Olmos (DVD - 2010)
CDN$ 165.60

Battlestar Galactica: The Complete Series [Blu-ray]
Battlestar Galactica: The Complete Series [Blu-ray] by Edward James Olmos (Blu-ray - 2009)
CDN$ 101.78