Customer Reviews


158 Reviews
5 star:
 (100)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wandering in the deserts of space
'There are those who believe
that life here began out there...'
Thus begins the tale of Battlestar Galactica, full of meaning and hope and mystical importance, spoken with the majestic voice of Patrick Macnee (best known from The Avengers).
Okay, enough theology for the moment.
Or, maybe not. The first episode, a movie-length introduction to the...
Published on Feb. 13 2006 by FrKurt Messick

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Almost Perfect in every way
Like Mary Poppins-it is almost perfect in every way. Unfortunately, scenes that the Sci-fi Channel edited out to make rooom for additional episodes are still edited out. You can see them under deleted scenes. The Problem is that it is a pain when you want to watch the entire episode in Chronological order and you have to do it in your head instead of seeing it on the...
Published on Oct. 30 2003


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wandering in the deserts of space, Feb. 13 2006
By 
FrKurt Messick "FrKurt Messick" (Bloomington, IN USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
'There are those who believe
that life here began out there...'
Thus begins the tale of Battlestar Galactica, full of meaning and hope and mystical importance, spoken with the majestic voice of Patrick Macnee (best known from The Avengers).
Okay, enough theology for the moment.
Or, maybe not. The first episode, a movie-length introduction to the series, along with the first several episodes, definitely has theological undercurrents. It is the fight between good and evil. It is a wandering in the desert (of space) looking for the promised land. It is about hope and humanity, sensitivity and courage.
And, as a 12 year old (when I first saw it) I of course understood none of this. I merely loved the special effects in my own home (as opposed to the Star Wars which required payment at the movie theatre), the characters and the technology. I was amazed that every computer on the bridge set of the Galactica actually worked.
Today I'm amazed that the computer on which I'm typing this review has more power than all those computers combined!
The story is basic. Ambush in space because of a monumental betrayal by a sinister bad guy who is in turn double-crossed (Baltar), a quickly-organised escape from the evil mechanical Cylons (who both symbolise the terrors of technology as well as of autocratic rule--remember the Cold War?), a daring journey, and finally a hope. Unfortunately the series became a wandering in the desert with little hope for reaching the promised land, and in television-series timelines and lifelines, this just wasn't acceptable.
In video form, the entire series was not available. It was frustrating that not all of them are available, as watching them in sequence left some gaps. However, there are enough dedicated fans who would purchase these (as is evidenced by the amount of BG 'junk' being auctioned at ebay and other such places) that the DVD generation has made all of the episodes available. This includes the complete set of Battlestar Galactica (please note that Galactica: 1980 is a different, if related, series).
The series was fated only to last one year, due to high costs (a million an episode may be a standard 'ER' actor's salary, but back then it was big bucks even in Hollywood), a slumping viewership (which in retrospect was never as small as reported), and an overall lack of direction (not just that of the fleet). The journey was just taking too long for the era of instant gratification.
The first episode is a three-hour extravanganza. The whole premise is set up here, and the rest of the episodes look back to this set-up. The acting is fairly basic, occasionally rising above a level playing field (particularly Lorne Greene, the leading figure as Commander Adama), but the audience was supposed to be so 'wowed' by the special effects and sets that they wouldn't notice the slightly-above-average acting. For the time, the effects were great; some scenes still hold up well.
The plot of this film goes from the destruction of the colonies, through the assembly of the 'rag-tag, fugitive fleet' to a final battle with some Cylon Death Stars, leaving an open-ended but hopeful conclusion between Apollo (Richard Hatch) and Starbuck (Dirk Benedict in pre- A-Team days).
Outstanding episodes of the series include Living Legends (guest starring Lloyd Bridges), the Man with Nine Lives (with Fred Astair), the War of the Gods (with Patrick Macnee out of the shadows of Imperious Leader) and the three-episode arc when the Galactica encounters a planet named Terra, which is very earth-like in appearance.
There are documentary/interview segments worthwhile, including Dirk Benedict, Glen Larson (the creator/producer) and long-term fan and advocate/star, Richard Hatch. There is also a trailer for the new Sci-Fi soon-to-be released series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic and very enjoyable., Oct. 16 2007
This IS the complete series of Battlestar Galactica. I started watching the show when I was a teenager. All of the episodes are in this set. When they find Earth that's in the Galactica 1980 series NOT in the 1978 BSG series.
The quality of the DVD's are excellent and the commentaries are wonderful to listen to. I also enjoyed watching the deleted scenes and the bloopers.
I also really liked the packaging and the booklet that was included in the boxed set. I highly recommend it.
The new BSG series is not 100x times better than the 1978 series. It's basically just a remake without the charm and fun of the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The original Battlestar Galactica is back!, Oct. 25 2003
Well it's here, Battlestar Galactica, the complete series on DVD for the first time!
Once you open the silver box with the shelf space consuming Cylon head on the front, you get a DVD set which once again brings the epic adventures of the crew of the Galactica back to life.
In this series there is something for all the family, gorgeous gals and handsome hunks, wise and steadfast men and cute furry creatures that are man's (or a boy's) best friend!
The special effects still give the CGI blockbusters of today a run for their money, and the chrome-plated baddies, the Cylons, still endure as an icon of evil.
Battlestar Galactica's message - a tale of hope in desperate times, and its themes of family and friendship, selflessness and sacrifice are as relevant today as they were in 1978.
The set's picture quality and sound is top notch, the menus are easy to navigate and there is a wealth of deleted\alternate scenes to watch after each episode.
There are a number of short documentaries and one 45 minute one in which the original cast, guest stars and directors etc, remember the making of the series, and their enthusiasm for the show is infectious. There are also a number of outtakes, the "wedgie" one being particularly funny!
Universal have excelled themselves with this DVD set and are to be congratulated for its contents, presentation and packaging.
Buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Almost Perfect in every way, Oct. 30 2003
Like Mary Poppins-it is almost perfect in every way. Unfortunately, scenes that the Sci-fi Channel edited out to make rooom for additional episodes are still edited out. You can see them under deleted scenes. The Problem is that it is a pain when you want to watch the entire episode in Chronological order and you have to do it in your head instead of seeing it on the screen. In some cases it is impossible to tell where a scene goes, and in the case of "Magnificent Warriors" no such deleted scenes are provided. I knew Glenn Larson put a lot of Mormon Theology into his creation, but the story lines made it easy to overlook. I'm dissappointed that they have been manhandled. I was hoping they would show scenes deleted from the original cuts-like the one where Apollo sees the cloven hoof and finds out who count Iblis really was. When they say deleted scenes-they evidently mean scenes deledted by Sci-fi Channel to make room for comercials. I paid 83.00 for a substandard collection of episodes..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Battlestar Galactica: The Complete Epic Series, Feb. 27 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Battlestar Galactica: The Complete Epic Series (Sous-titres français) [Import] (DVD)
I still prefer this old classic to the new one.
If your into the classics and don't mind the old special effects then this is one for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Richard Hatch & Dirk Benedict fly into our tv screen again., June 14 2004
By 
James McDonald (Lancaster, California) - See all my reviews
In 1978, my father had surprised me with my very own color television for my bedroom. Battlestar Galactica was the first show I saw that night. Eventually I became fond of the tv series. I had not realized it had been cancelled. I was still waiting for episodes the next Septmeber.
Very nice television DVD set. Battlestar Galactica (1978-79) only lasted for one season. Originally meant to be only a seven-hour mini-series. Why the ABC network cancelled this science-fiction series is anyone's guess. It really was a hit with people. It debuted nearly 10 years after STAR TREK (1966-69, the original cast) had been cancelled and the very first STAR WARS (1977) film was released one year earlier. The STAR TREK reunion movie, STAR TREK: THE MOTION PICTURE was released in 1979. Battlestar Galactica was about to start a whole new science-fiction revolution.
BG included a cast that we soon came to know: Lorne Green (Bonanza [1959-73], Earthquake [1974]), Richard Hatch (Best Friends [1975], Heated Vengeance [1985]), Dirk Benedict, Herbert Jefferson Jr, Maren Jensen, Tony Swartz, Noah Hathaway (The neverEnding Story [1984], Terry Carter, John Colicos, Laurette Spang, Paul Coufos (Days Of Our Lives in 1981-82), Sarah Rush and special Guest Star, Jane Seymour (Live and Let Die [1973]). Leann Hunley (Days of Our Lives in 1982-86, The Beverly Hillbillies [1993]) and Larry Manetti (Magnum PI) make appearances and The Daggit, "Muffit" too.
The spaceships were so acceptable. The sound effects were smooth and easy on the ear. Very pleasent to hear. The cyclones with the moving red eye were like nothing we had seen before, almost hypnotizing. Battlestar Galactica was originally a tv series, but the pilot episodes were edited down into a theatrically released motion picture too. This DVD version includes scenes that were cut from the theatrical version and some scenes have been restored back into the episodes.
The bubble-wrap as partition sends me. Lorne Greene still wearing his cowboy boots. Those light helments, and watching this tv series again makes me wish I still had my long hair back.
Battlestar Galactica soon came back in a new tv series, Galactica 1980 starring Kent McCord (Adam-12) and Barry Van Dyke. Lorne Greene and Herb Jefferson Jr. returned. Richard Hatch and Glen A. Larson both tried for years to bring back BG in recent years. Richard Hatch made a test film Battlestar Galactica: The Second Coming (1999), originally intending to bring back original cast members. Ultimatly, the SCI-FI Channel broadcast a new mini-series, Battlestar Galactica (2003) starring Edward James Olmos and Mary McDonnell. Instead of Apollo and Starbuck being two men, it was changed to man and woman. The Canadian white and grey sets looked nothing like we were used to seeing 25 years ago. And none of the original cast members had anything to do with this project. No cameo appearances. Dispite the disappointment of loyal fans, the new "Battlestar Galactica" will become a series in 2004.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Finest Weekly Outer Space Sci-Fi Show Ever!, April 2 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Battlestar Galactica: The Complete Epic Series (Sous-titres français) [Import] (DVD)
I Love, Love, LOVE this show. These DVD's are essiantial. True you see a lot of the same special effects over and over, but in some ways (definitly not all) this show surpasses even Star Wars. For instance, let me state my reasons ... 1) Beautiful women!!!! Anne Lockheart enough said!!! Carrie Fisher and Natlie Portman never really did anything for me. 2) The charcters in Battlestar Galactica seem more fleshed out and "Human" than the charcters in Star Wars. 3) The Cylons are more meancing in appearance than Storm Troopers and what cool robotic voices they have!!!
Here is My Episode Report Card "A" being the best and "F" being the worst.
Saga Of A Star World "A"
Lost Planet Of The Gods, Parts 1 and 2 "B"
The Lost Warrior "C"
The Long Patrol "C"
The Gun On Ice Planet Zero, Parts 1 and 2 "A"
The Magnificent Warriors "D"
The Young Lords "A"
The Living Legend, Parts 1 and 2 "A"
Fire In Space "D"
War Of The Gods, Parts 1 and 2 "A" (My Favorite Episode)
The Man With Nine Lives "B"
Murder On The Rising Star "A"
Greetings From Earth "B"
Baltar's Escape "A"
Experiment In Terra "F"
Take The Celestra "C"
The Hand Of God "A" (Great last episode too bad there wasn't a second season.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Finest Weekly Outer Space Sci-Fi Show Ever!, April 2 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Battlestar Galactica: The Complete Epic Series (Sous-titres français) [Import] (DVD)
I Love, Love, LOVE this show. These DVD's are essiantial. True you see a lot of the same special effects over and over, but in some ways (definitly not all) this show surpasses even Star Wars. For instance, let me state my reasons ... 1) Beautiful women!!!! Anne Lockheart enough said!!! Carrie Fisher and Natlie Portman never really did anything for me. 2) The charcters in Battlestar Galectica seem more fleshed out and "Human" than the charcters in Star Wars. 3) The Cylons are more meancing in appearance than Storm Troopers and what cool robotic voices they have!!!
Here is My Episode Report Card "A" being the best and "F" being the worst.
Saga Of A Star World "A"
Lost Planet Of The Gods, Parts 1 and 2 "B"
The Lost Warrior "C"
The Long Patrol "C"
The Gun On Ice Planet Zero, Parts 1 and 2 "A"
The Magnificent Warriors "D"
The Young Lords "A"
The Living Legend, Parts 1 and 2 "A"
Fire In Space "D"
War Of The Gods, Parts 1 and 2 "A" (My Favorite Episode)
The Man With Nine Lives "B"
Murder On The Rising Star "A"
Greetings From Earth "B"
Baltar's Escape "A"
Experiment In Terra "F"
Take The Celestra "C"
The Hand Of God "A" (Great last episode too bad there wasn't a second season.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Battlestar Galactica DVD Set, Feb. 18 2004
By 
Ronald Shields (Hamilton, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is the ultimate collection for any Battlestar Galactica fan. It even has the final episode "Hand of God" where Apollo and Starbuck unknowingly receive a transmission from Earth. It is in the form of visual and garbled audio communications between the Apollo 11 landing on the Moon and Houston on Earth. They think it is a planted transmission by the Cylons to lure the Galactica into an ambush. The L.E.M. does look like a Cylon head when you think about it.
That was the first episode that I watched when I received this collection. I have not seen "Hand of God" in 25 years.
The box that the set came in was very easy to open: Just lift the top with the embossed Cylon head up and off and voila there are your DVDs. Anyone with any intelligence can easily figure it out.
Overall, it is very well done and presented. The DVDs fold out from the center, 3 on each folded side, 6 in all. The picture quality has been Digitally restored and the sound is in 5.1 Dolby Surround. The picture and sound quality is better than anything I saw 25 years ago when Battlestar Galactica was originally broadcast.
For how difficult it has been to get the entire series, the investment in buying this collection is a bargain.
So, when you receive your set, sit back and be truly amazed with this definitive Battlestar Galactica collection. Enjoy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Revisit Your Childhood with Battlestar Galactica!!!!!, Feb. 16 2004
By 
As a child I was enamored with Battlestar Galactica. Having been bit by the Star Wars bug, I was sucked in to this, let's face it, Star Wars spin off.
I made sure that the BSG box set was at the top of my Christmas list for 2003. I have watched all of the episodes, and must admit how impressed I am with the quality of the transfer from film to digital. Although, I was a bit depressed with the format being full screen, and not widescreen, since I do have the pilot movie on DVD and it is widescreen. The audio seperation is impressive, since the original series was broadcasted in mono. That is one good thing about Universal Pictures, is that they always recorded the audio trax in dolby stereo, (the analog predecessor of Dolby Digital)and actually kept the individual audio trax, so that now, they could be converted to 5.1 digital sound. Although, it would have been better for them to transfer the trax to DTS sound. After all, this project was recorded well over 25 years ago.
The special features are incredible. The bloopers, and re-takes are fun to watch. I was especially touched by the featurette on the last disk, that interviews the cast 25 years after the show went off of the air.
I want to be clear about one important detail. There seems to be a bit of controversy between trekers and BSG fans concerning why BSG was cancelled and Star Trek went on to make three spin-off series and ten motion pictures. The answer is simple. Money!!! In 1977, Star Wars revolutionized cinematography. John Dykstra, who was the guru behind the special effects in Star Wars, was recruited by Glenn Larson, creator and executive producer for BSG to recreate the moive magic captured in Star Wars, and transform it to the TV screen. At a cost of one million dollars an episode, BSG is the most expensive televison series to date. Although the Neilson ratings were phenomenal, it wasn't enough to justify the million dollar price tag. This explains why stock footage was used to much, and the story lines did tend to become a little ridiculous, since the weekly story had to revolve around the limits of technology and the inability pump out brand new footage week after week. Rememeber, the technology Dykstra created to film Star Wars was the same equipment used in BSG. No CGI or Macintosh platfomrs to create lavish sets, and special effects with. Just two inch models. This process took time to perfect, since each explosion didn't want to explode the way the director envisioned it. BSG is classic story telling. Adamma, (Adam) leading a rag tag fugitive fleet( Noah, and the Ark) for a shinny planet known as earth.....(Moses leading the Hebrew's to the promised land) There is a lot of biblical character references in BSG, which is a good thing!!!!!!!
If you are not a BSG fan, then you can watch these episodes all you want and it's not going to register with you the way it registers with us.
If you are a BSG fan, then buy this box set, or hook up with someone who has it, and revisit your childhood. Trust me, it's worth it!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Battlestar Galactica: The Complete Epic Series (Sous-titres français) [Import]
Used & New from: CDN$ 149.96
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews