Customer Reviews


151 Reviews
5 star:
 (94)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wandering in the deserts of space
'There are those who believe
that life here began out there...'
Thus begins the tale of Battlestar Galactica, full of meaning and hope and mystical importance, spoken with the majestic voice of Patrick Macnee (best known from The Avengers).
Okay, enough theology for the moment.
Or, maybe not. The first episode, a movie-length introduction to the...
Published on Feb. 13 2006 by FrKurt Messick

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Almost Perfect in every way
Like Mary Poppins-it is almost perfect in every way. Unfortunately, scenes that the Sci-fi Channel edited out to make rooom for additional episodes are still edited out. You can see them under deleted scenes. The Problem is that it is a pain when you want to watch the entire episode in Chronological order and you have to do it in your head instead of seeing it on the...
Published on Oct. 30 2003


‹ Previous | 113 14 15 16 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Hurray for Battlestar Galactica!, Sept. 6 2003
By 
Patrick E. Harvey (Atlanta, GA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Either you like Battlestar Galactica or you do not. I love it! The first episode was so epic! Imagine, how on the eve of a peaceful settlement with the Cylons to have your worlds destroyed. Imagine having to flee into the void of space just to survive. If you can imagine and dream, you will love this. If you are an non-imagining twit, you'd better go elsewhere. If you love to dream and imagine, show this to your children and your friends!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Loved it as a kid, but, come on., Aug. 30 2003
By 
G. Vernon "gv" (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
How can you watch this series recycle the same 10-15 shots ad infinitum without wanting to send them your own cash to produce a new effect? With endless crash landings propelling plots stolen from famous movies and uniformly weak performances by all involved, there is a reason this series crash landed. It seems that the best kernels of ideas that this deritive series had to offer were all stolen from Star Wars: reckless flyboy Starbuck was TV's paper-thin answer to Han Solo; that hooey about the Lords of Kobol was a bizarre riff on the Force via the Mormon Church; the Cylons were chrome versions of the Stormtroopers; the Viper fighters were just X-Wings minus the upper half of the X. ABC fronted the cash for two episodes worth of John Dykstra's special effects then stretched those same shots through every episode that followed. It was a shame to see a potentially good idea (rebuilding a civilization destroyed by war on a new planet) reduced to painful cliches, overwrought dialogue, re-used special effects and group hugs in the end. This is television for the non-discriminating science fiction fan. It lasted only one season because it was patently awful television (one can't honestly consider Galactica 1980 as even related to BG) and because they couldn't afford not to use the same dogfight footage over and over again. Although I want to support BG out of nostalgia for my childhood (I never missed it, I used to draw pictures of it, I even wrote a little short story and script), I can also look at it as a grown-up. What a poorly executed squandering of time and talent with absolutely nothing to say about the human condition. Star Trek used its outer-space setting to comment on the times; Space: 1999 was admirable for its cult-like psychotronic plots; and Battlestar Galactica gave us Star Wars meets Bonanza by way of the LDS Church. There is no way the new Galactica can't improve on such thin source material. For all those who bellyache for a "continuation" of the old BG utilizing the same cast members, get out your wallets. This DVD set is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 'Kolchak:the nightstalker' t.v. series., Aug. 13 2003
By A Customer
Great,'Space:1999'(complete series),'Battlestar Galactica'(complete series),how about 'Kolchak:the nightstalker' t.v. series. Just got to re-release 'the nightstalker' series,that series is the last holdout,still hoping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Give Battlestar Galactica a chance., Aug. 13 2003
By 
Yes there were good episodes and some bad ones.But what hurt the show was it's budget and it should had been a mini-series and not a regular TV show.But hats off to the fans including myself who never gave up on the show.I've also heard there are a number of episodes that were never seen by the fans which haven't been released and they are better than what aired on ABC-TV.If Battlestar Galactica makes a successful comback and it does even better than it did the first time around,then George Lucas should ask himself where did he went wrong with The Phantom Menance and Attack of the Clones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A true classic. One of the finest sci-fi in history., Aug. 13 2003
By 
J V A Lahaye "*cat" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
There are very few science fiction programmes or films I have ever watched with true enjoyment, and this is one of the finest examples. This has appeared a number of times on TV in its edited versions (broadcast as "films"), but the story lines in the edited versions have missed the point of story and plot development. Each episode is linked from beginning to end, and as the series progresses, the viewer will be taken in by the developments that occur. For those who have never seen this, I provide a brief description.
The story starts with the pilot episode in which a group of ships are heading towards a planet for a meeting on a peace treaty. On their way, they are attacked by Sylons (robots controlled by an evil master). The Galactica is the only surviving ship in this attack, and the remainder of the story unfolds to reveal how the enemy is defeated, and how Galactica attempts to reach its final destination - Earth. There are twists, character developments, and a very original plot make this series a unique one and a classic. I have not seen such a depth of story telling in any other science fiction programme or film. The special effects for its time are far superior to Star Trek or Space 1999 (in my opinion, another classic). The acting is superb. I personally feel that Battlestar Galactica was grossly underrated, but I am glad to see that it is being released on DVD for the benefit of a new generation to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Expensive cheese or cheap caviar?, Aug. 7 2003
By A Customer
I've pre-ordered this set, and I still have fond memories of watching this simultaneously great and terrible sci-fi epic episode by episode back in the 1970's. Quite litteraly, this will be a "blast from the past."
This is to me the best of bad sci-fi, or the worst of great sci-fi. I can't really tell. I just know it's almost always fun to watch.
So, here are the upsides and downsides of this series, to me anyway.
First, it gave us some epic sci-fi at a time when not much sci-fi was being made at all. Star Wars had just happened, and this series probably would not have been made if Star Wars had not succeeded. Still, it was ten years since classic Trek, and about fifteen years before sci-fi started to become mainstream as it is today. This series filled a vacuum.
Second, epic proportions. It was big budget and grand in scale. Lots of what must have been expensive sets. I really felt like I was on an interstellar aircraft carrier. The bridge of the Galactica was immense, and just what I would imagine a ship like that would have.
Third, some great stories. I remember vividly being glued to the tube for the premier movie.
Fourth, great babes! I don't know of any other sci-fi series that had more beautiful women as regular characters. I knew who Jane Seymour was way before most people!
Fifth, a great soundrack. I own the soundtrack album and like to listen to it just as classical music. Galactica's theme song is probably one of the most recognizable TV themes to this day.
The downside?
First, inconsistent story quality. Some stories were as big as the galaxy, but some were as redundant as a "western in space."
Second, mind-numbing special effects repetition. Watch this DVD set and you'll probably see the same Cylon fighter destroyed several dozen times the same way. It's like they shot all the space dogfight scenes for the premier movie and recycled them over and over in the episodes that followed.
Third, tired plot devices. The kid's robot "dog" runs away and the kid runs after the robotic pet and gets into trouble, or something like that. Yawn.
Finally, I for one am thrilled that Galactica is being "re-imagined" by the Sci-Fi channel. There's one reason to look forward to Winter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great 70's full Sci-fi series, finally comes out on DVD., Aug. 5 2003
By 
Victor R. Maniglia "Vito R. Mann" (Lakeland, FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
...This will always be a classic Sci-Fi series and the absolute best from the 1970's, for me, personally. I can always see the entire series, continuously, even though it's definately dated, especially considering Star Trek: The Next Generation series. The series contains everything that a guy likes: action, romance -- especially consider Starbuck and Athena or Cassie and later that little spark or intonation of romance between Apollo and Sheba. There is just one other point I must mention in regret about the series, its overt Mormon theology. But, Mormonism is considered by true Christians to be a cult because it lacks the true message of the Gospel, whereas, with Star Trek:TNG it's just rehashed New Age Theology, in other words just Near east Religions: Toaism, Buddist mixed into the Stories. But by far, Nothing will ever come close to the original BsG Series, especially because that was the best Sci-Fi I grew up with as a teenager, along with Buck Rogers: in the 25th Century, a very close 2nd. The stories were always so captivating and engrossing....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A great 70's Sci-fi series, finally comes out on DVD., Aug. 5 2003
By 
Victor R. Maniglia "Vito R. Mann" (Lakeland, FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This has to be my all time favorite television series. As a kid, I would wildly wait until Sunday evening, knowing far well that my 7th grade classes are just a few hours away. As well, closing upon, 8 - 9:00 depending on the episode, I would anguish at the closing credits. But now I can see the entire series even though it's definately dated, especially considering Star Trek: The Next Generation series. The series contains everything that a guy likes: action, romance -- especially consider Starbuck and Athena or Cassie. There is just one other point I must mention in regret about the series, its overt Mormon theology. It's about .... Time Universal Studios releases this series on DVD, Now, they have to do the same with with the Buck Rogers series. But by far, Nothing will ever come close to the original BsG Series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Real Battlestar goes DVD just as New Show Destroys Fanbase, Aug. 1 2003
By A Customer
Its about time they put the "REAL" battlestar into the hands of fans who have had to suffer thru the incomplete video tape versions. Now we can all watch the Original actors do what they do best - and we can enjoy the way battlestar was meant to be seen. Its also perfect timing too..now that they are remaking the show to "STAR TREK LITE", we fans can now pop in the dvds and watch them instead of trying to sit thru the new ill-fated remake. My only question, why did it take so long? - Anyhow we will be treated to the entire run of ONE YEAR... Hopefully the extras will make up for the high price tag...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One-Year Cult Series Still Remembered, July 29 2003
By A Customer
Twenty-four years after its cancellation after just one season on the air, Galactica is still remembered fondly by a surprising number of fans. Is there any other one-year series this famous a generation later? None that I can think of. Here's a rundown of the seventeen episodes that make up this box set collection of every episode of "Battlestar Galactica."
Saga of a Star World: The three-hour pilot that launched the series, later shown in theaters as an edited version. After a thousand years of war, the twelve colonies of man are wiped out by the mechanical Cylons. The Galactica and its ragtag fleet of survivors begins the search for the legendary planet Earth. Grade: A
Lost Planet of the Gods: The Galactica discovers the planet Kobol, where mankind originated. Adama attempts to learn the path its inhabitants took when they journeyed to Earth. Meanwhile, the viper pilots have contracted a disease which forces the fleet to train shuttle pilots (women) to take over as fighter pilots. Grade: A
The Lost Warrior: Apollo is stranded on a wild west planet where things resemble the movie Shane a little bit too closely. Grade: F
The Long Patrol: Starbuck pilots a prototype viper into an unknown galaxy and finds an asteroid penal colony where the inmates are descendants of the original criminals. Grade: B
The Gun on Ice Planet Zero: A giant laser cannon on an arctic-type planet threatens to destroy the Galactica as it comes in range. A "borrowed" plot from "Guns of Navarone." Grade: C
The Magnificent Warriors: The fleet is threatened with starvation and lands on a planet where the local movie theater is playing "The Magnificent Seven." Grade: D
The Young Lords: Starbuck crash lands on a remote planet and helps a group of children rescue their father, who is a Cylon prisoner. Grade: C
The Living Legend: Lloyd Bridges stars as Commander Cain in one of the series' most loved episodes. Lots of action, but lots of repeated effects too. Grade: A
Fire in Space: There's a fire. In space. Grade: F
War of the Gods: Another classic episode. Patrick MacNee stars as the mysterious Count Iblis, who will lead the fleet to Earth for a high price. Grade: A
The Man with Nine Lives: A good story about life in the fleet, featuring Fred Astaire as the man who may or may not be Starbuck's long-lost father. The Nomen make their first appearance in this one. Grade: B
Murder on the Rising Star: Starbuck is accused of murdering a fellow Warrior after a heated game of Triad. Derivative of a thousand other trial episodes of a thousand other series. Grade: D
Greeting from Planet Earth: A ship is found in space that may or may not be headed for Earth. Unfortunately, it is actually headed for a planet populated by the androids Hector and Vector.
Grade: F
Baltar's Escape: Another standard 70's plot about a hijacking. Baltar is the hijacker this time. The Nomen return. Grade: D
Escape from Terra: With the help of the returning Ship of Lights, Apollo must save a planet from global war. Note that the basic premise of "Quantum Leap" is first seen here. Grade: C
Take the Celestra: The officers on the Celestra mutiny. Truly a dud. Grade: F
The Hand of God: Apollo and Starbuck sneak aboard a Cylon base ship and disable its scanners while the Galactica launches its vipers against it. A fan favorite. Last episode of the series, which goes out on a great note with this one. Grade: A
"Lost Planet of the Gods," "Gun on Ice Planet Zero," "The Living Legend," and "War of the Gods," are all two-parters. "Greetings from Earth" is a two-hour special and "Saga of a Star World" was shown as a three-parter in syndication.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 113 14 15 16 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews