Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent drama sci-fi for everyone to enjoy...!
This is the story of Johnny Smith who has been leading an idyllic small-town life, employed as a science teacher. He is newly engaged to Sarah, a fellow teacher he's known since childhood. His life is nearly perfect... until a near-fatal car crash that leaves him in a deep coma for six years.

When Johnny finally regains consciousness, he discovers that the life...
Published on June 11 2007 by D. Landry

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointed!
Hi,

I'm sorry, but I have to say that I am very disappointed with my purchase.
The episodes are not recorded in sequence.
Also, Episodes on the second CD are exactly the same as the first season of Dead Zone.
So I have several episodes twice and it makes the story of the second season completely incomprehensible.
I wish to be informed of the...
Published 23 months ago by Maudee1501


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointed!, Sept. 5 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Hi,

I'm sorry, but I have to say that I am very disappointed with my purchase.
The episodes are not recorded in sequence.
Also, Episodes on the second CD are exactly the same as the first season of Dead Zone.
So I have several episodes twice and it makes the story of the second season completely incomprehensible.
I wish to be informed of the details before making my purchase.
It was the first time that I bought on amazon and probably the last time.

Maudee1501
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent drama sci-fi for everyone to enjoy...!, June 11 2007
By 
D. Landry (Ottawa) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Dead Zone: Season 2 (DVD)
This is the story of Johnny Smith who has been leading an idyllic small-town life, employed as a science teacher. He is newly engaged to Sarah, a fellow teacher he's known since childhood. His life is nearly perfect... until a near-fatal car crash that leaves him in a deep coma for six years.

When Johnny finally regains consciousness, he discovers that the life he once knew is gone. Sarah has gone on to marry the local sheriff and the child they are now raising is Johnny's son. But Johnny himself is also not the same person he once was: he now finds himself in possession of amazing psychic powers which allow him to see into the lives of anyone he touches.

As he attempts to reacquaint himself with a life he has been away from for six long years, he must also begin a quest to come to terms with his new abilities, which may turn out to be both a blessing and a curse.

Helping Johnny make a fresh start are his physical trainer Bruce, who also becomes a close friend, and Sarah, who must find a way to make Johnny a part of her life again without risking her relationship with her husband and son.

This show is amazing in many different levels. It is highly addictive, and you will find yourself wanting to know more about each characters and situations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent drama sci-fi for everyone to enjoy...!, June 11 2007
By 
D. Landry (Ottawa) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dead Zone: Complete Second Season [Import] (DVD)
This is the story of Johnny Smith who has been leading an idyllic small-town life, employed as a science teacher. He is newly engaged to Sarah, a fellow teacher he's known since childhood. His life is nearly perfect... until a near-fatal car crash that leaves him in a deep coma for six years.

When Johnny finally regains consciousness, he discovers that the life he once knew is gone. Sarah has gone on to marry the local sheriff and the child they are now raising is Johnny's son. But Johnny himself is also not the same person he once was: he now finds himself in possession of amazing psychic powers which allow him to see into the lives of anyone he touches.

As he attempts to reacquaint himself with a life he has been away from for six long years, he must also begin a quest to come to terms with his new abilities, which may turn out to be both a blessing and a curse.

Helping Johnny make a fresh start are his physical trainer Bruce, who also becomes a close friend, and Sarah, who must find a way to make Johnny a part of her life again without risking her relationship with her husband and son.

This show is amazing in many different levels. It is highly addictive, and you will find yourself wanting to know more about each characters and situations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth EVERY Penny!!, July 14 2004
By 
This review is from: Dead Zone: Complete Second Season [Import] (DVD)
After viewing the first season on DVD, I had to get this set RIGHT away!! This show just keeps getting better and needless to say I am now shamelessly addicted to this program!! With the limited "intelligent" shows now appearing on local and cable channels, GOOD QUALITY television like this must be supported so the executives of these networks will see that there ARE people out there who still appreciate entertaining, intelligent, dramatic shows!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, July 9 2004
By 
SG1 fan "Shepard" (Burnaby, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dead Zone: Complete Second Season [Import] (DVD)
The first season was good and well worth the money the second season is even better. The stories are fresh and you quickly come to know and like the characters involved. I highly recommend it. I loaned the first season to two friends. they both ended up buying season 1 & 2 because they liked it so much. 822 minutes of solid entertainment at a price so good you wish all boxed sets were this price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth every penny!, Oct. 10 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Dead Zone: Season 2 (DVD)
If you are looking for excellent entertainment value for your money this show is for you. For 50 bucks you will get hours of excellent material. You will soon find yourself looking forward to sitting down to the next episode. Season 1 was good but season 2 is better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Show on Cable, July 8 2004
By 
Justin (North Dakota) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dead Zone: Complete Second Season [Import] (DVD)
Just bought the box set the other day and finished it in two days. That is 19 episodes of pure genius. Something new every episode while maintaining "The Dead Zone" look. Favorite episode was "Playing God," where Johnny (Anthony Michael Hall) has to decide who lives and who dies. Easily the most emotional episode I have seen on any T.V. show for a while.
The DVD presents very good picture, better than some high budget Hollywood DVDs. Even better was the 5.1 Dolby Digital track. The soundtrack remained low key during the moments that occurred in reality and really kicked into gear when Johnny entered "The Dead Zone."
I recommend this to all fans, not just science fiction ones. Every episode was great and interesting and it had great heart. Go out and buy this now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "The Dead Zone" gets even better in the Second Season, June 26 2004
By 
Lawrance M. Bernabo (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dead Zone: Complete Second Season [Import] (DVD)
The one thing definitely established by the second season of "The Dead Zone" is exactly how great of a job Michael Piller and Shawn Piller did of turning Stephen King's novel into a television series. The climax of the novel was Johnny Smith's desperate act to derail the future of political candidate Greg Stillson, an act which succeeds but at the cost of Johnny's life (although Johnny had an inoperable brain tumor at that point). In the series Johnny (Anthony Michael Hall) is still plagued by visions of the nuclear destruction of Washington, D.C., because of something Stillson (Sean Patrick Flanery) does in the future, but the moment of crisis has yet to come and by the end of the second season Johnny has serious doubts about his own role in the disaster to come. This may well be the climax of the series, but the Pillers have made that a future encounter, adding key elements to the developing situation ("Scars").
Equally important is that Stillson is no longer a thug turned populist demagogue but more of a traditional corrupt politician. This represents the attention paid to developing the key supporting characters. In this version Sarah (Nicole de Boer) is still married with a child, but the child is Johnny's and she is married to Sherrif Walt Bannerman (Chris Bruno), now spared from a fatal encounter of his own with a rabid St. Bernard named Cujo. What would have been a mandatory soap opera love triangle has been avoided, and indeed the two-part "Ascent"/"Descent" near the start of this second season resolves a lot of the inherent tensions in these relationships by bringing them into the open. In this season episodes start focusing on the relationship between Johnny and his son ("Plague," "The Mountain").
The series also takes advantage of three created characters. As Bruce Lewis (John L. Adams), Johnny's physical therapist turned friend, our hero has not only a sidekick ("Precipitate") but a willing ear for exposition and explanation. Then there is Dana Bright (Kristen Dalton), a reporter who becomes interested and then enamored with Johnny, providing another convert in the inner circle who can provide help. Finally, from Johnny's evangelical mother in the novel the series transmutes the Reverend Gene Purdy, who served as a villain at the beginning of the series before Stillson arrived, but now becomes both an ally ("Cabin Pressure," "Plague") and a voice of conscience ("Playing God").
The other key thing about this series is that it deals with a world in which Johnny Smith has a reputation in what can be considered a rather realistic manner. This means dealing with people who are out to get him in various ways ("Valley of the Shadow," "Misbegotten") as well as those who consider him to be a curiosity ("The Storm"). It also provides an interesting episode in which Johnny works with the government to try and "find" Osama Bin Laden ("The Hunt"). We also find "The Dead Zone" playing creatively with Johnny's powers when he has a blood transfusion ("Precipitate") and an interesting encounter with a woman in a bar ("Deja Voodoo"), and shares his visions with not only Bruce ("Zion") but a figure that has been haunting his life ("Visions"). These are probably the episodes that best indicate that this is a show that is both creative and intelligent. I thought the first season was pretty good, but the second is even better.
There are two things to know about the production schedule for the second season. First, the episode "The Hunt" was originally scheduled to be the 12th episode of the season and air on March 30, 2003 but was delayed until July 27 because of the outbreak of the war with Iraq. Second, "Zion" was supposed to be the final episode of the second season but the USA network asked for another six episodes starting with "The Storm." Called by fans "Season 2.5" this includes my favorite episode of the season, "Deja Voodoo," and a pivotal story arc involving the "Burned Man" (Frank Whaley). Good thing the Third Season is on right now because who wants to wait for the next DVD set for anything more than the great extras (even though they are undoing a couple of the points I praised above big time in the first half-dozen episodes).
Indeed, this set has some great extras because one additional thing that makes this DVD a class act is the high involvement of Anthony Michael Hall and others in the commentary track. Every episode has such a track and Hall is on most of them, as are most of the major guest stars, such as Hall's fellow alumni from "The Breakfast Club" Ally Sheedy ("Playing God"), Academy Award winning actor Louis Gossett, Jr. ("Zion"), and Reiko Aylesworth ("Deja Voodoo") from "24." There are several examples of storyboard comparisons with the finished episode and interviews with notable guest stars. In terms of fan friendly DVD extras "The Dead Zone" sets the standard for others to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Television at its finest, June 23 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Dead Zone: Complete Second Season [Import] (DVD)
This season is superbly written, brilliantly thought out, and addictively entertaining. Every scene of every episode is crafted to draw in and then twist, building interest and tension to the final and fully satisfying ending. Perhaps only Six Feet Under, in my opinion, has managed to top such a blend of humor, action, and emotional depth. Production values remain top notch and continue to improve. If you like episodic TV, you cannot go wrong with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Flat out amazing!!, June 18 2004
By 
Mitch Weaver (Houston, TX) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dead Zone: Complete Second Season [Import] (DVD)
Up until very recently, I was extremely skeptical about this show for two different reasons. The first and most obvious reason was because Anthony Michael Hall played the lead character. Most people including myself have only seen Anthony play nerdy characters in John Hughes movies, and other roles in unknown "B" films. The second reason why I was always skeptical, was because I figured that there was no way that a weekly television show could be made dealing with the characters from Stephen King's book and the film, because it is a story that is pretty specific and hard to stretch out. However, after I finished watching the first season of The Dead Zone, I became instantly hooked. But, going into the second season, I never could have prepared myself for how much better the show could get.
Once again, the second season of The Dead Zone lets Anthony Michael Hall show that he is a very decent actor that deserves to be taken seriously. He does such a wonderful job as Johnny Smith. Anthony makes the character extremely believeable and easy to connect with. The show also features a great mix of romance, drama, and suspense with all of the visions that Johnny receives, as well as Johnny trying to deal with the fact that the woman he loves is married to someone else. It is also great to see Johnny try and connect with his son, who has no idea that Johnny is his father. In the first season, Johnny's son would not even talk to him. Season two has Johnny and his son starting to become friends and bond more. The second season also manages to be even better than the first season in terms of episode quality and overall storytelling. In the second season, there is 19 episodes and there was only one episode that I could not get into. Every other episode grabbed my attention from the beginning and did not let go until the end credits. The second season of the show establishes that The Dead Zone is the most addictive and well done science fiction show since The X-Files. The second season of The Dead Zone is so addictive in fact, that I went through all 19 episodes over the span of two days.
Overall, the second season of The Dead Zone offers a fantastic array of quality episodes and wonderful performances from all the actors involved. This set offers one of the best seasons I have ever seen from any television program. It also offers outstanding picture and sound quality as well as tons of great extras. My favorite feature was definately the interviews with all the guest stars. It was very interesting to hear their take on the show and their roles. You also get deleted scenes and more.
A solid 5 stars...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dead Zone: Complete Second Season [Import]
CDN$ 21.75
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews