Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent drama sci-fi for everyone to enjoy...!
This is the story of Johnny Smith who has been leading an idyllic small-town life, employed as a science teacher. He is newly engaged to Sarah, a fellow teacher he's known since childhood. His life is nearly perfect... until a near-fatal car crash that leaves him in a deep coma for six years.

When Johnny finally regains consciousness, he discovers that the life...
Published on June 11 2007 by D. Landry

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Prepare to be BORED
Don't be fooled by the other reviews. If you haven't seen the second season, here's the low-down: Season 2 was a big step down from Season 1, which was truly great. It lost its edge, and became incredibly boring. I loved the first season, but the second was a HUGE let-down. Don't say I didn't warn you.
Published on June 12 2004 by Jean-Luc


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent drama sci-fi for everyone to enjoy...!, June 11 2007
By 
D. Landry (Ottawa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Dead Zone: Season 2 (DVD)
This is the story of Johnny Smith who has been leading an idyllic small-town life, employed as a science teacher. He is newly engaged to Sarah, a fellow teacher he's known since childhood. His life is nearly perfect... until a near-fatal car crash that leaves him in a deep coma for six years.

When Johnny finally regains consciousness, he discovers that the life he once knew is gone. Sarah has gone on to marry the local sheriff and the child they are now raising is Johnny's son. But Johnny himself is also not the same person he once was: he now finds himself in possession of amazing psychic powers which allow him to see into the lives of anyone he touches.

As he attempts to reacquaint himself with a life he has been away from for six long years, he must also begin a quest to come to terms with his new abilities, which may turn out to be both a blessing and a curse.

Helping Johnny make a fresh start are his physical trainer Bruce, who also becomes a close friend, and Sarah, who must find a way to make Johnny a part of her life again without risking her relationship with her husband and son.

This show is amazing in many different levels. It is highly addictive, and you will find yourself wanting to know more about each characters and situations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent drama sci-fi for everyone to enjoy...!, June 11 2007
By 
D. Landry (Ottawa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dead Zone: Complete Second Season [Import] (DVD)
This is the story of Johnny Smith who has been leading an idyllic small-town life, employed as a science teacher. He is newly engaged to Sarah, a fellow teacher he's known since childhood. His life is nearly perfect... until a near-fatal car crash that leaves him in a deep coma for six years.

When Johnny finally regains consciousness, he discovers that the life he once knew is gone. Sarah has gone on to marry the local sheriff and the child they are now raising is Johnny's son. But Johnny himself is also not the same person he once was: he now finds himself in possession of amazing psychic powers which allow him to see into the lives of anyone he touches.

As he attempts to reacquaint himself with a life he has been away from for six long years, he must also begin a quest to come to terms with his new abilities, which may turn out to be both a blessing and a curse.

Helping Johnny make a fresh start are his physical trainer Bruce, who also becomes a close friend, and Sarah, who must find a way to make Johnny a part of her life again without risking her relationship with her husband and son.

This show is amazing in many different levels. It is highly addictive, and you will find yourself wanting to know more about each characters and situations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth EVERY Penny!!, July 14 2004
By 
This review is from: Dead Zone: Complete Second Season [Import] (DVD)
After viewing the first season on DVD, I had to get this set RIGHT away!! This show just keeps getting better and needless to say I am now shamelessly addicted to this program!! With the limited "intelligent" shows now appearing on local and cable channels, GOOD QUALITY television like this must be supported so the executives of these networks will see that there ARE people out there who still appreciate entertaining, intelligent, dramatic shows!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, July 9 2004
By 
SG1 fan "Shepard" (Burnaby, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dead Zone: Complete Second Season [Import] (DVD)
The first season was good and well worth the money the second season is even better. The stories are fresh and you quickly come to know and like the characters involved. I highly recommend it. I loaned the first season to two friends. they both ended up buying season 1 & 2 because they liked it so much. 822 minutes of solid entertainment at a price so good you wish all boxed sets were this price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "The Dead Zone" gets even better in the Second Season, June 26 2004
By 
Lawrance M. Bernabo (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dead Zone: Complete Second Season [Import] (DVD)
The one thing definitely established by the second season of "The Dead Zone" is exactly how great of a job Michael Piller and Shawn Piller did of turning Stephen King's novel into a television series. The climax of the novel was Johnny Smith's desperate act to derail the future of political candidate Greg Stillson, an act which succeeds but at the cost of Johnny's life (although Johnny had an inoperable brain tumor at that point). In the series Johnny (Anthony Michael Hall) is still plagued by visions of the nuclear destruction of Washington, D.C., because of something Stillson (Sean Patrick Flanery) does in the future, but the moment of crisis has yet to come and by the end of the second season Johnny has serious doubts about his own role in the disaster to come. This may well be the climax of the series, but the Pillers have made that a future encounter, adding key elements to the developing situation ("Scars").
Equally important is that Stillson is no longer a thug turned populist demagogue but more of a traditional corrupt politician. This represents the attention paid to developing the key supporting characters. In this version Sarah (Nicole de Boer) is still married with a child, but the child is Johnny's and she is married to Sherrif Walt Bannerman (Chris Bruno), now spared from a fatal encounter of his own with a rabid St. Bernard named Cujo. What would have been a mandatory soap opera love triangle has been avoided, and indeed the two-part "Ascent"/"Descent" near the start of this second season resolves a lot of the inherent tensions in these relationships by bringing them into the open. In this season episodes start focusing on the relationship between Johnny and his son ("Plague," "The Mountain").
The series also takes advantage of three created characters. As Bruce Lewis (John L. Adams), Johnny's physical therapist turned friend, our hero has not only a sidekick ("Precipitate") but a willing ear for exposition and explanation. Then there is Dana Bright (Kristen Dalton), a reporter who becomes interested and then enamored with Johnny, providing another convert in the inner circle who can provide help. Finally, from Johnny's evangelical mother in the novel the series transmutes the Reverend Gene Purdy, who served as a villain at the beginning of the series before Stillson arrived, but now becomes both an ally ("Cabin Pressure," "Plague") and a voice of conscience ("Playing God").
The other key thing about this series is that it deals with a world in which Johnny Smith has a reputation in what can be considered a rather realistic manner. This means dealing with people who are out to get him in various ways ("Valley of the Shadow," "Misbegotten") as well as those who consider him to be a curiosity ("The Storm"). It also provides an interesting episode in which Johnny works with the government to try and "find" Osama Bin Laden ("The Hunt"). We also find "The Dead Zone" playing creatively with Johnny's powers when he has a blood transfusion ("Precipitate") and an interesting encounter with a woman in a bar ("Deja Voodoo"), and shares his visions with not only Bruce ("Zion") but a figure that has been haunting his life ("Visions"). These are probably the episodes that best indicate that this is a show that is both creative and intelligent. I thought the first season was pretty good, but the second is even better.
There are two things to know about the production schedule for the second season. First, the episode "The Hunt" was originally scheduled to be the 12th episode of the season and air on March 30, 2003 but was delayed until July 27 because of the outbreak of the war with Iraq. Second, "Zion" was supposed to be the final episode of the second season but the USA network asked for another six episodes starting with "The Storm." Called by fans "Season 2.5" this includes my favorite episode of the season, "Deja Voodoo," and a pivotal story arc involving the "Burned Man" (Frank Whaley). Good thing the Third Season is on right now because who wants to wait for the next DVD set for anything more than the great extras (even though they are undoing a couple of the points I praised above big time in the first half-dozen episodes).
Indeed, this set has some great extras because one additional thing that makes this DVD a class act is the high involvement of Anthony Michael Hall and others in the commentary track. Every episode has such a track and Hall is on most of them, as are most of the major guest stars, such as Hall's fellow alumni from "The Breakfast Club" Ally Sheedy ("Playing God"), Academy Award winning actor Louis Gossett, Jr. ("Zion"), and Reiko Aylesworth ("Deja Voodoo") from "24." There are several examples of storyboard comparisons with the finished episode and interviews with notable guest stars. In terms of fan friendly DVD extras "The Dead Zone" sets the standard for others to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Flat out amazing!!, June 18 2004
By 
Mitch Weaver (Houston, TX) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dead Zone: Complete Second Season [Import] (DVD)
Up until very recently, I was extremely skeptical about this show for two different reasons. The first and most obvious reason was because Anthony Michael Hall played the lead character. Most people including myself have only seen Anthony play nerdy characters in John Hughes movies, and other roles in unknown "B" films. The second reason why I was always skeptical, was because I figured that there was no way that a weekly television show could be made dealing with the characters from Stephen King's book and the film, because it is a story that is pretty specific and hard to stretch out. However, after I finished watching the first season of The Dead Zone, I became instantly hooked. But, going into the second season, I never could have prepared myself for how much better the show could get.
Once again, the second season of The Dead Zone lets Anthony Michael Hall show that he is a very decent actor that deserves to be taken seriously. He does such a wonderful job as Johnny Smith. Anthony makes the character extremely believeable and easy to connect with. The show also features a great mix of romance, drama, and suspense with all of the visions that Johnny receives, as well as Johnny trying to deal with the fact that the woman he loves is married to someone else. It is also great to see Johnny try and connect with his son, who has no idea that Johnny is his father. In the first season, Johnny's son would not even talk to him. Season two has Johnny and his son starting to become friends and bond more. The second season also manages to be even better than the first season in terms of episode quality and overall storytelling. In the second season, there is 19 episodes and there was only one episode that I could not get into. Every other episode grabbed my attention from the beginning and did not let go until the end credits. The second season of the show establishes that The Dead Zone is the most addictive and well done science fiction show since The X-Files. The second season of The Dead Zone is so addictive in fact, that I went through all 19 episodes over the span of two days.
Overall, the second season of The Dead Zone offers a fantastic array of quality episodes and wonderful performances from all the actors involved. This set offers one of the best seasons I have ever seen from any television program. It also offers outstanding picture and sound quality as well as tons of great extras. My favorite feature was definately the interviews with all the guest stars. It was very interesting to hear their take on the show and their roles. You also get deleted scenes and more.
A solid 5 stars...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another gripping season, Feb. 16 2004
By 
This review is from: Dead Zone: Complete Second Season [Import] (DVD)
I loved the book and the movie. I never miss the series. Even reruns are tremendous. In this season, several episodes are standouts. "Deja Voodoo" and "The Hunt" were dynamite episodes worth watching over and over again. "The Hunt" shows remote viewing, which is the ability to "see" things from a distant location. I had read about government use of remote viewing some 15 years ago! What they showed in this episode was similar to what I had read.
Here is a brief episode guide, which I hope will be helpful.
1. Valley of the Shadow: The kidnapper of a CEO's son is obsessed with Johnny.
2. Descent(1): Several teenagers are lost in an abandoned mine owned by Johnny's grandfather.
3. Ascent (2): Johnny psychically enters Walt's coma.
4. The Outsider: Johnny has a vision that a skin cream is responsible for severe birth defects in the future.
5. Precipitate: After Johnny is given a blood transfusion from 6 donors, he has visions of their lives.
6. Scars: Stillson's political rival is a war veteran. Guest star (gs): Gerald McRaney
7. Misbegotten: Three women kidnap Johnny and take him to a house where a family was killed.
8. Cabin Pressure: Johnny has a vision that the jet he is on will crash.
9. The Man Who Never Was: After a delivery person leaves an item belonging to a shut-in, Johnny gets a vision that he is disappearing. gs: Robert Culp.
10. Dead Men Tell Tales: Johnny saves the life of a mob boss and ends up in the middle of a mafia dispute.
11. Playing God: Johnny has a vision that a friend will die in a car accident. Every vision shows a worse outcome, whenever Johnny tries to save her. gs: Ally Sheedy.
12. Zion: Bruce's father has died and Bruce comes face to face with an unresolved past. gs: Louis Gossett, Jr.
13. The Storm: While Bruce is trying to bring Johnny to an intervention, Johnny has visions of a massive storm.
14. Plague: Johnny "sees" a high school science fair during which a deadly illness spreads to the children.
15. Deja Voodoo: Johnny has a vision of a romantic encounter with a beautiful woman that ends in her death. (Especially good and unpredictable.)
16. The Hunt: Johnny participates in remote viewing sponsored by the CIA. Osama Bin Laden as a target is implied but never spoken. (Gripping episode.)
17. The Mountain: Johnny has a vision that a plane with valuable cargo had crashed in the mountains.
18. The Combination: Johnny's vision is that a boxer will die during a fight.
19. Visions: A man from the future asks for Johnny's help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beats the hell out of the first season!, Feb. 2 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Dead Zone: Complete Second Season [Import] (DVD)
Ahhhh... the Dead Zone season two. A high point not just in T.V in general, but in the shows own history as well. Season one set a new high-water mark for one-hour thriller/drama series everywhere; it was fresh, innovative and clever, and season two took things to the next level. It did what season one did, only better, and without any bad episoides either (season one had a couple of below-par episoides).
From the opener, it's clear that this season is going to be something special, if it can keep up the pace. And it does. Just when you think it can't possibly get any better, it does, crossing a wide range of genres at the same time, yet still remaining true to form. There is horror (the episoide where Johnny gets kidnapped and taken to a decrepid farm house by three young film makers, who, in turn are being stalked by a psychotic killer who killed a family in the same house years ago. A breathtaking and, occasionally, disturbing episoide.) and emotional episoides (one stands out in particular; 'Playing God', where Johnny tries to stop one of his friends from dying, but, whatever he does, cannot change the eventual outcome) and even one episoide devoted more or less entirely to Johnny's side-kick Bruce. This is a very confusing episode, but one of my favourites.
Of course, all this is building up to the eventual finale, which was, quite frankly, stunning, and set things up perfectly for season three. If the writers handle the possibilites it opened up well, then i have no doubt that season three will be fantastic.
All in all, season two is a great buy; the acting is still superb (especially from Anthony Michale Hall), the writing is innovative and the direction is fresh and crisp. Anyone who enjoyed season one will love this, and, as for anyone who hasn't seen the Dead Zone before, well, this is still a fantastic buy, although it would be a good idea to buy season one first to catch up to speed with whats going on.
overall, amazing, and leaves you unable to wait for season three. I know i can't wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Amazing Second Season., Dec 27 2003
By 
John (Lockport, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dead Zone: Complete Second Season [Import] (DVD)
When season one first debuted, I loved it. When the season ended, I loved it more. Not only did it satisfy viewers with plots from the book and original movie, it gave us a killer cliff-hanger.
When season two debuted I was somewhat dissapointed. The premier wasn't that great of an episode, and I heard ratings were low. But by the time the first 6-7 episodes had aired, I knew this season was going to be the best. Some of the episodes hit you hard, like "Playing God", where no matter what Johnny does, he must choose the life of one of two friends. There is no winner. The "Sexy Summer Seven", including the originally deleted episode, "The Hunt", were also some of my favorites. The season finale of season two not only surpassed season one's, it set up the plot for season three. You can't deny Johnny is going to be different next season.
If Lion's Gate gives the same effort into this set as they did with season one's, it is a must own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Show on Cable, July 8 2004
By 
Justin (North Dakota) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dead Zone: Complete Second Season [Import] (DVD)
Just bought the box set the other day and finished it in two days. That is 19 episodes of pure genius. Something new every episode while maintaining "The Dead Zone" look. Favorite episode was "Playing God," where Johnny (Anthony Michael Hall) has to decide who lives and who dies. Easily the most emotional episode I have seen on any T.V. show for a while.
The DVD presents very good picture, better than some high budget Hollywood DVDs. Even better was the 5.1 Dolby Digital track. The soundtrack remained low key during the moments that occurred in reality and really kicked into gear when Johnny entered "The Dead Zone."
I recommend this to all fans, not just science fiction ones. Every episode was great and interesting and it had great heart. Go out and buy this now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dead Zone: Complete Second Season [Import]
CDN$ 21.92
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews