Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Friends - The Complete 7th Season!!!
The Seventh Series of Friends, I hate to admit, is not my favourite. I believe the storylines are a little to mundane and the actors try and do the best with what they're given. Their are 24 episodes in all. Below is a description of each to refresh your memories.
The One With Monica's Thunder - Chandler begins to worry about his performance in the bedroom. Monica...
Published on Jan. 23 2004 by S. N. LLOYD-COOMBS

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good season, with some considerations.
I stopped watching Friends after the second season, when I started working in high school and became interested in other things. Thankfully, my spouse's interest in the series resulted in us buying every season on DVD, and I was quite surprised to find a very, very good show.
Season 7, while containing many highlights, ranks least among the Friends seasons currently...
Published on May 5 2004 by adayinthelife1979


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Friends - The Complete 7th Season!!!, Jan. 23 2004
By 
S. N. LLOYD-COOMBS (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Friends - The Complete Seventh Season (DVD)
The Seventh Series of Friends, I hate to admit, is not my favourite. I believe the storylines are a little to mundane and the actors try and do the best with what they're given. Their are 24 episodes in all. Below is a description of each to refresh your memories.
The One With Monica's Thunder - Chandler begins to worry about his performance in the bedroom. Monica catches Rachel and Ross kissing and thinks Rachel is trying to upstage her recent engagement

The One With Rachel's Book - Everyone begins planning for Chandler and Monica's wedding - except her parents, who blow her wedding money on a beach house.

The One With Phoebe's Cookies - Phoebe holds the key to the best-tasting cookies ever, which drives chef Monica crazy. Rachel gets high-handed while trying to teach Joey how to sail.
The One With Rachel's Assistant - Given the chance to employ her own assistant, Rachel overlooks more able female candidates in favour of a young, attractive man.

The One With The Engagement Picture - While taking an engagement picture for himself and Monica, Chandler can't help pulling a weird face.

The One With The Nap Partners - Rachel and Phoebe compete to be Monica's maid of honour. Joey and Ross find themselves in awkward positions after a nap.

The One With Ross's Library Book - Monica runs into Janice and accidentally invites her to the wedding. Ross is upset that his dissertation is in the section of the library where students go to make out.

The One Where Chandler Doesn't Like Dogs - Tag joins the gang for Thanksgiving dinner, where Joey proceeds to spill the beans about Rachel's crush on him. Phoebe sneaks a dog into the apartment, making Chandler extremely nervous

The One With All The Candy - Monica decides to make candy for the neighbors in her apartment building so that she can get to know all of them.

The One With the Holiday Armadillo - Chandler and Monica go on a special date, where he realizes he's not as smooth as her ex, Richard. Phoebe worries that Rachel would rather stay living with Joey instead of moving into their new apartment together.
The One With All The Cheesecakes - Monica is hurt when she isn't invited to her cousin's wedding but Ross is.

The One Where They're Up All Night - Ross assembles the gang on the roof to watch a meteor shower, but becomes trapped up there with Joey.

The One Where Rosita Dies - Phoebe's first day as a telemarketer takes a bizarre turn when she encounters a distraught office supply manager who wants to end it all.

The One Where They All Turn Thirty - As the gang celebrate Rachel's 30th birthday, she ponders what she should do to achieve her remaining life ambitions. The others look back at their own 30th birthday parties.

The One With Joey's New Brain - Joey accidentally tells a fellow cast member on 'Days of Our Lives' that she is to be fired.
The One With The Truth About London - Chandler finds out that Monica actually wanted to sleep with Joey in London.
The One With The Cheap Wedding Dress - Monica regrets telling a fellow bride-to-be about a cheaper bridal store when she has to fight the woman tooth and nail for a unique wedding dress.

The One With Joey's Award - Joey is nominated for a Soapy award and takes Rachael as his date. Ross's student confesses that he has fallen in love with him.
The One With Ross and Monica's Cousin - When Ross and Monica's alluring cousin arrives for a visit, her beauty causes serious distractions for all the men who meet her, including Ross.
The One With Rachel's Big Kiss - An embarrassed Rachel bumps into her old sorority sister and wonders whether to confront her old friend about an incident from their college days.
The One With The Vows - Monica and Chandler try to write their wedding vows, with both asking the others for help.
The One With Chandler's Dad - Monica convinces a reluctant Chandler to travel to Las Vegas and invite his estranged father to their wedding.
The One With Monica and Chandler's Wedding, Part 1 - Monica and Chandler have the rehersal dinner, chandler freaks out and disappears. Ross and Phoebe look for him while Rachel keeps monica from knowing.
The One With Monica and Chandler's Wedding, Part 2 - Ross and Phoebe find a panicked Chandler at his office and take him home to get ready, but he disappears again when he learns what Phoebe and Rachel know.
EXTRAS - Audio Commentary, Gag Reel, Friends of Friends Part 2, Monica's wedding book trivia challenge, Gunther spills the beans about Series 8.
A must have box set for Friends fanatics anywhere!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just Finnished Watching on TV, June 21 2004
By 
Chris (St.Louis,MO) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Friends - The Complete Seventh Season (DVD)
I will rate these more later but I will do it first here.
1.The One with Monicas Thunder-This will get a 8/10
2.The One with Rachels book-N/A
3.The One with Phoebes cookies-9/10
4.The One with Rachels assistant-5/10
5.The One with the enlargement picture-9/10
6.The One with the Nap Partners-10/10
7.The One with Ross's library book-9/10
8.The One where Chandler does not like dogs-10/10
9.The One with all the Candy-9/10
10. The One with the Holiday Armadillo-10/10
11.The One with all the cheescakes-9/10
13.The One where Rosita dies-10/10
12.The One where there up all night-9/10
14.The One where they all turn 30-9/10
15.The One where Joey gets a new brain-9/10
16.The One with the Tuth about London-9/10
17.The One with the cheap wedding dresses-8/10
18.The One with Joeys Award-10/10
19.The One with Ross and Monica's cousin-9/10
20.The One with Rachels big kiss-10/10
21.The One with the Vows-Just flashbacks N/A
22.The One with Chandlers Dad-8/10
23.The One with Monica and Chandlers wedding-9
24.Same episode -8

Rachel would only get about a 7 on this season
Chandler would get a 8 on this season
Joey would get a 9.5 on this season
Ross would get a 7.5 on this season
Phoebe would get a 8 on this season
Monica would get a 7.5 on this season
193/200-96.5% possible better then Season 6 will get a 5
The Criteria would be 17(6)-23Pts this gets a 4.5 stars
combine these two totals to end up with about a 4.75
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great package, not the best season, but very good, but...., June 1 2004
By 
M. Fonseca "carmarthen" (Thunder) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Friends - The Complete Seventh Season (DVD)
This is a good season, but my opinion is suspicious, because I like them all. Anyway, it's impossible to not notice how this season is inferior to 1-6.
Altough I'm a great fan, I am not fanatic. Unlike some reviewers and FRIENDS fans in general, I would never make the mistake of confounding the characters with the actors. The characters, I love them, and that's why I like the show. The actors, I don't give a sh...t. (of course, they don't give a sh..it about me also).Why?
Because it's clear they just realized they hit the jackpot and all of them were on a race to squeeze the greatest quantity of money possible while the show lasted. They were spoiled by NBC and Warner in a way no sitcom star ever was.
In interviews (like the recent Jay Leno's Tonight Show, the day of the last episode, or even in Oprah) all the cast have an extremely annoying aloof attitude towards the interview. They don't seem interested at all in the questions, of giving new information, of enjoying it (Schwimmer being the most boring of them, and Le Blanc the more friendly - but one can not say if that's because he knows he will remain at the spotlight with his spin-off "Joey" and still need "audience acceptance"....)
They are rich and they really live like extremely rich people, all with buying houses that cost more than three million dollars, and I've never heard any donation or charity work made by them.
As another reviewer put it, the fact that, up until now, there are simply NO interviews or introduction by ANY of the six cast members can show only indifference.
That's it. I enjoy the product,not the actors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good season, with some considerations., May 5 2004
This review is from: Friends - The Complete Seventh Season (DVD)
I stopped watching Friends after the second season, when I started working in high school and became interested in other things. Thankfully, my spouse's interest in the series resulted in us buying every season on DVD, and I was quite surprised to find a very, very good show.
Season 7, while containing many highlights, ranks least among the Friends seasons currently in release (1-7). Although I recommend it heartily to any fan, I would caution anyone considering this Season to be their first Friends purchase (either start at 1 or 4).
Some comments:
1. For whatever reason (health, addiction, or possibly bad writing), Matthew Perry is not in full form this season. In fact, during the season opener, he appears to have some trouble either physically speaking or remembering his lines (he has no timing in this episode). Luckily, he gets better, and by the third episode, appears to be back in form. However, as a character, it appears the writers decided to focus away from him and eliminate his one-liners (odd, considering the end-of-the-year wedding would seem to put him in the forefront). As is, he is now playing straight man to the other five, when the opposite should be true. Perhaps the writers knew of his personal problems and thought he could not handle that role. My understanding is that this improves in Season 8, so hopefully Chandler really becomes Chandler again.
2. Because the season seems singularly focused on Monica/Chandler's wedding, the writing is more frequently on autopilot in this season. To compensate, there is a deluge of star cameos. Unfortunately, the cameos work about half the time (Jason Alexander, yes; Denise Richards, no). Kathleen Turner plays an important relative to a primary character (I won't spoil it for you)...however, despite designing an entire episode for her (as well as a significant part of the finale), her role is underwritten severely. Considering the nature of her character, they could have used her better (and funnier), and her appearance, while a shrewd choice, is disappointing. As always, Christina Pickles and Elliot Gould do a wonderful job as Ross and Monica's parents; they have probably been the best "recurring cameos" in television history.
3. The finale is poorly conceived. Our knowledge of Chandler would expect him to get cold feet. What do the writers do? Fulfill our expectations and give him cold feet. Wouldn't it have made more sense to have Chandler be perfectly fine with the wedding...yet, write or do something to make all the others THINK he was losing it? As is, this is a ho-hum episode until the final five minutes...when the inevitable occurs (in a well-done fashion) and a key secret is revealed. However, this falls even with Season 3 as probably the worst final episode of friends.
Despite these pitfalls, Season 7 had its moments:
1. The One with the Holiday Armadillo. This is, by far, the best Friends episode ever written (up to the end of Season 7). Its concept is wonderfully conceived (and relevant, considering the growing number of Jewish--non-Jewish parent couples)...and its execution is hilarious...downright hilarious. This is the episode that, when I saw it in syndication, renewed my interest in Friends and caused me to buy the first season on DVD.
2. Matt Le Blanc. Perhaps in order to make up for Matthew Perry's decreased function as a character, Joey became much stronger. Season 7 is Joey's time to shine. His character became both funnier and more complex (watch him in The One with All the Cheesecakes...as he and Phoebe's friendship becomes temporarily strained). This season established Matt Le Blanc as more than a lucky, prettyboy actor with a role that simply matches his personality...Joey became flesh and blood in this season.
Overall: 3 out of 5 stars. Not a good first Friends DVD purchase, but worthwhile for fans and collectors...if you have the first 6, might as well get this one too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps the Best Season Ever!, April 17 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Friends - The Complete Seventh Season (DVD)
As the sitcom is counting the days to its series finale, many have bought this deluxe 4-disc set of Season 7. Season 7 is one of my personal favorites because the gang is preparing for Chandler and Monica's wedding! For once, the spotlight is on the couple instead of the whole Ross and Rachel relationship, and it is relieving. There were many faboulous episodes this season including:
The One With Rachel's Book- Joey finds Rachel's late night reading material and makes fun of her.
The One With Phoebe's Cookies- Monica tries to replicate Phoebe's grandmother's cookie recipe. Chandler has some bonding time with his future father-in-law. Joey and Rachel go sailing.
The One With the Holiday Armadillo- Ross teaches his son Ben about Chanukkah.
The One With All the Candy- Monica makes holiday candy for the neighbors, and they take advantage of her. Ross buys Phoebe a bike and teaches her how to ride it.
The One With Joey's New Brain- Joey tells one of the Days of Our Lives actors that she is being written out of the show.
The One With Ross and Monica's Cousin- Cassie, their cousin, comes for a visit distracting all the guys. Joey has an audition which requires him to be uncircumsised.
The One With All the Cheesecakes- Rachel and Chandler enjoy eating the cheesecake of their neighbor.
The One With Chandler and Monica's Wedding- Chandler goes missing on the eve of their wedding, and someone finds out she is pregnant. Of course, Chandler and Monica are happily married by minister Joey.
This season was absolutely more realistic than most seasons because of the wedding jitters the couple deal with. Season 7 is very hilarious, moving, and just plain sweet. Plus, there are the special features including the producers' commentary, gag reel, and the trailer for the Emmy-winning Season 8. This season cannot be missed! If you have not started your collection yet, this is a great season to start with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars We All Keep Missing One Thing..., April 6 2004
By 
David Mick (Desloge, Missouri United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Friends - The Complete Seventh Season (DVD)
I Love Friends, I really do. I think it has a wonderful cast, the writing is excellent. I have seasons 1-7 so far and I will buy them all, but I honestly think it is missing one thing. The Cast!You may not agree with me or you may. Either way it must be said. I am a collector of T.V. season sets, I have a lot of them. When "Will & Grace" came out with their first season set, they were on it, introducing the set. You could tell they were proud. Unfortunately, in all the Friends sets, they chose not to come on them. I take this personal. It says to me, they probably wanted a lot of money to do this. I am not saying they shouldn't get paid for it but it does show you they could care less about their Fans. Sad, but, true. I really don't want to believe that but the facts are the facts. They could at least show up on them for only 10 minutes. We have Marta Kaufman, who I am sure is proud of the show but she seems like she is a name dropper who likes to pretend like she is closer to the cast than she probably is. And, I am sure she laughs at EVERYTHING!! they do. That's the way it is when you like to think you matter. Oh,well, it's just an observation. All I am saying is when the 10th season comes out on DVD,someone from the cast should show up and give the Fans what they deserve, stop sending Gunther out to do your intro's. Courtney seems like she would do it, she seems kinder than the rest. Stop all the fluff, some of us notice these things! I really am going to miss the show. Bravo to Warner Bros. for not making us wait so long in between sets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My Favorite Season !, Jan. 18 2004
This review is from: Friends - The Complete Seventh Season (DVD)
The seventh season of Friends is for sure my favorite season ever ! With great episodes like "The One With Monica's Thunder", "The One With Rachel's Book", "The One With The Nap Partners", "The One With All the Cheesecakes", and much more !... And the seventh season is also the first one introducing the Super Sizes episodes such as "The One With The Truth About London" and "The One With Joey's New Brain" with Susan Sarandon guest-starring !
Above all, the Season Finale is the best one Friends ever produced ! With great stoylines, suspens and guest stars (Gary Oldman, Morgan Fairchild and Kathleen Turner as Chandler's dad !), the cliffhanger is insufferable and the only thing we want to do at the end is to watch the Season 8 Premiere !
Also guest-starring this season : Eddie Cahill, Denise Richard, Winona Ryder ans more !
The seventh season is also a season with a lot of humour, emotion and friendship (well... It's Friends actually ! ;-).
From Rachel's crush on her new younger assistant to her pregnancy; from Monica's wedding plans to her wedding ceremony; from Phoebe's secret cookies recipe to her secret kiss with Rachel; from Joey's laugh finding Rachel's dirty book to his movie collaboration with Oldman; from Chandler's strained smile in pictures to his runaway marriage plan; from Ross's nap with Joey to his crush on her cousin...
Plus, with Never-Before-Seen Moments on every episode making each moment with them even more special, an hilarious Gag Reel, Monica's Wedding Book Trivia Challenge, Friends of Friends Celebrity Interviews and Producers Commentaries, you can't lose with "Friends" and its best season ever !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the funniest seasons, April 5 2004
By 
This review is from: Friends - The Complete Seventh Season (DVD)
I do not understand why people complain about this particular season. There were a lot of great moments throughout the year. Joey pretended to be something he didn't have, Rachel turns thirty, Chandler sat on his future father-in-law's lap, Ross took a nap with Joey, Phoebe learned how to ride a bike, and Monica had the thunder. Also, the guest stars druing the season were hilarious. Denise Richards as the Geller's cousin made me laugh the entire time. Kathleen Turner was great playing Chandler's dad, and Susan Sarandon was a soap opera actor so full of herself. Of course, the biggest moment of the year was Chandler and Monica's wedding. This season had a lot of fatuous moments and heartwarming ones as well. This season is also longer because of the supersized episodes when there were the rating competitions. I greatly recommend this season, and this is an excellent season to start with if you haven't already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Season, May 19 2004
By 
A. Perschbacher "thegreatfizz" (Pawnee, IL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Friends - The Complete Seventh Season (DVD)
Thanks to "FROM EARTH" for pointing out the problems with American culture. I really care to hear those things on a page reserved for sensible reviews based on a product one may even know something about. I really care that Seinfeld is apparently so much better. I really care that your wasting your time sending rediculous comments and debating a television show using posted reviews. That's really constructive of you.
Enough with that sarcasm. This is probably my favorite season of the show, despite some apparent behind the scenes issues, I personally think this is the season that sort-of reinvented the show. Maybe it was just the fact that I can name a dozen things I didn't like about season 6, but it may also be that season 7 was just that good. The guests in this season are among the best, Gary Oldman is simply hilarious in his brief role in the season finale. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Seventh Feast Of Friends, Feb. 12 2004
By 
DEAN M. Dent (SAN LEANDRO, CALIFORNIA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Friends - The Complete Seventh Season (DVD)
Season Seven of Friends is considered the weakest ever compared to the quality of the earlier seasons.It was the year leading up to Chandler and Monica's wedding.But with some weak plots, and Matthew Perry's fluctuating physical appearence, the show seemed on the verge of fatigue.
Despite such shortcomings, the season boasted such episodes as ...The One with Phoebe's Cookies,... the Engagement Picture,...all the Candy,...all the Cheesecakes,...they all Turn Thirty,...Ross and Monica's Cousin,and Monica and Chandler's Wedding.
Just when you think season seven ends with two shark jumping elements (a wedding and pregnancy), The following season bounces back in a way unexpected for any eighth season (if a show even gets that far).Although season seven was the weakest in terms of Friends other seasons, it was still alot funnier than most shows on the air at the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Friends - The Complete Seventh Season
Friends - The Complete Seventh Season by Stephen Prime (DVD - 2004)
CDN$ 37.48 CDN$ 29.15
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews