Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Frankenstein
I love the Frankenstein Collection. It brings back a time in my childhood when I use to sit horror stricken in our local movie theatre which is no longer here. Looking at the movies now they are quite humerous but brought back a lot of wonderful memories.
Published on March 28 2012 by Lynnie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great movies....awful packaging!
Hey Universal, ever heard of a keep case?
I was horrified to see that Universal wasted the great cover art for this collection on a nasty cardboard box that's going to look good for about 10 minutes.
It would have looked great in a regular double dvd case.
Who makes these stupid decisions?
Otherwise, a great collection.
Published on June 6 2004 by C. Cox


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Frankenstein, March 28 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Frankenstein: The Legacy Collection (Frankenstein / The Bride of Frankenstein / Son of Frankenstein / The Ghost of Frankenstein / House of Frankenstein) (DVD)
I love the Frankenstein Collection. It brings back a time in my childhood when I use to sit horror stricken in our local movie theatre which is no longer here. Looking at the movies now they are quite humerous but brought back a lot of wonderful memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It Doesn't get much better than this!, Sept. 20 2009
By 
Tim Davis (Calgary, AB, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Frankenstein: The Legacy Collection (Frankenstein / The Bride of Frankenstein / Son of Frankenstein / The Ghost of Frankenstein / House of Frankenstein) (DVD)
For those of you who remember staying up late at night as a kid to catch an old horror movie, this collection is a gem.
Having seen the original Frankenstein on sale at a well known retail outlet for over $35.00, the oportunity to own five of these movies for much less was too good to pass up.
These movies are, as far as I can tell, the original uncut versions. They are actually more disturbing than I recall, probably due to the lack of commercials that gave me time to catch my breath as a kid. Karloff was a master at portraying the monster's frustration with mankind, and Universal Pictures knew exactly how to arrange sets and lighting to ensure that you checked over your shoulder, from time to time.
Glenn Strange is perhaps less of a master of the monster in "House of Frankenstein", but Karloff as Dr.Nieman brings the creepyness back into this film.
I agree with one reviewer that said you should purchase now, before Universal finds out that they have made a mistake in releasing these movies. I would have probably paid $35.00 for the one movie.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Karloff-The player-king of movie monsters!, March 6 2008
By 
Robert Badgley (St Thomas,Ontario,Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Frankenstein: The Legacy Collection (Frankenstein / The Bride of Frankenstein / Son of Frankenstein / The Ghost of Frankenstein / House of Frankenstein) (DVD)
This is my second retro-review in as many days.This time it is the companion set to the Mummy franchise,Universals'Legacy Collection of the original "Frankenstein" franchise.I have decided from time to time to go back into my collection and pick out titles that I have never touched and do a retro-review on them like this one.
This set is one of my more prized ones.Five movies are here starting with the absolute horror classic that spawned and inspired countless such films that came after it,the original 1931 "Frankenstein" starring the inimitable Boris Karloff.Karloff had been in the business for some years as a minor player in silent and early sound films.But it was this role that was to change his career and life forever and make him a household name almost overnight.I recall my mothers' recollections of this film on seeing it on its' debut run as a young girl.She always remembered the scene with the little girl being thrown into the water and that the entire picture scared the begeesus out of her.It still has the ability to scare and terrify even today.
Everybody is familiar with the plots of at least the first two films,"Frankenstein" and "The Bride of Frankenstein"(1935).They involve the doings of one Dr.Frankenstein(the monster had no name and was never called Frankenstein) who becomes obsessed with reanimating dead tissue.This leads him,with his assistant Ygor,to try his theories on human bodies;the fresher the better.When finally the good doctor brings to life his experiment the monster he has created becomes hard to handle.It is basically trying to get a grasp on his unusual situation but is being pulled in many directions at once.He escapes and has a few encounters with outsiders but his actions are totally misconstrued.He ends up being hunted down and eventually "perishes" inside Frankensteins' castle.
"The Bride of Frankenstein" stars Karloff again and this time the doctor wants to right the wrongs he made the first time.The monster has come a long way from his original animation and eventually persuades the doctor that he needs a companion.The doctor reluctantly obliges realizing though that another one is going to double his woes if not handled just right.He re-animates from body parts a woman for the original monsters' desires.The minute she awakes however it is the doctor she clings to and is abhorred at the sight of her expectant mate.Frankenstein again goes crazy which only ends with his "demise".
Part of the reason these two films are veritable classics is that they reek with atmosphere.As I stated in my recent Mummy review Universal was without peer when it came to creating the right sets and lighting to generate the proper look that it wanted.And the work they did in these films are benchmarks and without question still stand the test of time.
The next film in the series is "Son of Frankenstein"(1939).Basil Rathbone stars as the the deceased doctors' son who 25 years later comes back to his fathers' home.There is no warm reception for the young man who also happens to be a doctor.Wandering through the castle ruins one day he finds Ygor,played by Bela Lugosi.Ygor introduces the son to the monster(Karloff) who is still alive.Ygor wants the doctor to help him which he does but both are at cross purposes.The doctor thinks maybe he can somehow regain control of it while Ygor is suspicious of his plans and has other nefarious ideas of his own for the monster.Ygor eventually gets the monster on a killing spree which arouses the local townsfolk again.The hunt is on but not before the doctors' own son is kidnapped by the monster.It's touch and go but the monster is eventually pushed into the sulphur pit below the castle ruins.The doctor in disgrace ups and leaves the town for good.Karloff again plays the monster with some degree of feeling and sensitivity,things that would be lacking in the next two films.
"The Ghost of Frankenstein" finds Ygor still inhabiting the ruins of the castle.The townsfolk also get wind of this fact and decide to blow the place up once and for all.One explosion goes off and Ygor stumbles across the monster(Lon Chaney).Both escape and look back as the castle is totally blown away.They seek out the other son of the late doctor,Ludwig Frankenstein(Sir Cedric Hardwicke),who with the help of a receptive colleague has also been experimenting in the reanimation of dead tissue,but not to the extent of his late father.The monster and Ygor boldly walk through the village and when the monster helps a little girl retrieve her ball from a rooftop,the townspeople misinterpret the gesture and he is captured by the local constabulary and thrown in jail.Ygor goes to Ludwig and tells him the situation.Ygor retrieves the monster and when both show up Ludwig gases both of them.Ludwig wants to take the monster apart piece by piece but changes his mind when the ghost of his father shows up to persuade him otherwise.Instead Ludwig decides to transplant the brain of a more normal person into the monsters' head.However his assistant double crosses him and switches the good brain for Ygors'.The monster awakes but shortly learns the implant will not take as Ygors' blood type was not compatible with the monsters'.He goes on a suicidal rampage destroying the lab and house with himself in it.
"The House Of Frakenstein"(1944) involves the story of a disgraced and jailed Dr.Nieman(Karloff) who has obviously studied Dr.Frankensteins' lamentable methodology with a friend who bears a remarkable resemblance to Ygor.They escape and run into a wandering showman called Lampini.It seems Lampini has the skeleton of Count Dracula.Nieman kills Lampini and takes his identity.He raises Count Dracula(played by John Carradine)back to the living to do his bidding and take revenge on those that imprisoned him.But Dracula can't be restrained and he goes on a silent killing spree throughout the area.Nieman/Lampini with his friend and Dracula in tow try to outrun the town posse but Dracula is killed in the chase.The two escapees come to the ruins of Frankensteins' castle where they find the Wolfman(Lon Chaney) and the monster(Glenn Strange) encased in ice.Nieman tells the Wolfman that he will operate on him to relieve him of his affliction but in due course The Wolfman finds out that Nieman seems much more interested in the monster than in him.This leads to conflict between them and the Wolfman changes and starts to kill.He ends up being shot and killed and Nieman and the monster are pursued by an angry mob.Nieman is injured and the monster helps him to make their getaway but he takes him in the wrong direction and both disappear into a pit of quicksand.
To supplement this amazing collection(the best of the Legacy series) are some very fine additions.All theatrical trailers are here along with the 1931,1938 and 1951 re-issue trailers."Boo" a cute but odd short film is here along with poster galleries for the first two movies,"She's Alive" a documentary about "The Bride of Frankenstein",another documentary called "The Frankenstein Files:How Hollywood made a monster" and finally a take on the making of the Frankenstein films by the director of "Van Helsing",Stephen Sommers.
By all standards this release gets top marks all the way.The films have been wonderfully remastered and restored and are very clean and crisp.I highly recommend this set to everyone but as an ESSENTIAL to the collection of anyone who has even the slightest interest in the horror genre of motion pictures.The first two films here are absolute essentials and both still quicken the pulse and startle even a jaded fan like myself after all these years.This release has been around for about four years now.May I suggest if you haven't already that you get yours today before it is gone forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, July 14 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Frankenstein: The Legacy Collection (Frankenstein / The Bride of Frankenstein / Son of Frankenstein / The Ghost of Frankenstein / House of Frankenstein) (DVD)
Being born in the 50's and enjoyin the classic Universal Horror Movies in the 60's was a great time for Horror Movies.
The Frankenstien DVD collection is excellent to say the least, especially seeing "House of Frankentstien" again, along with my other favorite, "Son of Frankenstien". It's real nice to see 5 Classic Horror Films on one DVD set. I would highly reccomend this to anyone who remembers the horror movies of the 50's and 60's, and to those who don't? go out and buy this DVD. It puts the new "slice 'em/dice 'em" movies to shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's About Franken' Time!, July 4 2004
This review is from: Frankenstein: The Legacy Collection (Frankenstein / The Bride of Frankenstein / Son of Frankenstein / The Ghost of Frankenstein / House of Frankenstein) (DVD)
Look, don't read this, just buy this thing before Universal realizes what they've done! They've opened their rusty old vault doors and let their most prized creations escape into open air! FRANKENSTEIN (dir.James Whale, w/ Colin Clive, Mae Clarke, Boris Karloff, Dwight Frye) is loose! His BRIDE (dir. James Whale again! w/ Colin Clive, Elsa Lanchester, Boris Karloff, Dwight Frye) too! Their hideous SON (Boris Karloff, Bela Lugosi, Basil Rathbone, Lionel Atwill) is also rampaging! If that's not enough, the GHOST OF FRANKENSTEIN (Lon Chaney jr., Bela Lugosi, Lionel Atwill, Sir Cedric Hardwicke) now walks among us as well! Yes, this collection has them all, and tosses in the HOUSE OF FRANKENSTEIN (Boris Karloff, Lon Chaney jr., John Carradine, George Zucco, Lionel Atwill) that long overgrown piece of wretched real estate! Hurry, before Universal slams those creaky doors shut once more! If you're a horror nut like yours truly, then this is a nightmare come true! Highest recommendation...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Its alive! ITS ALIVE, June 28 2004
By 
Tricer1447 "wolfchin" (mountain of deceased) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Frankenstein: The Legacy Collection (Frankenstein / The Bride of Frankenstein / Son of Frankenstein / The Ghost of Frankenstein / House of Frankenstein) (DVD)
What a great collection. I had Frankenstein and the Bride on VHS but getting them again on DVD was great. I have all three legacy collections. The Bride is the best, Frankenstein is the second best, Son is the third, House is the fourth and Ghost is the fifth. I like all five altough its obvious Ghost and House were made for entertainment. I heard they're working on a third Mummy movie. Wonder if they'll release the original Mummy series in a legacy set? I liked the Mummy movies and Van Helsing and I have to wonder what Stephen Sommers next project could be. The Invisible Man? That would be interesting. With his seris also in a legacy set? For now I'm satisfied though (but I hope that does happen)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars classis universal, June 27 2004
By 
robert pounders (astoria, oregon United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Frankenstein: The Legacy Collection (Frankenstein / The Bride of Frankenstein / Son of Frankenstein / The Ghost of Frankenstein / House of Frankenstein) (DVD)
not a bad package...sound is good and picture quality good but still no great extras..only historian soundtracks on frankenstein and bride..all others none but print quality on all is good...just wish they could make more from people who worked in the films if they are alive...also still waiting for the great universal fifties science fiction classics...my recommendation are incredible shrinking man...monolith monsters..tarantula..etc...if someone knows if these are coming please let me know and if enough of us request they maybe released soon i hope...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Own!, June 16 2004
By 
The Dark Knight (Iowa United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Frankenstein: The Legacy Collection (Frankenstein / The Bride of Frankenstein / Son of Frankenstein / The Ghost of Frankenstein / House of Frankenstein) (DVD)
After obtaining this collection for $20 at a local retail store, I knew I was getting more than my money's worth! The films are shown in the best picture form and the sound is very crisp and clear!
Out of all the three Legacy sets, this one has the best selection of films on it.
My only gripe was that mine included a plate of the Van Helsing Frankenstein version and it was GLUED to the collector's box! After wiping the glue off with a damp cloth and quickly drying it, it looks like new. But sadly, the glue with the dampness from the cloth sort of made the front part of my Dracula box bubbly. So be careful when cleaning them if you get a Van Helsing plate with yours! They should have just shrinked wrapped the plates with the film instead of gluing them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great movies....awful packaging!, June 6 2004
By 
C. Cox "chardean" (Bronaugh, MO United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Frankenstein: The Legacy Collection (Frankenstein / The Bride of Frankenstein / Son of Frankenstein / The Ghost of Frankenstein / House of Frankenstein) (DVD)
Hey Universal, ever heard of a keep case?
I was horrified to see that Universal wasted the great cover art for this collection on a nasty cardboard box that's going to look good for about 10 minutes.
It would have looked great in a regular double dvd case.
Who makes these stupid decisions?
Otherwise, a great collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's about time!, June 1 2004
By 
This review is from: Frankenstein: The Legacy Collection (Frankenstein / The Bride of Frankenstein / Son of Frankenstein / The Ghost of Frankenstein / House of Frankenstein) (DVD)
This collection has been long overdue! Savor it! Relish it! The ultimate Universal collection in all of its digitally remastered glory will NOT disapppoint the true fans of the genre nor any low key fan either. Frankenstein collection includes the 1931 RESTORED version("Now I know what it feels like to BE GOD!"), the superior 1935 sequel BRIDE (Elsa Lanchester's bust line has never looked better!), solid sequel SON, 1942's Ghost, and the very good HOUSE OF(1944).
Bride of Frankenstein will always be my fave from Universal's vault of horror and the commentary is highly engaging. Watch it without and then with. Maybe someday Universal will release the fully restored 90 minute version of Bride that includes the Dwight Frye murder subplot involving Auntie and Uncle Glutz, the Goldstadt Morgue inquest scene, the monster's assault on E.E. Clive's(Was he Colin's brother?) burgomeister, Dr. Pretorious's OTHER little person in jar scene(part of which can still be glimpsed in this version), and the extended prologue with even more of busty Lanchester.
The films, themselves, look extraordinary on DVD. They are crisp, clear and sound magnificent. One interesting feature with regard to 'Frankenstein' and 'Bride Of' is the special features involving still photos with background music. Noteworthy:Bride of Frankenstein was one of the first films to have a fully orchestrated score just for the film. There is even a gem of commentary in which we learn that a rumour circulated of Franz Waxman suing Rodgers and Hammerstein(Listen to Bali Hi from South Pacific and tell me that it does not evoke the 3-note creation sequence from Bride!). Theatrical trailers are a riot, but why was Valerie Hobson the only actor in which Universal superimposed a title card over her preview scene? My only complaint is that Universal should have included Abbott and Costello Meet Frankenstein(read my review of this one).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews