Customer Reviews


108 Reviews
5 star:
 (99)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Show That Did Everything Right
Life is never perfect, it's an inarguable fact. So how can a show be so utterly realistic and, at the same time, be absolutely perfect? I don't know the answer. Thankfully, the people behind Freaks and Geeks have put together an incredible DVD box set enabling thier viewers to ponder the inanswerable question over and over and over.
For some (myself included), High...
Published on June 28 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars not bad
not that bad of a show. really love the 80s and it really hits the nail on the head with its story. would recommend it to anyone!
Published 3 months ago by Phylip Mason


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Show That Did Everything Right, June 28 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Freaks and Geeks: The Complete Series (DVD)
Life is never perfect, it's an inarguable fact. So how can a show be so utterly realistic and, at the same time, be absolutely perfect? I don't know the answer. Thankfully, the people behind Freaks and Geeks have put together an incredible DVD box set enabling thier viewers to ponder the inanswerable question over and over and over.
For some (myself included), High School was a dreadfully painful experience. And now, with the help of Freaks and Geeks, you can relive those awful High School experiences. This, to some reviewers on this posting, is a bad thing. But that's precisely the charm of this series. Finally, someone has gone out and depicted High School realistically. Our experiences are universal. Sometimes they're hilarious, often times they're unbelievably painful. But, they're always engaging. This series wasn't just about sitting back, shutting off your cerebral faculties and yukking it up for an hour. This show was about falling in love with characters you could understand, and following them through the all of their relatable experiences, good or bad.
I have explored and watched every available extra in this collection and I strongly recommend it to everyone who's lived or is currently living an average High School experience. If you were unconditionally popular, then skip this DVD collection, you won't understand it. You'll dislike or misjudge all of the characters and their motivations, just as you presumably did in High School. But, for everyone else, buy it as soon as is humanly possible.
Buy it firstly for the relatability of the show. But, if that isn't enough for you, buy it for the characters and the plotting. Storylines featured in this show are some of the most original, touching and realistic ever depicted on television or in film. Personal highlights include "Carded and Discarded" (The geeks befriend a new female student who's gradually being sucked into the popular crowd), "The Diary" (Mr. and Mrs. Weir read Lindsay's diary only to learn more about themselves more than their daughter).
And if that weren't enough, the entire cast was impeccably put together. I could watch the entire series without ever paying attention to anything but the acting, and I'd still be endlessly entertained. James franco's naturalism ("Tests and Breasts" is, in my opinion, his best episode), Martin Starr's assuredly brilliant readings (see him in "Dead Dogs and Gym Teachers"). Jason Segel's awkward adorability, the list goes on.
And the music... I can't wait for the soundtrack.
This is a show that did everything right. And yet, it was cancelled. Do yourself a favor and buy it on DVD. Then, once you've watched it all, show it to everyone you know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great series, great set, July 11 2004
This review is from: Freaks and Geeks: The Complete Series (DVD)
I can't believe they actually got this made with all of the original music! This was a great series that accurately portrayed the trials and tribulations of being an outcast during the high school years. Well written, and with a great cast, if you haven't seen this yet you owe it to yourself to check it out.
On a different note, I have to commend whoever designed the packaging for this set: many times when you buy a DVD set with 4 or more discs, the packaging folds out for you to access the discs. With 4 discs it can be awkward, but with, say, 7 discs, it's quite cumbersome. This set is different -- each disk is on its own "page" so to speak, so that getting the disc you want to watch is as simple as opening a book and turning to the right spot. It's also a lot more durable than the "fold out" style packaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not bad, Dec 24 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Freaks and Geeks: The Complete Series (DVD)
not that bad of a show. really love the 80s and it really hits the nail on the head with its story. would recommend it to anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loads of Special Features, Sept. 11 2013
By 
Karen Gold - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The ultimate edition for Freaks and Geeks fans. The amount of special features surpasses most collections. The content will keep you busy for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars funny and lesson learning :), Aug. 12 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Freaks and Geeks: The Complete Series (DVD)
this show is great! i got it delivered in great condition. Ive never seen the show before and didnt realize it was only one season but it is very enjoyable to watch! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Freaks and Geeks: The Complete Series, Feb. 24 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Freaks and Geeks: The Complete Series (DVD)
I remember watching this on TV, and I was very upset when it was cancelled. I saw a really good article about the show in "Vanity Fair", and I searched for Freaks and Geeks online. I was so happy I could buy the series finally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Freaks and Geeks is one of the BEST SERIES that not many people know about., Jan. 20 2013
By 
M. Branch (Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Freaks and Geeks: The Complete Series (DVD)
I first saw the series in rerun, it only had ONE season, on MuchMore Music in Canada. It was a well cast, Linda Cardellini,Jason Segal,James Franco,Seth Rogan,Busy Philips,Joe Flaherty, ... and the story lines were very good. It is well worth the money.
P.S. Judd Apatow directed and executive produced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!!, Dec 28 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Freaks and Geeks: The Complete Series (DVD)
This was a great show...way beyond its time.
The quality is terrific, the price was right and I couldn't find it anywhere else...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Freaks and Geeks. Ahead of it's time, Dec 24 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Freaks and Geeks: The Complete Series (DVD)
I thought this was a very well done series. I watched it on Netflix in 2012, 13 years after it was released and I think probably better than like 90% of the shows out now. It's too bad that it got cancelled before it got a chance to continue. It stands the test of time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Judd is the best, Dec 20 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Freaks and Geeks: The Complete Series (DVD)
All Judd Apatow work is outstanding. If you haven't seen his stuff, go watch it as soon as possible. Undeclared, all his movies, anything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb11efe88)

This product

Freaks and Geeks: The Complete Series
Freaks and Geeks: The Complete Series by Linda Cardellini (DVD - 2004)
CDN$ 64.95 CDN$ 48.74
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews