Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure joy all the way! And absolutely great photography!
It's not likely I'll every step onto a surfboard. But I do love to live vicariously. I was able to do that with this 2003 surfing documentary. Splendidly!

Written and directed by Dana Brown, the son of Bruce Brown, who created "The Endless Summer" in 1966 (and who appears in this film), the words that roll out with the opening credits are "No special...
Published on July 10 2004 by Linda Linguvic

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a good documentary, but no need for blu ray
I think this is a really good documentary about Surfing. I saw it a number of years ago and just got it on Blu Ray. It is really well done and has some fascinating footage and interviews. So you will definately enjoy it.
The downside is, the transfer to HD on Blu Ray really doesn't add anything. The footage still seemed like it was in Standard. I was hoping the...
Published 16 months ago by rob Hanson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure joy all the way! And absolutely great photography!, July 10 2004
By 
Linda Linguvic (New York City) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Step Into Liquid [Import] (DVD)
It's not likely I'll every step onto a surfboard. But I do love to live vicariously. I was able to do that with this 2003 surfing documentary. Splendidly!

Written and directed by Dana Brown, the son of Bruce Brown, who created "The Endless Summer" in 1966 (and who appears in this film), the words that roll out with the opening credits are "No special effects. No stuntmen. No stereotypes". How refreshing!

The sport of surfing has come a long way since it started to become popular in the late 1950s. It was started in Hawaii, of course, hundreds of years ago. It was then, and always has been, purely recreational.

This film is about the pure joy of the sport and this comes through loud and clear in every frame. We see children having a blast. We see professional surfers. We see the fun a group of big beer-bellied guys in Sheboygan Wisconsin have when they put on wet suits and surf the small waves in the muddy waters of Lake Michigan as well as and surfers who actually surf in the waves made by oil rigs in Texas.. We see what is called the "pipeline" in Oahu and watch the experts in serious battle with nature. Here, the surfers know that injury is almost inevitable and they just hope that when it happens it is something that can be fixed. Later, we meet a young man whose neck was broken while surfing. He's paralyzed from the waist down but he still rides a surfboard on his belly.

It must be quite a thrill. And scary. Surfers say they think "I'm gonna die" often. But still they surf.

It's impossible to paddle out to the really big waves. The surfers need a buddy on a "ski tow" for this. This is a dangerous job because the guy on the ski tow has to rescue the surfer when he falls off his board.

We meet Dale Webster, a man who works in a fast food restaurant but who made a commitment to surf three waves every single day. He's been doing this for 25 years and will likely continue for many more, always supported by his family who understands his need to surf.

We meet the three Molloy brothers from California. They travel to Ireland, where their grandparents came from Here, they put on wet suits and surf the cold and dark turbulent waters. The locals are delighted, especially when they teach the children from both Catholic and Protestant schools to surf. The children are wonderful to watch and they enthusiastically speak on camera to the filmmakers.

We meet the men, now in their 60s, who were the original surfers in "The Endless Summer". One of them lives in Costa Rico now and he surfs with his grown son. We meet Australian champion surfers and learn what creativity in surfing is all about. Some of the surfers we meet are women who are wonderful athletes but tend not to go for the really tremendous waves.

Then there are the GIGANTIC waves. We follow a group of four surfers who have to take a boat 100 miles into the Pacific to catch these waves. Wow! There is a great shot of them surfing in a wave a full 66 feet high.

The cinematography is absolutely fantastic. Later, in one of the DVD's extra features, we meet the photographers and learn about the excitement and the danger of their craft. They have specially made housing for their cameras and do not have a lens to look through.. They have all been injured and recovered and came back and took more pictures. They specialize in surf photography because they, too, share the passion for the sport.

Yes, passion is what it's all about. I felt it while watching this film. And I stayed up way past my bedtime to watch all the fascinating extras. There's even a lesson on how to surf.

I give this film one of my highest recommendations. It's pure joy all the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a good documentary, but no need for blu ray, Dec 2 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I think this is a really good documentary about Surfing. I saw it a number of years ago and just got it on Blu Ray. It is really well done and has some fascinating footage and interviews. So you will definately enjoy it.
The downside is, the transfer to HD on Blu Ray really doesn't add anything. The footage still seemed like it was in Standard. I was hoping the footage would be so much more impressive and lifelike on HD, but it wasn't. There really isn't any advantage to getting this on Blu Ray. Just buy it on DVD and you'll get the same thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Documentary, June 12 2004
By 
Christopher Gouge "Deathcabforgouge" (Louisville, TN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Step Into Liquid [Import] (DVD)
This film is perfect. It captures everything that is great about surfing or sports in general for that matter. The best part about the movie is the amazing footage captured on film. There are some shots in the movie that will blow you mind. It is like "Winged Migration" for surfers. The two-disc set has a load of special features like an extensive commentary and deleted scenes which are good to watch. It also includes a version of "Kelly Slater's Pro Surfer" for PC. Thsi is the perfect film and I would recommend it to anyone who has the slightest interest in surfing, documentaries, or athleticism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why you should buy this movie, July 7 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Step Into Liquid [Import] (DVD)
I am a teenage girl who loves surfing. This DVD was the most requested movie in the islands and sold out in all of the stores. I now own this film and I have to say its the best movie ever. The movie takes you into the heart of surfing and shows you the true meaning. The movie also takes you around the world from Hawaii To Australia, Even to Lake Michigan. The movie also shows you the history of famous surfers like Kelly Slater who grew up in Cocoa Beach, Florida. If I were to recommend one surf movie to someone this would be it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars WARNING, July 6 2004
By 
Joao Luis Freitas (BRAZIL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Step Into Liquid [Import] (DVD)
The disk 2 - DVD ROM - will only work in USA and CANADA.
As soon as you push to play the disk, it pause and go to the ARTISAN site to get a license to work. So if you are not in USA or CANADA they will not give you a license number and the disk will not run.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, May 27 2004
By 
Randy Given (Manchester, CT USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Step Into Liquid [Import] (DVD)
If you liked the classic "Endless Summer", you will probably love this movie. There is a commonality, besides surfing -- Bruce Brown did "Endless Summer" and his son did this, a 2000s version with a lot packed into an hour and a half. The footage is great (looks like some of it came from the great IMAX from a couple years ago). Waves from all over and personalities to match. As close to getting that ear-to-ear smile on your face while not near the water. Just great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Step into Liquid, May 21 2004
This review is from: Step Into Liquid [Import] (DVD)
It's a captivating movie - what better way to spend an hour or two than watching people doing and talking about something that they are passionate about? The sheer beauty of the water was joyous to watch, and the various stories very engaging, even though I've never been interested in surfing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars liquid good singlefin: yellow - BETTER !, May 21 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Step Into Liquid [Import] (DVD)
enjoyed this film but if you really want a look into the soul of surfing and the surf experience, check out an underground documentary called "singlefin yellow."
the film follows one surfboard around the world as shared by an international group of friends - amazing visuals and music - a pleasure to watch even for the non surfer yet also very spiritual and inspiring - ONE OF THE BEST :)
i ordered one at singlefinyellow.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars high def in here, May 4 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Step Into Liquid [Import] (DVD)
The great thing about watching DVDs on your PC is that due to software encoding high definition DVDs are possible with current DVD players on PCs. Of course non-computer DVD players can't play the new Windows WMVHD format because the decoding is built in and can't be changed. What does this mean? You don't have to wait for the new high definition DVD players that will hit the market soon because higher end PCs are already capable of decoding high definition in both 720 and 1080 formats with current DVD technology.
The result is truly breathtaking high defintion picture. Step into Liquid looks amazing in 720p resolution. If you have the computer, Step Into Liquid is a great high definition DVD to add to your collection. Check out the 1080 version of Terminator2 as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars not made for surfers, May 3 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Step Into Liquid [Import] (DVD)
This movie makes a good first impression, but it's not anything I have to watch again. Ironically, though one of the key points of the movie is not to take surfing (or life) too seriously, the movie takes itself too seriously. Not as funny as Endless Summer I & II, and too many pieces about a very, very small aspect of surfing - Wisconsin AND Texas, the paralyzed, the bring Ireland together bit and Vietnam father/son boding, mixed in with tow-in surfing. The tow-in surf does not come in a cohesive form but is instead scattered througout. It's as if surfing is about nothing but tow-in and using surfing to bring world peace. The meandering style of this movie also renders it useless as surf porn, even on mute.
If you want a real surf movie, that is entertaining to watch and gets to the essence of what surfing is really about without trying too damn hard at it, check out Shelter and Thicker Than Water.
If you're not a surfer and just insterested in what the hub bub is about, Step IL is made for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb07b942c)

This product

Step Into Liquid [Import]
Step Into Liquid [Import] by Dana Brown (DVD - 2004)
CDN$ 16.83 CDN$ 16.73
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews