Customer Reviews


188 Reviews
5 star:
 (106)
4 star:
 (48)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GOOD CD
Well, George Michael is back after almost a 10 year absence: and he hasnt lost his touch.
PATIENCE is a very good album, and i cant seem to understand why people are trashing it as much as they are.
Its not a 5 star cd, but it comes close.
This album is more based on his life in the past years hes been gone, and add some good "pop" songs on here,...
Published on July 10 2004

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the previous 3 albums
Nah,I dont think its as good as the 3 previous ones.FAITH , LWP and OLDER.I am a big big fan of GM.I Think the biggest Pakistani fan :).I've got all his cds,DVDs,Vcds and even WHAM! concert live in china on VHS.But This album,there are 2 songs that should'nt have been there on the cd 1- Round here and 2-Please send me someone to love.instead of them there should've been 2...
Published on June 1 2004 by Behroz 'Bob' MALIK


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GOOD CD, July 10 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Patience (Audio CD)
Well, George Michael is back after almost a 10 year absence: and he hasnt lost his touch.
PATIENCE is a very good album, and i cant seem to understand why people are trashing it as much as they are.
Its not a 5 star cd, but it comes close.
This album is more based on his life in the past years hes been gone, and add some good "pop" songs on here, and you get this one. Some of my favorites:
AMAZING is a good and simple song and is underrated in my opinion. How many people can be gone for so long and still sound great?
FLAWLESS (GO TO THE CITY) takes the song Flawless made famous by The Ones (one of my favorite songs discovered via internet radio) and updates it via georges lyrics! The lyrics are kind of "weird", but its still a great song. Sounds like the stuff being played out here.
SHOOT THE DOG is "only" found on the import edition and not on the US edition. Gueesing due to the "Anti Bush" tone it has, but its a good song, considering it was released 2 years ago.
JOHN AND ELVIS ARE DEAD in my opinion is one good ballad.
THROUGH is emotional as how he describes his feelings and times he has been criticized in he later part of his career. If PATIENCE is his last album as it has been reported, this SHOULD be his final single.
All in all, its not the same george that brough us Freedom 90, (one of my VERY FAVORITE SONGS EVER), Outside, Faith, and countless others, but fans of his might be a bit disappointed... except ths one.
George Michael has lasted as long as Janet and Madonna and others. Some may have lost their touch and have made wrong turns (musically), but George Michael's voice seems as unchanged since the last time we heard from him... and thats a VERY GOOD THING!
RATING: about a 4.5 OUT OF 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars POP CLASSIC 2004., June 7 2004
By 
Petar Stajic (Windsor, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Patience (Audio CD)
This is an album, I think, a lot of people were waiting for, for a really long time. The title PATIENCE seems totally appropriate, not only from fans point of view but also from George's. It took 5 years to complete everything together and make it what we hear on the record. It's only HIS 4th studio album and it's a true masterpiece. I LOVE the whole tone from start to end. At this point, I have it for full 3 months and I can't stop listening to it. George is one of the rare artists, who sticks to HIS artistic integrity. HIS work always seems to be 100% (in my opinion).
In terms of writing, there are many stories on this album. I love the way HE expressed himself. I know there are a lot of great writers in pop-music, but what George did on this album, I think HE reached new level. Listening to the music on this album seems like a very deep conversation with a good friend or someone one would give complete attention. You can totally feel that the stuff on PATIENCE comes from some deep, personal places. The music and melodies are also great - very unique and original the way HE always does his music.
I think pop-music in recent years has been really trashed. We (the audience) were really bombarded with new "pop-stars" coming out all the time and everything sounds the same and repetitive. The originality, integrity and irony are 3 major elements missing in pop-music today. THIS ALBUM HAS GOT IT ALL. The sound is very mixed up and there is everything here - from jazzy-pop, to funky-dance-techno sounds. There is a Latin flavor also and at one point even hip-hop. Once again, George shows his talents in many ways by making this instant classic. I totally love this album and I absolutely recommend it to everybody who is looking for something fresh and original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the previous 3 albums, June 1 2004
By 
This review is from: Patience (Audio CD)
Nah,I dont think its as good as the 3 previous ones.FAITH , LWP and OLDER.I am a big big fan of GM.I Think the biggest Pakistani fan :).I've got all his cds,DVDs,Vcds and even WHAM! concert live in china on VHS.But This album,there are 2 songs that should'nt have been there on the cd 1- Round here and 2-Please send me someone to love.instead of them there should've been 2 dance tracks.
And what happened to the track 'SNAKE BITE' which GM was about to release as a single after the release of 'FREEEK' back in 2002. WHY GM uses so less music in his songs now a days.I can hardly hear any music in the background on his ballads.GM ur voice is wonderful gr8 but please give us some music too.I would like to hear you sing with a loud electric guitar.THE songs on 'OLDER' were gr8 .very JAZZY I love it.but therz something missing on this album I think u r still very depressed.Please release a new album and make that album with a HAPPY mood.
I think the songs of 'Patience' will sound gr8 on a LIVE performance.Please start touring and sing ur new songs.U're great when comes to LIVE performance specially ballads and add a guitarist in ur band.Can u give ur new songs a Jazzy touch? :) and on this album GM ur not using the power of ur voice fully like u did on 'PRAYING FOR TIME' and 'FREEDOM'90' .I would love to hear you loud :).
MY FAV. tracks on the album are:
1-My mother had a brother
2-AMAZING
3-American Angel
and..... 4-Through
and..... 5-Cars and Trains.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars George is amazing!, May 25 2004
This review is from: Patience (Audio CD)
I saw the advertisement of this album in London tube station one day and started missing his sound suddenly. Actually, I was not a big fan but an ordinary fan of him before I bought this CD. But I always recognized George Michael was a social phenomenon in my generation and he influenced not only music world but also fashion and life style of young people in 80�fs and early 90�fs. After I listened to this CD, I reconfirmed he was just an amazing artist and one of the best singers in pop music world. The lyrics especially in Patience and Amazing released my mind and I love to listen these songs everyday after work. When I get so depressed, these songs always save me. This album may have a different taste from his other albums having more relaxed and peaceful features. However, I still like this album feeling different aspects of George. I cannot wait until he will sing on stage for us and release his new songs. I do not want him to forget there are so many fans in all over the world missing him so much and longing for his music activities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Patience Pays Off-Somewhat (Nearly 3 Stars), May 24 2004
By 
This review is from: Patience (Audio CD)
George Michael is regarded by many to be pop novelty. He has written and produced some of the most memorable pop songs in the last 20 years. Just think-Careless Whisper, Last Christmas, Wake Me Up Before You Go Go etc. So in 2004 George Michael returned with his first studio album in 8 years. Where other popular acts release an album every second year or so, George Michael differs from the norm. So is ''Patience'' worth the wait? Well yes and no.
The tumult of the past 14 years hasn't been an easy ride for the pop singer, who had to deal with being arrested in a public restroom/toliet, fighting with his then-former label Sony and deeply personal problems etc. It's clearly that Patience is the album, George Michael has been longing to write and produce. It's perhaps his most honest and personal album so far, which is very evidently in the lyrics for songs like Patience, My Mother Had A Brother, American Angel and Please Send Me Someone (Anselmo's Song).
The album opens with the title-track Patience, which is an haunting ballad that captures the listeners' attention with its simple melody and the vulnerability of George Michael's voice. It may not strike a chord within the first few listening, however it has become a pleasant album-opener. Next up is the up-tempo, adult comtempory Amazing, which is a playful ode to a lover. It puzzled me why Amazing was chosen as the first single to be lift off the album, however it becomes clear upon the first listen of the album that Amazing is the easiest song to embrace on ''Patience''. The song has a great hook and those catchy la-la-la to make it memorable for the buyer. Yet I still find Amazing to be a sophisticated pop song that appeals to the adult marked-not the teen one, which perhaps isn't a bad thing afterall. The song managed to reach top 10 positions around Europe and the video is still being played on MTV Europe.
John And Elvis Are Dead is quite interesting. It deals with a friend, who awakens from a coma and finds himself asking why did they (John Lennon, Marvin Gaye and Elvis Presley'' have to die? A tad different than one might expect and I really like the theme of death and faith by using these famous people to portray it. Cars And Trains is a mid-tempo groover and I suspect it's the second release from Patience since I have heard it on the radio several times. Round Here is one of the best offerings on the album. It's dreamy melody and the soulfulness of George Michael's voice is a perfect blend for a good pop song. Hopefully it will be released with a nice video accompany it. It would be a waste if it didn't see the light of day as a single release. So someone take note out there!
A theme that seems to re-appear in George Michael universe is that of loss. My Mother Had A Brother has similar theme to that of Mother's Pride, the former deals with being a icon to gays. Shoot The Dog And Freeek! are former single releases though this is the first time they are found on an album. Shoot The Dog was an attempt to poke fun of the alliance between Bush and Blair and it succeed quite well if you ask me. Regardless of the highly controversial topic, it's still a decent boogie. Freek! has been remixed for Patience and it sounds better and a bit more fresh than the original. Still I'm not too fond of the song.
Other songs deservingly of a mention would include the club-banger Flawless (Go To The City), which appears to be an homage to gays. One of the better offerings on the album. While many of George Michael songs have been about love and sex, the intimacy is very much on display on Patience. American Angel is an ode to his lover and a thankful for being there through the hardships in his life. Precious Box, Please Send Me Someone (Anselmo's Song) and Through are enjoyable offerings as well.
So the question remains is Patience worth the 8 years wait? Half of the songs are top-notch, have good melodies and profound lyrics, yet the overload of ballads do affect the overall quality. Several of them are quite forgettable even with its personal lyrics. I tend to miss a better blend of up-tempos and ballads. If you like good pop songs with an adult comtempory sound then Patince will definitely appeal to you.
Overall Rate 7.0/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Patience Pays Off-Somewhat (Nearly 3 Stars), May 24 2004
By 
This review is from: Patience (Audio CD)
George Michael is regarded by many to be pop novelty. He has written and produced some of the most memorable pop songs in the last 20 years. Just think-Careless Whisper, Last Christmas, Wake Me Up Before You Go Go etc. So in 2004 George Michael returned with his first studio album in 8 years. Where other popular acts release an album every second year or so, George Michael differs from the norm. So is ''Patience'' worth the wait? Well yes and no.
The tumult of the past 14 years hasn't been an easy ride for the pop singer, who had to deal with being arrested in a public restroom/toliet, fighting with his then-former label Sony and deeply personal problems etc. It's clearly that Patience is the album, George Michael has been longing to write and produce. It's perhaps his most honest and personal album so far, which is very evidently in the lyrics for songs like Patience, My Mother Had A Brother, American Angel and Please Send Me Someone (Anselmo's Song).
The album opens with the title-track Patience, which is an haunting ballad that captures the listeners' attention with its simple melody and the vulnerability of George Michael's voice. It may not strike a chord upon hearing it for the first time, however it has become a pleasant album-opener. Next up is the up-tempo, adult comtempory Amazing, which is a playful ode to a lover. It puzzled me why Amazing was chosen as the first single to be lift off the album, however it becomes clear upon the first listen of the album that Amazing is the easiest song to embrace on ''Patience''. The song has a great hook and those catchy la-la-la to make it memorable for the buyer. Yet I still find Amazing to be a sophisticated pop song that appeals to the adult marked-not the teen one, which perhaps isn't a bad thing afterall.
John And Elvis Are Dead is quite interesting. It deals with a friend, who awakens from a coma and finds himself asking why did they (John Lennon, Marvin Gaye and Elvis Presley'' have to die? A tad different than one might expect and I really like the theme of death and faith by using these famous people to portray it. Cars And Trains is a mid-tempo groover and I suspect it's the second release from Patience since I have heard it on the radio several times. Round Here is one of the best offerings on the album. It's dreamy melody and the soulfulness of George Michael's voice is a perfect blend for a good pop song. Hopefully it will be release with a nice video accompany it. It would be a waist if it didn't see the light of day as a single release. So someone take note out there!
A theme that seems to re-appear in George Michael universe is that of loss. My Mother Had A Brother has similar theme to that of Mother's Pride, the former deals with being a icon to gays. Freek!, a former single release, has been remixed for Patience and it sounds better and a bit more fresh than the original. Still I'm not too fond of the song. Shoot The Dog doesn't appear on the US, which is a shame since it's still a decent boogie, despite the highly controversial topic.
Other songs deservingly of a mention would include the club-banger Flawless (Go To The City), which appears to be an homage to gays. One of the better offerings on the album. While many of George Michael songs have been about love and sex, the intimacy is very much on display on Patience. American Angel is an ode to his lover and a thankful for being there through the hardships in his life. Precious Box, Please Send Me Someone (Anselmo's Song) and Through are enjoyable offerings as well.
So the question remains is Patience worth the 8 years wait? Half of the songs are top-notch, have good melodies and profound lyrics, yet the overload of ballads do affect the overall quality. Several of them are quite forgettable even with its personal lyrics. I tend to miss a better blend of up-tempos and ballads. If you like good pop songs with an adult comtempory sound, then Patince will definitely appeal to you.
Overall Rate 7.0/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Patience pays off, May 23 2004
This review is from: Patience (Audio CD)
On this aptly titled album from George Michael - his first of brand new original material since 1996's OLDER (there was the standards album SONGS FROM THE LAST CENTURY in 2000) - he delivers the goods. If you enjoy his past albums, it's a fair bet you will like PATIENCE. The first single is the bubbly uptempo track "Amazing", which is a good song to introduce the album with. There's a good balance of uptempo tunes and ballads. The dance songs are especially good, including "Flawless", "Precious Box", "Freeek" (which was a single a few years ago, now a new version), and "Cars and Trains". There's some nice profound ballads like the title track, "Through", "My Mother Had A Brother", and more. The North American version of this disc is slightly different than the UK. The UK has the song "Shoot the Dog", which is an anti-bush song, so they decided not to put it on the North American versions of the CD. It's a shame, great song! The UK version also has "Patience Pt 2". Overall, it was a long wait, but in my estimation I think it was worth it. A great listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars patience pays off, May 12 2004
This review is from: Patience (Audio CD)
i have been the biggest fan of george michael since i was a teenager...now, i am in my thirties, and only a few artists from my generation are surviving...namely, prince, madonna and thankfully george..all three have still been coming up with excellent albums from time to time....after OLDER (a letdown of sorts though all the singles were excellent), i thought he had simply lost the touch....
but after hearing OUTSIDE and AS from ladies and gentlemen.., i thought he still retained the groove...which really shows on this album....it is freakingly amazing.... the title track is sparsely arranged (only george's voice and the piano. a few more intruments might have given more life) - i didn't like it...thankfully it picks up after that and doesn't let you down all the way until, you guessed it...patience (reprise)...
all the other songs are simpy fabulous and show the return of guitar (AMAZING - i thought the title was stupid at first, but it is the best song on the album), PLEASE SEND ME SOMEONE (reggae - simply awesome), THROUGH(breathtaking), MY MOTHER HAD A BROTHER(where did that electric guitar solo come from - unbelievable) along with other songs such as SHOOT THE DOG (why the hell do people hate it so much - it is absolutely groovy baby yeah!)..did i also mention CARS AND TRAINS, the autobiographical ROUND HERE, JOHN AND ELVIS, FREEEK, AMERICAN ANGEL, FLAWLESS...and PRECIOUS BOX ( an exercise in techno/disco with a fantastic "i don't know why that i-i-i-i-i-i-i-i-isssss)....well that is the whole album....it is simply awesome...BUY IT!!!!
on this album, george, thankfully, has not held back his voice(unlike older and songs from the last century where he was whispering more than singing) and sings his heart out...his voice is in excellent form....whoever says these songs are not tuneful, just listen to most of the crap on the charts these days....all the songs have a good if not a fantastic melody...
i just hope america, just like the rest of the world, becomes more open-minded and enjoys patience...it is one of his best albums... and from one of the best artists of our generation...this is george michael at his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Strong songs, very diverse styles, May 6 2004
By 
Dr Jeremy Buddle (Battery Point, Tasmania Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Patience (Audio CD)
This new CD by George Michael is a 14-track set that has tested the Patience of most of his fans owing to its lengthy gestation (over 5 years, he writes in the acknowledgements section of its booklet). I have followed George's musical career from 1984 right through to today , and I think he has done very well with this album. The key feature is that it contains a very diverse collection of styles - much more than most album-orientated artists would normally allow. This is because there have always been two different sides to George Michael - there's the sensitive, warm-voiced solo songwriter on the one hand (Careless Whisper/ You Have Been Loved etc.) and almost diametrically opposed to that there is his erotic funkmeister persona (Too Funky, I'm Your Man etc.) That makes Patience a hard album to rate because it is so diverse, and I can't imagine anyone being equally fond of all these tracks.
I happen to enjoy both of George's styles, and I am a fan, but I still loathed Freeek! which was just crude funk. Flawless (Go To The City) hits an upbeat dance groove lifted as a sample from dance act The Ones, and is a club tune aimed at dancers, while the controversial Shoot The Dog is another funky dance club track that uses a sample of Human League's 1981 UK hit Love Action. Its lyric attacks the British leader Tony Blair and his policies, yet this track is strangely compelling. The other techno track is Precious Box, which is about computer addiction I think ! A long piece , this doesn't really travel anywhere fast , but is modern-sounding. A mid-paced track Cars And Trains is not too bad , though his lyrics here seem a bit hard to work out. The best uptempo song though is Amazing. I think this song is fantastic- it's funky, it's catchy , it will be a big radio hit, and it's HAPPY!!! George is not noted for his optimism , so mark this one down as a landmark George Michael hit song!
The slow half of the album is highlighted by the personal ballad My Mother Had A Brother, which weaves together a sad tale of a deceased relative with George's own tale of his recent personal liberation from years of doubt and bereavement. George's voice on this track sounds terrific. Continuing this hitherto-unthinkable foray into autobiography, we have the endearing Round Here, which delighted me on first hearing. It's a tuneful memoir of George's early days as a North London schoolboy and of his boyhood friendships with longterm friend and cowriter David Austin and his 80's Wham sidekick Andrew Ridgeley. More recent friendships are celebrated on Please Send Me Someone (Anselmo's Song) , about his deceased partner, and American Angel (about his current one). These are both very nice. With its slow tempo, John And Elvis Are Dead reminds me of the Older album track It Doesn't Really Matter - they don't grab you at first , but they are subtly tuneful and quite good overall.
George really reverts to his Listen Without Prejudice mode on the title tune Patience. This is a really good song, with crafty lyrics that make you think, while Through closes the album and also sounds like the earnest tunesmith of old has still got plenty to offer.
Whether or not he records any more albums, this full-length set , plus Older GM albums will continue to give enjoyment to Patient listeners for a long time to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mr. Michael is BACK, March 31 2004
This review is from: Patience (Audio CD)
After the demise of Wham!, Mr. Michael re-entered the music scene with not just a storm, but an earth-shattering hurricane with the release of his Grammy-winning album, "Faith," which remains one of the most perfect pop albums in the history of music.
His follow-up, "Listen Without Prejudice Volume One," was not better or worse...it was absolutely as brilliant....a production of perfection that was just more mature than Faith.
With them, he solidified himself as one of the most talented men of the 20th century with one of the best male voices to ever record music.
Unfortunatly for me, it stopped there, as Older was not just older, but a little too ancient, as the melodies and rhythms of his previous albums were replaced by a more jazzy feel...but nothing nearly as good as "Kissing a Fool." Even the club mixes just couldn't bring back the feel that was the George Michael I was enthralled by.
THAT has changed.
Finally, eight years later, he releases his fourth album of new material (lest we forget Songs from the Last Century, which was a forgettable cover album from 1999), and I now forgive him for the disappointment which was Older (which, by no means, was a bad album...and how to you top his two previous?).
Patience is, again, no where close to bringing us where Faith and LWP did, but it has all the elements that remind us why this man is so brillaint...and why we should be so sad this is apparently his farewell album, as he is retiring at the end of the year.
Those who are fans will be very happy to see he included "Shoot the Dog" and "Freeek!" on here ("Freeek!" having been very-well remixed for this album), which constitute two of the better songs on here, but nothing comes close to the catchiness and club perfection of "Flawless (Go the the City)," which is a guaranteed dance-floor smash, as it almost sticks out like a sore thumb, being a House track in the midst of mid-tempo pop tunes and ballads. But MAN, do I like that sore thumb! "Flawless" is, by far, the best song on the album...and has instantly became one of my favourite George Michael songs ever.
I mean it.
The meeting of George and The One's own "Flawless" is spine-chilling in it's appropriateness and sits so perfectly enraptured by Mr. Michael's vocals.
Second in line is most definitely "Precious Box," another upbeat song that is so wispy and easy on the ears that could easily translate into another huge club hit on it's own and with remixing. Strong lyrics and trance-like audio affects float around the room like a whirlpool of sound. Clocking at over seven minutes, the extended version seems to be on the album already.
I cannot wait for the remixes!
Of course, there is the beautiful first single, "Amazing," which is a perfect podium to show that his voice is still in top form, and his song-writing ability has done nothing but stay consistent. Many seem to be disappointed that the first single is an adult-contemporary mid-tempo tune, but just give the brilliant Full Intention club mixes a listen, and you'll quickly see why Mr. Michael is already back in the top 10 on the dance charts.
There are not too many ballads....Mr. Michael has never been known to overload with up-beat tracks... How many slow songs are on Listen Without Prejudice? The album has a great mix of up-beat songs (he's never included straight-forward club tracks on an album before) with some great mid-tempo tracks ("Round Here" and the very pleasing "Please Send Me Someone (Anselmo's Song)" and beautiful slow songs like "Through" that touch both lyrically and musically.
Patience is not Mr. Michael's best album, but considering we are comparing it to Faith and LWP, this is just a notch beneath them, much better than Older and, by far, one of the best albums I have bought recently.
Whether you're a fan or not, get this album, and cherish the flawless perfection of the return of Mr. George Michael.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Patience
Patience by George Michael (Audio CD - 2004)
Click for more info
Usually ships in 3 to 6 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews