Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars great, Jan. 1 2013
By 
H. Osborn (canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: To Hell and Back (DVD)
A great movie depicting a great American hero from WWII.
Audie was a true person to his word.Read it to learn about a very decorated hero.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Audie Murphy - American, Feb. 17 2003
By 
F. Healy (Pinehurst, NC United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: To Hell & Back (VHS Tape)
Most of us know Audie Murphy's story... enlisted underage, became the most decorated soldier in WWII, became an actor still influenced by his military experiences, and died in a tragic plane crash. But Murphy was typical of the men who have fought and died for the salvation of the American way. He wasn't the only hero, nor the "greatest" hero. I'm sure he'd agree with that if he were here with us today. ALL those who've given their lives, their limbs, their hearts, their efforts have all been heros. Just as those who protect us now are heros.
The movie was enjoyable, and undoubtedly modified from the absolute truth in many places. But the underlying message is strong and clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TO HELL AND BACK WITH AUDIE MURPHY, Dec 16 2000
By 
"specop18" (TEXARRKANA,TEXAS) - See all my reviews
This review is from: To Hell & Back (VHS Tape)
THE MOVIE "TO HELL AND BACK" WITH AUDIE MURPHY. TELL HOW A LITTLE BOY FROM TEXAS WON THE CONGRESSIONAL MEDAL OF HONOR FOR WATCHING OUT FOR HIS COMPANY IN WWII. I LIKE IT NOT BECAUSE I WAS BORN IN THE STATE OF TEXAS. BUT IT SHOW WHAT PEOPLE CAN DO IN ANY GIVING SITUATION........................................
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Most Decorated of the Greatest Generation, Aug. 24 2000
This review is from: To Hell & Back (VHS Tape)
Audie Murphy stars in the movie version of his autobiographydetailing his experiences in the Third Infantry Division in Italy and Southern France during the Second World War. Audie won every American medal awarded for combat as well as a Purple Heart and several French medals for heroism. The cast was excellent and complemented Murphy very well. The combat scenes were extremely realistic and the only movie with rivals it for scenes of fighting in the Italian Campaign is "The Story of GI Joe" which was written by Ernie Pyle. Audie was a member of the "greatest generation" and will always be one of the great heroes of American history. He made up for small stature with a heart and courage of enormous intensity. END
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, July 12 2004
This review is from: To Hell and Back (DVD)
Hey its a good movie....but one thing that the movie compresses to the extreme is his act that won him the Medal of Honor. Its EXTREMELY downplayed in the movie. In reality he held off a German advance from 3 directions for over an HOUR....an hour!!! Then just seconds after he jumped off the tank it blew up.
Just wanted to set the record straight on that....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm embarassed, Sept. 29 2003
By 
Greg B (Raleigh, NC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: To Hell & Back (VHS Tape)
I have to say that after I saw this movie, I was a little embarassed that I had never heard of Audie Murphy before, especially since I'm 37 years old. This guy epitomizes the term "war hero" and his story needs to be retold. I'd love to see this remade so that more generations of people would know about him. The current version was great, especially because Audie plays himself. A must watch, especially for anyone who doesn't know anything about him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars audie murphy's best movie, Feb. 26 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: To Hell & Back (VHS Tape)
This movie was good I dont care what anyone else thinks about this movie.It was a good movie about audie murphy.In socal studies class everyone was mainy sleeping but me and my history teacher were watching it. And we wort about this movie on a worksheet.Anyways I loved the video.I give it 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars audie murphy's best movie, Feb. 26 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: To Hell & Back (VHS Tape)
This movie was good I dont care what anyone else thinks about this movie.It was a good movie about audie murphy.In socal studies class everyone was mainy sleeping but me and my history teacher were watching it. And we wort about this movie on a worksheet.Anyways I loved the video.I give it 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "To Hell And Back (1955) ... Audie Murphy ... Jesse Hibbs (Director) (2004)", Oct. 4 2011
By 
J. Lovins "Mr. Jim" (Missouri-USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: To Hell and Back (DVD)
Universal Pictures presents "TO HELL AND BACK" (1955 106 min/Color) -- Starring: Audie Murphy, Marshall Thompson, Charles Drake, Jack Kelly & Gregg Palmer

Directed by Jesse Hibbs

Audie Murphy delivers his best screen performance as "himself" in Universal's To Hell and Back. Based on the star's autobiography, this is the story of how Murphy became America's most-decorated soldier during WW II. After dwelling on Murphy's hard-scrabble Texas upbringing, the story moves ahead to 1942, when, at 18, Audie joined the army. Within a year, he was a member of the 7th Army, serving in North Africa, Italy, France and ultimately Germany and Austria. One by one, the members of Murphy's Company B are killed in the war, until only three men from the original company are left.

The bulk of the film is given over to Murphy's conspicuous acts of combat bravery, and is highlighted by excellent battle sequences.

From a script by Gil Doud

* Special footnote: -- Audie Murphy originally declined the opportunity to portray himself in the movie, not wanting people to think that he was attempting to cash in on his role as a war hero. Murphy initially suggested his friend Tony Curtis to play him. They had worked together on three Westerns, Sierra, Kansas Raiders and The Cimarron Kid.

BIOS:
1. Jesse Hibbs Director)
Date of Birth: 11 January 1906 - Normal, Illinois
Date of Death: 4 February 1985 - Ojai, California

2. Audie Murphy [aka: Audie Leon Murphy]
Date of Birth: 20 June 1925 - Kingston, Texas
Date of Death: 28 May 1971 - near Roanoke, Virginia (plane crash)

Mr. Jim's Ratings:
Quality of Picture & Sound: 5 Stars
Performance: 5 Stars
Story & Screenplay: 5 Stars
Overall: 5 Stars [Original Music, Cinematography & Film Editing]

Total Time: 106 min on DVD ~ Universal Pictures ~ (May 25, 2004)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not only a battle but also a life in the army, June 16 2005
By 
This review is from: To Hell and Back (DVD)
This movie is not a movie about one giant battle but it is a movie about the life of a soldier in the army from 1942 to 1945. Audie Murphy was just a private but he became field Lieutenant by his courage and his conduct in front of the enemy. it is certainly not the most spectacular movie but it is a good movie. A good souvenir in black and white about how hard and long was the war. Don't forget that Americans were in war since December 1th, 1941 but that British, Canadians, Australians and so on were at wart since September 1rst, 1939. It is also in both French and English.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb3c25df8)

This product

To Hell and Back
To Hell and Back by Jesse Hibbs (DVD - 2004)
CDN$ 14.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews