Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting footnote to history
Antonio Banderas turns in a very strong performance as Pancho Villa, in this HBO movie. The production values are excellent for a made-for-TV movie. There are no heroes here. Pancho Villa was a bandit and murderer long before he became a revolutionary general. This movie accurately depicts that Villa was a cold-blooded killer as well as an incredibly charismatic...
Published on June 2 2004 by David C. Read

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Not Real!!
I am from Chihuahua, México, Pancho Villa's land. I have taken history of my country and especially of the Mexican Revolution because Chihuahua and "Los Dorados de Villa" were the protagonists of that war. When I saw this movie I just could not see it as a movie based on the real history. I want to ask this questions: Where is the original movie that...
Published on May 13 2004 by Everardo Hernández Sagarnaga


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting footnote to history, June 2 2004
By 
David C. Read (Keene, Texas) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: And Starring Pancho Villa As Himself (DVD)
Antonio Banderas turns in a very strong performance as Pancho Villa, in this HBO movie. The production values are excellent for a made-for-TV movie. There are no heroes here. Pancho Villa was a bandit and murderer long before he became a revolutionary general. This movie accurately depicts that Villa was a cold-blooded killer as well as an incredibly charismatic leader of men. The moviemakers were pretty cynical as well, insisting that all battles be fought in daylight so that they could be filmed. Studio execs in New Jersey (where the movie industry was based in 1914, before it moved to Hollywood) edited the movie to delete Villa's criminal side and build up the idea that he was a folk hero - a sort of Mexican George Washington.
There's nothing in this movie about Villa's raid on Columbus, New Mexico, in which 26 American civilians were killed, or his murder of 16 American mining engineers captured on a train, or Gen. Pershing chasing him around Mexico for several months. Those events occurred later, a year after the filming of the movie in which he played himself.
All-in-all, it is a good little movie, considering the modest budget it probably had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not Real!!, May 13 2004
By 
Everardo Hernández Sagarnaga (Delicias, Chihuahua, México) - See all my reviews
This review is from: And Starring Pancho Villa As Himself (DVD)
I am from Chihuahua, México, Pancho Villa's land. I have taken history of my country and especially of the Mexican Revolution because Chihuahua and "Los Dorados de Villa" were the protagonists of that war. When I saw this movie I just could not see it as a movie based on the real history. I want to ask this questions: Where is the original movie that supposedly was taken in the Torreon's battle? Where is the movie that was exhibited in Nex York? Where is the copy of the movie that was given to Pancho Villa? Why is not there any Mexican or international researcher able to prove the existence of that film?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!, May 27 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: And Starring Pancho Villa As Himself (DVD)
I really liked this film when I saw it on HBO back in September. It has some great action scenes and has some great acting by Antonio Banderas as the leader Pancho Villa. The film makes Villa to be more of a hero rather than a bandit. However, it's still a great and entertaining film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific, dark political satire, Feb. 7 2012
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: And Starring Pancho Villa As Himself (DVD)
From a funny, complex, dark and political script by Larry Gelbart, with a smashing lead performance
by Antonio Banderas, and lovely support by a number of actors (first and foremost Alan Arkin cast
way against type as a mercenary machine gunner, who makes the part completely his own) ' this is
a terrific retelling of a hard to believe but true story of the revolutionary Pancho Villa getting Hollywood
to film his real life war as a way of netting good publicity and public support.

I love the way the film effectively mixes the tragedy of war with comedy, an epic feel (amazing considering
it was made for HBO) with intimate character moments.

Not everything works. There's a love story that feels a little shoe-horned in, and some ideas get repeated
a few too many times, but this is a terrific satirical look at Hollywood, war, politics and how they all dance
together. And it's not afraid of making Pancho Villa a hero with a dark side, a man of good intent but huge,
unchecked ego as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great movie, Feb. 17 2004
By 
K. divine (co USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: And Starring Pancho Villa As Himself (DVD)
wow, spectacular, wild great movie
ACTION PACKED
i was actually a extra in the movie i lived in mexico for a while so yah.....
GET IT!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Real Deal, June 25 2004
By 
This review is from: And Starring Pancho Villa As Himself (DVD)
If you've been eying this movie, keep reading! My girlfriend and I just watched this movie tonight. We both like Antonio Banderas so it was pretty shocking that one of his movies was soooo bad. About half way through, you start to realize that there is basically no plot, it's not exciting, the "action" that other reviews talk about totally sucks, I gave this movie one star!! In fact I think it should give us our stars back!!! We didn't even make it to the end, I fell asleep near with the end, which I've only done during 3 movies ever! So anyone wanna buy a slightly used copy of Pancho Villa??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best acting Banderas ever did, July 17 2004
This review is from: And Starring Pancho Villa As Himself (DVD)
I watched this movie with my friend who was raised and still lives in Torreon, we loved it. My friend has many stories, told to him by his grandmother, who was from Chihuahua. Whether or not a movie by D.W Griffith ever existed, this one was certainly well done. Antonio Banderas did a wonderful job as Pancho Villa. Villa was the epitome of good and evil. He believed in Mexico and wanted to be the Robin Hood of his time, by the same token, it was too a heavy burden for any man to bear. If you don't see this movie you are cheating yourself out of a wonderful piece of history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

And Starring Pancho Villa As Himself
And Starring Pancho Villa As Himself by Bruce Beresford (DVD - 2005)
CDN$ 9.95 CDN$ 9.31
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews