march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage snsflyout Kitchen Introducing Kindle Oasis Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars165
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 23, 2004
This is a great movie about a great story but the DVD offers up poor video on a widescreen set and awful aspect ratio on a regular TV set.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2002
This is a great movie, a classic, and worth buying for the home. This is something that can be watched over and over.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2004
Do NOT buy this movie. It says 'Widescreen', but it is not anamorphic. This means that it shows very badly on my 16:9 screen, there's not only black bars on the top & bottom, but also on the left & right. In fact, there's more black on the screen than movie. Very bad and a waste of money.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2014
Mc QUEEN is the best , keep you on suspense and show you what the POW had to put up with during the war
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 20, 2003
This movie is so bad, I have no words for it. It has plenty of character actors. yet not one shred of realism.The German war camp is seen as so relaxed, it does not even make sense that anyone would try to escape from it. The reality of WW2 is, many POWs fared far better than those who were not captured. Many US troops were killed in combat during incredibly risky, almost suicidal missions, while the top brass like Eisenhower stayed back in England and had sexual affairs.
In this movie, those that do escape from it are given extremely lenient punishment--something that never would have happened in reality--if you were caught escaping from a german POW camp, you were shot on the spot--no hang dog look, give me my baseball glove and take me to solitary garbage!
The movie is "classic" 60's male bonding stuff, with all the guys getting together for this escape--too bad it is utterly lacking in tension or reality (or engineering sense, or human nature etc etc).
For a good WW2 movie, try " A Midnight Clear", "Bridge on the River Kwai", "von ryans express". This movie is so bad, I am embarrassed to own it on dvd.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2002
What an absolutely cool movie! This is a timeless classic. Steve McQueen, need I say more...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2009
This is one of the great adventure films of all time. It deserves a better DVD treatment! This edition is garbage. DO NOT BUY IT.

The original DVD edition was shamefully mastered in 'matted' letterbox format, needlessly giving up resolution. This new edition is in proper anamorphic format, but something is wrong with the colors: they're over-saturated, with excessive contrast that 'blows out' any bright highlights. This is appalling, amateurish work, and deserves to be shunned and boycotted.

Hopefully, when they do the Blu-ray, they'll do a better job. (Yeah, right.) Of course, what they SHOULD do, is give people who have now purchased not one but TWO sub-standard copies of this film, a FREE copy of the next, properly-mastered version.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2003
For being one of the most popular movies of its kind, it really was a big waste of time. I never new a Steve McQueen movie could be so overrated until I saw this. I had never seen the movie until last week, and boy was I dissapointed. All these years of hearing and reading all the hype, for nothing. I admit I was convinced it was good even before I saw it, again, I was wrong. It is not that thrilling or suspensfull. I know it was based on the true story, and I admire the real POWs for everything they endured, but this movie does them a disservice by trying to make it funny at times. Not admirable. Don't waste your money, just rent it if you want to see it. Forgetable after its over and done with.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 15, 2015
Aspect ratio is BAD,does any company have this in letter box?Large screen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2015
A nice WW2 classic.
Based on a real events.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse