Customer Reviews


151 Reviews
5 star:
 (114)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you have the original DVD release SELL IT NOW!!!
Okay....All the extras are great...and there are MANY featurettes and interviews to keep you busy for hours....BUT..the main point I want to make is for all of you who don't care about extras and figure you already have this on DVD....you don't...
this transfer is AMAZING!!! it is a real HIGH DEFINITION transfer and STUNNING is what they say on the case and its...
Published on June 28 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Story Lousy History
Too bad they got so many things wrong with this movie. Biggest blunder is there were no Yanks in that camp. Many of the key heroes in the real story were in fact Canadians. Typical Hollywood BS.
Published 20 days ago by Cap


‹ Previous | 114 15 16 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars This is a classic, Nov. 23 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Great Escape (VHS Tape)
When i was a kid i saw this show on tv that futured Steve Mcqueen. I saw this clip when he had a motorsycle and he was jumping over this fence. When i saw that film i tought: "This film i MUST SEE" And when i saw it i was amazed about it. It's a great film with actors on their begining of their careers. This film is a MUST...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Escape!, Nov. 18 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Great Escape (VHS Tape)
I am 14 years old and I saw the movie when I was 12. I think that the movie must be one of the best movies of all time. It was entertaining and the courage and persistence of the prisoners really made me think. This should be one of the best movies ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best movies ever, Nov. 12 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Great Escape (VHS Tape)
This is a real "cheer on the good guys" movie. Exciting, humerous, sad, this is a movie well deserving of a five-star rating. A strong cast including Steve McQueen, James Garner, Richard Attenborough and James Coburn and a great score by Elmer Berstein make this a highly enjoyable film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a MUST HAVE!!, Sept. 9 1998
By A Customer
McQueen, Garner, Bronson, McCallum, Attenborough... The list goes on. Some of the biggest names in film from the 1960's show up in this WWII movie. From the opening scenes to the motorcycle chase sequence, you'll be riveted to the screen. Other stars in the movie include Donald Pleasence (pre Halloween and Bond) and if you look hard enough, some of the prisoners who have made a name for themselves in film and television later in life.
A fantastic movie, a period piece; it's the first introduction most people would have to World War II, and you don't have the 25 minutes of bloody fighting at the beginning as in "Saving Private Ryan." Instead, there is a 25 minute featurette on the making of this 1963 classic movie. It's the impetus for the making of "Hogan's Heroes" on television. END
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, Nov. 10 2013
By 
Diane Edwards - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Steve McQueen's role was Oscar worthy as far as I'm concerned. This movie is one of the greatest of all time, a must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great DVD., July 11 2013
By 
G. Bowes (Scarborough, Ont. Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
There's nothing much I could possibly add to what has already been said about The Great Escape. So I wont even try. Other than the DVD itself, was brand new in the box, and a very clean copy. I am very happy, and would definitely do business with this seller again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a gift, Jan. 29 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This arrived very quickly. Was bought as a last munute Christmas gift, and to my surprise, it arrived before Christmas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the all-time great war movies, June 4 2004
By 
T O'Brien (Chicago, Il United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Great Escape (Special Edition) (2DVD) (1963) (DVD)
The Great Escape is a great WWII POW movie that should not be missed by movie fans. In 1944, 600 Allied prisoners of war took part in one of the largest mass escapes from a prison camp. The Luftwaffe, the German Air Force, has brought all the notable escapees in their possession to Stalag Luft III, a "perfect, inescapable" prison camp. The X Organization(the escape committee, begins their efforts to escape by digging three tunnels, Tom, Dick, and Harry. The movie follows all their efforts to escape including digging the tunnels, forging documents, blackmailing the guards, and making clothers for all the escapees. The last hour follows the prisoners who escaped from camp and then the murder of fifty of them. The Great Escape is a truly great movie that blends adventure, action, and suspense seamlessly. Also worth mentioning is Elmer Bernstein's now famous score for the movie which is instantly recognizable. This is a great movie based on a true story that should not be missed.
The Great Escape boasts a truly impressive cast. Steve McQueen became a star because of his performance as Hilts, the Cooler King, who refused to be broken by his German captors. His motorcycle chase and the famous jump over the barbed wire fence is one of the high points of the movie. James Garner stars as Hendley, the scrounger. Richard Attenborough is also excellent as Roger Bartlett, Big X, the head of the X organization. The impressive cast includes James Coburn as Sedgwick, Charles Bronson as Danny, James Donald as Ramsey, Donald Pleasence as Colin, Gordon Jackson as Mac, David McCallum as Ashley-Pitt, Angus Lennie as Ives, and many more. The 2-Disc Collector's Set is well worth the purchase. Disc One includes the widescreen presentation of the movie, cast and crew commentary, and a trivia track. Disc Two includes the History Channel's "History vs. Hollywoood" cut up into four featurettes, The Great Escape: The Untold Story(a documentary about the actual escape in 1944), Return to the Great Escape( a making of documentary, a theatrical trailer and an extensive photo gallery. For one of the best war movies ever made and one of my all-time favorites, check out The Great Escape 2-Disc Collector's Set!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not as advertised, poor quality, so sad for a classic, Aug. 25 2008
By 
I LOVE this movie, it's a classic.

This DVD is junk. It is NOT anamorphic widescreen (2.35:1), it's in fact matted "widescreen", in otherwords 2.35:1 ratio squished into a 4:3 fullscreen presentation so no matter what TV you watch it on it'll appear small.

On top of that the left side of the transfer appears blue, green, or dark throughout the entire presentation. There are also significant artifacts which have not been removed and the sound does not appear to have been properly cleaned up from the degradation of the celluloid film.

Even for the price (purchased mine at 6.99) it's not worth it. I own the VHS as well and it's better quality and fills more of the screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Simply awful, June 20 2003
By A Customer
This movie is so bad, I have no words for it. It has plenty of character actors. yet not one shred of realism.The German war camp is seen as so relaxed, it does not even make sense that anyone would try to escape from it. The reality of WW2 is, many POWs fared far better than those who were not captured. Many US troops were killed in combat during incredibly risky, almost suicidal missions, while the top brass like Eisenhower stayed back in England and had sexual affairs.
In this movie, those that do escape from it are given extremely lenient punishment--something that never would have happened in reality--if you were caught escaping from a german POW camp, you were shot on the spot--no hang dog look, give me my baseball glove and take me to solitary garbage!
The movie is "classic" 60's male bonding stuff, with all the guys getting together for this escape--too bad it is utterly lacking in tension or reality (or engineering sense, or human nature etc etc).
For a good WW2 movie, try " A Midnight Clear", "Bridge on the River Kwai", "von ryans express". This movie is so bad, I am embarrassed to own it on dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 114 15 16 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9fc2fb4c)

This product

The Great Escape (Special Edition) (2DVD) (1963)
CDN$ 46.12
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews