Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Different Take On a Similar Theme
This is a very different kind of Christmas movie than most of us are used to. The theme is one we have become familiar with -- someone, in this case the mom, has lost her Christmas spirit and belief in Santa. The husband, however, holds onto his and wants their two children to keep theirs.
The remainder of the film, however, is a departure from most films. First of...
Published on Oct. 21 2004 by I M Laust

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars One Magic Christmas movie review
Wasn't quite the story I remember. My fault. I should have been more selective in my purchase. Thanks very much, your purchasing service was great.
Published 5 months ago by Doug McCrae


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Different Take On a Similar Theme, Oct. 21 2004
This review is from: One Magic Christmas (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
This is a very different kind of Christmas movie than most of us are used to. The theme is one we have become familiar with -- someone, in this case the mom, has lost her Christmas spirit and belief in Santa. The husband, however, holds onto his and wants their two children to keep theirs.
The remainder of the film, however, is a departure from most films. First of all, the family is an ordinary working class one with some money worries. Next, the angel is not what we're used to seeing; in fact he seems almost like a child molester. The settings are stark and cold, with plenty of snow and dull colours, but the story is warm. This gives the story a certain amount of realism to play against the fantasy that surely must follow in a story like this. And the bleakness serves as a reminder that for many, this can be a depressing time of year.
There are some surprises along the way, and we're not sure how we're going to get there, but since it is a Christmas story there must be a happy ending. A very warm and gentle movie about finding the true meaning of Christmas -- family and friends. Well worth watching (as I do every year).
And as at least one other reviewer noted, parents with young children should talk about the scenes with the little girl and Gedion when they're alone. If you have children, I am certain you don't want them talking to strangers alone at night on an empty street.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A story for the whole family to enjoy!, Nov. 19 2003
By A Customer
I love this film! I think that financial and parental obligations can cause Christmas to be a very stressful time for many people. The main character, played by Mary Steenburgen, is a very unhappy person. She is obviously in a rut and the fact that another Christmas is coming, with all that entails, is not helping. This is a great story about seeing what you have, instead of what you don't. It is very emotional, as fairy tales are, and has a wonderful moral. It is heartwarming and appeals to the child in all of us. My family and I watch it every year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Message on One Front, Dec 7 2001
This review is from: One Magic Christmas (VHS Tape)
One of those depressing Christmas flicks with a happy ending, this truly family movie has a good message about remembering what is really important in life. The main character, Ginny, is caught up in her her own problems and worries. She has lost her Christmas spirit and has forgotten how important her loved ones are to her. On a cautionary note, this film is different from other movies such as "It's a Wonderful Life" and "The Preacher's Wife" in that the angel seems to be a representative of Santa Claus, setting up good 'ol St. Nick to be a God-like figure. When tragedy strikes the family (not too much detail here so as not to spoil the movie if you haven't seen it yet) the angel takes Ginny's young daughter to Santa Claus. He tells her he can't solve her problem, but that her mother has the power to do it herself. The turning point in the movie left me wondering how it exactly happened, but it is a movie with a supernatural theme so this is part of the charm. Good acting by all the cast. A movie that the whole family can enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This movie will help you realize the true meaning of x-mas.., Nov. 14 2001
By 
Nicole (San Diego, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: One Magic Christmas (VHS Tape)
Mary Steenburgen plays the part of the bitter and frustrated wife Ginny to perfection. I have never seen her play a role this before, it just truly shows what a great and versatile actress she is. The story is about a woman named Ginny who even when everyone else at Christmas seems bright and full of joy, she cannot even bring herself to say Merry Christmas. With money tight Ginny doesn't see why there is any need to be merry. She is the type of person who doesn't seem to appreciate anything she has especially her loving husband, and bright and imaginative kids. It isn't until one christmas when Ginny's daughter decides to do something about her mother to get her back into the christmas spirit and that's when she meets the kindhearted and wise angel Gideon played by Harry Dean Stanton. With the help of Gideon, and Santa Claus she is able to help her mom realize that she shouldn't take for granted everything she has and helps her realize the joy and magic of christmas that she knew when she was just a little girl. This is a beautiful movie and very well acted and with a very good message. Although there are some scenes which are too intense for younger kids like when Ginny's husband get's shot or her kids drown in the lake, but other than that this movie is something for young and old. It will help you realize the true meaning of christmas: family and just how special they are. One Magic Christmas truly is magical!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars OVERLOOKED Christmas Classic now on DVD !!!!, Oct. 23 2001
By 
forrie (Nashua, NH United States) - See all my reviews
This is a great OVERLOOKED CLASSIC movie to watch all year round especially during the holiday season. Now available on DVD in a WideScreen format!!
One Magic Christmas is a classic story about a struggling family who lost the Holiday Spirit and the mother the belief of "Merry Christmas". Through some hair raising events they regain their faith and belief in themselves and others.
In Summary: A Christmas Angel (Harry Dean Stanton) is sent to help a family re-discover the "Spirit of Christmas". The Angel uses the daughter (you'll love this 7 year old, Elisabeth Harnois - the cutest girl with the most adorable blue eyes) to help restore her mother's (Mary Steenbergen) lost Christmas Spirit and belief in "MERRY CHRISTMAS".
Through some tough choices & lessons the mother has her faith in her fellow man, family and the Christmas Spirit restored.
The Angel and the daughter's beliefs guide us through the events and we even get a trip to the "North Pole and see Mr & Mrs Santa Claus!!!! With the comfort and protection of the Christmas Angel our journey is both eye opening and satisfying.
A Christmas Classic to add to your DVD holiday collection.
This is "ONE MAGIC CHRISTMAS" you won't forget!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, April 17 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: One Magic Christmas (VHS Tape)
This is absolutely one of the most wonderful Christmas movies I have ever seen, and I watched it in April with my 4 year old niece.
I have never been a huge fan of Mary Steenburgen--her personality always comes across as weak and spineless, and she has this soft-spoken, almost whiny voice that reinforces that image (would love to see her play some hard, forceful roles, as I have a feeling it's in her somewhere). However, in this movie, she was pefect. She plays a woman overwhelmed by life in general who has lost her ability to love and appreciate all the little things that make life "magical" and "wonderful" and "inspiring." Her six year old daughter has not lost this ability--she restores the "magic" to her mother through an encounter with an angel and with Santa Claus and a series of other spectacular events. This movie not only leaves you feeling good, it makes you appreciate all the ordinary everyday things that we have in life and often take for granted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, April 17 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: One Magic Christmas (VHS Tape)
This is absolutely one of the most wonderful Christmas movies I have ever seen, and I watched it in April with my 4 year old niece.
I have never been a huge fan of Mary Steenburgen--her personality always comes across as weak and spineless, and she has this soft-spoken, almost whiny voice that reinforces that image (would love to see her play some hard, forceful roles, as I have a feeling it's in her somewhere). However, in this movie, she was pefect. She plays a woman overwhelmed by life in general who has lost her ability to love and appreciate all the little things that make life "magical" and "wonderful" and "inspiring." Her six year old daughter has not lost this ability--she restores the "magic" to her mother through an encounter with an angel and with Santa Claus and a series of other spectacular events. This movie not only leaves you feeling good, it makes you appreciate all the ordinary everyday things that we have in life and often take for granted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A true Christmas classic worth watching., Dec 24 1999
By 
B. Mah "Bill" (Edmonton, AB, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: One Magic Christmas (VHS Tape)
"One Magic Christmas" is a wonderful film for the entire family to watch during the holiday season. Its very dramatic for a Disney family film, but comes out with a happy ending. Mary Steenburgen plays a mom who has completely lost the whole Christmas spirit in her. It takes the help of her six year old daughter along with a guardian angel and Santa Claus to change her mind about Christmas. Great moments in this film portray a slight realistic approach about a family trying to cope with what they can spend on Christmas gifts. As said earlier, this movie also comes with some very dramatic moments in it. Get this film for the whole family and enjoy it for years to come!
For some odd reason, this film has been out-of-print on home video for a while, but has been made available again in 1999 on home video thanks to Anchor Bay Entertainment. Its available on standard VHS version, widescreen VHS edition, and also on the DVD format as well. Shame on the Disney company for not re-releasing this film on video, and my applauds towards Anchor Bay for doing this. "One Magic Christmas" is a Disney film and yet Disney doesn't have the video rights for it or something? I don't understand that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars #Wonderful, Dec 7 2003
By 
bblane53 (west Springfield MA usa) - See all my reviews
I have loved this movie for at least 10 yrs. What a wonderful story of coming to realize what things are important in life. Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Family Favorite, Nov. 13 2003
By A Customer
This is the type of movie you will either love or hate. My family happens to love it. We watch it every year, it is a must see, along with Prancer. A big part of the fun, is that it was filmed in the 80's and we like seeing the styles back then. I don't think it is for small children but older children will like it. I feel it is the type of movie that you enjoy more after viewing it once. You know what is coming and that no matter what happens it works out in the end. It is heartwarming, but a bit over the top. One of the reasons we love it is that we enjoy poking fun at the extremes the movie goes to just because the main character doesn't believe in Santa. Give it a try, and soon you will make it a part of your Christmas tradition. Maybe you will end up like my family and be able to recite the dialog.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

One Magic Christmas (Sous-titres français)
One Magic Christmas (Sous-titres français) by Phillip Borsos (DVD - 2004)
CDN$ 14.99 CDN$ 11.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews