Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Greatest Family Movies of all time!
This is one of the greatest family movies I have ever seen. I saw it in the theatre in 1986 (twice). I purchased the video as soon as it was released and will now purchase the DVD. I'm so glad it is finally available. If you are looking for a wonderful movie to watch with your family...this is the one to buy!
Published on July 14 2004 by Debra E. Russell

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Flight of the Navigator
I had watched this with my children when they were small, and enjoyed it. I didn't enjoy it quite so much this time. The acting leaves a bit to be desired, although the story is still magical.
Published 23 months ago by D. E. Kaye


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Greatest Family Movies of all time!, July 14 2004
This review is from: Flight Of The Navigator (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
This is one of the greatest family movies I have ever seen. I saw it in the theatre in 1986 (twice). I purchased the video as soon as it was released and will now purchase the DVD. I'm so glad it is finally available. If you are looking for a wonderful movie to watch with your family...this is the one to buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FLIGHT OF THE NAVIGATOR [1986] [Blu-ray] [UK Release], Oct. 25 2014
By 
Andrew C. Miller - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
FLIGHT OF THE NAVIGATOR [1986] [Blu-ray] [UK Release] ‘Flight of the Navigator’ Is The Action-packed Classic 80s Adventure Into Another World!

It's 1978 and 12-year old David Freeman [Joey Cramer] is knocked unconscious while playing. He wakes up and discovers it's now 1986 and he's been missing for eight years. NASA believes he's been abducted by aliens and want to use him for their research. But with the guidance of a strange unseen entity he discovers a hidden spaceship and with the help of MAX the computer sets off on an incredible mission to get back to the past where he belongs.

Cast: Joey Cramer, Albie Whitaker, Paul Reubens (Max voice), Cliff De Young, Veronica Cartwright, Albie Whitaker, Matt Adler, Sarah Jessica Parker, Howard Hesseman, Robert Small, Jonathan Sanger, Iris Acker, Richard Liberty, Raymond Forchion, Cynthia Caquelin, Ted Bartsch, Tony Tracy, Philip Hoelcher, Rusty Pouch, Peter Lindquist and Jill Beach

Director: Randal Kleiser

Producers: Dimitri Villard, Robert Wald, John W. Hyde and Jonathan Sanger

Screenplay: Mark H. Baker (story), Matt MacManus and Michael Burton

Composer: Alan Silvestri

Cinematography: James Glennon

Video Resolution: 1080p

Aspect Ratio: 1.77:1

Audio: English: 2.0 LPCM

Subtitles: English SDH

Running Time: 90 minutes

Region: All Regions

Number of discs: 1

Studio: Second Sight Films [Walt Disney Studios]

Andrew's Blu-ray Review: The astonishing success of Steven Spielberg's E.T. in 1982 heralded the money-making power of the friendly alien, so naturally every film mogul wanted a piece of the pie. Independent producers PSO, known for more adult oriented fare, had some success with fantasy film ‘The Neverending Story’ so they pushed ahead with two cutesy sci-fi projects, one about a robot and the other about an alien. The former became ‘Short Circuit’ and the latter became ‘Flight of the Navigator.’ Unfortunately PSO encountered severe money troubles and the company was declared bankrupt before ‘Flight of the Navigator’ was released, which is when Disney stepped in to pick up the pieces and distribute the film.

‘Flight of the Navigator’ opens with a Frisbee Dog Contest on the Fourth of July, 1978. An ordinary 12-year-old boy named David Freeman [Joey Cramer] is there with his family. He's got a mother, a father, a pesky younger brother, and an unspectacular dog named Bruiser. That night, David goes to find his brother for the holiday celebrations. Wandering in the woods, he falls quite a distance into a ravine. When he gets up, it appears to be just a moment later. But, as he learns, it is actually eight years later. David hasn't changed in any way, but the rest of the world has.

Now it's 1986. An old couple now lives in his house, his younger brother is now his older brother, and "Starsky and Hutch" is off the air! David has no knowledge of where he's been. It's a mystery that fascinated specialists are trying to unravel.

Enter Dr. Faraday [Howard Hesseman], who makes it clear to David and his family that the top-of-the-line resources of NASA are the best shot at figuring out what has happened. So, David agrees to spend 48 hours at a NASA base, letting the best men in the field pry his mind in a search for answers. Simultaneously, Dr. Faraday and the other NASA specialists are mulling over the discovery of an unusual body which appears to be a spaceship. To reach a sufficient understanding, they decide that David will need to stay longer for tests.

With the help of Carolyn McAdams [Sarah Jessica Parker], a friendly young intern at the base, David seeks to escape. His breakout quickly takes him to the spaceship, where he begins to make sense of the some of the strange dreams and voices he has been experiencing. The ship is commanded by a robot of higher intelligence [voiced by Paul Reubens], who David names Max. Max needs help from David, specifically his mind. David wants answers from Max and a departure from the curious scientists. They take off on a unique and thrilling journey through space and time.

‘Flight of the Navigator’ is totally brilliant. All of its elements seem to work just right. It's extremely clever premise is played to perfection, thanks to skilful crafting. The film starts out strong with a highly intriguing set-up, and sets a fast and flawless pace that it never departs from. In the lead role, Joey Cramer has just the right amount of curiosity and charisma to make the protagonist fully likable. Supporting performances from the family members all seem to hit the right notes. The robotic character, Max, is a lot of fun. Once he acquires some personality from a mind-mining procedure, he begins to sound quite a bit like Pee Wee Herman, in the best possible way. Though its script and direction deserve highest praise, a great sense of humour helps to distinguish ‘Flight of the Navigator’ from other strong science fiction films of the late '70s and early '80s. While its time-travel tale is a serious one, it deftly uses comedy to enhance the adventure and crank up the entertainment value. In many of the best ways, the film calls to mind the perfect blend of Back to the Future, without feeling the least bit derivative.

Blu-ray Video Quality – ‘Flight of the Navigator’ is presented in its original 1.85:1 widescreen aspect ratio, with a nice 1080p encoded image. The opening scenes of the film looked very grainy, but you needn't fear. This only reveals the technical shortcomings of optical credits sequences. There were a few brief scenes, either effects or exterior shots that exhibited an excess of grain. By and large, though, the video quality was overwhelmingly pleasing. Colours are vibrant and solid; flesh tones seemed extremely natural. Though not as sharp as a film from today, the picture was consistently clean and crisp. Without a doubt, this transfer offers significant improvement over any other home video release the film has received. Still, it's a revelation compared to the disastrous inferior UK DVD which literally used a cropped VHS copy as its source.

Blu-ray Audio Quality – Flight's 2.0 Dolby Surround audio presentation was also most satisfactory. The film features a prominent and powerful score by Alan Silvestri (‘Back to the Future’), which often comes in a bit louder than the rest of the audio, and effectively hits and underlines the film's adventure and suspense. Though the film's score was the most significant surround element, a number of the film's sound effects made use of the rear channels, as well. Dialogue was crisp and always intelligible. Aside from the inconsistent volume level (as usual, a desired effect), I didn't notice anything about the audio which detracted from the experience. A solid presentation, particularly for Dolby Surround, and Alan Silvestri's memorable score is put to good use.

Blu-ray Special Features and Extras:

Audio Commentary with Director Randal Kleiser and Execitive Producer Jonathan Sanger: The solitary extra feature is an audio commentary featuring Randal Kleiser and Executive Producer Jonathan Sanger. The two have an obvious kinship and their chat features some interesting insights, although there's a fair amount of dead air so one sitting should be enough to take it all in.

Finally, 'Flight of the Navigator' is one of those rare nostalgic treats that's just as much fun as I remember it to be, and this Blu-ray presentation is sure to take you right back to 1986 and is a fantastic film that is well worth discovering, if you haven't already. The picture and sound have not been given an overhaul, yet the experience is purer for it. Extra features are limited to a decent commentary, but given the film's money troubles and mixed parentage, I couldn't have hoped for much more. While the complete lack of bonus features may not be what they had in mind, the presentation of the film itself deserves acclaim. Clever, suspenseful, and at times very funny, ‘Flight of the Navigator’ simply offers as much fun as any movie I've seen in a long time. This film is one of Disney's best, one that widely departs from the studio's formulas or any conventions at all and manages to entertain without fail for an hour and a half and that is why it has gone pride of place in my extensive Walt Disney Blu-ray Collection, as it is one of my all-time favourite film ever since I originally owned it on the poor substitute inferior DVD. Highly Recommend!

Andrew C. Miller – Your Ultimate No.1 Film Fan
Le Cinema Paradiso
WARE, United Kingdom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of my favorites as a kid, May 27 2004
By 
Kindle Customer "Pimmy" (LINDENHURST, NY, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Flight Of The Navigator (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
I waited a long time for this to come out on dvd. Bugs me that the companies don't get it right the first time though. They release the dvd with no extras what so ever just so they can release a special edition a few months later. Disney did the same thing with Tron. I'm sure they have a lot of stuff they could've put on this dvd but they chose otherwise. I would've liked to see some trailers at least and it doesn't even look like it has any.
Anyway Flight of the Navigator is a great movie for the whole family. It's under-rated and a lot of people might not even have heard of it. It's about a boy who's accidently sent to the future by an alien space ship. When he finds his family they wonder why he hasn't aged a day. Scientists then run tests on him to find out where he was. He decides to escape and find a way back to the past and getting a ride on the space ship is the only way back. Once he gets on the ship is when the movie turns more goofy as the alien is voiced by Paul Reubens (Pee Herman) after all. The movie is still tons of fun and it does have some clever science fiction in it too for a kids movie. So eventhough the dvd has no extras what so ever the movie itself is worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Compliance. A great movie!, Feb. 29 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Flight Of The Navigator (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
This sci-fi film is a classic eighties movie filled with humour, drama and adventure from start to finish. This is a must see for all ages! The part where the Beach Boys 'I Get Around' is a funny moment.
I already have both the UK region 2 Version (widescreen 16.9) and the S. American region 1 Version (Full Screen 4.3) both officially released in these territories already. It's nice that US customers can now enjoy this terrific movie. Though the Region 1 version I have includes the Theatrical trailer as well as other extras. I hope there is a choice between full screen/widescreen options because this movie was filmed in full frame and cropped/matted for theaters/cinemas. So if you are used to the Vhs/tv broadcast versions this is the full screen original print. And will be losing picture from top and bottom for the widescreen release on DVD.
Let's hope this US version has loads of extras like audio commentary, featurette etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Flight of the Navigator, Jan. 5 2013
By 
D. E. Kaye "music lover" (Yarmouth NS CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flight Of The Navigator (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
I had watched this with my children when they were small, and enjoyed it. I didn't enjoy it quite so much this time. The acting leaves a bit to be desired, although the story is still magical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best kid sci-fi movie ever, May 3 2004
By 
jackiepapertracer "Jack" (Orlando, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Flight Of The Navigator (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
I saw this movie some 20 years ago when it was released to the movie theaters. The cast selection was good so was the script. I have bought this movie an am glad that no dialogue was edited out (unlike some other movies I've seen.) It would ruin the quality of the movie if the Disney censored some of the words from this film. I always like a good science fiction film, but don't be dubbing in or out any words. I love Joey Cramer's acting, he is a natural in this film. Joey Cramer was great in a 1987 movie called The Stone Fox with Buddy Ebsen, look for it when it comes out on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing having a bit of nostalgia in HD, Oct. 21 2014
This was always one of my favourite movies growing up. I would always catch it on TV on a Sunday afternoon, but the quality was always kind of a let down. When I found that the Flight of the Navigator was available on a region free blu ray, I had to jump on it. The picture is amazing and the image is as clear as I've ever seen it. I don't know why they haven't released a North American Blu
Ray version of this film, but thank you for getting a version of it out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is for my mom, April 28 2004
By 
Laura Linton (Ocean City, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Flight Of The Navigator (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
My mom has enjoyed this movie for years, but we never owned it; however, I have decided to change that and order her her favorite movie of all time, "Flight of the Navigator." This is a great family movie that includes humor, science fiction, and a family that sticks together. I would recommend that every child watch this movie, even if it is before their time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars COMPLIANCE!!, July 15 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flight Of The Navigator (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
I watched this movie as a kid when it was on TV, probably on Wonderful World of Disney on a Saturday night. What can be cooler than listening to the Beach Boys and flying a spacecraft! Created back in the early days of CGI, this movie does it's best with the tools of the era. It's a fun family watch and my boys love it, despite the fact it ain't big and flashy like the new movies of today. You get to see a very young Sarah Jessica Parker and Howard Hessman (Dr. Johnny Fever!!) in a dramatic role.
If you like movies for their story, not their flashy graphics and have younger kids that know how to use their imaginations then invest in this classic and add it to your movie collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Disney sci-fi, May 18 2014
By 
Len the Sound Guy (Montreal) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Flight Of The Navigator (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
I've always liked this story, it is a 'feel good' sci-fi! Even though it is geared to a younger audience, I feel like a kid when I watch it, so maybe it's for any age! As in every Disney story, there are good guys and bad, but in this one the good guys usually win. There are some sad moments as well, but all in all this movie will make you happy. The space ship steals the show, although corny at times, it's personality is a winner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Flight Of The Navigator (Sous-titres français)
CDN$ 6.25 CDN$ 4.18
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews