Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sadly, the CBC-only material is omitted.
True KiTH fans know that the show ran on CBC in Canada and HBO in the States, and the troupe would tape each episode twice. Sadly for us Canadian fans, the US version is all that's available on DVD and we have to put up with Mark saying he's from Maine rather than the Ottawa Valley and other little paeans to their US broadcaster. Many times these are innocuous, but as in...
Published on April 16 2008 by skyhawk0

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Unsatisfied
I ordered the complete first season of "Kids in the Hall" in 2011, and it took way too long to ship and when I received it, it only contained three discs of a four-disc box set. I got a refund, but it was a gift and I was completely disappointed and unsatisfied.
Published on Sept. 29 2012 by Jeffrey D.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sadly, the CBC-only material is omitted., April 16 2008
By 
skyhawk0 (Vancouver, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kids in the Hall: Complete Season 1 1989-1990 [4 Discs] (DVD)
True KiTH fans know that the show ran on CBC in Canada and HBO in the States, and the troupe would tape each episode twice. Sadly for us Canadian fans, the US version is all that's available on DVD and we have to put up with Mark saying he's from Maine rather than the Ottawa Valley and other little paeans to their US broadcaster. Many times these are innocuous, but as in the previous example, some impact the punchlines.

The truly sad omission is that occasionally skits that were too Canadian for American audiences were replaced entirely. While it's great to get "The Dr. Seuss Bible", it's appalling that "Bad Sketch", detailing how all Canadians own the sketch through the CBC, is missing. Even worse an omission is the first appearance of Dave and Kevin's trappeurs, singing "Alouette" as they trap businessmen to sell their Fendi and Armani pelts.

Still, this is still the Kids and the material is far beyond what you'd find in any other sketch show. They avoid the quick pop-culture references of most American sketch shows, and while they dip into the absurdism of Monty Python, there's much more of a sense of social commentary and even activism in their work. This season is less polished than future seasons,as it's before they get used to writing for television, but it is the freshest, as they could work off their long history of stage work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A (Pear) Dream Come True, June 8 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Kids in the Hall: Complete Season 1 1989-1990 [4 Discs] (DVD)
I remember once flipping through the channels one Thursday night in 1989, and I hit CBC (Canadian Broadcasting Channel). A show was about to start, and preceding it came a warning that some may find the material offensive. My teenage sensibilities piqued, I set down the remote and watched - and was hooked.
That was The Kids In The Hall, and I never stopped watching them. I loved the Eradicator, Buddy Cole, Cabbage Head, the Head Crusher, dull extra-terrestrials, slow-poke country doctors hankering for apple pie while ma battles the grim reaper upstairs, daves I know, and much much more.
I watched them on Canadian TV for years, and then some more on Comedy Central. And now, they're arriving on DVD - finally! I'm so happy I can enjoy the madcap comedy unedited in any dosage I want (need!). So far it's been a total laughfest and a wonderful trip down memory lane.
My only complaint: It's only season one. They've been off the air for 10 years and we're only now getting the first season. But it's been worth the wait and I can only hope they'll get the rest out ASAP. That and Monty Python and all vital comedy needs are met.
Sex-Girl Patrol, anyone?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not the Kids' best, but please buy it anyway, June 4 2004
This review is from: Kids in the Hall: Complete Season 1 1989-1990 [4 Discs] (DVD)
The Kids in the Hall was a brilliant show. It is so much funnier than Saturday Night Live, and more timeless, too. Saturday Night Live spends most of its time making fun of celebrities, current events, and trends. After a few years it loses its edge. The Kids make fun of life and people's quirks. Sketches from '89 hold up just as well as they did fifteen years ago.
There are many great moments in this set. A husband and wife fighting in the middle of the night over a salty ham, a punk-ish banker lamenting about his job (and using the f-word liberally), an elderly man pooping for the first time in four years, a Vaudeville act with the worst straight-man in history, and many more which are kind of hard to explain. Actually, one of the best parts about Kids in the Hall sketches is how baffling they can be. Many sketches don't have a real joke; you just laugh at how absurd they are.
Despite my praise, the first season does not show the Kids at their finest. Many sketches fall flat; others start funny but drag on far too long. Most of this is good stuff, but you can tell the Kids haven't perfected their craft yet. But I'm not sure we'll get to the good stuff if more people don't buy this one. So I urge you: If you like the Kids, please fork over some money. I mean, I think this set is worth the money on its own, but you'll also help ensure seasons 2 through 5, which are even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Deja vu!, May 21 2004
By 
This review is from: Kids in the Hall: Complete Season 1 1989-1990 [4 Discs] (DVD)
For anyone who appreciates the madness of Monty Python, the Kids in The Hall are a great second-helping of sketch comedy that doesn't fall into the trap SNL did (of putting easily-accessible to a wider audience over subtle and intelligent). The five Canadians who are chronicled in this first season are fresh-faced young men who know what kind of comedy they want to achieve, even if the rest of the world's a bit unsure what to make of them.
I first came across the Kids in college, a few years back, when Comedy Central began airing reruns from their long-ended TV show. I may not be as devoted as some KITHers in terms of memorizing skits and catchphrases, but I am truly in the camp of people who think the Kids are fantastic.
This DVD set is much-analyzed in previous reviews, and i haven't fully enjoyed all the episodes, but from what I have been able to gleam in my four days of owning it I can say it's a fantastic buy. Not everything works, but the sketches that do are bar none some of the best-written and -acted material in all comedy.
The first few seasons were broadcast on HBO (before a network switch to CBS in the early Nineties, when I stumbled across them but didn't "get" them yet) and thus there's a lot of cursing that didn't make it onto the Comedy Central-aired eps. Ocasionally the proceedings get a bit more odd than funny, but anyone who appreciates the Kids knows that was part of their charm.
The bonus fourth disc features the interviews and voiceovers on certain sketches ("That's the one we bombed on Letterman"), and is a nice companion to the series.
Overall, I say this is an essential buy for anyone who loves the Kids, or is a Python nut but not familiar with them, or anyone who simply loves fantastic comedy. Lorne Michaels gave them their start, then wisely stepped back and let the Kids do their own thing. This is the ultimate sketch comedy show of the post-Python era, and a worthy successor (maybe I'm aking too much of the Python references, but it's my review. Go write your own, Python-free review and leave me alone). Go buy it now, you'll laugh your butt off guarenteed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Tuesday is no good for the Eradicator!!!, May 16 2004
This review is from: Kids in the Hall: Complete Season 1 1989-1990 [4 Discs] (DVD)
As others have noted, the first season is a bit hit-and-miss: the first few episodes are great, the next ten episodes or so are sporadically funny at best, and the final five episodes foreshadow the brilliance that would become the hallmark of the Kids in later seasons. What's fascinating about these episodes is to see their evolution from stage troupe to television sketch comedy writers. The earlier episodes suffer slightly from an unsuccessful transference of material from stage to screen (though "Citizen Kane"--which seems like a stage piece--totally works). Later in the first season, they start taking advantage of TV gimmicks to make more successful bits (like "Mechanic" from Episode #15 or the "Premise Beach" sketches from Episode #18). I will select my five favorite sketches from each disc--
Disc One (Episodes 1-6)
The Eradicator (#1)
Cause of Cancer (#1)
Womyn (#2)
Citizen Kane (#3)
Elvis (#5)
Disc Two (Episodes 7-13)
Teddy Bears' Picnic (#9)
McGuillicutty and Green (#10)
Folk Music (#12)
Skoora! (#12)
Indian Woman (#13)
Disc Three (Episodes 14-20)
Manny Coon (#16)
Power of My C--k (#16)
She's Gone (#18)
Tarantula (#19)
Buddy Holly (#20)
The bonus disc features a nice documentary about the early years of the troupe as well as highlights from their pilot episode. The commentaries on the sketches are not particularly informative, and Scott Thomson is not present for much of the commentaries, which is a drawback. A must, obviously, for fans of "Kids in the Hall" as well as fans of subversive television sketch comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Support The Kids, May 1 2004
By 
"atalantaxf" (Jefferson City, MO United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kids in the Hall: Complete Season 1 1989-1990 [4 Discs] (DVD)
Just having all of Season 1 of The Kids in the Hall on DVD would makes this worth any fans' hard earned cash. But there's more. The Oral History segment is fantastic. It chronicles the Kids rise to (sort-of) success as told by the Kids themselves. The interviews are at once informative, insightful, and hilarious. You get a glimpse into each of the Kids' beginnings and personalities. Most importantly, you get a sense of the group dynamic. It's interesting to hear what the Kids have to say about one another.
Then you have the audio commentary for the pilot episode and the season 1 favorites. I know there was a lot of press about the in-fighting going on in the group around the time you movie came out, but listening to the commentary you get nothing but a sense of friendship between them.
The Rivoli sketches are another wonderful thing for a true KITH fan to have. True, the video is grainy and a few times the camera wanders around, but it doesn't matter because it's just great to see them in the days when they were just beginning as a group.
And of course, anyone who buys this probably knows about the actual sketches. I'll just say that the sketches definitely hold up. In fact, as I've watched the DVD I've grown to love season 1 more and more instead of getting sick of it. You find something new everytime you watch a sketch.
Here's hoping that season 2 hits stores soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MUST buy (if you are a KITH fan), April 17 2004
This review is from: Kids in the Hall: Complete Season 1 1989-1990 [4 Discs] (DVD)
If this sells well they will release more seasons. Oh I HOPE they release more seasons!
The first three discs contain all the episodes from the first season and the fourth disc is a special features disc. I won't spoil the fun but it does contain the pilot episode which is right on par with their regular stuff. I will say this much, remember the last KITH episode? Remember the sketch where Bruce is onstage and he watches part of a sketch with all the Kids sitting around a campfire? Well that sketch is from the pilot episode and this is probably the only way you will ever see it! (unless you could download it somehow... hmmm gives me an idea)
From watching the episodes Comedy Central aired I was under the impression that 'The Kids' came up with their characters initially and kept them going throughout all of their seasons. Not true. After watching the first season this is abundantly clear. Here we get several sketches from Gordon and Fran, Bobby Terrance, The Headcrusher, Thirty Helens, and The-Nobody-Likes-Us-Guys but sadly have to do without Sid and Charisse, Simon and Heckubus, Chicken Lady, Gavin, Francesca Fiore and many other fan favorites. Mississippi Gary is merely introduced along with glimpses of Cathy and Kathy and of course Buddy Cole.
Overall this was an AWESOME walk down memory lane. There are a few sketches that were never aired on comedy central (censored) and that alone makes it worth purchasing for any die-hard fan. Plus there are a few snippets that Comedy Central just cut out for no apparent reason at all. For example, when Mark stands outside of a house and keeps yelling for Lopez there is a brief segment I never even knew existed. (he makes up a little song about how Lopez is lazy)
In conclusion, this is a wise purchase for the casual fan and a godsend to a diehard like me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kids In The Hall, Complete Season 1, March 19 2004
By 
"valeska_" (The Pacific Northwest) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kids in the Hall: Complete Season 1 1989-1990 [4 Discs] (DVD)
Here's what's in this collection: (I changed a few of the titles so that fans can recognize them better)
Call Girls, The Eradicator! plays squash, Ballet, Crushing Your Head, Cause of Cancer, The Pear Dream, Kathie and the Blues Guy, Crushing Your Head 2
30 Helens, Sketch Comedy, 30 Helens 2, Cabbage head, Restaurant, Tractor, Sarcastic guy, Buddy's Better, 30 Helens, Womyn
Gunslinger2, Gorilla, Hey Man, Citizen Kane, Hey Man2, Salty Ham, Hey Man3
Deja Vu, A**hole, The Daves I Know (a musical), Menstruation, House Rules, The Dinner, Sick of the Swiss, Country Doctor
Indian Drum, Geralds, Crushing Disco, Good Grampa (Grandpa gets over constipation), Exploring Scott, Are Extraterrestrials Dull?, If Elvis were my landlord, Crushing Disco2
30 Helens, Bored Robber, Running Fagg*t (a musical), 29 Helens, Flogging, The Trucker, Can I Keep Him?
Disk2
Hotel La Rut, Plummet, Hotel La Rut2, Bobby's First Poem, Fletcher Christian, Hotel La Rut3, Joymakers
Ping Pong, The Vacation, Ping Pong2, Chain Gang, The Banker Doesn't Like Us, Dinosaurs, Ping Pong, Tony Comes to Dinner, The Banker Doesn't Like Us2
A Place to Die (Dave wants to die in the house where he was born), Secretaries, A Place to Die2, Preacher, Weston, A Place to Die3, Teddy Bears Picnic (Bruce is a dad who tells his skeptical son (Scott) the Teddy Bear's Picnic Story).
Hoopla, McGuillicutty and Green, Wake Up!, MacIntyre Name, One Step at a Time, Nobody Likes Us: (The two pathetic guys who couldn't get a loan in the last episode take a bus ride), McGuillicutty and Kurosawa, 3 For the Moon
Night of the Living Dead, Can Never go Home, 30 Helens: Coleslaw, Under Control, Gunslinger, Star Crossed Lovers, 30 Helens: Hawaii, Barbershop
Turning Over, Mood Swing, Billy Dreamer, Folk Music, Who's Gay in Hollywood?, Billy Dreamer2, Skorra! (The Gentle Shark)
Signs of Loneliness, Networking, Lopez1, Fat Hitch-Hiker, Lopez2, The Donut Shop, The Lamp, Lopez3, Indian Woman, Lopez4
Disk3
Editors Intro, Editors (Go for a walk), Bobby breaks up with his girlfriend, I Lied, Dull near-death experience guy, I'm a Cat, My Routine, Schoolroom, Editors Finale
Death Row, White Guy, Crazy Love, Buddy's Island, Captain Alan, Mechanic (Kevin plays an unconvention grease-monkey, with beautiful golden locks), Baby (A childless couple go baby hunting)
The Floater, Is He?, 30 Helens, Pens, Manny Coon (A true artist (Scott) is asked to give advice to graduating art students), 30 Helens:Great Minds, Bass Player, Compensation, 30 Helens:Disagree, Power of My C*ck
Boo!, Dracula (Mark plays a vampire who takes a guy (Scott) to a Leaf game, and then brings him home), Kevin's sketch with just a middle, Crushing Girlfriend (The Head-Crusher invites his girlfirend Misha over), Conversation with a Mass Murderer (Dave), B&K, Beautiful Women (Christian Renoir discusses his new line of clothes for ugly women on the Darcy Pennell show)
Love Me, Stinky Pink, Premise Beach, Crouton (Bruce is a guy who tells a story of the world's largest crouton to some little kids), Olympics, Premise Beach2, Sh*tty Soup, She's Gone
Hey Baby!, Island Boys, Can't Kill Rock, Tarantula, Cat's Away, Mutilated, Car Ride (Go for a ride in Bruce's 300 dollar car, just don't make fun of it!), Pyromaniac Secretary
Fat Man (a musical), How We Met, 30 Helens: Photos, Bank People (Bruce is a hip guy complaining about his job at the bank) Double Date, Buddy is Canadian, Buddy Holly, 30 Helens:Helens, Dr. Seuss Bible.
The fourth disk contains the bonus features of fan favorite sketches (from season 1) like: Romeo (Bruce is a guy who hits on his mother's elderly friends) Cabbage Head (A different one then on the first disk) and Reg, plus sketches from the rare pilot episode, audio commentary, cast bios, an oral history featuring new interviews with the Kids! and Lorne Micheals and 30 minutes of live performances at the Rivoli Theater.
Manny Coon, Bank People, My Routine, Car Ride and Dr. Seuss Bible are hilarious, don't miss them. Excellent price.. KITH is brilliant, the funniest sketch comedy I've seen and definitely the most innovative. I love the Kids! Thanks to the A&E channel, Broadway Video and persistent fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A comdedic treat in the tradition of Monty Python, Feb. 24 2004
This review is from: Kids in the Hall: Complete Season 1 1989-1990 [4 Discs] (DVD)
This set is a real treat for Kids In The Hall fans with more than 8 hours of material plus every uncut show from season one. If you've never seen TKITH before, these shows will make you an instant fan; that's what happened to me after seeing just a couple of these early shows the first time years ago. The DVD includes new previously unseen interviews with the Kids and with producer Lorne Michaels, 30 minutes of performances from the Rivoli Theater show, plus audio commentary, sketches from the pilot episode, biographies, and even more.
If you appreciate comedy such as Monty Python's Flying Circus then you will thoroughly enjoy the demented surreal twists and zaniness found in this set, such as the sketch about "The Eradicator". The comedy in most sketches is very dense and holds up on repeated viewings, allowing you to pick up more bits of hilarity each time you see them. Very few shows this clever, funny and original have ever been on television. If you like entertainment with the aforementioned qualities and many layers of humor, such as Mystery Science Theater 3000, Black Adder, Fawlty Towers, The Simpsons or Red Dwarf, buy this Kids In The Hall set and you will not be disappointed. It will provide many hours of laughter. Incidentally, the theme music during the opening titles is terrific; it rocks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A comedic treat, best sketch show since Monty Python, Feb. 20 2004
This review is from: Kids in the Hall: Complete Season 1 1989-1990 [4 Discs] (DVD)
This set is a real treat for Kids In The Hall fans with more than 8 hours of material plus every uncut show from season one. If you've never seen TKITH before, these shows will make you an instant fan; that's what happened to me after seeing just a couple of these early shows the first time years ago. The DVD includes new previously unseen interviews with the Kids and with producer Lorne Michaels, 30 minutes of performances from the Rivoli Theater show, plus audio commentary, sketches from the pilot episode, biographies, and even more.
If you appreciate comedy such as Monty Python's Flying Circus then you will thoroughly enjoy the demented surreal twists and zaniness found in this set, such as the sketch about "The Eradicator". The comedy in most sketches is very dense and holds up on repeated viewings, allowing you to pick up more bits of hilarity each time you see them. Very few shows this clever, funny and original have ever been on television. If you like entertainment with the aforementioned qualities and many dense layers of humor, such as Mystery Science Theater 3000, Black Adder, Fawlty Towers, The Simpsons or Red Dwarf, buy this Kids In The Hall set and you will not be disappointed. It will provide many hours of laughter. Incidentally, the theme music during the opening titles rocks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kids in the Hall: Complete Season 1 1989-1990 [4 Discs]
CDN$ 37.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews