Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage SmartSaver Countdown to Black Friday in Home & Kitchen Kindle Music Deals Store SGG Tools

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars23
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:$22.34+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 21 reviews(5 star).Show all reviews
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on July 15, 2004
That's right, I said stumble. I was flipping through the channels on a boring Sunday night when I happened upon a show about a guy just trying to get some soda. The thing is, the soda machine landed on him. That was the first episode I've ever seen of Sealab 2021, a priceless gem among the line-up of Adult Swim shows.
This show is one of the funniest cartoons out there and I plan to buy this, and the Aqua Teen one, because the thought of owning these episodes is quite a nice feeling. But as some have said, Adult Swim and Cartoon Network are only using the bare minium when it comes to the content, and that sucks they have to do that to the people that tune in weekly to catch these shows.
I would still buy this for the feeling of owning something great, being able to laugh any time you want to, and hey, maybe even devise a way to make your own happy cake oven.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2004
If you stay awake long enough to catch Adult Swim on Cartoon Network Sunday nights (starts around 10:30 p.m. CST, my old time zone- now I'm on the east coast, and everything starts an hour later), check out "Sealab 2021". It's a spoof off the old 1972 cartoon "Sealab 2020", except that the original '72 crew has been replaced by a bunch of lunatics who probably shouldn't be allowed out of doors. Perhaps that's why they've been confined to an underwater lab where they can't hurt anybody (well, almost anybody). We loyal fans have long awaited Adult Swim gems to come on DVD, and with "Sealab 2021", you get the following eppys:
*I, ROBOT- News of a monkey whose brain has been implanted in a robot prompts the crew to have a long-winded "discussion" about the fate of their own brains.
*HAPPYCAKE- Captain Murphy is devestated to find his beloved Happy Cake Oven is missing, and orders the crew, along with a Jacques Cousteau-like narrator, to search the waters for it. Meanwhile, a giant squid endangers the life of the crew; or as the narrator sees it, "uses it's tentacles to cradle me like a Mother's arms".
*RADIO FREE SEALAB- Captain Murphy is bored and decides to use the lab's emergency radio beacon for a pirate radio station, starring as "Howling Mad" Murphy.
*CHICKMATE- Debbie questions the male crewmembers to see who will make the best Father for the baby she wants immediately, and Stormy almost learns a valuable lesson in race relations.
*LOST IN TIME- Bizarre episode in which Stormy and Dr. Quinn are mysteriously transported 15 minutes back in time to save Sealab from an explosion- even though the same explosion happens again, starting the vicious cycle all over again.
*PREDATOR- There's an invisible yet shimmery ghoul aboard Sealab that has the crew cowering in the corners. It's up to Dr. Quinn (with Dolphin Boy as bait) to capture the fiend.
*LITTLE ORPHAN ANGRY- Griffin, a terminally ill orphan, comes aboard Sealab to live out his dream. But Griffin's heart is not as pure as everyone thinks. Meanwhile, Capt. Murphy morphs into a germ-a-phobe freak as he fears a Bubonic Plague outbreak.
*WAKING QUINN- The eppy is a bit hard to follow- Stormy wants to show Dr. Quinn his new hairdryer while Quinn is in the water- yes, Dr. Quinn is electrocuted and bizarre happenings are afoot.
*ALL THAT JAZZ- In one of the funniest episodes, Capt. Murphy gets trapped underneath the BeBop Cola machine. Unfortunately for him, everyone else is at a concert. A year transpires before he is found, and in that time he loses all his teeth and becomes addicted to scorpion venom.
*MURPHY MURPH AND THE FENG SHUI BUNCH- This is my all-time fave eppy. Capt. Muprhy is dissatisfied with the disharmoy of the Sealab decor. He hires an extortionate Feng Shui "master" to redecorate everything- but "Master Loo" is a con artist who convinces the crew to buy his crap oragami and persuades Murphy to spend $50,000 on a solid gold toilet. Ofcourse, only Dr. Quinn sees through him.
*IN THE CLOSET- Capt. Murphy gets everyone stlocked in a closet, and tempers begin to flare.
*STIMUTACS- The ver witty Sparks has come up with a new drug that everyone wants,but the side effects are grotesque- and additctive.
*SWIMMING IN OBLIVION- A compliation of past episodes dominates this season finaale, including the informercials for the "Debbie Gone Wild!" DVD's.
Some of Sealab's best episodes were in it's first season, and thankfully they're all here.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2004
Here are the episodes:
Hopefully the disks will contains the pilots, I dont see why not
P-1 2003 21-Dec-2000 Radio Free
P-2 2001 30-Dec-2000 I, Robot
P-3 2002 30-Dec-2000 Happy Cake
Season 1
4. 1-1 2101 02-Sep-2001 Chickmate
5. 1-2 2102 16-Sep-2001 Predator
6. 1-3 2103 30-Sep-2001 Lost in Time
7. 1-4 2104 14-Oct-2001 Little Orphan Angry
8. 1-5 2105 21-Oct-2001 Waking Quinn
9. 1-6 2106 28-Oct-2001 All That Jazz
10. 1-7 2107 09-Dec-2001 Murphy Murph and the Feng Shui Bunch
I would assume they would include the pilots. I mean, I,robot is classic !!
This is one of the funniest, smartest and most entertaining cartoon on television. Each episode is around 15 minutes a piece (like most Cartoon Network Adult Swim toons).
If like bizarre humor, you'll love this cartoon ! Plus,its cheap compared to many other seasons on DVD.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2004
Sealab 2021 is one of the funniest shows on television. There's no coincidence to the fact that this DVD will be released on the same day as Volume 2 of the Aqua Teen Hunger Force. Kindred spirits, both shows intertwine the mundane and the insane in ways that make things much much worse for their various characters, and the shows consequently that much funnier. Sealab 2021 is a nearly perfect ongoing spoof of the cheesy decades old Sealab 2020 show, with every single character often going through a range of maladies from cannibalism to cyborg powers to running pirate radio stations. As such, it generally defies categorization even in individual episodes, which typically end with the lab itself blowing up on the ocean floor for no apparent reason. If you've ever watched a cartoon from the 1950s or 60s and laughed at how straightlaced it was, Sealab 2021 is right up your alley.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2004
Sealab 2021, what a great show. Finally going to be released on DVD. This version is a little short though. It's only 156 minutes long. There are 13 episodes on this version. This show is really funny and you'll be laughing all the way through it. Being a fan of Aqua Teen Hunger Force, Space Ghost, and other cartoon network DVD's I bet this one is going to be good too.
Below is a list of the episodes on this Season 1 DVD(s) of Sealab 2021.
1- I, Robot
2- Happycake
3- Radio Free Sealab
4- Chickmate
5- Lost In Time
6- Predator
7- Little Orphan Angry
8- Waking Quinn
9- All That Jazz
10- Murphy Murph And the Feng Shui Bunch
11- In the Closet
12- Stimutacs
13- Swimming In Oblivion
Pitch Pilot
I, Robot- Alternate Ending
Radio Free Sealab Uncensored
Little Orphan Angry (Deleted Scenes)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2004
When I first saw this show at a freinds, I was a bit scheptical, I mean the animation was very cheap... But the instant I heard the Dialogue...
Murphy:Alright... who did it? You'll stay in those battle stations all day, and all night, until I find out who did it.
Sparks: Uhh... gonna need some details, Skip.
Murphy: Don't play dumb with me! Some thief stole the one thing that brings me joy. My one ray of sunshine in this crappy rust bucket. My Happy Cake Oven.
Yes, as I rolled on the floor laughing, the show only got funnier. I dont think Ive ever seen any thing this funny in my life. Couse the secret ingrediat is love, dammit!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 28, 2004
This show is brilliant and is the funniest on TV. It's a prime example of allowing writers to create a show based not on demographics, but on silly, intelligent humor. When given freedom to be creative, shows like this -and Harvey Birdman, The Brak Show, Space Ghost Coast to Coast -reflect a genius little seen in this fast-food, have to appeal to every person on the planet TV universe we currently reside in. Writers are the backbone of shows, give them the freedom to create funny, well written scripts, and stop putting roadblocks, and you have Sealab 2021.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2005
(...) the show was made by a couple of guys who stole a bunch of the original Sealab content, and made a show out of it. That being said, when I first heard about it I laughed quite hard, there seems to be a lot of LUE based humor in the DVDs, they are very enjoyable but there are some "inside jokes". In the end this DVD set is hilarious. I highly recomend picking it and Aqua Teen Hunger Force up, and if you have a little extra cash the Brak Show wouldn't be a bad idea either. Hours of laughs await you.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 20, 2004
Either you get it or you don't and words will not help you determine if you do or don't. This is classic, smart,
silly humor.
If you buy it and hate it, geez, there's no accounting for
tastes, but it's only as expensive as 3 crappy-tasting
lattes, so shut up already and buy it and decide for
yourself. If you don't like it? Donate the DVD to
your local public library and support your community.
Sealab 2021 is brilliant. The only question is - are
you sharp enough to get it?
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2004
Ok, though details are sketchy, CN has stated that none of their shows will be released on dvd until it has at least 24 episodes (this magic number appearently constitutes a full season in their eyes, even though all sources aside from CN look at SL2021 as having had 3 seasons). Hopefully this set will include no less than 24 eps and possibly as many as 33. Even still, who could pass up any paltry amount of SL2021 on dvd, come on. BTW, King Of (f'n) Queens?!?
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Venture Bros. Season 4, Vol. 2
Venture Bros. Season 4, Vol. 2 by Various (DVD - 2011)
CDN$ 23.86

Venture Bros. Season 1
Venture Bros. Season 1 by Various (DVD - 2006)
CDN$ 29.70