Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Tarzan Movie
This simply has got to be one of the best Tarzan films ever made. Yet I can't help feeling that this Tarzan film is merely
a great prelude of what could have been a great series of more
Tarzan films. Christopher Lambert was excellent as Tarzan/John Clayton and Andie MacDowell looked beautiful as Jane (dubbed by
Glen Close). The scene of the jungle explorers...
Published on June 9 2004 by Jack Burgess

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Realistic, but needs more.
A few days ago I sat down and watched Greystoke: The Legend Of Tarzan which I hadn't seen since its original release about twenty-five years ago.

My biggest complaint with this film is it's pacing in some spots. It just seems to drag unlike the way I remember it. Or perhaps I, too, have become accustomed to more contemporary films with generally quicker pacing...
Published on Nov. 16 2010 by Ray Lefebvre


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Tarzan Movie, June 9 2004
By 
Jack Burgess (Tampa, Fl USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greystoke: The Legend of Tarzan, Lord of the Apes (DVD)
This simply has got to be one of the best Tarzan films ever made. Yet I can't help feeling that this Tarzan film is merely
a great prelude of what could have been a great series of more
Tarzan films. Christopher Lambert was excellent as Tarzan/John Clayton and Andie MacDowell looked beautiful as Jane (dubbed by
Glen Close). The scene of the jungle explorers traveling down
a African river via tramp steamer reminded me of Disney World's
Jungle Cruise ride exactly. Beautiful cinematography and Rick
Baker's ape effects were fantastic. This Tarzan film seems to take place around the late 1890s - early 1900s, so the attention
to period detail was very well done. So if jungle adventure and
romance is to your liking, check out this terrific film. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A strong intelligent film ......, Oct. 10 2010
By 
JT (RIchmond, BC) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Greystoke: The Legend of Tarzan, Lord of the Apes (DVD)
I really liked this film. The feel and atmosphere are just great. It really gives you that circa 1900's English age of scientific discovery Darwinian feel. The apes are good in it. Christopher Lambert and Ralph Richardson give strong performances. The bottom line being that this is a well made, entertaining movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Greystoke: Legend of Tarzan DVD, May 29 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Greystoke: The Legend of Tarzan, Lord of the Apes (DVD)
Excellent DVD at a bargain price. Great color and sound, and a good commentary by the director and producer acting as a team. There is a trailer as well, for those who think trailers important. The movie itself is superb, a gorgeous rendering of the Tarzan story, with beautiful shots of equatorial Africa and Scottish castles etc. which of course cannot look as good on TV as on a vast movie screen. I remember seeing the original and it was wonderful.

This is not at all a "fun" Tarzan and doesn't resemble the old Johnny Weissmuller films, so don't expect anything like those. Probably 60% of the movie takes place in Britain, after Tarzan is discovered and brought home to meet his family. This film is more serious, more dramatic; it's not really an adventure film in the classic sense. But it is supposedly more faithful than the earlier versions of Tarzan to the original first Tarzan book by ERB. In any case, it is a powerful drama and a superb piece of film. I love the old Tarzan films of the 30s, but I also love this one. You just have to adjust to different directorial purposes.

The IMDB average rating on this film is extraordinarily low; many people gave it very high grades of 8, 9, or 10, but others gave it grades of 5, 3, or even 1, so the average doesn't come out very high. I think that most IMDB users are on the young side and want to see lots of violence and action in their films; the Matrix, for example, is rated 8.7 whereas this gets only 6.3. But in fact for production values this movie is 10 out of 10, a sheer pleasure to behold, and even given some slight straining of credibility in parts of the plot, the story is still and 8 out of 10, and the acting is close to 9 out of 10, with Richardson and the other Brits turning in flawless performances, and Andie MacDowell wonderful in her debut, though they say her voice was dubbed by someone else because she couldn't hide her southern US accent. Tarzan (Lambert) is for the most part excellent as well. The acting of the apes (actors in suits, but very realistic-looking suits) is excellent, though at times too human, not apelike enough, especially in facial expressions of love and tenderness etc. Still, the effect is much superior to the typical CGI rubbish of today. I would say that if you ever get a chance to see this film on the big screen, that would be the place to spend the money; but given how rarely old films surface at even repertory theaters, you'd be wise to grab this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No Monkeying Around, Dec 13 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Greystoke: The Legend of Tarzan, Lord of the Apes (DVD)
A great telling of the Edgar Rice Burroughs classic tale. Well acted, well written, pulls you into the story (and the jungle).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well done., Dec 25 2012
By 
Eric Khambata (Calgary, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Greystoke: The Legend of Tarzan, Lord of the Apes (DVD)
This dvd is worth it. The story of Tarzan was always a great one. The apes who play Tarzan's parents are very lifelike and touch your heart in a special way. Get this one for it's entertainment value alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Realistic, but needs more., Nov. 16 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Greystoke: The Legend of Tarzan, Lord of the Apes (DVD)
A few days ago I sat down and watched Greystoke: The Legend Of Tarzan which I hadn't seen since its original release about twenty-five years ago.

My biggest complaint with this film is it's pacing in some spots. It just seems to drag unlike the way I remember it. Or perhaps I, too, have become accustomed to more contemporary films with generally quicker pacing on average. I know this film isn't strictly faithful to Edgar Rice Burroughs original novel, but it does have a look and sensibility that feels right. Christopher Lambert isn't a bad Tarzan, but I think they could have cast better and someone with a little more meat to his physique. I think the film also needed something else to the story other than Tarzan/John Clayton dealing with being torn between two worlds. In some respects this might seem a more realistic take on Tarzan, but perhaps it's a bit too much so and there isn't enough larger-than-life aspects to the character and his world. I'm also reflecting on the covers I've seen on some of the Burroughs' Tarzan novels and I'm inclined to visualize those when I think of Tarzan---a little more larger-than-life action.

This isn't a bad film, but I can see where it could have been better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, July 5 2004
By 
Mr. Cruz Georges "georgescruz" (Caen, FRANCE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greystoke: The Legend of Tarzan, Lord of the Apes (DVD)
Beautiful and touching story. Great images and good performances. One of the classics of the 80's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars So Close..., May 25 2004
By 
Vagabond77 (Tennessee, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Greystoke: The Legend of Tarzan, Lord of the Apes (DVD)
"Greystoke - The Legend of Tarzan" could have been a classic. Lord John Clayton of Greystoke is shipwrecked in Africa with his pregnant wife. Shortly after she gives birth, they both die from an ape attack. One of the apes take little John, and raise him as her own. He grows up strong but wild and savage (now played by Christopher Lambert). One day he is happened upon by a French explorer. He is eventually returned to his family, but he finds it hard to fit in with "civilized" people. Along the way, he falls in love with Jane (played by Andie MacDowell, but her voice was dubbed by Glen Close, why they did this I'll never know?). It had a populor director (Hugh Hudson), an accomplished writer (Robert Towne), was beautifully photographed (especially in the jungles, it is just breathtaking) and based on one of the most populor books of the 20th century by Edgar Rice Burroughs. But it isn't that good. What happened? Well, the first hour or so there is no dialogue; but that is okay, because the physical expressions of the apes and Tarzan are pretty self explanatory. (By the way, he is never referred to as 'Tarzan'.) When he is 'rescued' and moved to England, nothing very adventurous happenes there. What happened to pirates coming out of the wood work trying to kidnap Jane? Where are the warriors from Opar? I'm sorry, "Greystoke" was pretty dull. The actors do ok, I guess. Ian Holm is alright, good in fact. Ralf Richardson looked like he was having a good time, and the relationship between he and his grandson rang pretty true. It is hard to tell if MacDowell was any good, with being dubbed over. But what about Tarzan? Christopher Lambert was actually good. I really liked his performance as the childlike savage. He played being in awe of the city wonderfully. He didn't talk a lot, but maybe that is a good thing. His acting tends to be a little wooden; in fact, in my opinion, he just happens to be in the right place at the right time, like this one and "Highlander". I read the novels and I think about how this movie could have been so much more. Still, it is a beautifully shot movie, and it dose play fair, so it is worth your time. If you can find it, watch the extended version, it is a little bit more action packed (loved how Tarzan took out the entire outpost!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's about stinkin TIME, Warner Brothers!!, May 20 2004
This review is from: Greystoke: The Legend of Tarzan, Lord of the Apes (DVD)
Baffling why this hasn't been released until now. I've been waiting for years!
This is a wonderful film full of beautiful scenery and cinematography. The creature effects don't quite hold up like they used to, but Rick Baker is still the best "monkey man" in Hollywood. Lambert gives a passionate performance as does Sir Ian Holm. Andie MacDowell's (Jane) voice is actually dubbed by Glenn Close!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic!, March 24 2004
This review is from: Greystoke: The Legend of Tarzan, Lord of the Apes (DVD)
This is a film not to be missed. It beautifully captures the spirit of the novel, doing so through captivating performances and lush, atmospheric locations. I happen to like the playfulness exhibited by the lead character and his grandfather. It poignantly illustrates the idea of someone who has been for all intents and purposes, suspended it time and is only now discovering their childhood, and human affiliation. I plan on purchasing the DVD as soon as it is released in June. I highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Greystoke: The Legend of Tarzan, Lord of the Apes
Greystoke: The Legend of Tarzan, Lord of the Apes by Christopher Lambert (DVD - 2005)
CDN$ 9.93
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews