Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Frasier is still in the building
Season three of "Frasier" didn't hit as many comic highs the series achieved in season two - the brothers don't let their egos destroy restaurants, for example. Instead, in these 24 episodes, we get the kind of acerbically funny, occasionally hilarious character comedy that we came to expect from the show. Niles, who in this season leaves Maris, finds his attraction to...
Published on May 24 2004 by Richard LeComte

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not that great
The premises for the episodes aren't as good. We don't really need to see relationships overlapping between Roz and Niles and Frasier and Daphne. That's just the typical thing to do. That's why I hate Friends. But, there are some good episodes in there. Ray Liotta, one of the most underrated actors ever, is a guest voice. So, it's all good. I'd get season one if I wasn't...
Published on May 25 2004 by Red


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Frasier is still in the building, May 24 2004
By 
Richard LeComte "richlec" (Tuscaloosa, AL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Frasier: Season 3 (DVD)
Season three of "Frasier" didn't hit as many comic highs the series achieved in season two - the brothers don't let their egos destroy restaurants, for example. Instead, in these 24 episodes, we get the kind of acerbically funny, occasionally hilarious character comedy that we came to expect from the show. Niles, who in this season leaves Maris, finds his attraction to caretaker Daphne (Jane Leeves) intensifying, especially in the episode "Moon Dance," in which two two dance at a society bash. Meanwhile, Frasier (Kelsey Grammer) has a prolonged fling with his boss (Mercedes Ruehl). In one memorable episode - "The Adventures of Bad Boy and Dirty Girl," the two accidentally broadcast their tryst. Frasier also has a close encounter with Diane Chambers (Shelley Long), who left him at the altar in "Cheers." (The episode, "The Show Where Diane Comes Back," features a classic "Cheers" spoof.) The shows frequently shun cheap laughs to build to a riotous conclusion. The extras are going downhill from the earlier collections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smart and Witty, April 18 2004
This review is from: Frasier: Season 3 (DVD)
Another great season.
Includes all 24 episodes and extra material on all 4 discs which include:
1. The Crane Brothers Remember Season 3: Features Interviews With Kelsey Grammer and David Hyde Pierce
2. A Conversation With Art Director Roy Christopher
3. Bulldog Crazy
4. The Mystery Of Maris: The Breakup Begins
5. Celebrity Voices: Including Matthew Broderick, Carrie Fisher, Teri Garr, Laura Dern, Cyd Charisse, Ray Liotta, Jodie Foster, Joan Allen, Jane Pauley, David Duchovny and More!
Season 3 (1995-96) Episodes:
She's the boss, Shrink Rap, Martin Does It His Way, Leapin' Lizards, Kisses Sweeter Than Wine, Sleeping with the Enemy (part 1), The Adventures of Bad Boy and Dirty Girl (part 2), The Last Time I Saw Maris, Frasier Grinch, It's Hard to Say Goodbye If You Won't Leave, The Friend, Come Lie with Me, Moon Dance, The Show Where Diane Comes Back, A Word to the Wiseguy, Look Before You Leap, High Crane Drifter, Chess Pains, Crane vs. Crane, Police Story, Where There's Smoke There's Fired, Frasier Loves Roz, The Focus Group, You Can Go Home Again
Great video and sound quality.
A witty show which keeps the laughter coming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of The Few Good Sitcoms On TV These Days!!!, May 5 2004
This review is from: Frasier: Season 3 (DVD)
Frasier is a terrific show and as a spinoff from Cheers which was also a good show I have to say that I prefer Frasier because I find the humor to be wittier. The third season is coming out on DVD on May 25 and I'm sure it will be great and I recommend it! It's a shame that the current season will be it's last season because this is one of the few good sitcoms on TV these days!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hands-down the best sitcom ever!, June 11 2004
This review is from: Frasier: Season 3 (DVD)
First of all, let's get a few things straight. "The Simpsons", "Seinfeld", M*A*S*H", "Cheers", "All in the Family", etc. are all great landmark tv shows worthy of being called brilliant and some of the all-time greats. But there is no doubt that "Frasier" (1993-2004) is the most consistenly funny and brilliant sitcom in American TV history. The writing, acting, direction are all top-notch and reached their first creative peak with seasons 2&3. This set is ESSENTIAL for "Frasier" fans or anyone who wants to watch some of the best comedy writing of this century (not an exaggeration). Five consecutive Emmys speaks volumes of all this, but I cannot praise this show enough. I mean I love all the above named shows a lot, but once you've seen them 2 or 3 times they lose their value and laugh-out-loud quality (except for "Seinfeld"). "Frasier" on the other hand is timeless, and the episodes from this season can be watched over and over and over again 200 years from now and people will still be laughing because of the quality of writing and direction of this series. As far as international TV is concerned, I consider "Frasier" to be to the USA what "Black Adder", "Fawlty Towers" or "Only Fools and Horses" is to the UK, i.e. the best show the country has ever produced. I recommend getting seasons 1-2 first and then immediately purchasing this one. Trust me you will not be dissapointed. Long live the Cranes!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A new beginning! Act 3, Scene 1 coming?, May 27 2004
By 
Andrew Hoover "Top 1 billion reviewer" (Walnut Creek, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Frasier: Season 3 (DVD)
Frasier's season finale marks the start of a new era in the life of Dr. Crane. Remember, he didn't re-marry or settle on a new career...there's much more to come. It's possible Frasier's headed for Roz's small Wisconsin hometown to settle down, then retire in Hawai'i (Act 4). Can you imagine the comedic episodes, Frasier's upper-class style adapting to rural farm-town life?...maybe never, but years of great material.
I bought season three. No regrets. Side-splitting humor redux.
The episodes:
She's The Boss
Shrink Rap
Martin Does It His Way
Leapin' Lizards
Kisses Sweeter Than Wine
Sleeping With The Enemy
The Adventures Of Bad Boy And Dirty Girl
The Last Time I Saw Maris
Frasier Grinch
It's Hard To Say Goodbye If You Won't Leave
The Friend
Come Lie With Me
Moon Dance
The Show Where Diane Comes Back
A Word To The Wiseguy
Look Before You Leap
High Crane Drifter
Chess Pain
Crane Versus Crane
Police Story
Where There's Smoke There's Fired
Frasier Loves Roz
The Focus Group
You Can Go Home Again
& Special Features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars GIVE US BETTER EXTRAS NEXT SEASON!, July 1 2004
By 
Mac in NYC (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Frasier: Season 3 (DVD)
This is a wonderful collection for those who care only about seeing their favorite Frasier episodes or the ones they missed. Hands down, Frasier is the wittiest, most imaginative sitcom since the Dick Van Dyke show. Only the brilliant, much-missed MST3K made me laugh out loud as consistently. I own Frasier Seasons One through Three, and even though I love watching my favorite episodes a second or third time, the extras are disappointing. The Bulldog featurette and the Maris extras on this Season Three set are snooze-worthy. Why rehash the same material that's on the disc? We fans want behind-the-scenes footage, rehearsal footage, bloopers, deleted scenes, etc. We want to see John Mahoney flub his lines and crack everyone up! And we all know that Moose is hardly a one-take dawg. I'm sure the producers have plenty of outtake reels hanging around. More commentary, outtakes, bloopers, deleted scenes, please, for Season Four!!! Please listen to your fans, Kelsey!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Good Sitcom!!!, June 14 2004
This review is from: Frasier: Season 3 (DVD)
I used to watch Cheers when it was still on NBC and I sometimes watch the reruns on TVland. Cheers is a good sitcom that is very witty but I prefer this spinoff, Frasier which I find to be wittier and as they recently had the series finale of Frasier I will miss the loss of this show when the new TV season starts. Both Frasier and that other wonderful NBC sitcom Friends will definitely be missed but at least you can buy complete seasons on DVD! Frasier's Kelsey Grammer, David Hyde Pierce, John Mahoney, Peri Gilpin and Jane Leeves are all topnotch and make this show so enjoyable and I recommend this third season DVD box set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It is a really great show...and that's final!, May 31 2004
By 
E. Mardoqueo Siliezar "Marduk72" (San Salvador, El Salvador, Central America) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Frasier: Season 3 (DVD)
Never mind people telling you something different about this show...Frasier is one of the best comedy series of all times. It is really hilarous, witty and a great family-and-friends portrait of modern life with its ups and downs. But most of all, the cast is superb. You really get to care about this people and their mutual relationships, like Daphne and Niles for instance. So then,I suggest we heed Dr Crane when he says "lets live for the little joys and surprises that life can afford us" and drink in this marvelous work of enjoyment. Don't you agree?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The quick wit lives on!, May 26 2004
By 
Frederick A. Babb "An Author," (http://www.frederickbabb.com) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Frasier: Season 3 (DVD)
Frasier marked the end of the shows that thrived on quick wit and the constant juggle versus the occasional belly laugh. This collection is some of the best of the series and another reminder of an era that is started out with the likes of the Cosby Show, Night Court, Cheers and now is sadly coming to an end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars UNBELIEVABLE THIRD SEASON!!!!, March 12 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Frasier: Season 3 (DVD)
When I first heard about the release of the 3rd season of Frasier, I was ecstatic. The 3rd season really shows the genius of the writers. Probably the wittiest season of the whole series. I will be sure to grab it the second it comes out!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Frasier: Season 3
Frasier: Season 3 by Philip Charles MacKenzie (DVD - 2004)
CDN$ 22.99 CDN$ 17.97
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews