Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars A Fat-Burning Sensation!
Taking the intensity up a notch was something I really wanted to accomplish after I finished working out to the same workouts that Denise Austin did everyday on Lifetime TV. Her new video, "Power Zone: The Ultimate Metabolism Boosting Workout" has done just that. Using resistance bands during the whole workout, Denise brings the intensity up efficiently and...
Published on July 17 2004 by Jenni

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars I can't believe this woman is still making workout videos...
Denise Austin has got to be the most annoying and condescending instructor around. I think she doesn't realized or understand how annoying and condescending she is. Her videos are not good ones to grow with because they are often too easy and her cueing is lousy and she can't keep track of reps so both sides of the body get worked unevenly.
Published on June 22 2004 by Silent Girl


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars A Fat-Burning Sensation!, July 17 2004
This review is from: Denise Austin - Power Zone - The Ultimate Metabolism Boosting Workout 1-3 Version 2 [Import] (DVD)
Taking the intensity up a notch was something I really wanted to accomplish after I finished working out to the same workouts that Denise Austin did everyday on Lifetime TV. Her new video, "Power Zone: The Ultimate Metabolism Boosting Workout" has done just that. Using resistance bands during the whole workout, Denise brings the intensity up efficiently and effectively....enough that I was sweating in less than 10 minutes into the workout! During the entire 25 minutes of cardio, you're burning OVER 300 calories! I am serious - with the resistence band, fat gets a powerful punch!
Denise has you do 25 minutes of cardio, then 10 minute segments each for your legs, thighs, buttocks, and abdominals. After working out with Denise for over two years, I have to say that this workout is the best and most effective that I ever used. Although, I do have my disappointments in this one. I noticed that Denise seemed hurried and uninterested in the workout in some points of the video. The moves are quick and fast-paced and if you are doing the workout for the first time, you may feel like you're not able to keep up. Of course, you will get used to the moves in time - after the first workout I got used to it, so it's not something tremendously serious that you need to think over. Denise's workout mates on the video can annoy you enormously if you let them - they seem like they're in a trance during the whole workout and look more like fake supermodels than workout mates (you notice in many exercise videos that workout mates seem more tolerable and real - like mothers who workout or someone from the street who is fit.. but these women on this workout video seem like they have fake personalities).
Other than that, the workout is great - you definitely feel like your muscles were worked hard enough and that you had a real, complete workout.
Recommended fitness levels are at least intermediate. You need to have at least SOME exercise experience - if you are just starting out, I would recommend Denise Austin's Xtralite Exercise videos that are available at Amazon instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Workout, June 4 2004
By 
L. Collins (Boston, MA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Denise Austin - Power Zone - The Ultimate Metabolism Boosting Workout 1-3 Version 2 [Import] (DVD)
Normally, I would give Denise a completely glowing review, but this workout was a bit different. Things I greatly enjoyed were the program: 25 minutes of cardio, followed by 10 minutes segements of arms, legs and abs. Also, the DVD version came equipped with a resistance band, which is necessary to participate in the workout. My criticism is that the whole DVD seems either rushed or was a production after-thought. The music is pretty generic and Denise's spoken introduction is part of the workout, you can skip it manually, but it isn't its own chapter. That's kind of annoying. As for the workout itself, it is very good. During the cardio, you jump around and sweat, all the while using the resistance band for simultaneous toning. The moves are simple, yet effective and the band is a wonderful piece of equipment to weave into your own personal home workout routine, it makes your muscles adjust, as weight routines cause muscle memory over time and your muscles grow accustomed and don't work as hard. Her workout group is made up of people who are thin and fit, but don't look super-ripped or sickly, which is nice and semi-realistic, not intimidating like others can be. She recommends a 6 day schedule, but I think that people who have been working out for a while or have some sort of fitness savvy can decide for themselves, though it is nice to have some guidelines for those just starting out or unsure of how to go about things. She jumps right in, so there is no real explanation section. While the moves are not extremely difficult, there are just barely enough reps to get it right, but that is something that will resolve itself over time. And my last bit of criticism is that Denise seems either tired or a bit disinterested in the workout, she didn't seem as into it as her previous videos. However, she does take the time to really explain the mucles being worked and proper form on her fellow workoutmates. I would like to think of this review as overall a positive one, I just think that if I were to read a review, I would like to know of the negative aspects, to make a well-informed decision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Workout!, July 12 2004
This review is from: Denise Austin - Power Zone - The Ultimate Metabolism Boosting Workout 1-3 Version 2 [Import] (DVD)
The people who gave this DVD negative feedback must not be doing the video correctly! I am a Certified Personal Trainer and would recommend this video to anyone who wants to tone up and lose fat. Within 10 workouts, I could feel and see results and I've been working out for years and years! Denise is tremendously motivating and encouraging. The total video is about 55 minutes long, however the way the segments are set up, you can choose to do each section separately. Remember...give it 100% and you will look and feel better! Buy this DVD...it is so worth the money spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars I can't believe this woman is still making workout videos..., June 22 2004
This review is from: Denise Austin - Power Zone - The Ultimate Metabolism Boosting Workout 1-3 Version 2 [Import] (DVD)
Denise Austin has got to be the most annoying and condescending instructor around. I think she doesn't realized or understand how annoying and condescending she is. Her videos are not good ones to grow with because they are often too easy and her cueing is lousy and she can't keep track of reps so both sides of the body get worked unevenly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Workout DVD, June 23 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Denise Austin - Power Zone - The Ultimate Metabolism Boosting Workout 1-3 Version 2 [Import] (DVD)
I have been using this DVD for about a week and this is really a good DVD. It is really a good workout for those who hate to go to the gym and it is cheaper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the money, June 5 2004
By 
George L. Anderson Jr "geoande" (west yarmouth, ma USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Denise Austin - Power Zone - The Ultimate Metabolism Boosting Workout 1-3 Version 2 [Import] (DVD)
I didn't feel that the workout dvd was worth the money I paid for it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews