Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic
Love this movie. Saw it for the first time in the sixties (it is black and white). Anthony Quinn does a great job of playing the exuberant Zorba who teaches us to not sweat the small stuff and to make the most out of life.
Published 18 months ago by B. Dewhirst

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed.
Not what I remembered so I was disappointed in the movie but now with the service and the quality o the product.
Published 8 months ago by Margaret McGregor


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, Jan. 11 2013
By 
B. Dewhirst (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zorba the Greek (DVD)
Love this movie. Saw it for the first time in the sixties (it is black and white). Anthony Quinn does a great job of playing the exuberant Zorba who teaches us to not sweat the small stuff and to make the most out of life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Polar opposites, and a great film..., Jan. 8 2007
By 
M. B. Alcat "Curiosity killed the cat, but sa... (Hanoi, Vietnam) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Zorba the Greek (DVD)
Basil (Alan Bates), a somewhat boring Englishman that also happens to be a writer, goes to Crete in order to take charge of small inheritance. In his journey to that island he meets Zorba (Anthony Quinn), a Greek that is his polar opposite. Zorba is temperamental, and acts before thinking, enjoying life at it fullest with no regard for the consequences.

Circumstances, and Zorba's wish to earn some money, join this two men. Their interaction is something to be enjoyed as we watch "Zorba the Greek" (1964) once and again. Of course, the scenery is beautiful, and the music outstanding, but the real magic of this film is that it shows you what really good actors can do with a great script, and a director that knows what he is doing.

This film has hilarious scenes, but also others so dramatic that you will literally feel the pain of the characters. And of course, the ending is nothing less than perfect.

On the whole, I believe that this film is an excellent example of a true classic. Enjoy it.

Belen Alcat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 11 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zorba the Greek (DVD)
good movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars OPA! You'll Love It!, May 29 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zorba the Greek (DVD)
I love this movie, but then again, being of Greek heritage (and a huge Anthony Quinn fan), I'm biased! Still, it's a classic worth adding to your collection. Great price too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic indeed!, May 26 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zorba the Greek (DVD)
This is a wonderful movie which I saw years ago when it was first released. It is still as relevant as it was then, and well worth viewing again. Great acting; terrific musical score; touching theme. A gem!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 7 stars and 3 hearts♥♡♥, Jan. 27 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zorba the Greek (DVD)
If you see this movie once you will never forget it. The cast, the MUSIC, the screenplay, the Monks runnig and Anthony Queen DANCING, the old lady, the young one.etc... Everything is pure perfection. Love and efemerity of our Soul itself ♡♥ If you are alive You will Love It Too. ♡♥
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic!, Dec 20 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zorba the Greek (DVD)
A classic! Will never to out of style! Love and friendship depicted in a honest and sometime brutal way. Beautiful performances by Anthony Quinn and the other main characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed., Nov. 25 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zorba the Greek (DVD)
Not what I remembered so I was disappointed in the movie but now with the service and the quality o the product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Anthony Quinn at his best, Oct. 29 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zorba the Greek (DVD)
Sadly, good as it was at the time it was released, it did not stand the test of time. Somewhat disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good film, Aug. 1 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zorba the Greek (DVD)
We love the greek music and we think that Quinn is a great actor. The product arrived in time and it was in good condition. Amazon was the only place where we found the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Zorba the Greek
Zorba the Greek by Mihalis Kakogiannis (DVD - 2004)
CDN$ 16.98 CDN$ 6.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews