Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic
Love this movie. Saw it for the first time in the sixties (it is black and white). Anthony Quinn does a great job of playing the exuberant Zorba who teaches us to not sweat the small stuff and to make the most out of life.
Published 15 months ago by B. Dewhirst

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed.
Not what I remembered so I was disappointed in the movie but now with the service and the quality o the product.
Published 4 months ago by Margaret McGregor


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, Jan. 11 2013
By 
B. Dewhirst (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zorba the Greek (DVD)
Love this movie. Saw it for the first time in the sixties (it is black and white). Anthony Quinn does a great job of playing the exuberant Zorba who teaches us to not sweat the small stuff and to make the most out of life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Polar opposites, and a great film..., Jan. 8 2007
By 
M. B. Alcat "Curiosity killed the cat, but sa... (Los Angeles, California) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Zorba the Greek (DVD)
Basil (Alan Bates), a somewhat boring Englishman that also happens to be a writer, goes to Crete in order to take charge of small inheritance. In his journey to that island he meets Zorba (Anthony Quinn), a Greek that is his polar opposite. Zorba is temperamental, and acts before thinking, enjoying life at it fullest with no regard for the consequences.

Circumstances, and Zorba's wish to earn some money, join this two men. Their interaction is something to be enjoyed as we watch "Zorba the Greek" (1964) once and again. Of course, the scenery is beautiful, and the music outstanding, but the real magic of this film is that it shows you what really good actors can do with a great script, and a director that knows what he is doing.

This film has hilarious scenes, but also others so dramatic that you will literally feel the pain of the characters. And of course, the ending is nothing less than perfect.

On the whole, I believe that this film is an excellent example of a true classic. Enjoy it.

Belen Alcat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 7 stars and 3 hearts♥♡♥, Jan. 27 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zorba the Greek (DVD)
If you see this movie once you will never forget it. The cast, the MUSIC, the screenplay, the Monks runnig and Anthony Queen DANCING, the old lady, the young one.etc... Everything is pure perfection. Love and efemerity of our Soul itself ♡♥ If you are alive You will Love It Too. ♡♥
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic!, Dec 20 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zorba the Greek (DVD)
A classic! Will never to out of style! Love and friendship depicted in a honest and sometime brutal way. Beautiful performances by Anthony Quinn and the other main characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed., Nov. 25 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zorba the Greek (DVD)
Not what I remembered so I was disappointed in the movie but now with the service and the quality o the product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Anthony Quinn at his best, Oct. 29 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zorba the Greek (DVD)
Sadly, good as it was at the time it was released, it did not stand the test of time. Somewhat disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good film, Aug. 1 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zorba the Greek (DVD)
We love the greek music and we think that Quinn is a great actor. The product arrived in time and it was in good condition. Amazon was the only place where we found the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I don't want any trouble. . ., Nov. 27 2003
By 
the wizard of uz (Studio City, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Zorba the Greek (VHS Tape)
Says Basil as he declines the opportunity to persue a beuatiful woman who has thrown a meaningful glance at him. After all, she's a Greek who doesn't speak a word of English, he's in a foreign land and perhaps he's reading too much into her look and---
Whereupon Zorba cuts him off with the classic: " What do you mean you don't want trouble? What is life but to take of your belt and go looking for trouble! "
Besides, as Zorba further enlightens him, God, who is very merciful, will forgive many sins. But there is one sin He will not forgive: When a woman calls a man to her bed and he will not come . . .
-----------------------------------------------------------------
Anthony Quinn plays Zorba, a man who lives through tragedy by women, dance, music and madness. He has surrendered to all the beauty and horror of life and embraces whatever comes his way.
Alan Bates plays Basil, the bookish and reserved Brit who becomes both Zorba's boss and unwitting pupil after an accidental meeting brings them together during a storm on the way to Crete.
This is the simple premise which sets up one of the greatest novels and greatest films of the century, Nikos Kazantsakis's most popular work; "Zorba the Greek"
Quinn and Bates are phenomenal. Never better. The supporting cast is also superb. Perfect casting, subtle directing and a wonderful musical score.
The plot revolves around Bates trying to get an abandoned coal mine in the backwoods of Greece to produce. He's inherited it and if he can't make a go at it, then it's back to dreary old England and writing essays for a living.
Zorba, whose nickname is 'catastrophe' becomes his foreman. They interact with a young widow, an aging French hotel keeper--who was once a great beauty, and villagers that are straight out of the Dark Ages.
"Interact " is a weak word. Both heaven and hell breaks loose in this gripping tale.
It's a paean to lunacy. To the necessity to be 'a little mad' in order to find the courage to break the chains that bind us.
A forgotten gem. Told with savage humor and great compassion. Another sacrament of the cinema.
Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quinn brings the ultimate joy of living to this role!, Sept. 14 2002
By 
Linda Linguvic (New York City) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Zorba the Greek (VHS Tape)
This 1964 film is has a lot going for it. Mostly, it's because of Anthony Quinn's outstanding performance as a middle-aged Greek drifter. He's brings the ultimate joy of living to the role, in which he shows a reserved Englishman what the essence of life is all about. "You have to be a little mad," he says, and he surely demonstrates this. He works hard, he loves women, he constantly philosophizes about life and he dances. I immediately loved the character and wanted to identify with him. There is beauty is what he says and passion in every one of his actions.
Lila Kedrova is also great in a supporting role that won her an Academy Award. She plays an aging French woman who runs the hotel in Crete where Quinn and the Englishman, played by Alan Bates, go to work a mine that Bates has inherited. She is sad, funny and flirtatious all at the same time, and my heart went out to her plight. Quinn romances her and I could understand the relationship between these two people who both live their lives to the fullest.
The film has a message. And that is to find joy in life. It's a good message and that's why this film is a classic.
However, I can't understand why it was filmed in black and white. If ever a film needed color, this one did. And even though Irene Pappas is given star billing, her time on the screen, as the widow who appeals to the Englishman, is very little. I found her performance rather wooden as I did the performance of Bates. But, after all, that was the role Bates was cast in. Pappas should have been stronger.
I was disturbed by the basic story, which depicted some terrible cruelty by the townspeople. And the Englishman's role of just standing by and doing nothing, even though he was the cause of much of it, was disappointing. Bates' expression mostly stayed the same throughout it all, that of being overwhelmed. And his face showed no acknowledgment of the horror.
I still recommend this film however - if only to see Quinn at this best. And to try to grasp the essence of life that Zorba the Greek tries to impart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brutally honest. Spiritually triumphant. Unforgettable women, March 22 2002
By 
This review is from: Zorba the Greek (VHS Tape)
I'm puzzled by the previous reviewer who gave Zorba low marks because it failed to present life on the island of Crete as some kind of feminist utopia. In fact, Zorba is an amazing film BECAUSE it refuses to sugar-coat what was the hard reality for women in rural Greece - which is in fact, the hard reality for women in many rural, non-industrialized nations. (Greece was not industrialized at the time Kazantzakis wrote the original novel on which the film is based.) In fact, it would have been a betrayal of women everywhere to sugar-coat the discrimination these particular women faced.
Yes, life in Zorba's universe is incredibly brutal, and the fate of the young widow whose only crime was to reach out bravely to a sympathetic fellow human being, well, it's one of THE essential tragedies of this film. (Besides the tragedy of a man like Zorba who has survived fighting the Turks, only to be scarred by his own memories and regrets.) The film is brutal because life for these people (men AND women) truly was brutal. To present it as otherwise would be inexcusable. That there are moments of exultant joy in the midst of so much tragedy is the genius of Kazantzakis - and of Cacoyannis and his cast.
Who could fail to appreciate the courage and dignity of the young widow, played hauntingly by the austerely beautiful Irene Pappas? (She's also heartbreaking in the political thriller "Z.") Anthony Quinn is wonderful as Zorba, and Alan Bates his perfect counterpart, but Irene Pappas is the woman you can't forget. The tragedy of the old French courtesan is yet another important way in which this film refuses to sugar-coat the cruelty of Greek village life in the first half of the 20th century.
Amid this difficult environment, Zorba's essential lesson is that one must live and somehow find meaning and pleasure. The offended reviewer below states that the moral is "To attempt to find freedom results in death, and living a traditional life is a living death." True, Zorba defies tradition, and battles conformity, and this is a good lesson. And he is honest in showing us that the attempt to find freedom involves great risks (certainly the young widow risks everything in her quest for freedom, and Zorba, in trying to protect her, takes his own risks), but that we must try.
This movie is unforgettable, but it's not for anyone who doesn't understand the essential role of tragedy, or who insists that films follow some kind of utopian script. At the end of the film, amid their colossal failures, Alan Bates begs Zorba, "Teach me to dance!" After fighting and losing, what else can one do but dance? Or at least try...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xacfb0f00)

This product

Zorba the Greek
Zorba the Greek by Mihalis Kakogiannis (DVD - 2004)
CDN$ 16.98 CDN$ 6.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews