Customer Reviews


249 Reviews
5 star:
 (191)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Stunning Achievement
This film is amazing.
I served in the US Navy's submarine force, and Petersen's movie is the closest you can get to being in a sub without actually signing enlistment papers. This is one of the few war movies that is not relentlessly propagandistic. Petersen presents a story of humans--not stereotypes, not jingoistic misrepresentations of sailors. By the end of...
Published on Feb. 11 2004 by Jude C Toche

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Hours of boredom, tedium, and unpleasantness
The makers of this film did an amazing job. Most of the movie takes place in a cramped submarine. It feels very real.
I did not enjoy the movie very much, though, because the theme it explores, namely life on a submarine during WWII, is thoroughly unpleasant.
Things I didn't like:
- The first part of the movie is about the boredom of being on a submarine...
Published on Dec 29 2003 by Charles John Gervasi


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Stunning Achievement, Feb. 11 2004
By 
Jude C Toche (Madison, WI USA) - See all my reviews
This film is amazing.
I served in the US Navy's submarine force, and Petersen's movie is the closest you can get to being in a sub without actually signing enlistment papers. This is one of the few war movies that is not relentlessly propagandistic. Petersen presents a story of humans--not stereotypes, not jingoistic misrepresentations of sailors. By the end of the film, you'll probably find yourself cheering for the Kriegsmarine crew, or at least hoping that they get home safely. As an American, raised after World War Two, I grew up with nothing but negative images and stereotypes of WWII Germany and Germans. Petersen and his cast do an amazing job of breaking through those representations and portraying a story of young, proud men who defy the odds and the elements and do what they perceive of as their duty, even though they find no glory--just despair.
I would recommend that you read Herbert Werner's memoir Iron Coffins in addition to watching this movie, especially if you are unfamiliar with the Battle of the Atlantic. Also, after the end of the movie, you should go outside, stand in the sunshine, and be glad that you are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very authentic, Jan. 1 2013
My father in law served in German u-boots in WW II. He was one of the lucky ones who survived. He watched the director's cut, in German of course, and he said it was very authentic. All the things in the movie would not happen on any one boat, but he said that if you combine the stories of any 5 or 6 boats, you would have a move like that.

I have watched the movie in its dubbed version and German version. I much prefer the German version. I also have the original uncut version. I highly recommend you only watch that in its German version or you will miss a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars be told fro, July 15 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Das Boot is THE definitive movie of the Battle of the Atlantic. It is set when the allies were starting to gain the upper hand in the fight to contain the Uboat menace, a turning point in WW2 as crucial as the Battle of Britain. It deserves to be well told. Instead of the heroics of earlier war films Das Boot records the sweat, fear, claustrophobia, and suffering of the crew of a single Uboat submarine. The captain convincingly played by Jurgen Prochnow, is old before his time and is as vulnerable, as human, as the crew he leads. This story had to be told from the German side by a German production team. Dont be put off by the need for subtitles. The dialogue is sparse. The mood says it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars classic, June 28 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
great movie as it is the directors cut it contains scenes not seen in the original release. it is a classic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic film, Feb. 7 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a brilliant done film that I have always enjoyed and decided to buy it and share with my family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars exellent film, Jan. 15 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
exellent film mais vaut mieux acheter la version blue-ray en Français car trois heures a lire des sous-titre c'est pas la joie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, Jan. 2 2014
By 
Errol P Jodrey (Victoria, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a must own DVD. For WW 2 Sub fans this is the one to buy. Very well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dvd, July 30 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
lots of good memories on it and very good storie I really enjoy all of it and this is a great dvd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Purchase, March 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Das Boot (The Original Uncut Version) (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
Excellent product. Vendor very reliable will consider recommending his site
for further purchases.
Viewed movie, even if slightly used view exceptional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Blu-Ray is terrific, March 9 2013
By 
Kevin Barton (Whitby, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Das Boot (The Original Uncut Version) (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
If the original uncut version goes on blu-ray, I might as well get that version. I like the English dubbed version rather than the German version because it is my preference. Hope this happens soon on blu-ray. The Director's cut is on blu-ray, but not the original uncut version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Das Boot (The Original Uncut Version) (Sous-titres français)
CDN$ 45.99 CDN$ 33.67
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews