Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nausicaa Of The Valley Of The Wind is truly amazing!
Wow! I've finally got to see the uncut version of Nausicaa Of The Valley Of The Wind, the very first masterpiece by the great Hayao Miyazaki and Studio Ghibli! Sore wa Sugoi Desu Yo! (Japanese: It's so awesome and amazing!)
Everything is so awesome; the soundtrack, the voicework, the story, the action scenes, the art work, and every thing else is so perfect, and well...
Published on June 14 2005 by Chao-Chen (Jack) Lin

versus
7 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Important information about the DVD
The DVD release of "Nausicaa of the Valley of Wind" will replace the 21 minutes of footage that were cut out in the VHS version that was released in the U.S. and U.K. (which was titled "Warriors of the Wind"). So please be careful when reading the above reviews, as they refer to the VHS version, not the DVD.
As for the release date, the DVD was supposed to be brought...
Published on June 30 2004 by Mel Bourne


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nausicaa Of The Valley Of The Wind is truly amazing!, June 14 2005
This review is from: Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind (DVD)
Wow! I've finally got to see the uncut version of Nausicaa Of The Valley Of The Wind, the very first masterpiece by the great Hayao Miyazaki and Studio Ghibli! Sore wa Sugoi Desu Yo! (Japanese: It's so awesome and amazing!)
Everything is so awesome; the soundtrack, the voicework, the story, the action scenes, the art work, and every thing else is so perfect, and well done too. Everything has been refined to the state-of-the-art level, which is what Studio Ghibli has been famous for. What's more, the message for peace, perseverance and prosperity, along with harmony and enviornmental protection and balance, have really touched deeply in my heart right from the start.
Overall, I'd like to say "Doomo Arigato Gozaimasu" to the great Hayao Miyazaki and Studio Ghibli for their great masterpiece, and shall give them 5 out of 5 stars for outstanding performance!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb quality!, Dec 9 2011
I had this movie in DVD format... with no french language on it and I decided to upgrade it to BLu-Ray, especially because the studio decided to put the French language track on the blu-ray. Well I was not disspointed! The movie is magnificient and it's a must own for all the Miyasaki-Ghibli fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, it's here, March 12 2005
By 
Aaron Dawe (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind (DVD)
Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind is probably one of my favourite movies of all time and I am incredibly delighted that it has finally seen the light of day uncut in North America. The horribly altered Warriors of the Wind (an early dub of the film back in the '80's) had rekindled an interest in Japanese animation in me that picked up where Battle of the Planets left off and I have been a fan of director Hayao Miyazaki and Studio Ghibli's output ever since.
Miyazaki's later films (all of which are great)certainly look better than Nausicaa (such as Princess Mononoke and Spirited Away) and there's no debating that, but considering this was only his second job as director for a theatrical film and it was made in something like 3 months (his later films have taken more than a year) it still holds up pretty well. It is starting to show its age of course, 20 years after it was originally released, but Miyazaki's story telling still stands tall.
I have mixed feelings about the new dub, which to my ears is the worst sounding of the Disney releases of Miyazaki's films. It is an improvement over the Warriors of the Wind dub where Nausicaa sounded like Rocky the Squirrel (and it is an urban myth that it was the same voice actor as Rocky), but it does suffer from a lot of Explaino™ (a comic book method of explaining the plot details to viewers things that would be immediately obvious to the characters themselves). However, a lot of that is present in the Japanese script, so it can't be solely blamed on Disney. Most of the actors are fine in their roles (where else can you get the Captain of the Enterprise and the (new) Cmdr. Adama together in one sci-fi related film?). However, Alison Lohman has a tough job in trying to convey the intricacies to Nausicaa'a character and while it's not bad, just doesn't convey it as well as her Japanese counterpart.
Commenting on some of the other reviews I have read for this film, there seems to be a lot misinformation out there. The music in Nausicaa is unchanged - it's exactly the same as the original Japanese release (the CD is available on Tokuma 35ATC-3 and is great as well). The script is faithful to the original and for the most part is the same as most fan translations I've seen and my limited Japanese language ability can tell. The complaints about the slow pacing in parts are valid, but this type of introspection is common in most Japanese cinema, from the classics of Kurosawa and Ozu, to even other weel known animations such as Ghost in the Shell. It's a cultural quirk that makes Japanese movies unique from their US counterparts and I for one don't have a problem with it. A lot of these scenes were cut in Warriors in the Wind, and while it made for a tighter, action packed film, it removed a lot of details in what motivates Nausicaa to do what she does. Without character, there's no heart.
Also, there are a lot of people who compare the film to the manga (comic) version by Miyazaki. The film was created about 10 years before the serialization of the manga was completed, so obviously there are going to be huge differences between the two. Only about 2 volumes of the 7-volume work were completed at that time. Comparing the two is like apples and oranges. The scope of the film is by necessity limited, but that doesn't make the end result better (or worse) than its source material. The manga is a sprawling epic and is much darker and mature than the film would lead one to believe however. It's well worth checking out as well. It's highly unlikely that the entire story will ever be animated and with Princess Mononoke more or less a sequel in spirit (since it touches on the same themes as Nausicaa -- the film and manga) I think Miyazaki may have said all that he wants about the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hayao Miyazaki's Masterpiece is finally here!, March 3 2005
By 
Joel Jankiewicz (Dauphin, Manitoba Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind (DVD)
Nausicaa Of The Valley Of The Wind was originally released under the title "Warriors Of The Wind", which was an old english dub released onto our shores about 20 years ago. There were those of us who enjoyed the old dub (Myself as a kid), while others thought it ruined Hayao Miyazaki's beautiful title. Now, after 20 years, the UNCUT version is now available on DVD, with a new english dub cast (Listened to the dub myself, very well done), and japanese with subtitle format.
The animation, even after all this time, is masterfully restored, and I didn't see any signs of grains or animation errors or glitches on the DVD. Even today, the animation stands out from other Computer Generated anime titles. There is so much detail put into this movie, you can't help but feel you're watching what some anime should titles should be.
The story makes more sense and flows better in this uncut edition, as we see details that were missed in the old dub release.
The music also remains very well intact, and I still remember it vividly in my mind.
Nausicaa Of The Valley Of The Wind is a TRUE anime at heart. This is Hayao Miyazaki's masterpiece, and should NOT be missed by ANY fan of japanese anime, those who like a good story, or those who would love to rekindle old memories. Get this, you WON'T regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, May 29 2004
By 
James P. Flood "yojimbo_38" (Albany, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind (DVD)
I've seen the R2 version, and was blown away. Sure, we're talking a 20 year old animation here, but the story and characters are marvellous. We may not have state of the art CG dodads flying at us, but the quality, and the creators involved are first rate all the way.
The R2 disc featured comments by Kazuyoshi Katayama, a production assistant, later responsible for "The Big O", "Appleseed", and "Argento-soma." It also features the legendary Hideaki Anno. A Key Animator, who designed the Giant Robots for Miyazaki. Anno is, of course, famous for directing "Nadia, Secret of Blue Water", "Wings of Honneamise" and his claim to fame, "Neon Genesis Evangelion."
The music is by Joe Hisaishi, and it has touches that bring to mind things he does later in "Castle in the Sky", "Princess Mononoke" and "Spirited Away." The music was done under tight budget constraints, so they seem to have used a lot of synthesizers. But hey, it's the 80's, so it's understandable. Overall, a must have DVD by one of the great artists of our time, with a veritable who's who of anime supporting him. "Nausicaa" is a wonderful look at Hayao Miyazaki's genius, so obvious in this, his first original film. I would also suggest the Graphic Novels. It took Miyazaki 12 years complete the tale he touches on in "Nausicaa". His true masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Animated Film of All Time, May 28 2004
By 
This review is from: Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind (DVD)
I have been an animation fan all of my life. I've seen almost every Disney animated flick every countless times. I've studied hte work of Chuck Jones and marveled at the best of Don Bluth.
I have been a fan of japanese animation in partuclar for about 5 years now. I have seen countless animated films and studied them in depth. I own almost every Studio Ghibli film ever made (including Whisper of the Heart, the Cat Returns, Ocean Waves, and Castle of Cagliostro). I am here to tell you that Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind is without a doubt the greatest animated film I have ever seen in my life...
First of all, this is the first film that the animation genius Miyazaki ever attempted through his own studio. It is also a greatly condensed story, being adapted from a manga that it's creator wrote which was quite lengthly. That being said, this movie is PERFECT.
The animation may be old, but it rivals, and sometiems ever demolishes, animation released in the theaters today. The action sequences (and particularly the flight sequences) are truly amazing to behold. The sound effects are marvelous. The music is mind-blowing. The pacing is perfect, the voice-acting beyond perfect. The quality of the artwork continues to astound. But that's not why this is the greatest animated film ever.
At it's heart this is s complex story of man vs. nature and man vs. man. How many times have we been over the topic of how man's meddling is threatening to destroy the world, and how perhaps one day the world will fight back? In the world created in this film, the world has been destroyed by what can only be desribed as a total catastrophe (of man's doing). In response, plants and giant bugs are taking over the whole world and inhabiting vast patches fo wasteland. Various countries are fighting endless wars with each other in a quest to survive. A new danger arises though, as one of the ancient weapons which destroyed the world is found. The nations all claim they want to use it to destroy the bugs that would destroy humanity (not to destroy each other, as each nation claims it's rivals would).
Toss into this mix an oasis from the harshness of the desert wastelands where everyone lives in peace and harmony...and a young girl may hold the secret to ending the eternal battle between man and nature.
The story in Nausicaa is incredibly stong, and the plot is quite deep. What really holds this movie together though, is Nausicaa herself. This young girl is the single greatest anime character ever to grace film. The key lies in something Miyazaki himself once said. A man who is the protagonist would destroy his enemies and defeat them. But the real world is not like that. In the real world, empathy and understanding is the only thing that can save us. And so rather than fight everyone to the death, Nausicaa takes on the far more dangerous goal of making everyone stop fighting before they annihilate everything worth saving. The Japanese are very in touch with the theme of the futility of war (having experienced its effects first-hand), and this film is a perfect example of the pinnacle of where that philosophy can take us.
Miyazaki has changed in his views over time, and this film is not what he considers his best work. I find this to be the ultimate irony. The man doesn't even realize the magnitude of what he has created...
I said it before and I'll say it again. This is the greatest animated film of all time. It covers the full range of emotion, from friendship and understanding to death and destruction and the chance of forgiveness and renewal. I can often tell whether I will enjoy a movie by it's beginning. This movie has the best beginning of any movie I have ever seen. I always know if I will continue to love a movie when it ends, and this movie has the best ending of any movie I have ever seen...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nausicaä of the Valley of the Wind, April 23 2004
By 
S. Gage (Massachusetts, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind (DVD)
Released in Japan in 1984, Nausicaä explores many of the themes later visited in Princess Mononoke, and proved highly influential to modern day anime, from plot elements to even the mecha design (the "Evas" from the series Neon Genesis Evangelion, considered by many to be the best anime released to date). This film is certainly no mecha anime; the young princess Nausicaä finds herself torn between her people, mankind, and nature, the brutal, ascendant force on earth after the fall of man. Is humanity doomed to extinction, or is the equilibrium that Nausicaä espouses the ultimate answer? Nausicaä herself is a blend of Greek heroine and nature-loving adolescent, and strongly foils the other, Machiavelian characters. Though in a post apocalyptic future, Nausicaä feels little like Mad Max and more like primordial civilization as seen in Princess Mononoke. Hayao Miyazaki goes into even more depth and creates an even more epic tale in the manga (graphic novel) Nausicaä, so if you cannot wait, look it up. An incredible story, it is unfortunate that Disney has not decided upon a full theatrical release...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A story of a legend told by the legend, April 12 2004
By 
Bicho raro "foy" (Jersey City, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind (DVD)
This is the movie that started it all. Without this, Hayao Miyazaki wouldn't be where he is today. There would be no "Princess Mononoke" or "Sprited Away".
(ok , maybe that's wrong. But wouldn't be as big as they are)
"Nausicaa" has all the ingredients a Miyazaki movie needs. Beautiful pictures, rich human characters, complex but highly relatable and understandable themes, amazing imaginations made into reality (almost.. But you likely will forget that you are watching a "CARTOON") , great music by legendary Joe Hisaishi, and above all this, the flying sequences! There's no good or bad in this story. There are people just like us trying to survive on the edge of collapse. Even though it takes place in distant future (2000 years later), you can see the same is happening in today's world.
This was made 20 years ago, so that the graphics maybe a little primitive compareing to his later work. But I know you will be totally sucked into it once the openning credits starts. ( Be aware of the openning theme tune, too. It's hauntingly beautiful )
Mr. Miyazaki reportedly isn't as fond of this movie as his fans are, because of the religious imagery in the end. But If you liked his other work, This movie is a MUST SEE! I'm very happy that It's finally going to be released in the states, and the rest of the world (I assume?), because this movie carries a very important message, especially since the state of the world now is more alarming than ever. Also because I get to see it again!

Thank you Disney. Can't wait 'til August. But I wish this would be released in the theatres.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nausicaa Of The Valley Of The Wind is really awesome!, June 12 2005
This review is from: Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind (DVD)
Wow! I've finally got to see the uncut version of Nausicaa Of The Valley Of The Wind, the very first masterpiece by the great Hayao Miyazaki and Studio Ghibli! Sugoi Yo! (Japanese: It's so awesome!)
Everything is so awesome; the soundtrack, the voicework, the story, the action scenes, the art work, and every thing else is so perfect, and well done too. Everything has been refined to the state-of-the-art level, which is what Studio Ghibli is famous for. What's more, the message for peace, perseverance and prosperity, along with harmony and enviornmental protection and balance, have really touch my heart right from the start.
Overall, I'd like to say "Doomo Arigato Gozaimasu" to the great Hayao Miyazaki and Studio Ghibli for their great masterpiece, and shall give them 5 out of 5 stars for outstanding performance!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars based on other disney experiences, June 14 2004
By 
This review is from: Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind (DVD)
When Myazaki came to an arrangement to release Ghibli films through disney, he had strict guidelines for such release. In exchange for exclusive rights to rerelease Studio Ghibli films, Disney agreed not to alter the films' content. Thus, all Buena Vista rereleases of studio Ghibli films have been true to the originals.
Miyazaki's films have a far reaching social impact and often touch on topics of environmentalism and the human impact. His mastery of making the viewer relate intimately is amazing.
if you are a fan of any of his work (princess mononoke, Spirited away, etc.) then you will not be disapointed in this movie. My faith in this statement is so strong that although the Buena vista release has not arrived, I am assured that it will be of the utmost quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind
Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind by Hayao Miyazaki (DVD - 2005)
CDN$ 51.38
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews