march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage vpcflyout Introducing Kindle Oasis Music Deals Store Furniture sports Tools Family

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars69
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$88.01+ $3.49 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 12, 2004
This movie is a dark, forboding look into life in a corrupt Italian monastery, the spanish inquisition, and the catholic church in the middle ages. For those of you who like mysteries, spooky locals, superb plots, and fiendish villains, this movie is for you! It has remained one of my all time favorites throughout the years, and I'm both glad it is finally coming out on DVD, and furious it has taken so long to get there! Worth buying.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2014
Finally for the first time in french !!! I have seen this movie on VHS tape and it had the french version. For other movies too that are older, I would like the french version like The Three Musketeers and the Four Musketeers by Richard Lester with Michael York, Oliver Reed, etc....
Excellent service and fast delivery !!! Thank you very much. I recommend this seller.

Pierre Germain,
Québec, QC, Canada.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2016
''Le Nom de la Rose'' est un très beau film de Jean-Jacques Annaud qui se passe à l'époque médiévale. Sean Connery, qui joue le rôle du frère franciscain Guillaume de Baskerville, enquête sur des crimes qui ont lieu dans un monastère du nord de l'Italie. L'atmosphère y est oppressante et les acteurs y jouent très bien leur rôle. C'est l'un des très bons films de Connery. À regarder absolument.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2015
This is a wonderful film made all the better in Blue-Ray which I normally ignore. Sean Connery is never better and I was surprised by how good Christian Slater turned out to be. It has been awhile since I had seen this movie in the theatre and I would highly recommend it for fans of the novel as well as anyone interested in medieval history or just a great mystery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2004
I have waited so long for this movie to be on DVD and when it finally comes it's a Standard version, why is the general public being robbed of widescreen for this movie or any movie? Every movie that is a "standard" is robbing 40% of the screen from the paying audience. The pan and scan doesn't work any more. I hope to buy this movie soon in Widescreen! PLEASE!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon March 22, 2015
Sean Connery stars has a 14th century monk with his pupil in tow played by a young Christian Slater. They are sent to investigate a series of murders in a monastery. The series of bizarre deaths has the superstitious monks believing it is murders committed by the devil. But Connery believes otherwise. A great thriller and mystery with some nice spooky moments.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2015
Amazon's service was great! No need to review the movie as there are many other sites that do this. Problem was it was a region 2 DVD not suitable for North American DVD players. I didn't catch that in the listing. Returned it no problem. Unfortunately, could not find a suitable replacement that isn't Blu-ray or a reasonable cost.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2004
Other then a profit motive it's inconceivable why DVD's are released several times in various formats and special editions. Here's another example of a movie that I would like to purchase being released in a made for TV screen format rather then the widescreen version. Guess that I'll have to wait(again) before buying this DVD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 5, 2015
Crikey! Thought this would be awesome because Sean Connery is awesome but not even he could save this movie and I'm quite surprised he even took the role. A 17 year old Christian Slater was fine as was Sean Connery but the script, writing and premiss of the movie was awful, unnecessarily hideously gory and very slow moving. I'm still not sure what actually happened besides the fact that arm Connery was a monk sleuth with his young sidekick Mr Slater. Also bear in mind that this is an R18 which I missed when buying it but hey if you want mine, just pay postage from Calgary and it's yours!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2004
Everyone moaning on and on (and on and on) about the 'incorrect aspect ratio' have got the facts wrong.
The facts are that the film was shot in 1.85:1. The dvd's ratio is (you guessed it) 1:85:1. Therefore the dvd (as it states on the box!!!!) is the correct ratio. And it's a great film. BUY.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse