Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Medieval Thriller
This review refers to the theatrical movie as the DVD is not available as of this writing. I do think it's worth buying on digital disc because it will be a widescreen version, which I don't think was/is available on VHS. The movie is based on the novel by Umberto Eco who is a master of arcana and esoterica. The novel, one of my true favorites, is richly detailed and...
Published on April 3 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A Rose Missing Some Petals - Cropping Hurts, Sorry to Say!
Discouraging for any fan of the film.
This is an excellent work that deserves a better transfer. Despite extras, including director commentary, after waiting years for this to be released on DVD, I read the box with dismay that the film was presented "Matted" widescreen, basically it appears that the top and bottom portions of the film are cut-off to make...
Published on July 6 2004 by votok


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, April 12 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Name of the Rose (DVD)
This movie is a dark, forboding look into life in a corrupt Italian monastery, the spanish inquisition, and the catholic church in the middle ages. For those of you who like mysteries, spooky locals, superb plots, and fiendish villains, this movie is for you! It has remained one of my all time favorites throughout the years, and I'm both glad it is finally coming out on DVD, and furious it has taken so long to get there! Worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I would like the french version like The Three Musketeers and the ..., Nov. 24 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Finally for the first time in french !!! I have seen this movie on VHS tape and it had the french version. For other movies too that are older, I would like the french version like The Three Musketeers and the Four Musketeers by Richard Lester with Michael York, Oliver Reed, etc....
Excellent service and fast delivery !!! Thank you very much. I recommend this seller.

Pierre Germain,
Québec, QC, Canada.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 4 stars for the movie, 0 stars for the standard version!, April 23 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Name of the Rose (DVD)
I have waited so long for this movie to be on DVD and when it finally comes it's a Standard version, why is the general public being robbed of widescreen for this movie or any movie? Every movie that is a "standard" is robbing 40% of the screen from the paying audience. The pan and scan doesn't work any more. I hope to buy this movie soon in Widescreen! PLEASE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not is widescreen - why (greed?), May 14 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Name of the Rose (DVD)
Other then a profit motive it's inconceivable why DVD's are released several times in various formats and special editions. Here's another example of a movie that I would like to purchase being released in a made for TV screen format rather then the widescreen version. Guess that I'll have to wait(again) before buying this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, correct aspect ratio, July 8 2004
By 
Mr. P. D. Matthews (Rayleigh, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Name of the Rose (DVD)
Everyone moaning on and on (and on and on) about the 'incorrect aspect ratio' have got the facts wrong.
The facts are that the film was shot in 1.85:1. The dvd's ratio is (you guessed it) 1:85:1. Therefore the dvd (as it states on the box!!!!) is the correct ratio. And it's a great film. BUY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Name of the Rose, April 11 2004
By 
dakonium "dakonium" (San Francisco, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Name of the Rose (DVD)
Truly brilliant!
It is a tale of monastic mystery and 14th century catholic inquisition inevitably leading innocent people (...and truth) to the flames.
Great acting, even by young Christian Slater.
I don't know why it took so long for such a great film to make it to DVD. (...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Mystery, Jan. 28 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Sean Connery always the star, whether in a tuxedo or a camel haired shirt, he always gives a first rate performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In The Name Of What Rose.??, Jan. 22 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
"There are so many things going through my mind after seeing this movie"how the catholic church
works on it's own morals but some how still seems to contradict every thing they say,Thou shalt not kill,
but they will kill you to keep a secret, "In The Name of The Rose"is one of those movies that will make
you scratch your head,we see a very young Christian Slater as (Adso) Sean Connery as(William of Baskerville)
investigating a slue of Murders that some say is the work of the devil,but brother William think otherwise,there must
be a murderer amongst us,and he intend to find out the reason,using the tools of heresy,this 14th Century Monastery
was captured to the tee, [special features] very creepy and dark looking,the most outstanding person in this movie
for me, was Ron Perlman.the guy was absolutely brilliant in the movie.
Runtime 131 Minutes.
5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio.
1080p High definition 1.85:1
In The Name Of What Rose.??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars un classique, July 2 2012
By 
Stephane Trudel (l'épiphanie, canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
j'ai vu et revu ce film plusieurs fois et pour moi ça reste un classique.Sean Connery est excellent dans son role de detective du moyen age
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top Ten, April 25 2004
By 
Rich & Stephanie (Sandpoint, ID USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Name of the Rose (DVD)
Without a doubt one of my top ten favorite movies. Easily!!!! The movie is absolutely flawless as far as movies go. Now it's time to read the book, a whole 'nother world if you're familiar with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Name of the Rose
The Name of the Rose by Jean-Jacques Annaud (DVD - 2005)
CDN$ 29.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews