Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Medieval Thriller
This review refers to the theatrical movie as the DVD is not available as of this writing. I do think it's worth buying on digital disc because it will be a widescreen version, which I don't think was/is available on VHS. The movie is based on the novel by Umberto Eco who is a master of arcana and esoterica. The novel, one of my true favorites, is richly detailed and...
Published on April 3 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A Rose Missing Some Petals - Cropping Hurts, Sorry to Say!
Discouraging for any fan of the film.
This is an excellent work that deserves a better transfer. Despite extras, including director commentary, after waiting years for this to be released on DVD, I read the box with dismay that the film was presented "Matted" widescreen, basically it appears that the top and bottom portions of the film are cut-off to make...
Published on July 6 2004 by votok


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Not is widescreen - why (greed?), May 14 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Name of the Rose (DVD)
Other then a profit motive it's inconceivable why DVD's are released several times in various formats and special editions. Here's another example of a movie that I would like to purchase being released in a made for TV screen format rather then the widescreen version. Guess that I'll have to wait(again) before buying this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top Ten, April 26 2004
By 
Rich & Stephanie (Sandpoint, ID USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Name of the Rose (DVD)
Without a doubt one of my top ten favorite movies. Easily!!!! The movie is absolutely flawless as far as movies go. Now it's time to read the book, a whole 'nother world if you're familiar with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a mystery with ugly men, April 26 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Name of the Rose (DVD)
This movie desires more accolades than it has received. Any movie that can create a world, a feeling, a place that is tangible, desires an honorable mention. The characters are strong in their reality, they stick in your memory long after the end. They are all ugly (wisely so) except Connery and Slater, so ugly that they create an other dimension becoming part of the miserable landscape that we imagine was the nature of the medieval world. The mystery plot is weakly intriquing, but no comparison to the strength of the characters. Perhaps there never was a place filled with so many gloomy faces, but who cares, the world they create sticks to your brain like a cockleburr to a saddle blanket. The struggle against progress gives the whole murky landscape an aire of intelligence, the somber men create a visual metaphor of the ugliness of resistance to progress. The narrator (actor who played the Cardinal in The Mission), adds a solemnity of purpose and elegance to the lives we spend a little time within the world of the imagination. Worth watching. Not a great movie, but much better than average. I am often amazed at the skill of the entire production crew that is necessary to imagine and produce a scenario that appears real and captures a time and place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 4 stars for the movie, 0 stars for the standard version!, April 23 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Name of the Rose (DVD)
I have waited so long for this movie to be on DVD and when it finally comes it's a Standard version, why is the general public being robbed of widescreen for this movie or any movie? Every movie that is a "standard" is robbing 40% of the screen from the paying audience. The pan and scan doesn't work any more. I hope to buy this movie soon in Widescreen! PLEASE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Oh No They Wouldn't Dare, April 20 2004
By 
J. Newton (Franklin, N.H. United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Name of the Rose (DVD)
I rate the movie with four stars since it's a well written murder mystery taking place in an incredible location and time period. Having Sean Connery and F. Murray Abraham doesn't hurt either. The languid pace only befits the time and locale as well; allowing the viewer to savor every new detail and clue of the murders and overall plot. But would Warner Brothers dare to put this on DVD in the Standard format? I've got a sinking feeling this might be the case. They wouldn't be that inane would they?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, April 13 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Name of the Rose (DVD)
This movie is a dark, forboding look into life in a corrupt Italian monastery, the spanish inquisition, and the catholic church in the middle ages. For those of you who like mysteries, spooky locals, superb plots, and fiendish villains, this movie is for you! It has remained one of my all time favorites throughout the years, and I'm both glad it is finally coming out on DVD, and furious it has taken so long to get there! Worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Name of the Rose, April 12 2004
By 
Richard S. Hawk (Pine Level, NC USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Name of the Rose (DVD)
I own this movie on both VHS and DVD (Portugese audience, but with an English sound track). I've watched it several times and recommend the purchase of the DVD so you can do the same. Each time the film shows me something new, something deeper. To save space here, I will "ditto" the reviews above.
Don't bother reading any film critics reviews of the film. I have and most them appear to have given the film a superficial viewing consequently missing the several threads running through it.
The Name of the Rose is more than a mystery book and film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Name of the Rose, April 12 2004
By 
dakonium "dakonium" (San Francisco, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Name of the Rose (DVD)
Truly brilliant!
It is a tale of monastic mystery and 14th century catholic inquisition inevitably leading innocent people (...and truth) to the flames.
Great acting, even by young Christian Slater.
I don't know why it took so long for such a great film to make it to DVD. (...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best Sean Connery Movies Ever Made!!!, April 4 2004
By 
Leonard T. Stitt (Grayslake, Illinois United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Name of the Rose (DVD)
This movie is based on the book of the same name by Umberto Eco and the movie does an EXCELLENT job of interpreting the book. The movie describes the events of a one-week period inside a monastery in Italy in the early 14th century. During this week, seven monks die in mysterious ways and somehow the deaths are tied into the life of the monastery and are also linked to the existence of forbidden books hidden away in the monastery's library. An extremely creative genius crafted this tale and the acting is superb. Sean Connery plays a visiting monk from the British Isles who is a product of the emerging renaissance - a scholar, a practicioner of logic, and even a former inquisitor. He begins to unravel the mystery of the deaths and also what is at the core of what has gone wrong in the monastery. The rest of the cast is great! My suggestion: find and read the book by Umberto Eco, and then watch the film. The film will bring the book to life and you will want to keep the DVD in your home library... Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My all time favorite, March 29 2004
By 
Denis Savard (Toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Not sure where they import here, but I got a Greek import, with English and Greek soundtracks, and English, French, Greek and Portugese subtitles. Photography is DVD quality, no cheap job here.
To quote one of my History professors (early '90s), this is the best historicaly set motion picture out there. The only anachronism, The Italian Franciscan monk William de Baskerville played my Connery still has - of course - a Scottish accent.
I watch this film every six months or so, and always pick-up new details.
This story takes us back to the 14th century, with the narrative of Baskerville's protégé, Adson von Melk - played by a young Christian Slater - that we writes in his old age.
In a mult-level intigues, the main story line is driven by a series of murders _ thought by some to be the work of the devil _ in a Benedictine monastery, where monks keep busy copying and illustrating religious and classic books (we are before the printing press).
As the murders start, the monastery is preparing to host a debate between the Franciscans and papal representatives about catholic doctrine, between the piety beliefs of the Franciscans and the wealth of the Pope essentially. Very interesting in itself.
But this is a dangerous time for the uncorformist, because the Holy Inquisition is not far away. In fact, Connery's caracter has a history with the inquisitor Bernardo Guy (F. Murray Abraham), which puts his investigation, and his life, at high risk.
There are other interesting plots dealing with historical mysteries, but getting into those might give up too much of the intrigue, so I will leave it at that. But it does give us a good insight of the times and the morals of the period, even if most af all of the actio takes place within the walls of the monastery.
It is a shame that this film has not yet been released on DVD in North America.
If it is made available here as an import, it is certainly worth its seemingly overpriced tag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Name of the Rose
The Name of the Rose by Jean-Jacques Annaud (DVD - 2005)
CDN$ 16.20 CDN$ 14.05
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews