Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Run Judy Run!" "See Judy Run!", July 13 2004
By 
Bruno S. (Bronx, New York USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Night of the Demons (DVD)
Underated B Horror
This is a pretty funny and surprisingly solid B Horror Film. The story is by the numbers, and the acting by now seems a bit dated, but when the fun starts in the house, the film takes a creepy turn.
A group of kids hang out at the abandoned Hull House on Halloween night. Hull House is a house possessed, so the demons that inhabit it are pure evil. They kids have their party until someone decides to play around and summon the demons. And one by one they begin getting posessed by a demonic forces.
It's up to Judy to out live, and out last her demonic attackers.
Amelia Kinkade plays Angela. Watch for her creepy dance sequence. It's pretty memorable and what happens right after elevates Amelia's character, Angela from B Movie character to a horror powerhouse like Freddy and Jason. But unfortunately the 2 sequels that followed are inferior and wound up botching her character. Linnea Quigley does something very interesting with a tube of lipstick. And the gore effects are pretty cool.
It's a solid film that is finally getting the DVD release it deserves. If you are a horror fan you'll be happy to own this little known film. It brings back memories of the golden days, when horror had it's own full fledged section in video stores with hundreds of titles to choose from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Finally!!, May 15 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Night of the Demons (DVD)
I enjoy horror movies and this is one that I've rented at least once a year at the video stores. Finally Angela on DVD and in widescreen; it can't miss, and Anchor Bay does the transfer. For a fun horror romp, this movie is tops.It has all of the key elements that make a horror movie fun. Really looking forward to my copy. I hope Anchor Bay plans on reproducing the two sequels to this movie.
A group of teens decide to party at an abandoned funeral parlor on the outskirts of town on Halloween night. It turns out to be the one night that the demons within the funeral parlor are free to roam. The demons are prevented from roaming any further than an underground stream that encompasses Hull House, the name of the funeral parlor. Of course some of the partying teens get possessed and the fun begins.

This is classic teen horror fun at it's best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A TRICK OR A TREAT? YOU DECIDE., Aug. 11 2002
...FOR MANY YEARS NOW I'VE MADE IT A POINT TO WATCH THIS MOVIE IN THE MONTH OF OCTOBER. SURE IT'S GOOD TO WATCH JUST ABOUT ANYTIME. BUT WHEN YOU CAN SMELL HALLOWEEN IN THE AIR, IT'S THE BEST TIME. IT WAS COOL TO SEE THEM THROW A FEW SEQUELS AT US, BUT SOMETHING WAS LOST AFTER THIS ONE. STILL IN ALL, A 'NIGHT OF THE DEMONS'-ATHON IS ALWAYS IN ORDER AROUND HALLOWEEN. THIS HAS B-MOVIE WRITTEN ALL OVER IT, HOWEVER YOU FORGET IT'S A LOW BUDGETER WHEN YOU SEE THE QUALITY MAKE-UP F/X. NIGHT OF THE DEMONS IS FUNNY, SCARY AND MORBIDLY SEXY. SO IF YOU LIKE YOUR TRICKS WITH YOUR TREATS, DON'T DELAY. NOTE: EXCEPT NOTHING LESS THAN THE UNRATED VERSION.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars WHY IS THERE NO DVD?!, Sept. 10 2002
By 
"richmondroller" (Richmond, VA United States) - See all my reviews
THIS REALLY NEEDS A DVD. I have seen few horror films with the care that this one has. It's rather smart. While the gore is not as rewarding as "Friday the 13th" movies can be, it is not where this film thrives. There is a disturbing air to this film. Yes, it has all the teen horror sterotypes to be expected (it was made in 1988 when the sub-gene had been well hammered out). There's the pig-man, there's the outside, the nerd, and the african-american guy that to my memory has no reson to be friends with them. If you enjoy the surrealness of "Nightmare on Elm Street" then you'll enjoy this one. I love the apple ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An 80's Horror B Movie Classic!, July 15 2002
By 
Bruno S. (Bronx, New York USA) - See all my reviews
This movie is so good. It's really funny and if you watch it late at night it's scary.
A group of kids hang out at Hull House on Halloween night. It's all fun and games unitl one by one they begin getting posessed by demonic forces.
It's up to Judy to out live, and out last her demonic attackers.
Amelia Kinkade plays Angela, she also stars in the 2 inferior sequels that followed. Linnea Quigley does something very interesting with a tube of lipstick. And the gore effects are pretty cool.
My only problem is that it's not on DVD. When is the DVD version coming out?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic teens-in-peril horror, Nov. 8 2002
By 
AyJay (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Okay, lets start with the storyline: the school oddball teams up with the school slut and throws a halloween party in a abandoned house (where people have been horribily murdered in the past, of course). All the invited (and univited) guests show up and decide to hold a seance. In doing so they unleash the demons from the basement, who pick off the teens one by one.NOTD is a classic teen slasher - blood, sex, girls whose clothes fall off, groan-out-loud jokes, and the token virgin. If you want something tense buy 'Halloween', if you want fun and camp buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Night of the demons, June 4 2004
By 
James Mccabe - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Night of the Demons (DVD)
Man, im so glad i remembered to do a search for this movie, i already have a sub standard midnite movies release of this film on DVD but the picture transfer is really disappointing as this is a class horror movie from the 80's, fit birds, stupid guys, and some good special fx make this film a cut above the other films of this type. go buy it on anchor bay, i doubt you'll be disappointed.However stay away from part 2, it is absolutely terrible, whilst part 3 tries to be like the original, but doesnt come close.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully GREAT MOVIE!!, July 13 2004
By 
"vze7uajr" (NEWARK, N. J USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Night of the Demons (DVD)
I FIRST SAW THIS MOVIE ABOUT 10 YRS AGO AND LOVED IT.
I NEVER THOUGHT ABOUT PURCHASING IT UNTIL NOW.
IM SO MAD AT MYSELF FOR NOT PURCHASING IT 4 YEARS AGO
WHEN IT WAS AVAILABLE ON DVD. THIS IS ONE OF THOSE GREAT
HORROR MOVIE CLASSICS LIKE, OMEN , EXORSIST , AND EVIL
DEAD. IT IS A MUST HAVE FOR A HORROR MOVIE FANATIC SUCH AS
MYSELF. I NEVER SAW PARTS 2 AND 3 BUT I AM SO IMPRESSED WITH
PART ONE I PLAN ON PURCHASING THEM BOTH SHOULD THEY COME OUT
ON DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It will scare you!!!, Aug. 31 2002
By 
Michael Spivey, Ph.D. (Kean a horror movie fan from Wagram ,NC) - See all my reviews
...When I saw this movie I was skeptical.But boy was I wrong. It will scare so much that you probably can't sleep!!!!!It's about awhole bunch of teens who decide to have a Haloween party at Hul House.But the teens get possesed by demons and the only survivors must find a way out of the house before the demons get them to.I loved this movie and i'm sure will to because it scared ... me!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A True Horror Classic!!!!, June 1 2004
By 
Mike Dudley (TN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Night of the Demons (DVD)
I can't say enough good about this movie. Not to be missed. A little cheesy in places but well worth the money. I remember it very fondly and watch it every Halloween. Also has great original songs and the music has finally been released. I am so glad this has finally come to DVD. A MUST HAVE!!!
MikeD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Night of the Demons
Night of the Demons by Kevin Tenney (DVD - 2004)
CDN$ 247.83
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews